AFL Canberra

Aaron Bruce on the rookie list for the Swans is great for Canberra footy. Good luck to him.

I agree, i think it's a good thing if the Swans look to the local comp to give blokes a go on their extended rookie list. I'll be honest and say that i don't rate him as an AFL quality player though but may i be proven wrong!

i agree with you terry tugger, congrats to him but now he is officially the worst player on any afl list! he has just been rookie listed to play at Weston Creek with the new ACTAFL rules!!!

Haha, yeah you might be right. For his sake though i hope he manages to avoid that!

On a related topic then, if you could choose any young player (18 or younger) from a club other than your own, who would it be? And if you were an AFL club and you had to draft a player out of Canberra, who would that player be (you may choose someone from your own club)?

Haha, yeah you might be right. For his sake though i hope he manages to avoid that!

On a related topic then, if you could choose any young player (18 or younger) from a club other than your own, who would it be? And if you were an AFL club and you had to draft a player out of Canberra, who would that player be (you may choose someone from your own club)?

to draft a player out of canberra, i would say Andrew Ainger FF at belconnen. he has the hands and ability to play in the AFL, just needs to work on his fitness.

player under 18, i wouldnt have a clue, not that many really great players that i know of off the top of my head

Kavangh could play AFL. His work rate is phenomenal and playing at that level the delivery would be better, he has a huge engine.
I would take Jason Tutt from Ainslie. Height might work against him, he is only 16, played 1 senior game this year. At rep level played very well for NSW/ACT rams this year. Reads the play well and not a bad user of the ball.

U18 future draftee - Stu Gilchrist from Belconnen. Mighty impressive from my limited viewing.

Dunno the kid and hope he gets through but AFL clubs seem focused on running midfielders which makes it bloody hard for anyone who is not. Dwarfs seem the go.

The Swans this year dumped that kid Sam Rowe who played very well on key players in our league including finals.198cm etc and mobile, stuffed if I know.Thought he could play and at one stage they were going to put him on the senior list. Same with Vogels to a degree.

Great for Aaron Bruce, who is good player but under the rookie NSW/ACT setup he only has one year to make it I think.

with the new rules AFL canberra has bought in aaron bruce may as well been recruited to the creek. The league has lost a lot of credibility with this rule which would be seen in a local U/10's game. Good on him but isn't going to get as much out of it as he or other people think he will.

On a side issue,
I did an statistics assignment for uni, i decided to do my assignment on AFL Canberra and try and find trends in data, etc etc.
And i can tell you with the data that i collected, at no time this year did the swans have more than 18 listed players playing in the one match.
So if Wildcats actually think they will get anything from the swans they are kidding themselves.
Took me a while to find this, it was first posted on November 16.
Therefore I believe we should get off poor old Aaron's back by saying he is the Creek's latest recruit.
I repeat, good luck to you Aaron and may you get what you deverse from your footy.

ABH - get this f -cking thread going again. At the moment its boring as shiit. No barstard has any idea whats going on at their clubs or they are not willing to let it out. What the fu-ck. Mine included. Its like they dont want to create any interest in the League. I have no idea whats happening at Belco. Website is shithouse. There is nothing in the media. Its all ****ed. I know more about you mob than I do about my mob !!!!

Does anyone know how Horny is going over at Tuggers. Whose his assistants ? Has the Creek recruited any players. If they are to field three teams (thats an extra two on this year) surely there is some news as to how they are progressing.

What about Ainslie - who is going to take over the F/M job, surely not a women as reported earlier !!!!

It seems to me it will be Swans, Eastlake, Belconnen, Queanbeyan, Tuggers, Ainslie and the Creek it that order next year, with the Magpies as Premiers. They have been too quite not to have picked up a few through F/Manager Davidison ! He has all the contacts from his Geelong / Tassie days.

Any thoughts ????????????

ABH - get this f -cking thread going again. At the moment its boring as shiit. No barstard has any idea whats going on at their clubs or they are not willing to let it out. What the fu-ck. Mine included. Its like they dont want to create any interest in the League. I have no idea whats happening at Belco. Website is shithouse. There is nothing in the media. Its all ****ed. I know more about you mob than I do about my mob !!!!

Does anyone know how Horny is going over at Tuggers. Whose his assistants ? Has the Creek recruited any players. If they are to field three teams (thats an extra two on this year) surely there is some news as to how they are progressing.

What about Ainslie - who is going to take over the F/M job, surely not a women as reported earlier !!!!

It seems to me it will be Swans, Eastlake, Belconnen, Queanbeyan, Tuggers, Ainslie and the Creek it that order next year, with the Magpies as Premiers. They have been too quite not to have picked up a few through F/Manager Davidison ! He has all the contacts from his Geelong / Tassie days.

Any thoughts ????????????

FIM I have tried many a time from best/worst polls to best team of the last 10 years and Im over it. Let some other get it going.... I cant be expected to lift the standard everytime there is a dip in form....Time to pass it over to a younger bloke...As for your ladder and Belco winning the flag....."Your Dreamin".
Given what we no thus far which is F'ALL how could you possibly have Eastlake ahead of Belco and Qbn? Qbn is the only website to name 2 recruits capable of walking into the 1st grade and given their form towards the end of last year must be at this stage, ahead of the ACT clubs. Get the blinkers off and start talking sense....I no you have some....somewhere.

OK, Ok I will give it another go to start some conversation as this thread is soooooo flipping boring at the moment that its really *****ing me off!!

What was your sides downfall last year? What did they lack?

What position/s do they need to improve on to win the competition?

Name 3 positions on the ground you believe your side needs to recruit?

What was your sides pluses from last year?

Which local team do you fear most next year?

Who will be the big improvers?

Who will decline the most?

Your sides most memorable game last season?

Your sides worst game of last season?

Why do I even bother???

OK, Ok I will give it another go to start some conversation as this thread is soooooo flipping boring at the moment that its really *****ing me off!!

What was your sides downfall last year? What did they lack?

What position/s do they need to improve on to win the competition?

Name 3 positions on the ground you believe your side needs to recruit?

What was your sides pluses from last year?

Which local team do you fear most next year?

Who will be the big improvers?

Who will decline the most?

Your sides most memorable game last season?

Your sides worst game of last season?

Why do I even bother???

- We struggled to kick big scores last year plus had injuries at the wrong time. Had a very even squad as evidenced by the results in reserves and u18s but didn't have enough big name "marquee" players who can really turn a result.

- We are crying out for a power forward to play CHF as well as a big, dominant ruckman.

- CHF, Ruck and distributing midfielder

- Once again we've got a lot of good young kids coming through. Backline was also pretty solid for most of the season.

- QBN will be pretty strong again.

- Surely Creek will win a game this season....

- Eastlake. Was speaking to a recent ex-player a few weeks ago who says that they might be looking a bit skinny this year.

- Knocking off QBN by 40 points down at Arctic Park. We celebrated it too which probably explains why we ate s*it for the rest of the year afterwards...

- Losing to Ainslie @ Greenway

- Cause you're a washed-up retired full-forward who's trying to maintain some relevance...!!!

Well done ABH

My thoughts on the Mighty Magpies are:

We lacked passion by the end of the year.

Another strong forward would go a long way

A forward, another ruckman and a running half back flanker

Were able to match with the Swans on all three ocassions

Tigers will be hard to stop

Tuggeranong. Ainlsie may go ok now that one particular person is goooooooone

Dont Know

Against the Swans at SCG going down in the last five minutes

Yeah right - obviously against Qnbo in Prel

and why do you bother - because you are a shiit stirrrer and love it !

Does anyone know who Broadbent is ? Apparently signed with Tuggers from Riverina.

Jamie Broadbent was player/coach of Leeton last year in the RFL. Came runner-up B&F in the RFL in 2006.

This post was on the Riverina Big Footy site by someone listing the "Top 10" players in the RFL....

7. Jamie Broadbent (Leeton-Whitton centre-half back)
While the Crows are winless, Broadbent is the rock of the team, this season situated at centre-half back. Broadbent has been the general in the midfield for previous seasons but with the Crows struggling this year, he has found a new home in defence. Broadbent has a knack of finding the football, has plenty of football smarts and is still one of the competition’s best.

Well done ABH

My thoughts on the Mighty Magpies are:

We lacked passion by the end of the year.

Another strong forward would go a long way

A forward, another ruckman and a running half back flanker

Were able to match with the Swans on all three ocassions

Tigers will be hard to stop

Tuggeranong. Ainlsie may go ok now that one particular person is goooooooone

Dont Know

Against the Swans at SCG going down in the last five minutes

Yeah right - obviously against Qnbo in Prel

and why do you bother - because you are a shiit stirrrer and love it !

i dont think we lacked passion, just were outplayed by 2 very good teams.

but yes i would think we need a ruckman more than anything

Gday guys. Just signed up, enjoying the banter and I look forward to some good info on local footy. No allegences to any local club, but know quite a few people at different clubs.

WOW - Welcome on board, but how about having a go first up and tell us your thoughts on the state of the League, its clubs and more importantly whats going to happen in 2008 !!! Do you have any information on player recruitment etc etc etc cause no other bastard has !!!!!!!!!!!!

Jamie Broadbent was player/coach of Leeton last year in the RFL. Came runner-up B&F in the RFL in 2006.

This post was on the Riverina Big Footy site by someone listing the "Top 10" players in the RFL....

7. Jamie Broadbent (Leeton-Whitton centre-half back)
While the Crows are winless, Broadbent is the rock of the team, this season situated at centre-half back. Broadbent has been the general in the midfield for previous seasons but with the Crows struggling this year, he has found a new home in defence. Broadbent has a knack of finding the football, has plenty of football smarts and is still one of the competition’s best.

Let me guess.....another player out your way on $20 a game!! Yeh, pull the other one Tugger!!!

Gee thats a bit harsh Tugger, I'm just trying to keep this thread interesting.....

True that I am washed up.... but trying to maintain relevance?

Better to be washed up ABH than never was. Not too many blokes kick 800 plus goals in AFL Canberra first grade. None at Tuggville.

Great to see the smelly bum rugby comp. go bust to the tune of >$4m.That was the one that got the AFL kids and us kicked off Manuka for the finals.

Happy Christmas all you cement heads out there who contribute to this yarn.

Hook in next year.