AFL Canberra

Could one of you Canberra District Clubs start a new thread for you blokes. This is a AFL Canberra site and I'm sick of hearing about you blokes at the moment. !!!! Boring, Boring, Boring. Who gives a rats ar-se about the crap thats being delivered at the moment. Then again at least its something to read.

Ok ABH, whats the go in Tigerland. Nothing suggests its going to be a good year you for you flogs across the border. Low numbers at training, blokes not committed, onball division decimated by injury and "not wanting to play" and yet you have a game against one of the best SANFL teams in 2 weeks. What a f-cking flogging thats going to be.

Oh yeah, Belco heading for another GF. Plenty of new players. GM is excellent with heaps of new ideas plus players and cant wait for our new stadium at Kippax which he is progressing with.

Will shit on those long awaited developments at Ainslie. We are it !!!! ABH !!! and will be for years to come. Qnbo are finished and will be flat out making the four.
?????????? Kippax and stadium in the same sentence WTF??????????
Takes more than building a new canteen and a grandstand that holds more than 50 for a pathetic, out dated suburban ground to be called a stadium.
Wake up and stop smelling yourself FIM.

FIM- I know you are a Belco supporter but I am trying so hard not to call you a w@nker and tell you to wake the f%ck up to yourself and take that dick out of your mouth.

Canberra Districts is part of AFL Canberra and some people are interested in hearing what goes on around in the whole of Canberra. Our club has 2 districts team don't forget, and your shit house attitude towards them is what causes the rift between the 1/2's and 3/4's.
Thank god there are Stevie Mahars in this that team who are genuinely nice blokes and have the whole clubs interest at heart- lucky I don't know who you are because I would seriously slap you in the nuts next time I see you down at the club.

Just heard a rumour (thats right MT a rumour) that the creek are looking in real trouble and will more than likely not make the start of the season....has anyone heard anything about this??....If its true then so much for their useless taskforce, the league will be in the same position it was this time last year !!

FIM- I know you are a Belco supporter but I am trying so hard not to call you a w@nker and tell you to wake the f%ck up to yourself and take that dick out of your mouth.

Canberra Districts is part of AFL Canberra and some people are interested in hearing what goes on around in the whole of Canberra. Our club has 2 districts team don't forget, and your shit house attitude towards them is what causes the rift between the 1/2's and 3/4's.
Thank god there are Stevie Mahars in this that team who are genuinely nice blokes and have the whole clubs interest at heart- lucky I don't know who you are because I would seriously slap you in the nuts next time I see you down at the club.

Well said Chaddles.Aren't we hoping in time some of those district clubs can step and perhaps fill the gaps we have or may be created if sides at the top level fall over?

We have enough competition from other codes without getting our own off side.

Still...FIM has given the old site a buzz for a few hours.

Well said Chaddles.Aren't we hoping in time some of those district clubs can step and perhaps fill the gaps we have or may be created if sides at the top level fall over?

We have enough competition from other codes without getting our own off side.

Still...FIM has given the old site a buzz for a few hours.

The only real club who could make the step up over the next 5-10 years would be the Gungahlin Jets who look like they are developing a rather strong football club out that way.
I am pretty sure that entering a team into the Premier League would be a long term objective of the club after they establish a secure financial base to compete with the Qbyns and Belco's of this world. They definitely have they population base to build on and it would create a great rivalry between Belco and the Jets.

Takes more than building a new canteen and a grandstand that holds more than 50 for a pathetic, out dated suburban ground to be called a stadium.

if they can do it in qbn, they can do it in kippax. when it is finished it will be alot better than crappy margaret Donahugh ovals changerooms and stadium, those changerooms are almost as bad as ainslies away change rooms.

Better some than none unit !! Thats what you have - sweet fu-ck all.

WTF are you on about S4B???
How the hell is a patch of grass outdated... that is essentially what Kippax Oval is so why couldn't the club build a "stadium" or a complex??
If I said to you 10 years ago Magpies FC would have a near new club at Kippax, own a Golf Course, and a club in the city you would call me a bullshit artist (which I am).

Thats half the problem with the league and the no crowds caper, to travel to a home game for say Belconnen you have to drive half an hour to see them at Manuka! They really need to take a look at Westies next door to Kippax to see how it is done- Comfortable drinking environment inside if the weather is crap plus seated area if the weather is fine.

How the hell is a patch of grass outdated... that is essentially what Kippax Oval is so why couldn't the club build a "stadium" or a complex??
If I said to you 10 years ago Magpies FC would have a near new club at Kippax, own a Golf Course, and a club in the city you would call me a bullshit artist (which I am).

Thats half the problem with the league and the no crowds caper, to travel to a home game for say Belconnen you have to drive half an hour to see them at Manuka! They really need to take a look at Westies next door to Kippax to see how it is done- Comfortable drinking environment inside if the weather is crap plus seated area if the weather is fine.

The plans for the Kippax upgrade are pretty good. It will hopefully be an oval with the same homeground feel as Margaret Donohue (which I love as a venue) with a playing surface equivalent to Ainslie. Where it will be over these two venues will be the player facilities and spectator facilities. The functioning bar/social club on top of the seating area might actually get people down to the games in the middle of winter.

It's a really exciting project and full marks to Garry Davidson for driving it along.

I don't know of anyone that would class MDO as a stadium!!!!!!
I certainly wouldn't.
I think the comparison between the away change rooms is laughable.
MDO's away rooms are like they are for a reason, the same reason every club has. You make it as uncomfortable for the opposition in every way shape and form that you can, to try and gain an advantage.
Go have a look at some country Vic rooms (I've used pleanty). MDO is a palace.

The plans for the Kippax upgrade are pretty good. It will hopefully be an oval with the same homeground feel as Margaret Donohue (which I love as a venue) with a playing surface equivalent to Ainslie. Where it will be over these two venues will be the player facilities and spectator facilities. The functioning bar/social club on top of the seating area might actually get people down to the games in the middle of winter.

It's a really exciting project and full marks to Garry Davidson for driving it along.

Great leap forward for the club, you will probably find that the CD boys wouldn't mind heading down on a Sunday to watch the 1's play and to have a few beers. Will they be upgrading the lights so they will be good enough to hold night matches? Could be a real winner if the club could hold all grades on the one day a couple of times a season.
What is the story with the District teams, will they be playing home games there? or will they p!ss them off to Jamo or wherever like Ainslie did with there lower grades?

I have said it before on this thread, why the hell would a Qbn or Ainslie want to make the visitors rooms appealing to the opposition. Isnt that the whole idea of having a home ground advantage....As long as the playing surface is equal to both sides and the paying spectator facilities are adequate then thats all that needs to be done. The home team wants the opposition players to not want to be their, to get them in a negative frame of mind...Even more so if its cold and raining!!
Seems to to me you guys have become to use to claiming Manuka as your home ground seeing as you play there every 2nd week!!

Just heard a rumour (thats right MT a rumour) that the creek are looking in real trouble and will more than likely not make the start of the season....has anyone heard anything about this??....If its true then so much for their useless taskforce, the league will be in the same position it was this time last year !!

I heard they were in talks with tuggers to join forces?? Got this from a Nappy Valley member. Anyone confirm??

Your not much of a Belco supporter if ya complaining about travelling for half an hour to watch our team. Maybe your the one that needs a punch in the nuts. Great idea to upgrade Kippax, but why spend money when have the best facilities for home matches anywhere - Manuka Oval. Lets use the upstairs area at Manuka if the weather is shite (as ABH spells it). Or are there too many stairs for you to climb ********.

Doesnt really matter if the Creek or Tuggers for that matter make it to and thru 2008, for 2009 will see a state league with only the four big clubs from Canberra in it getting a start, with the Swans plus some others from across the state. It will happen!!! (maybe)

There was a James Quarmby who played for Cootamundra for the last 2 years in AFL Canberra District Div 2 which is more or less Division 4. I think he is from Bathurst. Handy player who practically single handly took Coota through to a Grand final 2 years ago. Wouldn't get a game in a 1st grade and probably 2nd grade side in Canberra. Hates a close tag

Jum ended up traveling from Bathurst every weekend to Cootamudra to play for them. 2006 he played a few more games with Bathurst, and then 2007 played nearly every game for them.

From what i saw he would certainly make a very handy 2's player. Not quite big enough or tough enough to make it to 1st's. He could make the step up eventually if he had the mindset, but from what i saw he just wants to play for fun, nothing serious. He's doing uni in Bathurst now from what i understand. I saw a lot of him when he played for coota, and you're right, he basically was the star of that team.

Your not much of a Belco supporter if ya complaining about travelling for half an hour to watch our team. Maybe your the one that needs a punch in the nuts. Great idea to upgrade Kippax, but why spend money when have the best facilities for home matches anywhere - Manuka Oval. Lets use the upstairs area at Manuka if the weather is shite (as ABH spells it). Or are there too many stairs for you to climb ********.

I'm not talking about supporters like me, its trying to get other local people interested in coming down and watching a game who don't go to games because a home game isn't really a home game!
Why shouldn't the club develop a quality ground in the local area that the club can truly call home?? Might actually get a few people down to the games to support their local team for a change. Pretty simple logic really, maybe I am over estimating your intelligence....
And yeah stairs are too difficult to walk up, especially after 2/3 nights a week training and a game.

Jum ended up traveling from Bathurst every weekend to Cootamudra to play for them. 2006 he played a few more games with Bathurst, and then 2007 played nearly every game for them.

From what i saw he would certainly make a very handy 2's player. Not quite big enough or tough enough to make it to 1st's. He could make the step up eventually if he had the mindset, but from what i saw he just wants to play for fun, nothing serious. He's doing uni in Bathurst now from what i understand. I saw a lot of him when he played for coota, and you're right, he basically was the star of that team.

Who gives a ----- about that level of footy. Go Belco Magpies in Seniors.

Doesnt really matter if the Creek or Tuggers for that matter make it to and thru 2008, for 2009 will see a state league with only the four big clubs from Canberra in it getting a start, with the Swans plus some others from across the state. It will happen!!! (maybe)

AFL Canberra should be approaching AFL NSW/ACT about setting up a state league, my theoretical make up of the league would be:
Belco, Queanbeyan, Ainslie, Eastlake (the big 4 I presume)
Swans, 2 teams from AFL Sydney, and an MVAFA rep team.
Could also look at a Black Diamond team for future expansion and maybe a 5th Canberra team to make a 10 team comp.
Would need the full backing of AFL NSW/ACT to get off the ground but I imagine they would be too tight to fund such an ambitious project.
AFL Canberra need to do something otherwise the comp may well be a 4 or 5 team competition in the years to come.

Who gives a ----- about that level of footy. Go Belco Magpies in Seniors.
Wake up to yourself Di#K in mouth, you may be just trying to get bites but your turning everyone including Beloc suppoters against you. Anyway you would be more interested in the second grade side this year wouldn't you

AFL Canberra should be approaching AFL NSW/ACT about setting up a state league, my theoretical make up of the league would be:
Belco, Queanbeyan, Ainslie, Eastlake (the big 4 I presume)
Swans, 2 teams from AFL Sydney, and an MVAFA rep team.
Could also look at a Black Diamond team for future expansion and maybe a 5th Canberra team to make a 10 team comp.
Would need the full backing of AFL NSW/ACT to get off the ground but I imagine they would be too tight to fund such an ambitious project.
AFL Canberra need to do something otherwise the comp may well be a 4 or 5 team competition in the years to come.

Something like this would mean 1sts only purely on a cost front with travel etc. Therefore it is important that district teams, some linked to the big 4, survive and provide the ressies and social footy at no cost with 18s the future seniors.

Cost,even if subsidised by the AFL, will be the big factor in any State comp. and local footy in future.No licensed club means you struggle and with the pressure on for the removal/restriction of pokies long term things may change dramatically.

In short perhaps the big money days are coming to an end.

What do others think of Chaddles proposal??

FIM

Swans will win, it will be a battle for second. Yawn. Belco will have a superiourity complex and be the new Ainslie - hated by everyone for being egotistical prix. Queanbeyan and Eastlake will make up the 4 and Ainslie will improve, but not have the depth to win. The Wildcats and Tuggies are both gone - one has no money and lost their best players - the other has a small amount of money and no players. Best for everyone if they merge and be a single struggling club, not two on deaths door.

FIM As for your hatred of Districts, you are a clown. Its the most even comp in Canberrea.

Districts this year will see a fair battle - Gungahlin have reportedly lost a few players back to Ainslie, Harman have picked up a fair few from the Qbn Ressies side from last year, ANU are ANU and Belco 3rds are down a grade and bringing a ton of higher level experience back.

Add in Murrumbidgee and Woden who have made finals in the last two years, the return of Ainslie, an improving Eastlake and the unpredictable ADFA and Tuggeranong, and you have a comp where the top 4 is not completely predictable before the season starts.

Wake up FIM - there is a ton more to footy in Canberra than listening to your dribble. By the way, will the locks on the changerooms work at Kippax? The last two times we played there some typical Belco criminal scum stole wallets and phones from the rooms. All you would expect from the Charnwood elite!

Chaddles suggestion of a State League has been brought up before many times - but in the last 15 years, Campbelltown, Batemans Bay, Combined Defense, Wagga Tigers have all tried and failed - none could compete with the $ and resources of the big Canberra Clubs.

Great idea, shame it won't happen.

Chaddles suggestion of a State League has been brought up before many times - but in the last 15 years, Campbelltown, Batemans Bay, Combined Defense, Wagga Tigers have all tried and failed - none could compete with the $ and resources of the big Canberra Clubs.

Great idea, shame it won't happen.

The only way a State League would work is if :

a) travel and other costs are subsidised by AFL NSW/ACT; and
b) there is a player points based system introduced. Much easier to police than a salary cap system and works as an evener talent wise.

As for bagging out the Districts comp. It could be argued that FIM wouldn't have a team to blindly support if it weren't for the West Canberra Football Club (District Team) and the money they gave to Belconnen (ACTAFL CLub).

I quite like the idea of having 9 other teams to play against.

I don't know of anyone that would class MDO as a stadium!!!!!!
I certainly wouldn't.
I think the comparison between the away change rooms is laughable.
MDO's away rooms are like they are for a reason, the same reason every club has. You make it as uncomfortable for the opposition in every way shape and form that you can, to try and gain an advantage.
Go have a look at some country Vic rooms (I've used pleanty). MDO is a palace.

I agree....You should go and have a look at places like Benalla, Ainslies rooms are like Manuka in comparison !!

As for the State League....would be great if they could get it up and running, but just can't see the AFL pumping any money into it.

The reason having external teams in the comp has never worked previously is because it hasn't been done properly in the past. The only reason Wagga ever joined AFL Canberra was because they thought they were too good for the RFL and the O&M didn't want them in their comp ...they got a rude awakening when they stepped up to plate in Canberra though even with the likes of Blerta (McMahon) C Jackson and Jaques.