AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Who are most of these blokes?? Is this a totally new team bar a few?? AFC1 can you assist or is this the new youth policy??
Good round of footy coming up.All three games in Rd1. were upsets. Tigers over the Swans, Ainslie over Belco and Tuggers over the Lakes.
Will they be upsets if the results are reversed this week as they possibly could be?
i'm certain that in 10 days time u will know who these boys are abh.. david love i think is becoming one of the best defenders in the league and should get a spot in the rep team.. unfortutely buchanan is on the injury list 4 a while after the 1st round but ainslie will look 4ward to getting his hardness back.. harris and olsen definately in the 22 with brett sheehan another one to put in there.. from what i've seen and heard everyone is getting on really well and all the recruits are enjoying canberra.. should be a couple of cracker games coming up.. ainslie by 22 over belco
Always ready to stand corrected terryI think you'll find that irwin and whato were tuggers juniors, I know neil won a flag with the lions not sure about whato. So the question that now needs to be asked is who else you put up there falsely??
Always ready to stand corrected terry
They may fall into the second catergory then, Satchell, Walker, Slater, the Dickinson brothers all played there junior junior days at tuggers but came across and played several (some up to 3 years) of 18's and have now progressed to seniors.
Tuggies have definately suffered from players transfering to other clubs not only in the ACT,the question that needs to be asked is why.Do tuggies not look after their players,seems not.Players like Cooper Argall especially gave plenty for the club before moving away,I believe it would have been very hard for them to make that decision.Tuggies seem to have blinkers on,have seen former players successful in the coaching ranks not even given the time of day by tuggies and now they coach elsewhere.Players have same scenario.You would think that they would exhaust every possible avenue to breed success at their club.Not so it seems.Need to look outside the square and not just give jobs to people who's name ends in hson.Not sure Neil did play 18s/19s mate- I think he came through in that period when there was no colts between the 'successful' U21 comp and the current 18s comp that started in the early 2000s. Pretty sure he played 18s with the lions and then went straight to Qbn 2s. Semantics I know given he was always going to play for the tigers.
Sheehan is a former Tuggies boy too. I thought he was off doing marathons but not surprised he is back now the tri-colours are on the up.
Irwin, Whatman, Dickinson and Thompson are Tuggies juniors too.
In my opinion you are a recruit if you get paid to go to another club to play footy- seniors reserves or under 18s- whether you call it a sign-on fee, a 'scholarship' or what. And before anybody gives me the Chook Fowlie "QBN doesn't offer $$$ to juniors from other clubs" line, somebody ask Matt Bryant how his QBN sponsored pool table is going and why Chook wont release him . Not bad for a handful of games!
In saying that there is nothing wrong with blokes like Irwin, Campbell and Gallagher (ex-Eastlake) going to play for clubs that their families have long and proud histories with. Although some recognition from those clubs wouldn't hurt.
But it would certainly be nice to have some of the former Tuggies juniors at other clubs back playing at the Hawks! Argall, Cooper, Dickinson, Irwin, Thompson, Whatman would be handy......
Your so right spewie blokes like him get so much to feather their own nest with ,abuse inuendo just to name two.Every person at every club that put their hand up to be on the board of any club should be applauded and not abused by people who have no knowledge.Some of us forget that there is usually 6-10 people on any one board so how they feather their own nest is beyond me.These people do it for the love of their own club and the game.You didn't answer my question as to what you do for belco spewie,sit on the side lines and applaud your team when they do well and abuse them when they don't.Belconnen will beat AFC by 6 goals. Belco is hitting their straps with some good solid running football. their backline is very solid and they have the ability to cut players out of the game. Obviously to keep Armstrong and kavanagh high quality players so quiet was a key in the success of Belc last week. Even if the Belco mid field stopped the ballfrom getting down to qbn fwd line, the backline must have been good to repel the attacks forward. AFC dont have any stand out forwards so the strength of the Belc backline should be significant against the imports. And yes I do not have any regard for Shrek- he only does things to further his own interests, he doesnt do anything unless there is something in it for him, next thing they will name a club rooms or stand after him!
Tuggies have definately suffered from players transfering to other clubs not only in the ACT,the question that needs to be asked is why.Do tuggies not look after their players,seems not.Players like Cooper Argall especially gave plenty for the club before moving away,I believe it would have been very hard for them to make that decision.Tuggies seem to have blinkers on,have seen former players successful in the coaching ranks not even given the time of day by tuggies and now they coach elsewhere.Players have same scenario.You would think that they would exhaust every possible avenue to breed success at their club.Not so it seems.Need to look outside the square and not just give jobs to people who's name ends in hson.
No waa from here toodogs just facing the same facts as you,that players will move and move for varying reasons.Tuggies do need to look at making sure their players stay otherwise infive years forget the whining as you put it they will be gone.Hope giddo can get them on the right track.One of the biggest junior areas(breeding two clubs) needs to have a senior club,it is vital to the league and the valley.Eastlake have obviously seen the future potential in the valley and built a club there seemingly just waiting for tuggies to fall.then it is just a matter of moving in on the turf.I'm sorry, all I can hear is WAA WAA WAA WAA WAA and now he doesn't play for us any more....Why don't you all stop whining about the the could have's or would have's?? Footballers will always change clubs, they move on when their group of friends change, they move on when their parents move to another district, they move on when they get offered money! If the Club is good to them, they may even stay around for a while... otherwise they will move on to another club. Who cares who played under 8's for Tuggies but now plays for Quenabeyan or Eastlake or Ainslie... All footballers want to be involved with a successful team and club and as sad as it sounds, that's why they move on from Tuggies.
I wish them the best of luck this season; they might even break even with Big Giddo running the show but they desperately need a Premier Sponsor otherwise in 5 years time we'll still be hearing about poor old Tuggers, their under 8's keep moving to other clubs! The stronger Clubs of this league are where they are because they have structured them selves right and followed a dynamic five or ten year plan - which may or may not involve recruiting local juniors, promoting club juniors or recruiting interstate players. If they have the money it's becuse they worked hard for it.... and how they choose to spend it is up to them.
Better players getting around might just prompt some interest from the local media and if the local yocals can drag themselves away from Rugby on TV for long enough; we might even start building on the corwd attendances at each game!
Sheehan is a former Tuggies boy too. I thought he was off doing marathons but not surprised he is back now the tri-colours are on the up.
Irwin, Whatman, Dickinson and Thompson are Tuggies juniors too.
In my opinion you are a recruit if you get paid to go to another club to play footy- seniors reserves or under 18s- whether you call it a sign-on fee, a 'scholarship' or what. And before anybody gives me the Chook Fowlie "QBN doesn't offer $$$ to juniors from other clubs" line, somebody ask Matt Bryant how his QBN sponsored pool table is going and why Chook wont release him . Not bad for a handful of games!
In saying that there is nothing wrong with blokes like Irwin, Campbell and Gallagher (ex-Eastlake) going to play for clubs that their families have long and proud histories with. Although some recognition from those clubs wouldn't hurt.
But it would certainly be nice to have some of the former Tuggies juniors at other clubs back playing at the Hawks! Argall, Cooper, Dickinson, Irwin, Thompson, Whatman would be handy......
No waa from here toodogs just facing the same facts as you,that players will move and move for varying reasons.Tuggies do need to look at making sure their players stay otherwise infive years forget the whining as you put it they will be gone.Hope giddo can get them on the right track.One of the biggest junior areas(breeding two clubs) needs to have a senior club,it is vital to the league and the valley.Eastlake have obviously seen the future potential in the valley and built a club there seemingly just waiting for tuggies to fall.then it is just a matter of moving in on the turf.
Not sure what is going on with the Jets - Gbanger can you shed any light?
My mob are 0-3 as well - not the start to the season we were expecting.
Hopefully the boys will rack up the first win of the year against Harman on Thursday night at Greenway!
Just a question to the bloke who does what his name suggests Tugalot ! How many current players of Tuggers played in their Under 18 grade team of 2002 ? think they played off in the GF against Qnbo
So in your reckoning Sir T; any kid who wants to continue his playing career after playing U18's for Marist is going to be a recruit no matter where he goes? Sounds like you've been living up to your name too much!
I understand Tuggers are hurting through their own inability to attract or keep promising juniors from the Valley teams but you need to put it in to the right perspective... young kids only play for the team that they are zoned in or that is closest to where they live - they don't have their old man pawning them out to the highest bidder when they turn 6. It's all hit and miss at that age as to whether or not a kid is going to turn into a 100 game senior player. Just because he chooses to go to a successful club to start an U18 or senior career (with or wthout the temptation of a sign on fee) does not make him a recruit. Nor does it make the club gaining that player unethical. The entire Dickinson family have invested time and services to the Tigers football club (except the youngest kids... they just kick the footy at 1/2 time). If the Tigers were not an ethical family club I think they would have moved on before the 2nd Dickinson came along and definitely before the third (reported to be more talented than Scott & Todd) comes along... hopefully he does come along.
If people go out of their way to bring you to the club from outside their junior structure like wine and dine you, your parents, offer something you want (be it success, mateship, coin, a stubbie after the game, tradition, stabilty) etc you are a recruit. That is not to say you are not going to be just as much part of the club as anyone else.
I never said there was anything unethical about any of this. I said payments had been publicly denied in the past. If Tuggies had the $$$ I would expect us to go out and get the players we thought we need to build and maintain a strong side exactly the same. We need to do that to move forward- I reckon that the valley as a region will be in the same boat in 5-10 years as the inner north and inner south have been going through- changed demographics and not as many kids. My worry is, due to past issues, we won't be able to get the recruits that helped Ainslie's and Eastlake's local boys when their juniors went down a bit- and good on those clubs for putting in the $$$ and effort to strengthen their juniors. It is good for footy. Hopefully Giddo and co can get us back in the black and beyond so we can give our juniors more support too.
The Dickinsons only get good reviews as people over here too. Good luck to them and I hope getting the Swans in last year's GF hasn't cost all those blokes their only shot at a medal. (I don't think it has before you start ABH!)
I think it is an indication of the strength of the tigers that there are a number of blokes in our sides whose fathers played for other clubs and they have not been drawn to them. Credit where it is due.
Tuggies have blokes like Takanen, Irvine, Sidwell and Overs that came from outside the valley origionally. That is footy. No Waa Waas. There have been individuals upset that bloke has gone to another club sure, but the club is bigger than that and in the most they are all wished well. I reckon it is a source of pride that I can say that over the past 15 years the club has had local blokes go and play AFL and in every mainland state league (except maybe NT). Sure we would love to have them all still here but the coaching staff and players don't give a hoot about the blokes that aren't here anymore on Saturday at 2:00. The fanatasies are for footy forums like this- And maybe a quiet Tugg before bed.
Sir Tugg where is the money,a couple of years ago after first leaving the southern cross club it was reported that Tuggies signed a sponsorship deal with the Vikings for $100,000.00.If this is factual where did the money go.They run a very successful canteen and seem to have a very good following down at greenway even at ainslie last week they had plenty of supporters.All I guess that pay to get through the gates at Greenway.We all know that gate takings aren't usually massive but every bit helps.Tuggies also had the canteen for the finals last year.Plenty of revenue there.They keep crying poor but where is all this money going.Touche`. Although I still disagree with your definitioin of a "Recruit" but that will be an agree to disagree topic. My last say on it is that I believe a recruit to be a player who has proven their ability at a senior level and is being paid for his performances at a new club - regardless of whether that club is in the same league or not...
I know that there are other opinions out there; several of them are at my own club; that's just footy..
Sorry for the late response, been away from the site for a while. We haven't had the best start to the year at the JETS , a lot of new players, a new coach and a new game plan have us out of our comfort zone. Bidgee were very good the day we played them, but we were bloddy awful. ANU our first 1/2 was what we were like against Bidgee, but second half (apart from last 5 minutes of the game) we started to get things to work. Ainslie couldn't have come at a better time for us, just to get a bit of confidence back into each other and the way we can play for a very tough game against the Maggies this week at the shyte hole that is Jammo (Amaroo, despite the Amaroo Dr that is ever present, is heaps better!). Sunday will let us know how we are really going though, no doubting that...as long as we all dont disappear into the cest pit in the middle of Jamo
It will be a good Sunday that's for sure. We come up against you mob in the 1's while the early game will see us and Yass who are both undefeated go at it.
Don't know what's with the Jamo dissing though - it's got it all over Amaroo in almost every aspect. If the Mungo's stayed off it the playing surface would be even better.
It will be a good Sunday that's for sure. We come up against you mob in the 1's while the early game will see us and Yass who are both undefeated go at it.
Don't know what's with the Jamo dissing though - it's got it all over Amaroo in almost every aspect. If the Mungo's stayed off it the playing surface would be even better.