AFL can't compete with the game of globalisation

afl is one of the most physically taxing sports to play with injuries and just plain soreness a common after effect. it requires courage and a willingness to take your lumps. its an hard option to play with relatively complex rules. soccer is the easier option to play and the global effect has just that. i can appreciate both but afl is the more engaging sport for me by far and hope its cultural influences live on in this country for infinity

Why would you think the City-Madrid game was a big deal. Specifically because the other two games Rome-Madrid & Rome-City. The first everyone roundly booed on the final whistle and hated the game. The second not that many showed up. So there's two conclusions to draw from this, people mainly just wanted to see Madrid and that soccer itself as sport isn't the drawcard.

So Madrid in town, or watch Hawthorn inevitably flog Carlton? It's an easy choice and it's got nothing to do with competing.

Plus the paper planes, the plentiful paper planes. They were everywhere. Or someone shouting out Ball, 50 or 'Colllllingwoood' as jokes to liven up the crowd. The Mexican waves, did anyone here the 1, 2, 3, 4 on the telly? That was a Mexican wave start up, basically what the crowd does when it's bored out of its mind.

I just walked off the park tonight and can honestly say, there is no better game to play from 4 years to 42 years and hopefully 40 more.

but it is a crap game to watch. I spent three minutes watching the ManCity v Madrid game and switched back over to the footy.

I would prefer to watch carlton over a soccer match.......and don't get me started on that crap thing called the world cup

This is exactly my view. I've played soccer all my life - and I've played it at a reasonably high level. I love it - it's my favourite sport to play by a long way. I have a solid understanding of the structures and tactics involved.

Yet I have to say, I struggle to sit through a whole game. The great moments (and I'm not just talking goal scoring here) are tough to beat in soccer. They are so precise, so sharp, so beautiful. But they are few and far between, and the rest of the match is dull as dishwater to watch for mine.

I find the rapid handpasses out of packs and breakaways out of defence in AFL just as attractive as any passing combination in soccer, and they happen 10 times as frequently in AFL. Not to mention the diversity of skills and physical feats on display. I have no idea why we beat ourselves up constantly about what AFL has become when the major competition for viewers is soccer.

This is exactly my view. I've played soccer all my life - and I've played it at a reasonably high level. I love it - it's my favourite sport to play by a long way. I have a solid understanding of the structures and tactics involved.

Yet I have to say, I struggle to sit through a whole game. The great moments (and I'm not just talking goal scoring here) are tough to beat in soccer. They are so precise, so sharp, so beautiful. But they are few and far between, and the rest of the match is dull as dishwater to watch for mine.

I find the rapid handpasses out of packs and breakaways out of defence in AFL just as attractive as any passing combination in soccer, and they happen 10 times as frequently in AFL. Not to mention the diversity of skills and physical feats on display. I have no idea why we beat ourselves up constantly about what AFL has become when the major competition for viewers is soccer.

Further to this, I fail to understand why people have to be so parochial about football codes. Sure, people are always going to have their preferences, but why can't we enjoy all codes for each of their nuances? That includes on and off the pitch.

You shouldn't be basing your views of a sport on meaningless friendlies though, I mean I love soccer but I thought the games here were terminally boring.

But how people can't appreciate stuff like this is beyond me, it's like an art.

There is one way soccer will take over - Every now and then you read in the newspaper about new super planes in development that will fly you from Europe-Melbourne in 3 hours or whatever. Once this happens and Australia has teams in some kind of worldwide champion league with the best players in the world Aussie Rules is doomed. I hope it is like flying cars which have been promised forever but never arrive

wont even take that, all that needs to happen is the A-league attracts the necessary sugar daddies to bring in higher salary caps in order to retain some of australia's best players when they are in their prime.

Europe is the kingdom of soccer but the Asian leagues are currently booming if the A-league becomes a serious product by retaining its talent competes in regional champions leagues every year and tops it off with friendlies that undercurrent for soccer will continue to grow.

I don't see this realistically happening in the next 30 years though, still its a lot closer to occurring then affordable super fast jets any time soon.
Soccers problem is simply fifa. fifa couldn't give a shit about the domestic product, what they want is talented players they can take back to where the money is. This is seen in everything they do, the world cups leave nations in massive debt and unused stadia, the best players treat anything outside of Europe as joke and easy retirement money and visiting teams field 3rd rate squads that the fans masturbate over.

whether we like it or not soccer is a sleeping giant, the only good news is that the governing body seems intent on keeping it in an induced coma.

Why would you think the City-Madrid game was a big deal. Specifically because the other two games Rome-Madrid & Rome-City. The first everyone roundly booed on the final whistle and hated the game. The second not that many showed up. So there's two conclusions to draw from this, people mainly just wanted to see Madrid and that soccer itself as sport isn't the drawcard.

So Madrid in town, or watch Hawthorn inevitably flog Carlton? It's an easy choice and it's got nothing to do with competing.

Plus the paper planes, the plentiful paper planes. They were everywhere. Or someone shouting out Ball, 50 or 'Colllllingwoood' as jokes to liven up the crowd. The Mexican waves, did anyone here the 1, 2, 3, 4 on the telly? That was a Mexican wave start up, basically what the crowd does when it's bored out of its mind.

that's soccer though, just look at any game anywhere in the world soccer is less of a sport more of a show, hell melbourne victory supporters turn their backs to the game form little circles and seem to being doing the hookie pokie for the majority of game. Sydney FC used to be flare central. In Europe they sing and dance. The nature of soccer seems to more about hanging out with like minded folks and having a bit of fun. occasionally theirs a "good" game which they watch but thats considered a bonus.

I'd usually agree that it was the "event" but all that stuff and more happens every week even where soccer is king. Its impossible to tell if people didn't like the game or they were just your average soccer lovers.

All my family are Irish.

Let me tell you a story.

Less than a mile flight from Ireland lies the biggest richest soccer league in the world. Its franchises enjoy blanket coverage across all Irish sporting media. Pages of the newspapers, hours on TV both terrestrial and pay for.

The GAA hurling and gaelic football championships are enjoying a 6% year on year increase in attendance this year !!!!!

Get it? People love their sport. The Irish love hurling and gaelic football as we love AFL footy. No fear no danger.

Soccer is part of the global mediatised entertainment industry. Bring its top franchises to timbuctoo and it would get a crowd. The one off event happens and people move on.

I like Everton. I watch for their results. They mean nothing to me compared the Mighty Tigers. Am I alone? No sir.

"why do you get a point by missing?"
"why 6 points and not 5 or 10 points?"
"how many can be in the centre square during the bounce of the ball?"
I have been asked the first one before. I just say its kind of like a dart board system. Its not a matter of scoring if you miss, its more getting a higher score for hitting the bullseye.

I don't think you can really appreciate the impact of soccer unless you have kids under 11. Manchester United is estimated to have 659,000,000 supporters world wide. At my kids school every kid in my sons class has a Premier league club. At the school I used to go to, there were 9 Aussie Rules teams across year 11 and 12, today there are 5.

My boy played Oz Kick then under 9s Aussie Rules then switched to soccer. I can tell you, an under 9s soccer game is far more entertaining to watch than an under 9s aussie rules game and the kids tell me it is more fun.

Soccer is growing at under age level, fast. What you are seeing in crowds at A-League today is just the very first stages of a migration.

Actually a darn good question

Game was invented to keep cricketers fit in winter.
Hence the scoring came from that with 6 being the largest hit in cricket and 1 representing a single.
4 points for a win and 2 for a draw also follow cricket scoring although not certain if points awarded for match results were like this from day dot.

All my family are Irish.

Let me tell you a story.

Less than a mile flight from Ireland lies the biggest richest soccer league in the world. Its franchises enjoy blanket coverage across all Irish sporting media. Pages of the newspapers, hours on TV both terrestrial and pay for.

The GAA hurling and gaelic football championships are enjoying a 6% year on year increase in attendance this year !!!!!

Get it? People love their sport. The Irish love hurling and gaelic football as we love AFL footy. No fear no danger.

Soccer is part of the global mediatised entertainment industry. Bring its top franchises to timbuctoo and it would get a crowd. The one off event happens and people move on.

I like Everton. I watch for their results. They mean nothing to me compared the Mighty Tigers. Am I alone? No sir.

and that's a prime example of what i'm talking about. one of the key reasons soccer failed in Ireland (in addition to the fact that it is loved in england) is because the poms r*ped the domestic competition of talent. soccers its own worst enemy.

RoCo's kids a little nerd who probably has zero athletic gifts. He likes playing Fifa. What a surprise that is.

Auskick and junior footy are trying to cater for kids of various skills and physical gifts but for some kids soccer will take their fancy. Hockey is another sport that does well out of the lightly framed and contact averse child. Although beware the injuries that can come there.

It would be great if the AFL had a video game have as good as FIFA but that might be very hard to achieve.

And the AFL need to sell the game to migrants as well. The post war immigrants have played both footy and soccer in Australia for years. The Italian and Greek's have AFL team of the centuries.

I'm not sure the same success has been had with middle eastern and African arrivals.
I played hockey, but only because they gave you a weapon.

You shouldn't be basing your views of a sport on meaningless friendlies though, I mean I love soccer but I thought the games here were terminally boring.

But how people can't appreciate stuff like this is beyond me, it's like an art.

Amazing goal, lost points for sucking on his thumb with a bit of "look at me" about it

soccer being so good for computer games, as opposed to afl which is a bit of a weird sport is another disadvantage afl has

it will be hard to make a good afl game

hold R1 to flood the backline with 18 people

press triangle twice to give away a 50 meter for splashing water on someones face
I reckon the AFL should of put a 100 millikn into the a ps4 game instead of GCS's

I love both codes of football and Victory averaged about 27k last year and that's great. City pushed just over 10k. For Melbourne based teams, it's a combined average of 37.6k.

Here's the thing though; six of the nine teams IN MELBOURNE ALONE averaged a higher attendance than the two A-League clubs COMBINED. In total, the Melbourne teams averaged 318.6k per round. That's almost 8.5 times the average A-League attendance, and there's another team down the road that averages 9k more than Victory per match.

Love soccer, love the A-League, love Australian football, but to say that the A-League has a fair way to go before approaching the AFL is an understatement. There probably is an undercurrent of Australians that would support football at the highest level if it were played here, but it's just not and it's hard to see that even beginning to be the case for another few generations.

It's more about trends........AFL in Melbourne is down, soccer is up whether it be participation and attendance. Likewise in Sydney with Rugby League.

It's a fun, easy game to play. Growing up in the mallee where there was no local soccer league and everyone played Aussie rules, my school of 100 kids somehow was able to run a voluntary indoor soccer competition involving more than 60 kids. It's just such an accessible sport for boys and girls. The smartest thing the afl ever did was see the need for girls to play footy.

It's more about trends........AFL in Melbourne is down, soccer is up whether it be participation and attendance. Likewise in Sydney with Rugby League.
Soccer just wants to be everyone's number two football code and is succeeding. The nrl and afl will always be around, it's union that will suffer with a fall in attention.

AFL can't compete with the game of globalisation