AFL Dream Team 2008

Well I'm second and people treat me like shit.

What's up with that homies?

lol
Because you're scummy newbie trash.

:D

Trust me mate, there's a new 'Great Source' every year - talking themselves up all pre-season and so confident in themselves that they convince other new posters that they're special. They normally dissapear by round 5 :thumbsu:

When I say I've got the perfect team I always have a smiley on it mate, saying that is is almost impossible to get a perfect team...People like you who think you are something special that try and big note themselves normally disappear by round 5 :thumbsu:

Please.
I'm not interested in your schoolboy squabbles and little emoticon wars.
What you said doesn't even make sense.

I've been here for the last 3 years so quite clearly haven't 'dissappeared by Round 5'. And how on earth would you know seeing as you only joined up last November?

I hope you're different and do stick around during the year mate. All I'm saying is that it's the same every pre-season. Lots of people come in here who aren't confident in their own abilities to pick a team and post all these '..... VS .....' questions and then get answered by people who they begin to think know all.
In most cases these geniuses end up struggling and going very quiet once the season's underway.

Like I said, hopefully you will do well :thumbsu:

I think XisdonisgoodX and Great Source are just making up for theone5's lack of posting this year.

Yep...Starting to clog this board up with S**T!!!!

Back to footy hey!

I think that the majority of teams will all be the same come half way through the season, just a matter of being the frist to predict the make-up early......

Dont know why everyone is looking to Hawkins as even if he does have a good year he'll never be a DT gun.

Well definately not this year anyway!

Because you're scummy newbie trash.

:D

yeh, ive been on this board for a while, and the ammount of noobs i see come and go is amazing

they start off post whoring then when there team goes crap, they are no where to be seen

its posters like thesilencer, hbg, monty, dontbowlthere, banana_bus, wakeuptaz, etc..... that can actually be taken seriously, and are credible, becuase they post when it matters, and that is during the season, and they dont read most of this crap during the off season, because it is all irrelivent. i could start a rumour right now, and i reckon if i posted it enough i could get prestagiacomo into someones team

Please.
I'm not interested in your schoolboy squabbles and little emoticon wars.
What you said doesn't even make sense.

I've been here for the last 3 years so quite clearly haven't 'dissappeared by Round 5'. And how on earth would you know seeing as you only joined up last November?

I hope you're different and do stick around during the year mate. All I'm saying is that it's the same every pre-season. Lots of people come in here who aren't confident in their own abilities to pick a team and post all these '..... VS .....' questions and then get answered by people who they begin to think know all.
In most cases these geniuses end up struggling and going very quiet once the season's underway.

Like I said, hopefully you will do well :thumbsu:

Doesn't make sense...:confused: You've been to school have you not ?? :confused:
You've only posted around 276 posts so who really cares if you've been on here longer than me..?? Good luck to you as well mate, but maybe just for one moment think before you post...:thumbsu:

I'm not too worried about post count. I only post when I really have something to say - not just for the sake of it. It's people who post with a higher quality than quantity that I'm more likely to take notice of.

And thanks for the kind advice, i'll try to think next time before I post. I don't know what got into me.

I'm not too worried about post count. I only post when I really have something to say - not just for the sake of it. It's people who post with a higher quality than quantity that I'm more likely to take notice of.

And thanks for the kind advice, i'll try to think next time before I post. I don't know what got into me.

Then why don't you just add all these people to your 'ignore' list if it shits you so much instead of coming in here and bleating about it? :):D:rolleyes::confused::eek:

okay just a little advice for you all that you should seriously take into consideration .
SHUT THE GOD DAMN HELL UP

Then why don't you just add all these people to your 'ignore' list if it shits you so much instead of coming in here and bleating about it? :):D:rolleyes::confused::eek:
Because occasionally everyone has something good to say.

well lets get this back on topic. kenelly, hurn and smith? why are people against them? and if so, whose better in that price range?
Out of the three (ignoring injury), Smith is IMO the best prospect. His role lends itself to decent scores and he showed flashes of that in the latter stages of last season. However as has been mentioned he isn't fully healthy at the moment, so keeping tabs on that is important.
Tadgh is an interesting one because his first four rounds last year were fantastic. The Swans love to use him because he doesn't waste the ball, but often guys like that become impact players who use it well but don't get enough for fantasy sports. Will he get back to last years early form or keep lingering around the 60's? That's a tough call and it's up to you.
Hurn is an unknown. The West Coast midfield set-up is still yet to be decided and gaging his prospects relies more on the NAb cup than either of the earlier two. We can't really tell how he'll be used yet because the side has changed so much and Worsfold himself has stated that their midfield isn't set in stone yet.

There are lots of players around this price range who could be about to break out. Scouring through the list is something we've probably all already done so now the most important thing is keeping an eye on these guys in the NAB cup. That's where you're more likely to get an idea of how they'll be used.

I've been reading this thread for a while now, so I thought it's about time I posted something. I have a few observations / questions.

- The teams that get posted here, all seem to be basically the same. Everyone seems to have Kennely, Hurn, Ellis, Murphy, Douglas, Stevens, Thompson, Bradshaw, Didak and Monfries. Some of these guys might be good pick ups at their prices, but a lot of people are going to have similar and predictable teams. You have to take some risks in this game.
- Why do so many people have Ellis? I know people keep saying this will be his year, but I doubt he would average any more than 60. Same with Douglas, he isn't as good as people think.
- There is a lot of talk about Hawkins being a 'cash cow' with Ablett gone, but Tom Lonergan is $95,000 cheaper and it sounds like he will get a shot at that position (AFL website article).
- Dean Cox isn't a must. Last year 7 players averaged more than him, are they must haves too? By not getting Cox, you can upgrade to some more of those 7 players. Of course Cox is the best ruckman, but if it weakens the rest of the team, it isn't worth it.
- Finally, no offence but why does everyone talk like Great Source is the all-knowing master of dream team? Did you win it last year?

1) Holy Jeebus - I have six of those names! The reasons I've gone with them:
Simmonds - Bargain, could be in my team from Round 1 to Round 22.
Didak - Ditto.
Douglas - Should be a good improver, capable of getting a lot of the ball given game time. Expect average of 70+.
Thompson - Cash - Is worth a lot more than his price.
Ellis - Cash - Expecting him to have a great year. 22 games, plus extra points towards the start with a lot of his teammates suspended for being thugs :D.
Hurn - The only one I've been swayed into selecting by the rest of y'all, still not sure of it though, will probably get the chop before round 1.

2) RE: Ellis - As above.

3) Could be a good scoop there Chris. Personally I wouldn't go with either, but I can see Hawkins definitely being a popular selection.

4) Cox is THE number 1 DT'er. Only Bartel and the Cornes' even come close to dominating their position in terms of DT the way Cox does. Having said that, I didn't select him :D, but I intend to get him before the season is out.

5) Who? :confused:

Hurn isn't a big disposal gatherer Virgil, don't get fooled into selecting him if you are not convinced...:thumbsu:

Yeah, it'll all depend on the NAB cup. I'm hoping he is worth it, 'cause he fits nicely into my team plans thus far, but if he doesn't show much then I'll upgrade by selling elsewhere :thumbsu:.