AFL Dream Team 2008

No doubting he set up his team well, but it just seems from some of the posts being made on here people are more worried about how their round 1 team will go rather than looking at the bigger picture which is how the team will finish up the year.

This weekend I spent a bit of time playing around with my team and finally settled on a line up last night. I don't have one player above $372k and most players are in the $275-340k range with plenty of potential for improvement and a surety that most of them will be lining up each week.

Whether that set up is right or wrong I'll find out in 22 weeks time, but it sure as hell seems a lot safer than the risky approach I have taken in years past where I have loaded up with guns and rookies, then had to waste a heap of trades trying to rectify problems with not enough rookies player early or guns getting hurt.

I guess this makes sense if you are talking about not including bench players such as Hampson because they are out for 1 - 2 weeks. You do need to look at the bigger picture in this situation or you waste a trade.

Apart from the obvious good trading and choice of captain, I believe setting up your team pre-round 1 is the most important part of the year. Not setting up to lead in round 1, but setting up for the big picture by thinking about 30 players scoring every week, trade protection, player improvement and durability.

From memory last year Danny Jacobs scored 150 in the first round and the leader had him yet by round 22 Jacobs had dropped $37K on his starting price.

Good research, good trading, good captain and good luck are the keys.

Here's a couple of names i reckon are worth mentioning which seem to have slipped by thus far.
Schneider
Pearce

Both players offer something a little different and not may people would have them in their team (unlike last year where most people were on the PEARCE bandwagon).
I went to the Crows V Saints game at Adelaide, Schneider was impressive in his new role attacking off the half back flank.
Thoughts??

Here's a couple of names i reckon are worth mentioning which seem to have slipped by thus far.
Schneider
Pearce

Both players offer something a little different and not may people would have them in their team (unlike last year where most people were on the PEARCE bandwagon).
I went to the Crows V Saints game at Adelaide, Schneider was impressive in his new role attacking off the half back flank.
Thoughts??

I think Pearce can improve on his average greatly and could definately be a keeper, kind of unique pick. Apparently had another huge game last weekend also. Schneider is to overpriced IMO, stear clear i think.

I still think that he is going to struggle to improve with the engine room of the Power!

I think Pearce could be a good pick however ppl know how good the midfield is at the power. pearce avg 78 last year with the same midfield and could only improve and he will at least avg 82+ so maybe for his price get on him.

Down side they verse Sydney in round 2 which means some1 like him could be shut down. maybe wait for him after round 3 when price is similar or less to his starting price. Then you can see how hes going and also not miss out on a major improver.

I think Pearce can improve on his average greatly and could definately be a keeper, also a kind of unique pick. Apparently had another huge game last weekend also. Schneider is to overpriced IMO, stear clear i think.

Good picks Bookie. Pearce is an interesting one. He hasn't really done that much this year, and nothing that has said he will impress, however it is his third full season (which according to a good theory posted previously) he could be a good smokey.

Schneider is overpriced. He's no where near as consistent as those priced within the same region.

How bout Shaun Burgoyne, Matty Priddis, Cooney and Adam Simpson? Burgoyne has had an excellent pre-season, and I think Cooney needs to step up this year, so maybe he could be an alright pick?

Carazzo,Judd,Stevens,Murphy is the carlton onballers

but who will miss from there starting 3 in the middle.

Higgins?? also done well and could be used in the middle esp: late in games. could also kick a few goals
Sherman?? looks good and may be the running HBF who gets plenty of kicks

Thoughts on these 2 and the carlton midfield scenario

Apart from the obvious good trading and choice of captain, I believe setting up your team pre-round 1 is the most important part of the year. Not setting up to lead in round 1, but setting up for the big picture by thinking about 30 players scoring every week, trade protection, player improvement and durability.

From memory last year Danny Jacobs scored 150 in the first round and the leader had him yet by round 22 Jacobs had dropped $37K on his starting price.

Good research, good trading, good captain and good luck are the keys.

One of my DT League colleagues claims to have tracked last year's winner progress and to reiterate the above it is my understanding that last year's winner had 16 players in his team from the beginning which he then kept for the whole comp. The players were a mix of guns (8 - Sinclair, Bowden, Bartel, Cornes K, Cornes C, Cox, Johnson B, Pavlich) identified 1/2 guns (my colleague's term guess equivalent to mid-priced) (1 - McPhee), players returning from injury (4 - Lappin, Adcock, Hudson, Darcy), rookies (3 - Riggio, Ellis, Griffin).

Additionally, I believe he only traded 18 times (6 trades at a loss and the rest at profit)

Carazzo,Judd,Stevens,Murphy is the carlton onballers

but who will miss from there starting 3 in the middle.

Higgins?? also done well and could be used in the middle esp: late in games. could also kick a few goals
Sherman?? looks good and may be the running HBF who gets plenty of kicks

Thoughts on these 2 and the carlton midfield scenario

The soft Carazzo

Good picks Bookie. Pearce is an interesting one. He hasn't really done that much this year, and nothing that has said he will impress, however it is his third full season (which according to a good theory posted previously) he could be a good smokey.

Schneider is overpriced. He's no where near as consistent as those priced within the same region.

How bout Shaun Burgoyne, Matty Priddis, Cooney and Adam Simpson? Burgoyne has had an excellent pre-season, and I think Cooney needs to step up this year, so maybe he could be an alright pick?

Not sure where you got that from. Has averaged 80 in the pre-season so far in all three games and as i said before, reading the Port board, had a ripper game last weekend (in the bests, kicked three, maybe another 100).

sorry for not checking right through this monster forum to see if anyone had allready listed it. Chances were it had but does it really hurt, helps for those people who arn't on all that often, i wish i had known about it earlier.

Sorry mate but there is a big thread still on the first page about it.

Feeling fairly happy with my team however i have 150K leftover in the bank. I have a few cheaper players such as Proud starting in my backs but these choices are the risks that im taking and i feel that if they should come off then i will be in a very strong position. Do i leave the extra money in the bank and use it for some possible early upgrades spreading it out over each or should i try to upgrade some of my more expensive players say 2 or 3 into higher quality picks?

I think you should use most of it. 150k is to much IMO, maybe leave 20-40k.