AFL Evolution - Launch thread

Again that's totally subjective. Ive seen a lot of people having heaps of fun. Everyone is allowed to have their view but why not have a thread for the people (even if it's a minority) to be able to discuss it without the hyperbole and negativity of this thread. Your welcome not to join if you don't like the game, I don't see how your affected or why your fussed?

Sent from my MHA-L09 using Tapatalk

As have i, spoke to quite a few who enjoyed Live 1 and they are really liking this newie....

Maybe the negativity is more prominent because wicked witch made another shit game?

But for those people who just want to talk about the game and talk about their achievements in the game it will be far more enjoyable to go in to a thread that isn't filled with outright negative comments that aren't constructive.

You know, a thread where you can actually discuss what you've done in the game.

I played only one game tonight against the ai, but from what I played it wasnt too bad at all. Not sure why people are having so many issues with the marking, maybe it's better to play it on easy for a while and get used to the controls, both spoiling and marking.

The negative voices are always going to be much louder than the positive.

I wont know how it compares to Live 1 until I've played a few games online. Live 1 single player was terrible, but the multi was amazing.
I assumed this would have been the norm, especially since it's a brand new game.

FIFA and other sport games you can start off on a harder mode if you've played older iterations before.

But for those people who just want to talk about the game and talk about their achievements in the game it will be far more enjoyable to go in to a thread that isn't filled with outright negative comments that aren't constructive.

You know, a thread where you can actually discuss what you've done in the game.
Welcome to the internet.

I understand you're emotionally invested in defending a game that you don't even own yet but a good game wouldn't need it's own thread with no negative opinions allowed.

Going by the streaming videos and using my own rational analysis, yes i do like what i see and from talking to a few friends, i'd say there are some issues but overall it's a pretty good game..

I actually quite like the kicking mechanics, had a lot of fun in free roam trying them out. Reckon it is the best they have ever been.

The match gameplay is a bit of a mess though.

The game speed is way too fast and the
players have no weight to their movement. It feels very arcadey. Honestly, it should be 50% slower which would allow players to think their way through situations better.

Marking and spoiling seem like a bit of a toss of the coin, even with "good" timing. The AI seem to mark everything, even in contested situations when you are in good position to spoil.

Game is constantly 1v1, way too hard to find loose players. Even if you kick backwards, everyone is manned up. You can't get an easy switch like you can in modern AFL. Hope they can tune the AI to get off their man and into space more often.

Overall, I think there are some good things in place but the AI lets the game down at the moment. A bit of tweaking (slower game speed, marking contests, more space/less 1v1) and I reckon we have the mechanics for a good AFL game.

I guess my biggest shock comes from people who hate the game being offended by people enjoying the game and wanting to talk about it. Pretty sad state of mind if you care about that.

Sent from my MHA-L09 using Tapatalk

Okay after playing about 4 hours of it, its a buggy piece of shit right now, but a decent platform.

Will be waiting for a patch before I drop too much time into it.

Game just made me play 6 quarters of a match, every quarter losing more and more of the UI.

After talking to a friend about the game, he essentially said "learn the controls properly before you judge the game"....which is similar to AFL Live 1, before you get used to the controls it's a frustrating grind, but once you master the controls it's very fun and becomes very good....

I've read enough people praising the game and saying similar things to think that the criticisms of the game can be addressed through an update and a lot of it can be fixed by learning the controls properly...

etc..

I played the game for 7 hours yesterday and last night and 'learnt' the controls. Conclusion - it is a steaming pile of shit. Definitely not worth the money anyway. I just cant see how a patch can fix this. Its too broken.

People - stop trying to justify to yourself that its something decent, especially if you haven't got it yet. We all do this when we want something so bad. Its not a good game. Its not even a good footy game. Its horrible for something at that price, on this generation of consoles in this day and age. Ive seen better android games FFS, and played better made sports games from a $9.95 bargain bin 15 years old.

Again, save your money.

Wicked Witch made:

AFL Challenge on PSP
AFL Live 1 on Wii
AFL Live 2
AFL Evolution

Small budget or not, let's not act as if this is their first crack at it. You'd have thought by now they'd realise that AFL is not played as 18 distinct pairs of players attached at the hip like a primary school buddy system.
I keep hearing small budget, but how many small budget games retail at $79?

Is there any actual figures so we can compare?

14 inside 50 for 24 scoring shots?
65 effective disposals for 64 marks? lol

I don't have an Xbone or PS4 so will be waiting for Steam release. Hopefully the PC port isn't complete garbage and we get some nice custom rosters by then :)
Yeah the stats are wacky.

I played the game for 7 hours yesterday and last night and 'learnt' the controls. Conclusion - it is a steaming pile of shit. Definitely not worth the money anyway. I just cant see how a patch can fix this. Its too broken.

People - stop trying to justify to yourself that its something decent, especially if you haven't got it yet. Cos its not. Its horrible for something at that price, on this generation of consoles in this day and age. Ive seen better android games FFS, and played better made sports games from a $9.95 bargain bin 15 years old.

Again, save your money.

so it's buggy at times?

ok, so, how does it hold up to AFL Live 1?? give me a comparison to that game.

I actually think the game is great ! Some of the rebounds from def 50 are impressive and hurting opponent on the rebound. Defiantly a step in the right direction.

Please redirect this comment to the positive reactions thread

Is the AI in this the same as AFL Live 1, because i didn't mind that at all....

No use comparing 2K, two different platforms and game styles..

Of course there is use comparing it to 2K. Quality + features + lack of game breaking bugs + random AI missing from the goal square + Stats that don't work + Pendles being called Moore ...

Re: AI, never played AFL live 1 so can't really comment on how similar the games are. If you play against the AI in this game expect a lot of missed goals from the goal square, sideways kicking 1 on 1s - because it's pretty much 1 vs 1 everywhere outside where the immediate area ball is. Also don't remember seeing the AI spoil the ball because they go for that 1 step forward marking animation all the time.

Regardless and like I said, if you just want an AFL game you will like it. Buy it and try it yourself. Return it if you don't like it.

Of course there is use comparing it to 2K. Quality + features + lack of game breaking bugs + random AI missing from the goal square + Stats that don't work + Pendles being called Moore ...

Re: AI, never played AFL live 1 so can't really comment on how similar the games are. If you play against the AI in this game expect a lot of missed goals from the goal square, sideways kicking 1 on 1s - because it's pretty much 1 vs 1 everywhere outside where the immediate area ball is. Also don't remember seeing the AI spoil the ball because they go for that 1 step forward marking animation all the time.

Regardless and like I said, if you just want an AFL game you will like it. Buy it and try it yourself. Return it if you don't like it.

ok, so that is buggy by the sounds of it...

hopefully a patch comes out soon to at least fix missing form the goal square...

It's easy to see that there is the potential there and a platform set. But at this stage, it's simply not worth the time and price.

Think I'm going to return it, wait for the price to drop and patches to be released before purchasing the game again.

I can wait.

Lol @ all the snowflakes upset at "negative comments."

It's a game. Which you have to pay for. With money. Which you have to earn. You also have to spend your time on it. So if people think it's not worth the time and $$$ because of glaring issues, they're going to voice their opinion.

Objectively it's meh. But it's the only option you've got if you want something new. AND YOU CAN STILL HAVE FUN PLAYING SHIT GAMES especially multiplayer.

Realism 10/10

zvcSzK5.jpg

Hawks beating the Crows realistic? :p

People - stop trying to justify to yourself that its something decent, especially if you haven't got it yet. We all do this when we want something so bad. Its not a good game. Its not even a good footy game. Its horrible for something at that price, on this generation of consoles in this day and age. Ive seen better android games FFS, and played better made sports games from a $9.95 bargain bin 15 years old.

Again, save your money.

is "steaming pile of sh!t" a rational use of wording though or your lazy description of it, or is it really a steaming pile?

Lol @ all the snowflakes upset at "negative comments."

It's a game. Which you have to pay for. With money. Which you have to earn. You also have to spend your time on it. So if people think it's not worth the time and $$$ because of glaring issues, they're going to voice their opinion.

Objectively it's meh. But it's the only option you've got if you want something new. AND YOU CAN STILL HAVE FUN PLAYING SHIT GAMES especially multiplayer.

I agree but some people are just insufferably negative, all the time, about everything...