AFL Evolution - Launch thread

Again that's totally subjective. Ive seen a lot of people having heaps of fun. Everyone is allowed to have their view but why not have a thread for the people (even if it's a minority) to be able to discuss it without the hyperbole and negativity of this thread. Your welcome not to join if you don't like the game, I don't see how your affected or why your fussed about a positivity thread existing?

Lol, why are the pro Evolution people so authoritative? It's great you love the game, but there's something a bit off about silencing those who have issues with it.

Who's silencing it? I made a seperate thread. Is this thread not enough for those who hate the game? I also wanted discussion of issues, it's the hyperbole that is just so rife and boring here.

I despised Live 2 and just took it back a day later never to speak of it again. Everyone's different but I will never understand why people invest time in talking about something they think is utter shit beyond maybe one post. Find it strange.

I really want to like this and keep this, but it's really average at the moment. I'm leaning towards returning it, which I rarely do with games.
The developers really need to come out and say "we're working on a patch that should come out soon" which would alleviate some concerns.
I know they probably will bring out a patch but they need to be proactive as you can imagine many people would be returning this.
Still gonna give this at least a week or just under but the marking just seems so broken that it has far too big impact on the game.

I don't bother playing online as my net is just rubbish.

I must say, once you figure out the marking the game becomes a lot easier. Also, as others have said, switching to end-to-end camera makes it a lot easier to play.

Another annoying thing I have encountered is that my three players closest to goal (FP x 2 & FF) seem to be the only players kicking goals, as well as the odd one from my CHF. Bit annoying finishing a match with 15 goals with Ben Brown kicking 6, Mason Wood 5 and Lindsay Thomas 4.

Could be fixed with some tactic changes however.

Who's silencing it? I made a seperate thread. Is this thread not enough for those who hate the game?

I despised Live 2 and just took it back a day later never to speak of it again. Everyone's different but I will never understand why people invest time in talking about something they think is utter shit beyond maybe one post. Find it strange.

Hey, I obviously really like Live 1, that's no secret, but I love to see feedback on it, no matter if it's extremely negative. Why live in an echo chamber?

Absolutely I 100% agree. I played Live 1 almost every week a couple times still and had up to date rosters. Despised Live 2.

It's not the negative feedback that's the issue. It's just the people losing their head and using hyperbole that I didn't want to read through. Noticed a few people mention that they felt the same hence the thread. I have no issue with people doing it though it's not as if they aren't within their rights especially if they spent $79 on it.

I'm sure you can understand my POV.

Not a lot of people actually saying they like the game, maybe I'll hold off getting it and see if they patch the game.

A lot of us like it. There are just some that have to say its shit in 10 separate posts.

After playing a bit more I'd agree with others who have said spend time to learn the game before you bash it

It's the best AFL game we've ever had by a mile and it plays really well once you learn the game

To those struggling with marking I'd say to tap triangle (or whatever it is on Xbox) rather than holding it, i found myself playing it more like Live 1 and holding the mark button but after I started getting the timing and tapping the button marking seems to work quite well

After playing a bit more I'd agree with others who have said spend time to learn the game before you bash it

It's the best AFL game we've ever had by a mile and it plays really well once you learn the game

To those struggling with marking I'd say to tap triangle (or whatever it is on Xbox) rather than holding it, i found myself playing it more like Live 1 and holding the mark button but after I started getting the timing and tapping the button marking seems to work quite well
People hold the mark button?

So I just played my first game of this, Freo v North.

This is my fix for AFL Evolution...

Let players run off their man!

Everyone else has said it but it's not just annoying in its own right, it really highlights all the smaller issues of the game. If you win a clearance and you're getting away from the middle, and you kick it into the 50, your player should have some space. Unless they've been coached by an idiot every single player learns at the earliest age that forwards make sense, and backmen try and close it down and follow their man (basically). If your players are able to make space then marking will be less frustrating and a lot more rewarding – even if you can't mark it, you can run onto it.

It's also hard when you do indeed run onto the footy, and then the other forwards are all in line with their men a metre away. Shouldn't Sonny Walters be a while in front?

You fix this and the game is way funner, quicker, more free flowing, and you don't want to end up throwing a console out the window.

Also most of the animations are okay but that set shot one is shocking... do the developers have less idea on how to kick a footy than the average Bigfooty user? Also the worst animation is the players running out the race and through the banner, it's awful but the rest is actually okay.

Sorry if it's been answered but am I able to use created players in Manager mode? I created one last night and put him in North but he wasn't in the team when I started a manager career. Will clarify that the update hadn't completed at that stage.

I've only been playing for 10 minutes and this has to be one of the biggest steaming piles of shit i've played. Graphics are very nice, but that means SFA when the gameplay is a complete face palm.

How the hell are you supposed to get a chain together when the MARKING IS SO RANDOM! FML!

In the instructions it says to hold triangle and let go when the circle meets the inner circle or some shit and I have taken maybe one mark out of every 10. And this is on easy FFS!

Can anyone help me as to what the issue is? Otherwise I am very close to returning this/frisbeeing it down the street. :mad:

Absolutely I 100% agree. I played Live 1 almost every week a couple times still and had up to date rosters. Despised Live 2.

It's not the negative feedback that's the issue. It's just the people losing their head and using hyperbole that I didn't want to read through. Noticed a few people mention that they felt the same hence the thread. I have no issue with people doing it though it's not as if they aren't within their rights especially if they spent $79 on it.

I'm sure you can understand my POV.

I'd be the type who'd skim through it, if I'm not interested in reading criticising.

I played quite a fair bit of it last night with a mate and with single player.

I think it's a much better game with another person. Obviously needs some fixes which can hopefully be patched out.

Sent from my D6653 using Tapatalk
Was your mate on another console teaming up with you?

Im loving the handball chains in the game, got one out of the centre last night that resulted in Dangerfield getting on the end of it and kicking a goal from right on the 50, overall 3 players were involved and it was mighty smooth and free flowing, i love that, once you learn the controls its definitely a better game. Also love working the ball from the backline up the middle, you can get some nice movement going when the space opens up.

If you like sheer numbers, this is 20 minute quarters on Medium:

C_BnH6XUIAA_ncv.jpg:large

C_BnJteUIAAE9c7.jpg:large

C_BnMz0UwAErI4T.jpg:large

C_BnSQGVwAAIFnx.jpg:large