AFL Evolution - Launch thread

Please do.
Sorry mate as much as the game has its faults you are a pest for a developer. They are a small team and they actually took the time out to respond to you which if you know anything about development is a huge task. Just give it a rest.

On SM-G930F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I think it's a case of buyer beware, people must have known that it would be a mixed bag with WW's track record in their past games.

I've had a few random things - such as missing the season ladder after matches, having a different player kicking a goal in a replay vs the player I actually used (eg: scored a goal as Luke Hodge in play............. the replay shows it was Cyril Rioli strolling in and kicking it instead etc). Still find it fun to link up plays and score.

Have had a few tight wins against the AI the past few matches, but lost my most recent match against GWS by 40 points.... couldn't score after half time, while they piled on 6 goals (and a fair few behinds).

Find it random when some players that never really wear long sleeve jumpers, wear them in the game... can understand it in the wet conditions (borderline looks like cyclone driven rain at times lol) - but someone like Roughead ? REALLY ? :p

Also I have seen 9 goals be scored in a single quarter (2.5 minute length)

Why is it the people who like this game want to silence any opposition? It's great you love it, but we should have the right to speak up about our disappointment we found with it.
Got no problem with people voicing their concerns, I was more talking about the posts which showed "evidence" they lied about certain things which happened with No Man's Sky and turned into some massive thing with law suits etc. coming into it.

Just return it.

Buttercups around here cant accept the game is steaming pile and are getting their knickers in a knot when someone states the obvious. A spade is a spade.

Man up, kittens. Or go to the afl evolution circle jerk thread someone has created.

so is this game worth buying

Your mlieage may vary. Some people can look past the bugs and other game play glitches, while others are coming at WW/TruBlue with pitch forks.
I reckon wait and see if a friend buys it and play their copy to make your own judgment.

I brought it digitally on the Xbox and am planning on buying it on pc via Steam when it comes out as well (want to see how it goes on pc considering AFL Live and DBC were far better on pc compared to their console versions). I didn't pay $99.95.... but nor did I get it for $79, I've purchased full price games that have left me bitter about the experience, I'm enjoying the game for what it is.

Your mlieage may vary. Some people can look past the bugs and other game play glitches, while others are coming at WW/TruBlue with pitch forks.
I reckon wait and see if a friend buys it and play their copy to make your own judgment.

I brought it digitally on the Xbox and am planning on buying it on pc via Steam when it comes out as well (want to see how it goes on pc considering AFL Live and DBC were far better on pc compared to their console versions). I didn't pay $99.95.... but nor did I get it for $79, I've purchased full price games that have left me bitter about the experience, I'm enjoying the game for what it is.

I have an issue with The AFL more than I do with Tru Blu or Wicked Witch. They're the one's imposing a "balance sheet" and not taking the billion dollar video gaming market seriously.

After playing the game yesterday, it is obviously the best one ever graphically and has half decent gameplay. It has great features, yes some have bugs, but they will eventually be ironed out to make a great game.

Pros:
-It has a certain degree of realism that I have never seen in previous video games in terms of player movements and how the game is played (with the exception of a few bugs)
-Face scans
-player emotion and effects
-animations/ cut scenes

Cons/Bugs:
-kicking out of Full back
-commentary (have we ever got an all game with good commentary? No)
- marking
-opposition inaccuracy in front of goal

I used to be a Big Ant fan boy, but I have put a lot of faith into WW, and hopefully these problems can be fixed soon. More money needs to be put in by the AFL, even without the possibility of getting profit. It will be the one of the only ways to attract people from overseas. They need to improve commentary before they do though.

We should stop giving the devs a heap of crap. They have a small budget, and they did the best they could with what they had.

Got no problem with people voicing their concerns, I was more talking about the posts which showed "evidence" they lied about certain things which happened with No Man's Sky and turned into some massive thing with law suits etc. coming into it.

Just return it.

So aspects Wicked Witch were dishonest about should be kept quiet?

Sorry mate as much as the game has its faults you are a pest for a developer. They are a small team and they actually took the time out to respond to you which if you know anything about development is a huge task. Just give it a rest.

On SM-G930F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Jeez settle down there mate. It's as if you think it's ok for developers to tell consumers blatantly obvious lies about the game.

So aspects Wicked Witch were dishonest about should be kept quiet?
Just saying I hope it doesn't blow up into the ridiculous shit storm that was No Man's Sky.

If people want to waste their time going back through every message WW ever answered with a fine tooth comb I guess that's up to them.

People are starting to master marking and saying the game improves a lot once it all clicks. The Gaff Run video posted a few pages back, damn that looked amazing. I'm sure the haters would be able to pick it apart, but it includes everything I wanted from this game. Overlapping play, handball chains, an actual running game and a mark to a leading forward. I have yet to master marking, and it's frustrating, but the fact it can be mastered fills me with hope. Some of you seem to have expected to have been able to master the game overnight and are upset you haven't. And even if you had you would no doubt then be upset at how easy the game is haha.

There are legit concerns, like the free kick situation where you can't earn them yourself but always get pinged for HTB or for throwing. And the commentators getting the names wrong one, I personally haven't seen that one but it seems widespread enough to be a concern. These need to be patched.

But marking? People are mastering it. It can be mastered. And I'm going to practice until I do.

First impressions

It is definitely the best looking AFL game, the menus especially put BigAnts efforts to shame in that regard. The channel 7 type overlays look really nice and polished.

At the core the gameplay is fairly good. The marking is tricky and almost counter intuitive and definitely needs tweaking, but as others have said, once you get it, makes the game a lot better.
The passages of play you can string together are more rewarding and closer to real footy than any previous game imo. Although can be a little few and far between.

A few tweaks here and there and gameplay wise it will be really quite fun.
It's fun now but there's just far too many little issues around the game that really knock it down a few pegs.

All in all I think I've got what I expected I would gameplay wise
Much much better than Live 2, and with a patch or twocould go from
Reasonable to good.

Things I don't like:

- Too many silly Bugs
- Sound design in general
- AI "crow throws" OP and ridiculous
- Umpiring, nowhere near balanced between AI and human (Ai barely giving away frees)
- "teleporting" players to take marks
- Advantage rule needs tweaking Ai controlled players picking up the pill
- Short kicks being paid as marks
- The trading and draft system is bordering on diabolical and needs major tinkering.

WW needs to get to work quickly here in patching the stuff that really needs it. At the moment game is mediocre, still fun but frustrating.
A bit of work and it could be the best we've had so far.
BigAnt did it with DBC14..
Over to you WW.

Playing on hard now and I definitely believe the lack of calls against the AI, the bullshit magic handballs they do when tackled and the calls against me are far worse than the marking. The marking system still isn't amazing but you over time you should become somewhat used to it and I haven't even played that many games just yet.

First impressions

It is definitely the best looking AFL game, the menus especially put BigAnts efforts to shame in that regard. The channel 7 type overlays look really nice and polished.

At the core the gameplay is fairly good. The marking is tricky and almost counter intuitive and definitely needs tweaking, but as others have said, once you get it, makes the game a lot better.
The passages of play you can string together are more rewarding and closer to real footy than any previous game imo. Although can be a little few and far between.

A few tweaks here and there and gameplay wise it will be really quite fun.
It's fun now but there's just far too many little issues around the game that really knock it down a few pegs.

All in all I think I've got what I expected I would gameplay wise
Much much better than Live 2, and with a patch or twocould go from
Reasonable to good.

Things I don't like:

- Too many silly Bugs
- Sound design in general
- Umpiring (Ai barely giving away frees)
- Advantage rule needs tweaking Ai controlled players picking up the pill
- Short kicks being paid as marks
- The trading and draft system is bordering on diabolical and needs major tinkering.

WW needs to get to work quickly here in patching the stuff that really needs it. At the moment game is mediocre, still fun but frustrating.
A bit of work and it could be the best we've had so far.
BigAnt did it with DBC14..
Over to you WW.

Agree, they have done a good job considering the budget