AFL Evolution - Launch thread

People are starting to master marking and saying the game improves a lot once it all clicks. The Gaff Run video posted a few pages back, damn that looked amazing. I'm sure the haters would be able to pick it apart, but it includes everything I wanted from this game. Overlapping play, handball chains, an actual running game and a mark to a leading forward. I have yet to master marking, and it's frustrating, but the fact it can be mastered fills me with hope. Some of you seem to have expected to have been able to master the game overnight and are upset you haven't. And even if you had you would no doubt then be upset at how easy the game is haha.

There are legit concerns, like the free kick situation where you can't earn them yourself but always get pinged for HTB or for throwing. And the commentators getting the names wrong one, I personally haven't seen that one but it seems widespread enough to be a concern. These need to be patched.

But marking? People are mastering it. It can be mastered. And I'm going to practice until I do.

Even those of it that mastered it still have fluff ups now and then. I've misjudged the timing heaps of times or get shoved out of the contest (and get frustrated like players do! haha). But being able to create plays via hand passing it around, kicking to a target (notice I didn't say leading - I'm kicking to a contest 99% of the time). Only took a few games (less than a couple of hours) to get the idea of it.

I struggle during ruck contests, even if I win the occasional hit out........ I hit it to nobody in particular and don't always run off with the ball.

I've done my own commentary with my actions to amuse myself (since I've switched off the in game commentary)

Find the shrieking "nooooooooo" amusing but also annoying when someone scores a behind.

I love that the AI bombs the ball to the centre square, makes it easy to rebound and send it back into my forward 50.

Have emulated quite a few real life instances (Hawthorn themed of course). I had a moment similar to what transpired before and the Burgoyne goal itself in the 2013 prelim against Geelong. Contained them in my forward half, they made a mistake, I gathered the ball, chained together a few hand passes before Burgoyne strolled in and kicked it.

I did a variation of the Hodge goal on the boundary line in the 2015 grand final. Fluked it (had no clue with the wind) but it sailed through. Of course I commentated as it happened "that's a goal I think.... it issssssss Hodge has done it from nowhere) haha.

I've done the coast to coast goal against Collingwood (minus Buddy obviously lol). Roosted the kick in down the center, got possession, continued with it and booted a goal.

I mistimed a torpedo from inside the center square.............. it still retained perfect line and made the distance for a goal :D.

Which is what you want too #Darling :(

How bad would it be if you marked everything 100% of the time?

I would be declaring myself a football god if I did :D. It's frustrating to see yourself get out marked, and then the cpu ai gets a chain going itself up to their own forward line :(.

Had a funny situation similar to the kick in "rushed behind" I mentioned yesterday. the AI marked the ball on the boundary line, requiring a banana kick....... they walk to take the shot at goal only to walk (and keep walking) into the behind post............... umpire called out of bounds throw in.

How the **** do you mark the ball?? Played one exhibition game and the opponent just kept coming from 6 deep and taking a mark. Tried pressing triangle when the white circle came up and also tried holding the triangle until the whit circle came up and then letting go and neither worked.

Hold the mark button when the ball is about halfway to the player and let go... it's weird but you have to press the mark button before the ball even reaches you, a bit counterintuitive tbh

I play 5 min quarters on medium.
I just tried to play on hard but the non calls against the AI, the massive calls against me and the crazy handballs is a bit too much for me at the moment.
I was very competitive in the first quarter but they just kicked on to a 36 point lead at half time, which should have been less as I had a goal directly in front but some reason when I flicked down it just kicked it about 2m straight to them.
Changed back to medium at half time and won by 15, so I think medium is a bit too easy at the moment and hard is a bit too much for me as well.

Playing on hard now and I definitely believe the lack of calls against the AI, the bullshit magic handballs they do when tackled and the calls against me are far worse than the marking.
Don't go up to Legend, it gets worse.

Playing as one man only in the Be a Pro mode is a reasonably good representation of a game of footy.

After running around like a headless chook chasing kicks I decided to apply a bit of discipline and have a go at playing how I used to (bulk of career playing as centreman). I started to work up and down the corridor, getting into space to provide an option or getting involved in nearby contests.

Playing like this really made it feel like a fair dinkum game - some of the plays I've pulled off were truly Flashmanvc-esque.

I can easily look past graphical issues (as if we were ever going to get something on par with 2K et al) and assorted bugs.

It's a football game, people. Which makes it like sex, in that even when it's bad it's still pretty good.

Kudos to Wicked Witch.

Just kicked a torp goal from inside the centre square. Didn't get the achievement. I marked outside of the square, but the shot was definitely inside.

In be a pro I have it on end to end but how do I get it so I am facing the ball? For example they are having a kick in and my player isn't even looking where the ball is at the time. It just shows a view of my guy in his position in the middle of the field so I can't really see where the ball is coming from (radar is quite trash).

is this game sold out everywhere?

went to 2 eb games near me and they said they sold out :(

I find it amazing how big ant make a good foundation game and everyone kissed the ground they walked on but WW make a better foundation game and people criticise the crap out of them, if you look at big ants games over the last 6 years you'll see that their games are still extremely basic and haven't evolved much from the foundation at all

Funny how the people being most critical of the game are the ones who were against it from day 1 (almost like they went in with closed minds)

Credit to WW for creating the best AFL game ever made by a fair way, is it perfect ? No but with a patch it'll be a great game that'll easily last the year or two until Evolution 2 comes out to bring further depth to the already established gameplay and modes

What's the easiest way to update player ratings? I just simmed a season - every side had a percentage between 97 and 103 which tells me that the sides are way too similarly rated

Hi all,

Good to see people exploring the game and letting us know their thoughts and comments, positive, constructive or otherwise! ;) Special thanks to those that are giving the game a chance and supporting us, it goes a long way.

From reading through comments in various locations here and other places, we can see many people are not installing the day1 patch before playing!
This patch is a MUST for the game as it improves gameplay, and fixes some important bugs.
Furthermore, it is a good idea to delete save game or start a new career after the patch is confirmed as installed, as save games may have bugs saved within them.

Also, if players are seeing *censored* names, please ensure every controller that is connected is signed in, and that the sign in profile is set to over 18.

We hope this helps and you have a great weekend learning the game and exploring the modes and options.
Lastly, we are collating the feedback, and hope we can bring a patch to address any concerns, major and minor, in the near future!

Sincerely,
Daniel
Does this game play at 4K? Cheers

Every online game I go to set up it says 'opponent is still setting up' after I choose my team, but the game never starts - does this happen to anyone else? So frustrating