AFL LIVE 2011 - 360, PS3 & PC - Part - 23 - READ FAQ BEFORE POSTING

Took til tonight for me to notch up my first online LOSS.. (someone named fletchoonz)
10-12-72 to 5-1-31

(of course, I've only played one game though..)
I had 1 more disposal :p

I can already see that the online community is decreasing. When I first got the game I was finding matches in 10 secs. Now it can take up to a minute.

Could be people like me. I'm not playing any ranked matches at the moment. Only against mates on my list.
Not willing to get flogged and stick out the whole game yet give out a flogging and be quit on.

The lack of matching up opponents online is killing me. I have played over 20 games and only managed 2 wins and 2 draws.

First few I got matched up against really good players but i only lose by a couple of points and never get flogged (plus i stuck out all games).

The next few i had, very easy opponents who ragequit after I get more than a 30 point lead in the first minutes of the game or with 5 minutes to go (cruel)

I have been reading alot of comments on here to act 'dumb' and keep it an even contest right through and smash them in the last, but that has failed me twice now with a quitter with 1 minute to go when i was in front by only 10 points! :mad:

The next came to bite me on the arse when the opposition must of been playing the same psych-out as me. Started off very scrappy and i reckon they were shanking kicks on purpose and running the ball through behind. The contest lifted in the last qtr; all kicks were hitting the target, plenty of bumping for both of us and it went to the last few kicks and I lost it by 5 points... FAIL:mad::mad:

Just recently i was playing a fantastic game Freo Vs Melbourne (1v2) and i had a good lead, let them have a couple to get back into it. Then it went goal for goal until i was up 47-44 with 1:20 on the clock with the ball in the oppositions defence, just as i was about to seal the victory... the gf strolls into the lounge and starts asking me a bunch of questions and gets the irrates and i lose my concetration to answer her for a sec then bang, they mark right infront of goal and Jurrah kicked the winner after the siren. :mad::mad::mad: FAAAARRRRKKKK

/end rant

I wish there was a way you could check the rating of a opp. before you start a random game. Can't wait for the patch already.

The patch will not stop someone quitting with a minute to go - nothing we will be able to do about that - you get the win even under the currrent circumstances.

This.

Still waiting for a game against Antony as well ;)

I'll get Antony to give you a game tonight if you're on. I'll probably still be in the office until too late.

Could be people like me. I'm not playing any ranked matches at the moment. Only against mates on my list.
Not willing to get flogged and stick out the whole game yet give out a flogging and be quit on.

Lots more private matches, declining public ones.

thanks mate that actually works. ;)

I guess any team changes made in a session (of quick game) will be saved UNTIL you go back to main menu!

am i right ross?

Does that mean a created player will never have a pick up higher than 50 while Chris Judd has a value of 92?

Oooh I just found another one. Strength.

Strength is changed for my created players, it seems to be determined by weight, and so is bump, it seems to be determined by weight and speed. But jump and pick up ball are both at 50 for every created player.

I'm at home so haven't got anyone to clarify this for me - I'll be going in to the office before the game tonight (where the blues spank the cats) - I'll make sure I am correct.

Just wondering if you managed to get an answer on this one Ross.

Did my first rage quit the other night. Was getting absolutely pantsed for the first time, but played on hoping to improve my own skill.

I finally had my first set shot, score was 86 to 2 early in the 3rd, when the w***er crossed the mark to block my shot.

Guy could at least have the decency to not cheat if hes that good, and I wont be playing against custom teams again.

had someone try and cheat on me yesterday. The first qtr i was down my a pt after he blocked 2 shots. I was then so pissed that he was cheating i went on to beat him by 50 pts :p arseh*le

Just having a strange game at the moment.

Playing the season game Hawthorn v North Melbourne in Tassie. The umpire bounced the ball as usual to start the match, but since then after every goal the ball is just sitting in the middle of the centre circle and it is play on! i.e whoever gets to the ball first gets it!

The same thing is happening at ball ups around the ground. Has this happened to anyone else?

No, I am quite good at this game, and I have played against others that are as well. When you are both very good players, and pretty much get the ruck right 80% of the time, it comes down to the skill of the ruckman himself. With Richmond, this is a big disadvantage. I know this because I have gotten frustrated and played with other teams (not Freo) and won the hitout tally, go back to Richmond and lose it comfortably.

EDIT: And also playing on legend, I win the hitout count more often than not. It isn't my strength, rucking, but if you get well beaten in hitouts it is very very hard to win the game against an equally good player. Which makes playing with shit ruck teams a huge disadvantage.

Have to agree, not played online yet, only had a few games againist Ai, not had free time I would like, At least PSN is back up.
Rucking as Richmond I agree, change ruckman to Vickery or Browne, Gus Graham is useless.
Kina of reflects real life huh, re Sat night! Dream Time at the G!

Question for all, playing againist AI, I check stats at breaks and to me that seem out of wack, eg number of kicks my team has had, no way right,
61 kicks for a quarter, yeah right, I can hardly get a kick away at moment!

Is patch going to address this amongst other issues.

Stats bug reminds me of AFL 2004 I think, or was it earlier version, one version was terriable

Thought just came to me, maybe Ross could tell is or give an indication, what areas of the game is the Patch going to fix or address?
As I have another one and I am sue it's been mentioned, your player on the mark runs away if you happen to move stick while he is selected player. Boy too touchy controls!

Playing the season game Hawthorn v North Melbourne in Tassie. The umpire bounced the ball as usual to start the match, but since then after every goal the ball is just sitting in the middle of the centre circle and it is play on! i.e whoever gets to the ball first gets it!

The same thing is happening at ball ups around the ground. Has this happened to anyone else?

sounds like Umps hve gone on strike!:D

Yea it happened to me a single game Geelong v North at Skilled and every time a ball up or throw in They got a free kick it was quite annoying

Lost my 27 win streak due to me being signed out of xbox live in the middle of the match, resulting in a forfeit :mad:

Ah well was bound to happen at some point.

had someone try and cheat on me yesterday. The first qtr i was down my a pt after he blocked 2 shots. I was then so pissed that he was cheating i went on to beat him by 50 pts :p arseh*le

Was it psn or xbox live and what was their username/id ?

ive played over 40 matches and no one has even came close to beating me yet i have 85% and 2 disconnects somehow. fml quitters

PS3?

Would be an honour to hand you your first loss :cool:

PSN - KoRnage1

Add me.

Hope umpiring gets better in patch, pretty poor at the moment.

Care to elaborate?

Reckon it's spot on to be honest. I can tell 90% of the time with a tackle if it will result in 'holding the ball' or a ball up, depending on how long the player has held the ball (much like in real life...well, most times). If it's a push in the back or a high tackle, then the sprint button was being held by the tackler, which can lead to a free kick. This is obviously to counter the fact that it's easier to catch up to your opponent and tackle them while sprinting.

Pretty cut and dry if you ask me.

The only random call for free kicks is when the AI tackles, and that's how it should be. Sometimes the AI holds sprint while tackling and thus gives away a free kick, sometimes they don't. Just like human players.

Care to elaborate?

Reckon it's spot on to be honest. I can tell 90% of the time with a tackle if it will result in 'holding the ball' or a ball up, depending on how long the player has held the ball (much like in real life...well, most times). If it's a push in the back or a high tackle, then the sprint button was being held by the tackler, which can lead to a free kick. This is obviously to counter the fact that it's easier to catch up to your opponent and tackle them while sprinting.

Pretty cut and dry if you ask me.

The only random call for free kicks is when the AI tackles, and that's how it should be. Sometimes the AI holds sprint while tackling and thus gives away a free kick, sometimes they don't. Just like human players.
Agreed, the only thing I get absolutely riled up about is the AI giving away free kicks in a tackle. They ONLY ever seem to give them away for me at the worst possible times. Rageworthy!

I got my first forfeit last night, seems many are getting this now. I guarantee I haven't quit a game, so I am guessing it was a net disconnect and while I can't pick the game it actually happened in, I am pretty sure it was one that happened very early on in a match. Disappointing as I had a perfect record, 100 reliability and 0 forfeits...now that's gone.:(