AFL LIVE 2011 - 360, PS3 & PC - Part - 25

Well given how the XP system works those who have owned the game since day dot, or at least play it a lot, will be rewarded.

If you reset the stats you will just have a mash of the best players all over the rankings and it will take months to settle on some sort of order, by then the season will be over and the game won't be as popular.

I'd probably be almost done if there was a leaderboard reset.

Atm this game rotates through my games played list every 2nd game. It's now either this or BTTF, Dead Nation or inFAMOUS 2 that I'm playing and it is literally the next game after either one of these.

Losing the 620k+ XP that I have built up in the absolute only legitimate way possible (ie not 1 shot blocked, no legitimate quits/forfeits, not a huge bumper, etc.) would just about do me and send me to playing this maybe once every so often instead of every 2nd game.

I think dumping the custom teams online would help to eliminate those who are getting higher on the leaderboards in less than legitimate ways and those who are genuinely good could remain at the higher level.

I may not really be able to grab the no.1 spot now (being 8th or 9th, whatever one it is I am now...about 400k XP behind no.1) and probably would have a better chance with the leaderboard reset but I really would find the motivation for me would lower quite considerably if they were reset.

Seems like the top players on PS3 have more XP. That's interesting given PS3 users were without online for a while but then again should be getting more XP now that wins are rewarded against quitters more.

Maybe PS3 users just have less of a life :p

I'd probably be almost done if there was a leaderboard reset...Losing the 620k+ XP that I have built up in the absolute only legitimate way possible (ie not 1 shot blocked, no legitimate quits/forfeits, not a huge bumper, etc.) would just about do me and send me to playing this maybe once every so often instead of every 2nd game.

i understand it would be a huge loss for those of you who have played it a lot... of which are many.... and good work for you all for getting there, but just reading this thread there are many that either stopped playing till the patch came out or didnt play as much waiting for the patch.... there were too many shot blockers/ 2 vs 1 situations happening and i reckon a leaderboard post all of that crap would see the cream rise to the top (yourself included)

I think dumping the custom teams online would help to eliminate those who are getting higher on the leaderboards in less than legitimate ways and those who are genuinely good could remain at the higher level.

i agree but what about how far people who have used them and other poor tactics have gotten? they pretty much go unpunished...

think its a doomed if you do doomed if you dont decision, many legitimate players stats would be wiped to punish those that havent played fairly online...

anyways too much rum tonight has made me a little argumentative so will post again after a few hours sleep... think i have posted more tonight then my whole bigfooty life!

Ross just wondering, in the next patch will you, be allowing custom teams online?

And has the leaderboard been reset or going to be reset?

Just had an opponent quit on me, but the game never ended. Instead, the ball just sat in the center circle while the umpire stood above it. I could still move my ruckman around but the play never resumed, so I bit the bullet and decided I'd have to quit the match and possibly cop the penalty. I quit, nothing happened. Tried a few more times before finally exiting the whole game and returning to the XMB.

Win streak stayed intact though :thumbsu:

Edit - Finally, just cracked the top 100 again on the PS3 leader board after having my stats reset when I was 3rd a while ago.

I'd like to send a big shout out to the PSN'er known as balthaz.

They have a suped-up 5 star custom team called "The Dream-Team". Seeing as they went with this, I selected the Fockers so I'd at least not get smashed in the ruck (assumed they would have Sandilands themselves).

Games starts and they don't have Sandi, but Naitanui. Ok, assuming they're an idiot already. Then I notice there is at least two of them. Pretty sure there is 3 but it's hard to tell sometimes if they're decent.

Anyway, choked their run by playing spot up possession against them, which I felt was my best chance. I knew if I played a running game I'd get blown away as they have much more control of their players. First half is very low scoring. Like 2 goals each. I open it up in the 3rd with 6 goals with some tap ruck work and a functioning forward line.

Their attack was run, draw the man and kick long. Nothing really noteworthy, it's the stockstandard attacking play. They bump a lot to shepard. I bump back. They even bump after I marked once which caused a play on (bug is still there, obviously) but I still managed to snap it and mark with another player to have a closer shot at goal anyway.

I get out to an almost 3 goal lead. They peg back a couple. I play keepings off as I run it out of the backline to win the game.

I win by 5 points and they send me a lovely message "You're a ****ing dog".

Great game. :)

I'd like to send a big shout out to the PSN'er known as balthaz.

They have a suped-up 5 star custom team called "The Dream-Team". Seeing as they went with this, I selected the Fockers so I'd at least not get smashed in the ruck (assumed they would have Sandilands themselves).

Games starts and they don't have Sandi, but Naitanui. Ok, assuming they're an idiot already. Then I notice there is at least two of them. Pretty sure there is 3 but it's hard to tell sometimes if they're decent.

Anyway, choked their run by playing spot up possession against them, which I felt was my best chance. I knew if I played a running game I'd get blown away as they have much more control of their players. First half is very low scoring. Like 2 goals each. I open it up in the 3rd with 6 goals with some tap ruck work and a functioning forward line.

Their attack was run, draw the man and kick long. Nothing really noteworthy, it's the stockstandard attacking play. They bump a lot to shepard. I bump back. They even bump after I marked once which caused a play on (bug is still there, obviously) but I still managed to snap it and mark with another player to have a closer shot at goal anyway.

I get out to an almost 3 goal lead. They peg back a couple. I play keepings off as I run it out of the backline to win the game.

I win by 5 points and they send me a lovely message "You're a ****ing dog".

Great game. :)

i love it when people like you use your brain and change there tactics to get the win. I played a game against 3 guys playing as GC. They were pretty good always bumping and working together as a team but i was really good at beating them in the ruck. Going into the last qtr they had a 5 goal buffer so knowing that i win the ruck easy i changed all the tactic options to Attacking... I piled on 11 goals to there 0 in the last it was great

You can try looking at other players if you don't find a list :thumbsu:

Does Anyone know where to find the list that Ross put about about badges and how you get them? As in number of speccies ad such

Rank Badge - Name
1 - Newcomer
2 - Little Leaguer
3 - Amateur
4 - Rookie
5 - Pro
6 - Captain
7 - All Australian
8 - Superstar
9 - Veteran
10 - Legend
-
Tackle Badge - Name
25 tackles - Tackle Happy
50 tackles - Shadow
100 tackles - Pinner
250 tackles - Bear Hugger
500 tackles - Octopus
1000 tackles - The Human Glove
-
Spoil Badge - Name
25 spoils - Defender
50 spoils - Denier
100 spoils - Decliner
250 spoils - Rejector
500 spoils - Refuser
1000 spoils - Spoiler
-
Tackle Fend Badge - Name
10 fends - Slippery
25 fends - Breaker
50 fends - Buster
100 fends - Mover and Shaker
250 fends - Unstoppable
500 fends - Untouchable
-
Goal Badge - Name
25 goals - Goal Sneak
50 goals - Goal Shark
100 goals - On Song
250 goals - Dead Eye
500 goals - Straight Shooter
1000 goals - Deadly In Front
-
Behind Badge - Name
25 behinds - Wobbly
50 behinds - Sprayer
100 behinds - Tentative
250 behinds - Back to Basics
500 behinds - Practice Makes Perfect
1000 behinds - Backline Potential
-
Handpass Badge - Name
50 passes - Passable
100 passes - Pin-pointer
250 passes - Laces Out
500 passes - Centimetre Perfect
1000 passes - Team Oriented
2000 passes - Ultimate Team Player
-
Spectacular Mark Badge - Name
5 spectacular marks - Spectacular
10 spectacular marks - Cherry Picker
25 spectacular marks - Above the Clouds
50 spectacular marks - Frequent Flyer
100 spectacular marks - Rarified Air
200 spectacular marks - Oxygen Deprived
-
Sessions Badge - Name
3 games in one sitting - Committed
5 games in one sitting - Hard Yards
7 games in one sitting - Beep Tested
11 games in one sitting - Super Fit
17 games in one sitting - Stamina and Endurance
23 games in one sitting - Hard.Core.
-
Win Margin Badge - Name
win by double in 1 game - A Beating
win by double in 2 games - A Smashing
win by double in 3 games - A Thrashing
win by double in 5 games - A Caning
win by double in 15 games - Unplayable
win by double in 25 games - A Shellacking
-
Match Completion Badge - Name
don't quit 3 games in a row - Good Sport
don't quit 5 games in a row - Bitter Ender
don't quit 7 games in a row - Staunch
don't quit 11 games in a row - Steadfast
don't quit 23 games in a row - Unswerving
don't quit 37 games in a row - Dedicated
-
Win Streak Badge - Name
win 2 games in a row - Shortest Streak
win 3 games in a row - Back-to-back
win 5 games in a row - On a Roll
win 7 games in a row - Unbeatable
win 15 games in a row - Unstoppable
win 25 games in a row - Unplayable
-
Special Badges - How to unlock
Step Into My Office - Beat a Big Ant Studios employee or someone with this badge
Regular - Play a game every day for a week
Player of the Month - Play a game every week for a month
Chameleon - Play as every AFL team
Mix 'n' Matcher - Play a match with at least two players on each side
Full House - Play a 4v4 match

Can anyone tell me what not to do when it comes to subs and freezing? I played 2 games today offline and in the 4th quarter of game 1 I subbed morabito off for lower which put lower straight in at half forward flank. This worked fine but in the second game at the start of the 4th i subbed griffin off for schammer which put schammer straight in at ruck rover, i won the ruck ran the ball down and scored a goal the game then froze. Why does this happen and how do i avoid it while still using the sub?

Careful what you wish for cheer, once the patch hits every team you come up against is a custom not just 40-50%, bit the bullet last night after waiting over 30 minutes for a match against a default team and played a Sydney team full of all the best players in the comp and a souped up ruckman called b.virgin lost by 30 points or so, just wasn't fun, never again
Just put him to the sword by 9 points.:thumbsu::D:thumbsu:

Was a tough slog, got behind a few times but pushed hard to comeback and in the end when the pressure was on, I came up trumps.

PSN was aflproer just so you can look to avoid him online.:thumbsu:

LOL, he's now invited me to a private game...no doubt to try and prove he is better.:p

Was a tough slog, got behind a few times but pushed hard to comeback and in the end when the pressure was on, I came up trumps.

LOL, he's now invited me to a private game...no doubt to try and prove he is better.:p

Got matched up with this guy a fair bit tonight. Just backed out each time, I hope it annoyed the hell out of him too :cool:

I read a while back that the patch disables custom seasons with custom teams. Is this the case?

Well done mate, can't stand these flogs who think they are special winning with overpowered teams

Look I do not know what just happened BUT I played a guy called stevenson ( with some number bullshit on the end ) and he selected Port Adelaide to vs me with, so I thought, Ok I should be alright in this one, I start playing and notice he has ... Sandilands, Ablett, Franklin, Judd all in this team and there just naming a few. Why can this take place in this game?

Can anyone tell me what not to do when it comes to subs and freezing? I played 2 games today offline and in the 4th quarter of game 1 I subbed morabito off for lower which put lower straight in at half forward flank. This worked fine but in the second game at the start of the 4th i subbed griffin off for schammer which put schammer straight in at ruck rover, i won the ruck ran the ball down and scored a goal the game then froze. Why does this happen and how do i avoid it while still using the sub?

You know something. I've never used the sub. Probably because I've been playing online for the majority. I basically pick my side of 21 and whomever is 22 is inconsequential.

Also, on a different matter, anyone tried turning commentary and music right down to 0? Makes the game a million times better (although would prefer if there was a separate volume adjuster for team songs, as turning off menu music also means team songs are muted). :thumbsu: