AFL Premier Division - 2011 Season

Went to the Springwood Palmy game and am fairly dissapointed thats 2 hours of my life I will never get back. Springwood were up and about in the first quarter but that is where it ends. Not sure there was one drop punt kicked for the day. Definatly not one for the highlight reel!

hope you tried one of the chicken & gravy rolls, would've been at least one highlight for ya

Chicken and gravey roll! check lenny. Cant believe I was so narrow minded, that washed down with a couple of stubbies makes me ponder maybe life is worth living! A highlight on what was a pretty mediocre day of footy.:thumbsu:

Sandgate to feature in their third straight match of the round against the Tigers this week. If the Tigers win and barring any major upset in the final two rounds will finish on top, get a home 2nd semi final and give them an enormous shot at going back to back. If the Hawks get up I'm sure their coaching staff would be rapt to have come through a tough 3 week period with 2 wins. Just how much confidence do Sandgate get when Dickfos in the side, i would say unmeasurable! He fires, they generally win, with the exception being last years GF where he was outstanding, probably the 7 straight points they kicked was more the problem. Finals look like being a cracker as they do in the NEAFL. Even though they have been fantastic and Marto will love people writing them off, dont think Grange can win it and only cause they dont have that X factor. Havent seen the Mapies play and people saying how they will get plenty back when lions finish, however as they havent been playing together for majority of season i see this as a disadvantage. I really dont know how many they get back as hear reports of between 3 and 8! I see the Premier coming from either Sandgate, Noosa who i think are building nicely and would be very wary of Palmie. These are my opinions only based on what i hear, read and occassionaliy see, and am prepared to acknowledge i could be completely wrong!

Great write up mate, agree with most of your points. Winner of the Sandgate Noosa game will prob finish minor premier, and have a huge advantage in finals. Loser will finish on four loses and have to play PBC in a knock out final more than likely. Cant see the 3 of Sandgate, Noosa, PBC all making second week of finals, which gives Magpies and Grange a chance. That is if there are no upsets for the rest of the year, there really havent been any this year other than Surfers beating Noosa, so maybe we will see one that throws it all out.

great comments, maggies will only get about 3 back from the lions but will get wenham and pope back in from injury 9dont rule out a late return from roscinski played a couple of 2nds games). minor premiers but will finish 3rd

PBC alway a threat but would question there fitness late in the season, injuries may hit some players that arent in great shape they will carry them though. finish 4th

Grange will play finals but i personally think they may lack the depth to get over the line if they lose any key personel. finish 5th

sandgate looks pretty well balanced team and if their vetrans can hold on will go very deep into finals, fabien is a massive loss. premiers

noosa good team with some geniune match winners in matthews and brew, their bottom end is a concern though. runners up for mine.

PBC: Gain Carrol, Blowes, Hewitt this week and possibly Boyd. With only Round to come in. Certainly top forward line in comp (throw in Drake) top 2 in midfield. And I think most would agree thats a fairly formidable side. Capable of going all the way. Fitness will be what kills them.

Noosa: Trompf is about all I can see to come into this side. But a bigger inclusion I dont think there is. Gives them confidence and is very versatile. Very good forward line, Midfield is as good as anyones (maybe better depending on where you come from). Only concern is backline leeks to many goals and struggles against big forwards ie Sandgate and Palmy.

Magpies: If Rozincki comes back massive coup for the maggies. Bit of an unknown for mine. Havnt seen them since palmy round 2. Super impressive in final quarter but just ok for other 3. (Round 2 mind you) I think are the dark horse in comp. A long season for their kids playing for lions could be there undoing.

Sandgate: Wrote them of this time last year given their injuries. No prizes for guessing humble pie was on the menu then. Very good balanced side from forward to backline. Fabian huge loss, but if Dicfos can get himself up I believe they are a 4-5 goal better side. Dont think they have to many to come back so a fairly settled side will certainly keep them in good steed for finals. HUGE game this week.

Grange: Hard to tell where there at, Beating Mayne by 3 goals wouldnt instill me with a lot of confidence. There cruzy run in may also affect. Havnt played finals for some years and coming up against some pretty seasoned campaigners in Noosa, Palmy and Sandgate. Would have to agree i dont see a x factor in that side. Pardew, Collins Skuse all playing well are as good as any in comp. Have beaten everyside in top 5 so obviously have the cattle, but do they have the will.

My humble thoughts only.

G'day Lads,

I think it's a 3 horse race this year. Noosa, Sandgate and PBC are the ones. Magpies smokies not sure what they can produce. Grange are pretenders in my opinion.

Also, any thoughts on a team of the year from any of you? Would be pretty interesting to see everyone's thoughts on this. And also the League medalist?

My tip for GF Noosa V PBC
League Medal: James Drake PBC

PBC: Gain Carrol, Blowes, Hewitt this week and possibly Boyd. With only Round to come in. Certainly top forward line in comp (throw in Drake) top 2 in midfield. And I think most would agree thats a fairly formidable side. Capable of going all the way. Fitness will be what kills them.

Noosa: Trompf is about all I can see to come into this side. But a bigger inclusion I dont think there is. Gives them confidence and is very versatile. Very good forward line, Midfield is as good as anyones (maybe better depending on where you come from). Only concern is backline leeks to many goals and struggles against big forwards ie Sandgate and Palmy.

Magpies: If Rozincki comes back massive coup for the maggies. Bit of an unknown for mine. Havnt seen them since palmy round 2. Super impressive in final quarter but just ok for other 3. (Round 2 mind you) I think are the dark horse in comp. A long season for their kids playing for lions could be there undoing.

Sandgate: Wrote them of this time last year given their injuries. No prizes for guessing humble pie was on the menu then. Very good balanced side from forward to backline. Fabian huge loss, but if Dicfos can get himself up I believe they are a 4-5 goal better side. Dont think they have to many to come back so a fairly settled side will certainly keep them in good steed for finals. HUGE game this week.

Grange: Hard to tell where there at, Beating Mayne by 3 goals wouldnt instill me with a lot of confidence. There cruzy run in may also affect. Havnt played finals for some years and coming up against some pretty seasoned campaigners in Noosa, Palmy and Sandgate. Would have to agree i dont see a x factor in that side. Pardew, Collins Skuse all playing well are as good as any in comp. Have beaten everyside in top 5 so obviously have the cattle, but do they have the will.

My humble thoughts only.

Cant see how you came to the conclusion Noosa have a leeky defence? They have only had 824 points kicked against them all year, average of only 10 goals a game! They play a really good zoning defence which means they cover for each other well, covering the lack of a dominant key defender.

You can add Ben Walters to PBC inclusions, they are super strong at full strength, but if they have to win it from 4th or 5th might be a tough ask. If they can get to 3rd they will be massive contenders but.

Can Surfers beat either Grange or PBC in the last two rounds any one think?

G'day Lads,

I think it's a 3 horse race this year. Noosa, Sandgate and PBC are the ones. Magpies smokies not sure what they can produce. Grange are pretenders in my opinion.

Also, any thoughts on a team of the year from any of you? Would be pretty interesting to see everyone's thoughts on this. And also the League medalist?

GF for me- Sandgate vs Mapgies (but if Noosa win this week, they are good things, im tipping Sandgate this week which will put Noosa to 4th where they could stay, and play PBC first week of finals in a knock out! Hard for both teams from there.
League Medal- Matthews (Noosa) or Drake

My humble thoughts only.

Noosa have at least 5 regular senior players to still come back into the side.. The bye helped, Trompf, Boydle, Buntain, Frew, Bailey all did not play last game. Should all be available for the hawks game this Sat. Makes for some interesting decisions at selection. Its nearly August, Winter is nearly over!!

Due to the lack of interest in the tipping comp, it has come to an end. Speedunit has been declared the winner with a score of 58

Noosa have at least 5 regular senior players to still come back into the side.. The bye helped, Trompf, Boydle, Buntain, Frew, Bailey all did not play last game. Should all be available for the hawks game this Sat. Makes for some interesting decisions at selection. Its nearly August, Winter is nearly over!!
I think you`ll find bailey played against the Roos however Mills didn`t and is due back this week.Agree with all that switching play said.Just a massive game for both noosa and sandgate at lemke rd this weekend.Will be very interesting at selection tomorrow night especially with 3 of the incoming being out for so long.Not sure if buntain is available but height pretty vital against Sandgate.Grange seem to be plodding at the moment whilst heard the magpies had a few missing and outplayed last week.Palmy so dangerous just not sure they can keep travelling and win it from 4th or 5th.Will be a great final series.

G'day Lads,

On form so far,Matthews,isles,brewster,mckinntrick and bailey would be putting their hands up for team of the year from Noosa.Ofcourse not all of them getting in.Isles never does but IMO would be leading Noosas` b and f with Brewster and matthews not far behind him.Mckinntrick and bailey been super consistent through the midfield also whilst skipper bovalino in good form lately also.

I would like to see Sandgate win the flag, think the biggest challenge will come from PBC.Think the GF will be Sandgate v PBC,obviously Noosa will be a major threat to that theory,but I feel the Hawks and Lions have been more convincing.

Sorry, but really don't want the Magpies to win the cup and I feel they won't be able to match it with Hawks,Noosa and PBC this year.

I would like to see Sandgate win the flag, think the biggest challenge will come from PBC.Think the GF will be Sandgate v PBC,obviously Noosa will be a major threat to that theory,but I feel the Hawks and Lions have been more convincing.

Sorry, but really don't want the Magpies to win the cup and I feel they won't be able to match it with Hawks,Noosa and PBC this year.

why dont you want the magpies to win it?

Sorry, I don't like any team who has the Magpie emblem:D also think they won't be good enough to beat the 3 teams I mentioned above. Well I could be made to eat humble pie,wouldn't be the 1st time.:D

Like to see Sandgate win as I mentioned before, it something I believe the club deserves after the hardship they went through.:thumbsu:

Cant see how you came to the conclusion Noosa have a leeky defence? They have only had 824 points kicked against them all year, average of only 10 goals a game! They play a really good zoning defence which means they cover for each other well, covering the lack of a dominant key defender.

You can add Ben Walters to PBC inclusions, they are super strong at full strength, but if they have to win it from 4th or 5th might be a tough ask. If they can get to 3rd they will be massive contenders but.

Can Surfers beat either Grange or PBC in the last two rounds any one think?

If you read what he said about Noosa's Def is that it struggles against the bigger forward lines.

PBC ego's get in the way that why they are not fit, Magpies want worry about last week to much, always hard to beat in finals, Sandgate maybe depends on the fitness of there bigger players (Walker, Dicfos and co), Noosa will be their and Grange if Marto can get them to vocus they may upset someone in the first final. Should be a great series IMO

Sorry, I don't like any team who has the Magpie emblem:D also think they won't be good enough to beat the 3 teams I mentioned above. Well I could be made to eat humble pie,wouldn't be the 1st time.:D

Like to see Sandgate win as I mentioned before, it something I believe the club deserves after the hardship they went through.:thumbsu:

we lost to magpies away. if losing wasn't bad enough, having to listen to that song made my blood boil.
THEN, a week later, we lose to grange at grange, and have to listen to it again.

Seriously, magpies and grange, get a new song.

If you read what he said about Noosa's Def is that it struggles against the bigger forward lines.

PBC ego's get in the way that why they are not fit, Magpies want worry about last week to much, always hard to beat in finals, Sandgate maybe depends on the fitness of there bigger players (Walker, Dicfos and co), Noosa will be their and Grange if Marto can get them to vocus they may upset someone in the first final. Should be a great series IMO

Yeah I read what he said, and I made the point the way they defend covers not having the big bodies to play on the bigger sides. Noosa beat Sandgate by 85 points last time, with the "leeky" defence that struggles against the big sides, and the Hawks only kicked 6 or so for the day. Dickfos was out that day, but so was Boydle their best key defender. And they didnt have anyone bigger last year when they won the flag. Thanks for pointing the same point again but, even though I think it isnt valid. Just my opinion but.

Noosa has best defence in comp!
I Think surfers will step up an beat grange again, leaving them to play PBC & then all over for the year.
The Sandgate that played up in NOOSA was not the Sandgate we face this week, IMO them and PBC still the form sides.
Noosa out's very interesting, Winter (Grand final player last year) Sawers (team of the year 09) Evil duke (100+ senior game player)! all been great this year and all still in our best team. Senior depth this year is superior to last year.

How much would the Gorillas be lovin everyone writing them off!! Marto would be giggling.

Not sure why either as they have been missing quite a few over the last 3-4 weeks which would explain their "pre-finals" flat spot from what I can see (McMahon, Pardew, Moir) and this is the same team that beat Noosa at Noosa, beat Sandgate in rd 1 and then was 5 goals up at Lemke rd (should have beaten us that day for sure - still don't know what happened?) beat PBC (admittedly earlier in year) so talk of their demise may well be premature!!

Also how cool is it that if Sandgate beat Noosa and rest of season goes as most would expect that top 3 teams for finals will be Brisbane based (Sandgate, Grange, Maggies) which will mean Qual, 2nd Semi, 1st Semi, Prelim and GF will all be in Brisbane somewhere! Giddy up!