AFL Premier Division - 2011 Season

Your truelly are a peanut s36!! Just when you thought it was safe to think youd pulled your head in you pop up with this crap!!
Firstly lets talk cash. Your are the only team on the Coast that has played at 3 different grounds under 3 different names. All because you have been unfinancial. You have spent money on players just like us but we are still playing on our orriginal home ground.
Secondly, your rant about juniors prooves you really do not know what you are talking about. Noosa currently have 6 seniors from their junior ranks that are regular players, all ranging from 150 games to 50. And are topped when needed with U18's. Come down on a Tues or Thurs night and check out how many kids are on the track. Second most juniors in QLD a couple of years ago and i doubt the numbers are similar.
The reason the club was in a difficult financial position was due to many factors. decreased income from sponsorships (namely one major sponsor changing the way they spent money), heavily discounted player registrations, operations being run ineffectively, and over committment to pay coaches and players beyond the clubs means.

Your quote. Does this mean your club has beeen poorly managed?? Mate i understand rivalry, but this cheap point scoring is really an embarrasment. You sound like a new Roos supporter, maybe not but do you really think your doing your club any favours coughing up this crap?!! The Roos have had many great players over the years, i know cause ive played on some of them. Is this how you think you do them justice.
Why dont you turn your unfounded dribble into helping the Roos win their last 2 games of the year and let Noosa enjoy their well earned crack at another flag.
Gee no need for old noosaboy to add anything here.Agree wholeheartedly with SMY regarding Bovalino.Just a fantastic leader.Players,members and supporters love him(because he is so approachable) and his consistency of performance has just been great since coming to the club.His finals series last year was superb and not sure too many players get the better of him for too long without heading off due to the blood rule.A true captain.S36 has been rebutted beautifully.Enjoyable reading over the past couple of nights.Exciting month of local footy ahead.

You're an idiot Dino (or can't read, or maybe both??). Think Luke actually said that PBC and Sandgate were the form sides. Nice way of trying to create artificial motivation. Surely you're not into all that rant in the change rooms about "did you hear what they said about us"? crapola.[/quote]

Is that a real word? Dont mind it, can anyone use it? Or just well groomed and educated pie sellers!

Nah - you can use it mate. But only my mates can!! Fair comeback to S36... :D
Remember when we selected the 06 GF team and we counted 12 Noosa juniors in it + a few who had been there a while. Reckon that is incredible for a local club on the sunshine coast.

As i said in my previous post. Sounds like your getting involved for the 1st time. You talk as if your club has no history. Every club try's to create an enviroment people enjoy, some do it better than others. We value personal development too, that is why we, at the start of the season, ran a session for our u/18's, including a former Colligwood dietician, two detectives from the drug squad a podiatrist on effective footwear and our very own senior coach, didnt see a need to get on here and spruik about it though! We to , have players in that government run training course, which IMO is an absolute rort and complete waste of taxpayers money.

Can't say i disagree but .......:)

Thats great about your juniors playing seniors although i know James Coleman has only been there 2 years tops!
Bottom line is clubs onfield success IMO is based on premierships and you will need to recruit good players to achieve this, although you may be very proud to have some players who have come through the juniors get in the best each week. And finally your hearing must be impeded by the shit that dribbles out your mouth as Noosa will field an U/18 side next year as they have done for years and the fact remains you havent!

You sure they weren't on assignment there mate and just using the excuse that we'd like to have a chat to the boys??:D

Bottom line is that NO club in this comp will win a premiership if their side is made up of local players predominantly (over 50%) IMO. The PHC is too competitive for that and there isn't enough quality young players who stick around with one club to have that happen. Is a beautiful thought and certainly all clubs probably try to ensure that as much of their list as possible is local but if you don't get players in then you are stuffed on the field.

S36... - all those reasons are no doubt correct as to why the Roos finances have gone south but the biggest issue has been that they spent what they didn't have over the past couple of years in their quest to win a premiership. Noosa spent a fair bit but they have generated a fair bit more!! (BTW - have a connection with both clubs so feel like I'm fairly even minded about it all, certainly the Noosa FC model is one that the roos should follow IMO as best as they can)

Your truelly are a peanut s36!! Just when you thought it was safe to think youd pulled your head in you pop up with this crap!!
Firstly lets talk cash. Your are the only team on the Coast that has played at 3 different grounds under 3 different names. All because you have been unfinancial. You have spent money on players just like us but we are still playing on our orriginal home ground.
Secondly, your rant about juniors prooves you really do not know what you are talking about. Noosa currently have 6 seniors from their junior ranks that are regular players, all ranging from 150 games to 50. And are topped when needed with U18's. Come down on a Tues or Thurs night and check out how many kids are on the track. Second most juniors in QLD a couple of years ago and i doubt the numbers are similar.

Your quote. Does this mean your club has beeen poorly managed?? Mate i understand rivalry, but this cheap point scoring is really an embarrasment. You sound like a new Roos supporter, maybe not but do you really think your doing your club any favours coughing up this crap?!! The Roos have had many great players over the years, i know cause ive played on some of them. Is this how you think you do them justice.
Why dont you turn your unfounded dribble into helping the Roos win their last 2 games of the year and let Noosa enjoy their well earned crack at another flag.

Not sure about this stat Bandit!! Think you will find that Maroochy has had Noosa covered for a number of years in junior numbers,( let alone some of the clubs in Brisbane / Gold Coast) but really only once the club went back to Fishermans Rd.

You sure they weren't on assignment there mate and just using the excuse that we'd like to have a chat to the boys??:D

Bottom line is that NO club in this comp will win a premiership if their side is made up of local players predominantly (over 50%) IMO. The PHC is too competitive for that and there isn't enough quality young players who stick around with one club to have that happen. Is a beautiful thought and certainly all clubs probably try to ensure that as much of their list as possible is local but if you don't get players in then you are stuffed on the field.

S36... - all those reasons are no doubt correct as to why the Roos finances have gone south but the biggest issue has been that they spent what they didn't have over the past couple of years in their quest to win a premiership. Noosa spent a fair bit but they have generated a fair bit more!! (BTW - have a connection with both clubs so feel like I'm fairly even minded about it all, certainly the Noosa FC model is one that the roos should follow IMO as best as they can)

i recall the west magpies 06 premiership side was 90% western suburbs kids and 08 about 80% (looking at old footy records)

I am not sure whether you have an understanding of how to read and comprehend, but I can't remember saying anything about any of the former roos players, nor was I trying to cheap shot any other club.

What I was trying to point out, is that different to other years (last year the process was started), the Maroochy senior club has tried very hard to work with junior club and the masters. I can't ever remember juniors and masters coming to the senior ball which they did this year.

I can remember however how a few years ago juniors and seniors under different presidents couldn't stand each other.

Good luck to Noosa this year. I think the comp is alot closer than Noosa supporters think, and that the top 4 teams all have improvement in them come finals.

I think whoever can produce there best team on the day and can stay injury free will make it through to the grand final. Very exciting heading into the last 2 rounds with 4 teams equal on points, can't remember the last time it has been this close.

gday fellas 5 very strong and good players from melton south football club in the ballarat football league in country victoria looking for a club to play at as of next year...pm if interested

I am not sure whether you have an understanding of how to read and comprehend, but I can't remember saying anything about any of the former roos players, nor was I trying to cheap shot any other club.

What I was trying to point out, is that different to other years (last year the process was started), the Maroochy senior club has tried very hard to work with junior club and the masters. I can't ever remember juniors and masters coming to the senior ball which they did this year.

I can remember however how a few years ago juniors and seniors under different presidents couldn't stand each other.

Good luck to Noosa this year. I think the comp is alot closer than Noosa supporters think, and that the top 4 teams all have improvement in them come finals.

I think whoever can produce there best team on the day and can stay injury free will make it through to the grand final. Very exciting heading into the last 2 rounds with 4 teams equal on points, can't remember the last time it has been this close.
s36,it is certainly a very even comp`as suggested with 4 teams equal on top.As an true and honest Noosa supporter,there is a long way to go starting with Cooly on the goldy this week.Our performances down there have led to a 4 goal loss to Surfers and a 7 goal thumping by Palmy so definitely not cocky about holding up a Cup just yet.To me palmy are the form side of the comp` but there sluggish start will make it hard for them come finals without a double chance if that becomes the case.Noosa have won 2 flags in 25 years so the diehard supporters know how hard they are to come by but we have certainly put ourselves in a position to have a real crack again this year.

I would say VERY GOOD LUCK TO NOOSA S36... - if they make the GF there is a good chance the Roos will be the winner - probably a bigger pay day for the club than any fundraiser this year I would suggest. Cheer them on mate!!:D

Maybe one day in the next 5 years we can return the favour.

s36,it is certainly a very even comp`as suggested with 4 teams equal on top.As an true and honest Noosa supporter,there is a long way to go starting with Cooly on the goldy this week.Our performances down there have led to a 4 goal loss to Surfers and a 7 goal thumping by Palmy so definitely not cocky about holding up a Cup just yet.To me palmy are the form side of the comp` but there sluggish start will make it hard for them come finals without a double chance if that becomes the case.Noosa have won 2 flags in 25 years so the diehard supporters know how hard they are to come by but we have certainly put ourselves in a position to have a real crack again this year.

I think the hardest thing for all the teams competing this year will be to make it into the grand final without injuries to key players. I think from week 1 of the finals, all teams will be playing like it is the grand final as there isn't going to be any games likely to be easier than any others.

When it comes to finals, that 1 or 2% when players are paying not fully fit can make the difference, so it doesn't always matter what has happened in the season proper.

It also helps to have a winning culture, and a team with finals experience, which Noosa, Palmy and Sandgate all have.

And Cooly is always a hard road trip. I know in past years if they get players back from state league duty they can be very hard to beat down there, even if they are winless for the year.

Will we see any upsets this week? Noosa vs Cooly should be a win to the Tigers, long road trip and flat after a huge win last game maybe? Prob not, to good for that. Interesting game but. Sandgate vs Maroochy same story, Maroochy seem to have to many injuries but. Grange vs Burleigh? Burleigh been horrible all year hard to see them getting up, but seem to be a lot going on at the club this week which might pump them up. Surfers v Palmy I reckon will be a cracker or an anticlimax. Will be close or a Palmy blow out. And Mayne vs Magpies, well the Tigers look like going through the year without a win. Cant see this week being to much different.

So you would think no upsets. Been a real divide between top 5 and bottom 5, with Surfers floating in the middle. Seems the gap this year has really increased, any thought on why?

Will we see any upsets this week? Noosa vs Cooly should be a win to the Tigers, long road trip and flat after a huge win last game maybe? Prob not, to good for that. Interesting game but. Sandgate vs Maroochy same story, Maroochy seem to have to many injuries but. Grange vs Burleigh? Burleigh been horrible all year hard to see them getting up, but seem to be a lot going on at the club this week which might pump them up. Surfers v Palmy I reckon will be a cracker or an anticlimax. Will be close or a Palmy blow out. And Mayne vs Magpies, well the Tigers look like going through the year without a win. Cant see this week being to much different.

So you would think no upsets. Been a real divide between top 5 and bottom 5, with Surfers floating in the middle. Seems the gap this year has really increased, any thought on why?
Sweetie, Noosa have not travelled well to the Goldy, over confident club, Sandgate with injuries should win, Grange arriving at Burleigh with all the accolades should win, Palmy the inform team will win, while Mayne have their best chance to put points on the board, but Magies will most likey win, just.
I disagree with with the gap between the top 5. Springwood a young team have improved, Burleigh lost the plot,Surfers a real contender with change of coach, Maroochy not the push overs as from start of the season as the noosa game showed, Cooly hot and cold are cable of upsets. Mayne are genuine contenders to win their first game, they are better than the results show

Sweetie, Noosa have not travelled well to the Goldy, over confident club, Sandgate with injuries should win, Grange arriving at Burleigh with all the accolades should win, Palmy the inform team will win, while Mayne have their best chance to put points on the board, but Magies will most likey win, just.
I disagree with with the gap between the top 5. Springwood a young team have improved, Burleigh lost the plot,Surfers a real contender with change of coach, Maroochy not the push overs as from start of the season as the noosa game showed, Cooly hot and cold are cable of upsets. Mayne are genuine contenders to win their first game, they are better than the results show

Maroochy are very ordinary, and they beat Mayne. Palmy kicked over 200 against Maroochy. Mayne are no chance this week, I'll eat my hat if they win. They have not improved this year despite all the talk people throw up about them being better than they have showed. 14 loses isnt an oversight.

No team of the bottom 5 have beaten any of the Top 5 this year, and outside the Maroochy Noosa result played in a swimming pool there havent been any games even close to an upset. Surfers have had a few good wins against Noosa and Grange, which is why I had them floating around the middle. On their day capable but not quite consistent enough like others.

Bottom 5 have 15 wins for the year combined. Top 5 have 54. And I wont even go into the for and against columns. I think there is a clear gap.

Maroochy are very ordinary, and they beat Mayne. Palmy kicked over 200 against Maroochy. Mayne are no chance this week, I'll eat my hat if they win. They have not improved this year despite all the talk people throw up about them being better than they have showed. 14 loses isnt an oversight.

No team of the bottom 5 have beaten any of the Top 5 this year, and outside the Maroochy Noosa result played in a swimming pool there havent been any games even close to an upset. Surfers have had a few good wins against Noosa and Grange, which is why I had them floating around the middle. On their day capable but not quite consistent enough like others.

Bottom 5 have 15 wins for the year combined. Top 5 have 54. And I wont even go into the for and against columns. I think there is a clear gap.
Sweetie

I agree in a way but what I am saying is there has been massive improvement in the bottom half teams the blow outs are not consistant as was earlier in the season. Young sides, young boys are going to improve and hopefully this will turn over to 2012 season. Some teams need injection of quality experinence players to be competitive.

If it has been said once its been said a million times. The difference is in the depth. Faulkners, Housego's, Hawkins, would play in any starting 18 in any other side, the problem for thier respective clubs is when Mayne loses a couple you get a cricket score. Same applies to Cooly, Springwood and Maroochy. Sandgate have been hammered by injuries and will still push any of the top teams. Noosa loses a Mathews Brauer etc they can cover for them. the top 5 players in a footy club WONT win you a flag, it's the quality of your 6 -15 players that will. Without them too much is pushed on to the top 5, meaning if we tag a clubs best 2 or 3 make it a shit fight and be close enough in the last you might steal a win? Highly unliky in the case of a Noosa, this wouldnt happen because of the class from the other lines, bovalinos Mills etc.

Gee whiz, Maroochy result surprised today - they were lucky to have 15 at training on Tuesday between all 3 grades!! Not alot more on Thursday. Delaney has done an amazing job IMO when they really shouldn't be anywhere near the top sides on a dry deck.

sandgate were lucky to get away with the win if you ask me. we lead and looked in control all day, bar the last 5 mins when they managed to kick 2 goals.

dickfoses goal after the siren at 3/4 time hurt as well.

We tried to do our friends up the highway a favour yesterday in eliminating one of the contenders from a top 3 finish, but unfortunately fell 10 points short.

I havn't posted much this year but I have followed this league very closely. From what I can see, I would be very confident in saying it will be a Noosa v PBC Grand Final. Noosa have a brilliant game style that sides just dont seem to react to. It's fairly obvious what they do but opposition coaches or players are not responding. The addition of punky, mills and bailey to the side makes it an even better team than last year. How did maroochydore let Bailey go???? Their structures and team approach will see them get through to the GF with ease. Well coached!!!! Cant believe people bag Noosa's coach??

PBC have the experience and a few x factors that can tear a game apart. They are a ruthless tough side. I don't see Sangate (too many injuries/long is a cat), magpies (very young), grange(pretenders) or anyone else getting near these 2 sides come finals time.

I am also critical of sides like Mayne, Springwood... Give it up and drop down a league. Mayne are kidding themselves they wouldnt even finish in the top 3 in div 2. Springwood have been a young side for 3 years now and they havn't seen much reward.

Maroochydore should hold their heads high!!! After losing so many players they have been competitive with the likes of Sangate/noosa. They do need to recruit next year though!!!

Think you will find Pies that Maroochy may "recruit" from the juniors for the next couple of years, even if that means they aren't going to win the premiership, they will be competitive.

I agree re holding heads high - there isn't alot of ability in that 1st 18 TBH, but a lot of heart. They have the best juniors of any side on the coast currently so need to use this as an advantage.
Noosa's are also pretty good (although their best junior may be snagged next year for a State league side) and like any junior footy, its probably more about who is going to continue to play rather than how good they are.

Think you will find Pies that Maroochy may "recruit" from the juniors for the next couple of years, even if that means they aren't going to win the premiership, they will be competitive.

I agree re holding heads high - there isn't alot of ability in that 1st 18 TBH, but a lot of heart. They have the best juniors of any side on the coast currently so need to use this as an advantage.
Noosa's are also pretty good (although their best junior may be snagged next year for a State league side) and like any junior footy, its probably more about who is going to continue to play rather than how good they are.

Yeh it's all good to have the philosophy of developing the 18s and juniors but if the Roos are going to be realistic they need to understand the drop out rate after 18s football!! Also with limited work opportunities/uni on the coast many youths choose to move to brisbane etc. Also if there any good they will go to state league. So personally I think their plan will see them on the bottom for many yrs to come

I havn't posted much this year but I have followed this league very closely. From what I can see, I would be very confident in saying it will be a Noosa v PBC Grand Final. Noosa have a brilliant game style that sides just dont seem to react to. It's fairly obvious what they do but opposition coaches or players are not responding. The addition of punky, mills and bailey to the side makes it an even better team than last year. How did maroochydore let Bailey go???? Their structures and team approach will see them get through to the GF with ease. Well coached!!!! Cant believe people bag Noosa's coach??

PBC have the experience and a few x factors that can tear a game apart. They are a ruthless tough side. I don't see Sangate (too many injuries/long is a cat), magpies (very young), grange(pretenders) or anyone else getting near these 2 sides come finals time.

I am also critical of sides like Mayne, Springwood... Give it up and drop down a league. Mayne are kidding themselves they wouldnt even finish in the top 3 in div 2. Springwood have been a young side for 3 years now and they havn't seen much reward.

Maroochydore should hold their heads high!!! After losing so many players they have been competitive with the likes of Sangate/noosa. They do need to recruit next year though!!!
So Maroochy = "hold your heads up", but Springwood = "give it up and drop down"? :confused:

Yeh it's all good to have the philosophy of developing the 18s and juniors but if the Roos are going to be realistic they need to understand the drop out rate after 18s football!! Also with limited work opportunities/uni on the coast many youths choose to move to brisbane etc. Also if there any good they will go to state league. So personally I think their plan will see them on the bottom for many yrs to come

Yeah, you're probably right Pies re work but the local Uni is getting bigger every year. Kids can stay here depending on their choice of course. Work opps are terrible in trades for sure.
There have been quite a few 16yr olds played this year already who have done very well and with it being the 1st year that the club has had 18's in Div 1 (believe me, a massive achievement and will be worth a hell of a lot to the club in the next few years). As someone rightly pointed out to me a few posts back, Magpies had 80% of their '06 premiership team come from the local region there so it can be done. I believe it is often how you treat the kids that will depend on whether they continue on or not. Embrace them earlier rather than later and not just those that are the obvious good footballers currently - many kids here don't develop properly till 20 yrs of age. The Maroochy coach this year has been outstanding IMO with his attitude, his teaching and his general persona around the football club. I agree that there needs to be some monies spent for those high quality footballers but I'm not sure you need 50% of your club to be those from interstate if the junior set up is good.