AFL Round 19 Essendon V Brisbane Lions Official Thread

I thougth Rischitelii was outstanding. Harding kicked 2 great goals. Brown was good but didn't kick any goals. Bradshaw not fit likewise Drummond. Black you superstar. Power, Clark and Sherman all played well. Liked McGrath's game. Hawksley and Redden were both good again. Give Rich the bloody rising star NOW. 2 great goals. Not happy with the draw but at the same time it is better than a loss and I can't see us not making finals now. Huge chance next week now after having and average game we should come out firing in front of our home crowd. Both sides have to travel to Brisbane but the Lions do much earlier. Plus Bradshaw and Drummond will be another weeks fit and Brown didn't kick a goal against the Bombers so I expect him to kick a bag:thumbsu: Clark and Rich are outstanding. Oh and great to see Mcgrath, Brennan and Stiller all consistent performers. Harding had a good game and Sherman is starting to fit in to the same calibre of importance as Black, Brown, Power and Bradshaw. Plus he is starting to get big possie numbers and kicking a goal or 2 week in week out now which is fantastic. So a lot of pluses especially with Redden performing well as well.

And now you ruin your image by saying something intelligent. What gives?

Pity the red and black couldn't stop the ReddenBlack, from the first moment i saw jack redden i said to my mates this kid is gonna be simon junior just love his attack on the ball severe and uncompormising. :D

You've been waiting to use that line ever since we recruited Redden, haven't you?

Would explain why he's still an "apprentice" after 1 year :p
I'm sorry guys, but I saw way too many frees that should not have been rewarded to you guys. About as many as the frees we should've gotten.

Answer me this question.
When Jonathan Brown pushed Pears, how was that not a free?

Interesting to see how Vossies time at the AIS has taught him some of the more scientific aspects of sports coaching. What he is doing is called PERFORMANCE TAPERING. This is how it goes, we train less, our skill levels drop, we focus on irrelevent issues & we play like a rabble which would struggle against Kew Cottages second XVIII; it's the latest in sports science. The brainstrust are only doing this so we can go further into September & win a FLAG. Geelong are doing it.....Footscray are doing it.....Essendon are doing it only they started way too early.
Brownie is a good captain & is leading by example with his "performance tapering"; job well done tonight Brownie. Drummond had to show Riska what it is all about tonight, he couldn't let Riska kick his third.Nice to see Brown & Black talking to the boys on the ground after the game. Obviously SOME of the boys still dont get the concept; the dumber ones who shall remain nameless.
Next week at the Gabba it will be really interesting watching two sides compete who are both in the process of PERFORMANCE TAPERING.

Answer me this question.

Was in the side wasn't it?

Umps were letting a lot go in that last quarter.

You got a good run early. We couldn't buy a holding the ball and you were getting them paid constantly.

Not a great night for the umps both ways.

I'm sorry guys, but I saw way too many frees that should not have been rewarded to you guys. About as many as the frees we should've gotten.

Answer me this question.
When Jonathan Brown pushed Pears, how was that not a free?[/quote]

Pretty funny that seeing how i thought just the opposite;), what about one of our youngsters getting a hand in the face and not getting paid a free, or patfull not getting paid a mark, or the many dodgy frees against clark, i reckon an unbiased footy lover would agree that the bombers got a soft run from the umpires tonite. But hey dont feel to bad there is always next year.

You'll struggle to find supporters after a close loss that think they got a fair run with the umps. Everything is magnified in that emotional state.

Both groups of supporters seem to feel they got the rough end of the stick, so it probably means it was relatively even overall. Doesn't mean that the umpiring was good though, just consistently poor. ;)

Hi people, hope you don't mind me intruding, but I just wanted to say what an awesome game, a real arm wrestle. Both teams won two quarters, a draw was a fitting end, to my fellow supporters blaming Umps, let it go, it was a very even game on all aspects, umpiring, brain fades & bad decisions by players & umps.

I am usually devasted after a draw, but this game was just so good, especialy when everyone thought we would get smashed, I don't feel let down with the result.

OH & your supporters are some of the best in the league, lots of friendly banter, but no nastiness, was great. :thumbsu:

Would explain why he's still an "apprentice" after 1 year :p

Answer me this question.

Easy, he was simply out muscled?

Thanks Mantis, you seem alright. Unlike CuzzLG or whatever that douchebags name is

Have to say, quite frastrated at our performance but at the same time at the Umpires RE: Scotty Harding Mark that Wasn't a mark, and the numerous bullshit marks that the Umpires gave Essendon when there was clearly NO BALL CONTROL! JUGGLING.... IS NOT THE SAME AS BEING IN CONTROL OF THE BALL!

Thanks Mantis, you seem alright. Unlike CuzzLG or whatever that douchebags name is

Have to say, quite frastrated at our performance but at the same time at the Umpires RE: Scotty Harding Mark that Wasn't a mark, and the numerous bullshit marks that the Umpires gave Essendon when there was clearly NO BALL CONTROL! JUGGLING.... IS NOT THE SAME AS BEING IN CONTROL OF THE BALL!

Well done Champ. I made a point of talkiing about the game & saying we shouldn't blame the Umps, then what do you do?:rolleyes:

Thanks for the Happy Birthday's people - really appreciated. Just got home after being at the Den with Chezwick and Brisbanelioness. At least the Lions drew for me, I mean BRADDLES :D, thanks man - love you. The Lions did what they couldn't do last week for me and get some premiership points.

Well done Champ. I made a point of talkiing about the game & saying we shouldn't blame the Umps, then what do you do?:rolleyes:

No, I vented upon a couple of piss poor decisions from the Umpires. Thats all I didn't specifically say 'The Umpires cost either side the game'. Did I?

And if it makes any difference, I think Essendon were the better team tonight. And I ain't just saying that, but all throughout the night, they were the more impressive side

And No DanCan, I ain't gonna be sharing your Essendon love anytime soon :D

No, I vented upon a couple of piss poor decisions from the Umpires. Thats all I didn't specifically say 'The Umpires cost either side the game'. Did I?

And if it makes any difference, I think Essendon were the better team tonight. And I ain't just saying that, but all throughout the night, they were the more impressive side

And No DanCan, I ain't gonna be sharing your Essendon love anytime soon :D

OK fair enough, just when you started yelling about some decisions, I thought you were blaming the Umps. I think we were both pretty even throughout, we both won two quarters, was a heart stopping game & I loved it. :thumbsu:

OK fair enough, just when you started yelling about some decisions, I thought you were blaming the Umps. I think we were noth pretty even throughout, we both won two quarters, was a heart stopping game & I loved it. :thumbsu:

If I know Chezwick, he probably has a beer or 6 under his belt right now. He will need a bit of a rant. ;)

What a game? It had everything. Few minor observations. After reading a lot of the comments, I will say, that what is said by many posters who watch on TV compared to those at the ground is quite different. After 5 games in Melbourne this year I have only seen one and a half wins. Looking forward to getting back to the Gabba and seeing Aka's mob.

Clark has produced another dominant performance, but something tells me he will unlikely be rewarded with an AA jumper. Brennan was good in patches but still went missing.

At the ground, I was really disappointed with Sheldon, Merrett, Notting, MacDonald, Selwood, Drummond and Polkinghorne's game. Merrett just doesn't do it for me, and what is with the defenders huddling after every goal conceded? Only for a minute later to concede another!

Sherman's endeavour is fantastic these days, but the amount of times he gets the ball and dishes off to a teammate who is under more pressure is frightening. Of course you want him to get the ball, but tonight he seemed very ineffective. Also, I thought we gave Bradshaw no chance by bombing it into him with Flecther only having to stick those long arms out and spoil...put the footy out in front so he could lead into space...talk about frustrating.

A couple of occasions, as noted, our players were goal hungry...Rich first quarter when Brown was in excellent position and the obvious one of Brown in the second...Harding was all alone in the goal square, at worst he should have gone back and taken a shot...some very uncharateristic errors by the great man tonight! I will accept Harding was ok tonight, but some of his disposal was again ordinary and when Browny led to a pocket, I think in the last and he missed him, it was very typical. I hardly noticed Redden at all tonight, but from reports on this thread, he went ok...it is strange how consumed you get at the games without commentary!

We still blew a great opportunity tonight, but did well to fight back and salvage a beneficial draw that hopefully should secure us a top 6 spot which is what we really need. Adelaide have a tough run and Port are probably too far back to get to sixth. I want Johnstone back next week and we may need Dalziell to counter one of the many Dogs' runners. Give a couple of kids a spell.

OK fair enough, just when you started yelling about some decisions, I thought you were blaming the Umps. I think we were both pretty even throughout, we both won two quarters, was a heart stopping game & I loved it. :thumbsu:

Its all good mate. Great game through and through :thumbsu:

If I know Chezwick, he probably has a beer or 6 under his belt right now. He will need a bit of a rant. ;)

And you'd be wrong. Try Jack Daniels......... and 8 :)

Overall I thought we were horrible tonight. We were on a par with Essendon but we should've done a lot better. I have faith that we can play a lot better football though.

Two things that annoyed me most were the fact that from the opening bounce we didn't seem to have any spark. Nobody was running hard to create an option or help out a teammate it seemed. Also our disposal was deplorable where we either missed a target completely, passed it to a standing/under pressure player or the receiver had to adjust/hold up to collect the ball. Just nothing really clicked for us tonight.

Although to play so poorly and still walk away with two points I am relieved. I am confident we will do better next week :thumbsu:

Thanks for the Happy Birthday's people - really appreciated. Just got home after being at the Den with Chezwick and Brisbanelioness. At least the Lions drew for me, I mean BRADDLES :D, thanks man - love you. The Lions did what they couldn't do last week for me and get some premiership points.

No worries Coz. Glad you had a good day :D

AFL Round 19 Essendon V Brisbane Lions Official Thread