Game Day AFL Round 3 - Matchday Discussion Collingwood@Carlton(MCG – 7:50PM)

It’s round three, and someone’s 0 has got to go. Both Collingwood and Carlton have made less than ideal starts to the 2018 season, with both sides yet to win a game. This will change on Friday night when the two old rivals clash. Collingwood put up a better performance against the highly fancied Giants, while to Blues put up a dismal performance against the Gold Coast Suns.

While Collingwood has fallen victim to a depleted team, it will be assisted by the inclusion of Ben Reid who will replace Darcy Moore. Carlton meanwhile, will be assisted by the inclusion of Matthew Kreuzer.

It seems far too often that this is said about Collingwood, but it seems once again injuries are going to derail yet another Collingwood campaign. Tim Broomhead suffered a brutal leg break after colliding into the goalpost, while Darcy Moore injured his hamstring, putting him out for the month. Despite being two men down, the Magpies managed to stay in the game until the last 10 minutes as the stronger GWS side managed to kick away. However, the Magpies at least managed to show some improvement after the dismal showing against the Hawks in the week prior. Scott Pendlebury made a strong return back into form, and Grundy once again began to dominate the ruck.

The man to watch for the Magpies is Travis Varcoe. After an excellent three seasons for Collingwood, Varcoe has struggled in the first two games this season. He has struggled to get ahold of the ball, and has drastically faded in and out of games. He will be hoping to improve against the Blues, in order to prove he’s got something left in the tank.

To be frank, Carlton were awful last week against the Suns. The Blues allowed Tom Lynch to kick an astounding six goals in half of football. Carlton played spurts of good football throughout the game, but overall they were quite poor with few standouts in the side. Despite the poor performance from the Blues, they have been able to put together some good footy at times, such as their first half against the reigning premiers in Richmond.

The Blues will be bolstered with the return of Matthew Kreuzer coming back into the side. This sets up an excellent battle with another top tier ruckman in Brodie Grundy. It was a tight tussle between the two last time they met, Grundy won the battle. Kreuzer will be looking to avenge this. Curnow is also someone to watch for the Blues. Curnow has come of age in the first two games of the season, kicking seven goals. And with a depleted Collingwood side, he will be looking to capitalize on that.

Head to Head Odds

Collingwood: $1.56

Carlton: $2.45

TV

Live on Channel 7mate
Live on Fox Footy, Commercial Free

Radio

ABC
3AW
MMM
SEN

IPTV

AFL Live Pass

Foxtel Now

WatchAFL

Congratulations to Taylor Adams

After a slow start to his time at Collingwood, Adams has well and truly established his leadership at Collingwood, becoming one of the premier players at Collingwood. He has cemented his spot as future captain.

Tip
Someone has finally got to make a scratch this season. While Collingwood is injured, the handy inclusion of Reid is going to help the Magpies get their first win of the season. However, don't rule out a Carlton upset. This will be close.

Collingwood by 10.

Collingwood by 42 points

As part of AFL's Truth and Reconciliation process, Wayne Harmes will apologise before the match

And Carlton will return the 1995 Premiership flag for salary cap breaches

John Elliott will also admit he is a giant flog while Jimmy Buckley drives him around the ground without killing anyone (for a change)

'Car' and 'flog' in the same sentence will be enough to trigger Jon Dorotich

Meanwhile John Nicholls will be rifling through handbags at the President's lunch

Which will be addressed by Chris Judd who earned every cent in his ambassadorial role for Visy

The Dominator will start multiple fights by trying to crack on to former teammates' wives and daughters, 5 waitresses, and a slim young fella with long hair who looked like a girl from behind

Mike Fitzpatrick will enter the umpires' room at half time, forgetting he can no longer influence them or the Rules Committee to disadvantage Collingwood

Some Collingwood fans will ponder if there has ever been a good Carlton person, which is akin to Albert Speer being called a good Nazi, and nominate Jezza, but then reminisce about Magro cleaning him up

And when Carlton lose, we will be spared their dirge of a song, sung by conceited nouveau riche pokies kings and private client advisers who are perfumed gigolos to widows (be still, my beating heart, Jeannie)

Kreuzer big in for them. They are a much better side with him in there.

Let’s be honest, last week means nothing! The Blues always come to play against us. Murphy always stands up against us and Kade Simpson will probably run riot off the HBF. Will have to stop his run. Shut down him and Cripps and we should get over the line, that is if we bring the same intensity as last week.

Collingwood by 42 points

As part of AFL's Truth in Reconciliation process, Wayne Harmes will apologise before the match

Which will be addressed by Chris Judd who earned every cent in his ambassadorial role for Visy

Ah yes, Juddy, their environmental gladiator. He did as much for the environment as Exxon Valdez.

Collingwood by 42 points

As part of AFL's Truth in Reconciliation process, Wayne Harmes will apologise before the match
And Carlton will return the 1995 Premiership flag for salary cap breaches
John Elliott will also admit he is a giant flog while Jimmy Buckley drives him around the ground without killing anyone (for a change)
'Car' and 'flog' in the same sentence will be enough to trigger Jon Dorotich
Meanwhile John Nicholls will be rifling through handbags at the President's lunch
Long lunch:D

I tipped us to be zip and eleven, and after two rounds that scenario is looking more likely than a finals berth.

Jarrod Garlett to carve us up, just like his cousin Jeffy used to do.

Blues by 8 goals running away.

Big game must win. we need to go 2-2 over the next 4 and this is a non negotiable tonight.
Midfield needs to stand up and we need goals from Cox, IF we can bring the same intensity as last week and NOT get any injuries we will win.
Hate these game where you expect to win and the boys show up thinking the same thing, we will now very early if they are switched on.
My Tip Pies by 17pts Steele ti kick 4 goals

I dont like our selections but hope we still get up, the bookies sure think we will im not as confident

Won't this be the first time since 99 that we've gone 0-3?

Remember what happened in 99? Funny how an ex-Collingwood great is coaching us again in a 0-3 season.

I love your passion for despising our terrible coach spesh, but I must have had a darn good night’s sleep because I don’t remember us losing? I’m sure it was a simple phrasing issue :thumbsu:

FWIW I do think 0-3 is on the cards because Simpson will run rampant and they’ll shut down the outlets in transition. Dealing with that is likely to be a bridge too far because we’d struggle to put together a kinder surprise toy let alone a consistently effective game plan...

I love your passion for despising our terrible coach spesh, but I must have had a darn good night’s sleep because I don’t remember us losing? I’m sure it was a simple phrasing issue :thumbsu:

FWIW I do think 0-3 is on the cards because Simpson will run rampant and they’ll shut down the outlets in transition. Dealing with that is likely to be a bridge too far because we’d struggle to put together a kinder surprise toy let alone a consistently effective game plan...

Who would you sit on Simpson?

So am I because the VFL team have a better forward line selected than the AFL team.
On paper that’s true, but clearly those players need a run in the VFL in order to be prepared for their AFL return. If we can scrap a win today we should be able to take a stronger team to Adelaide.