Game Day AFL Round 3 - Matchday Discussion Collingwood@Carlton(MCG – 7:50PM)

Go for it.

And barrack hard for Carlton.

Not sure why you're so bothered by someone quite logically thinking Carlton will win tonight when it's the more likely scenario of the 3 possibilities.

Could I be wrong? Sure. Am I likely to be wrong? Not really.

Faced with the usual here, our best footy is good enough but can we produce it? If we do, we win. But it’s honestly a 50/50

Who would you sit on Simpson?

We don’t really have anyone to go with Simpson in our line up, IMO. You need to be competitive, quick and smart which is JDG and obviously he’s not playing plus you wouldn’t use him anyway. Therefore I’d throw the challenge to Brown or Stephenson as a development tool.

Expect whoever it is to lose and hope they break even. Either way trying to sit someone on him is better than the usual approach of letting him run riot and attempting to justify it by saying his opponent did xyz. Who knows they might just flourish and you find one to go with Laird, Touhy and Houli in the weeks to come.

The courage to throw a job like that to a kid has been missing and if we’d have started doing it 2-3 years ago we’d be that much more advanced, but it’s like we’ve been trying to keep the Titanic afloat by bailing out the water with a bucket and it’s too late now...

Even if we win(massive IF), what’s the point? Yea, an extra 4 points, but in the grand scheme of things, it’s pointless.

Bandaid on a bullet wound. I feel like the club has us hostage, and gives us food(win) on the occasion to keep us happy. When really all they have to do is release us (release Bucks from his contract or play the kids).

But nope, they just keep occasionally feeding us, and all these blind Buckley supporters are just happy they’re not dead yet (wooden spooners).

And even if we “won” the spoon, do you really think these supporters would throw Buckley under the bus? Nope, “He still has one more year on his contract.”

Half these supporters are as blind as Eddie.

Beating Carlton, especially when they are shit , should be considered a non negotiable in Ed and Bucks performance reviews. It should bebwritten in there!!! In fact all employees of the club from the players to the janitor should have their pay docked by 50% as a fine if we lose to Carlton. Seems to be the only way they will give a shit and realise this game is not an ordinary game for those who actually bleed black and white. Last year's pathetic effort against the Blues still rankles.
Pies by 40.

Collingwood by 42 points

As part of AFL's Truth and Reconciliation process, Wayne Harmes will apologise before the match

And Carlton will return the 1995 Premiership flag for salary cap breaches

John Elliott will also admit he is a giant flog while Jimmy Buckley drives him around the ground without killing anyone (for a change)

'Car' and 'flog' in the same sentence will be enough to trigger Jon Dorotich

Meanwhile John Nicholls will be rifling through handbags at the President's lunch

Which will be addressed by Chris Judd who earned every cent in his ambassadorial role for Visy

The Dominator will start multiple fights by trying to crack on to former teammates' wives and daughters, 5 waitresses, and a slim young fella with long hair who looked like a girl from behind

Mike Fitzpatrick will enter the umpires' room at half time, forgetting he can no longer influence them or the Rules Committee to disadvantage Collingwood

Some Collingwood fans will ponder if there has ever been a good Carlton person, which is akin to Albert Speer being called a good Nazi, and nominate Jezza, but then reminisce about Magro cleaning him up

And when Carlton lose, we will be spared their dirge of a song, sung by conceited nouveau riche pokies kings and private client advisers who are perfumed gigolos to widows (be still, my beating heart, Jeannie)
This is worthy of Post of the Year. ****ing Brilliant!

We don’t really have anyone to go with Simpson in our line up, IMO. You need to be competitive, quick and smart which is JDG and obviously he’s not playing plus you wouldn’t use him anyway. Therefore I’d throw the challenge to Brown or Stephenson as a development tool.

Expect whoever it is to lose and hope they break even. Either way trying to sit someone on him is better than the usual approach of letting him run riot and attempting to justify it by saying his opponent did xyz. Who knows they might just flourish and you find one to go with Laird, Touhy and Houli in the weeks to come.

The courage to throw a job like that to a kid has been missing and if we’d have started doing it 2-3 years ago we’d be that much more advanced, but it’s like we’ve been trying to keep the Titanic afloat by bailing out the water with a bucket and it’s too late now...

Simpson also has a huge tank, I' actually look to give young Stephenson a "learning " role on him for development reasons Kade is still a twig after all these years and athletically Stephenson is a match for him Speed/endurance/leap.

Even if we win(massive IF), what’s the point? Yea, an extra 4 points, but in the grand scheme of things, it’s pointless.

Bandaid on a bullet wound. I feel like the club has hostage, and gives us food(win) on the occasion to keep us happy. When really all they have to do is release us (release Bucks from his contract or play the kids).

But nope, they just keep occasionally feeding us, and all these blind Buckley supporters are just happy they’re not dead yet (wooden spooners).

And even if we “won” the spoon, do you really think these supporters would throw Buckley under the bus? Nope, “He still has one more year on his contract.”

Or supporters have no control over who is coach therefore see no point in whinging about it all the time whether they support Buckley or not. All they want to see us win against Carlton.

Should put up a poll. Where does Reid play?

Forward. Thats where he has been training all summer and the Cox-Reid combination needs more time.
Back. In the absence of Moore the club has a valid excuse to diverge away from its medium term plans, by playing Reid in his AA position and going in with a smaller forward line crumbing around Cox.
Out. Last minute change for balance reasons, a smaller team last week did a lot better. Fasolo to come in to replace Broomhead (who replaced Reid).

My guess is Reid plays back.
Back.

Cox is too slow to play as only one of two tall forwards. He can be a lone hand up front with smaller guys around him.

Is Carlton's team actually more experienced overall? Looking through the team lists we seem to have a lot more 1st and 2nd year players than them.......

Not sure why you're so bothered by someone quite logically thinking Carlton will win tonight when it's the more likely scenario of the 3 possibilities.

Could I be wrong? Sure. Am I likely to be wrong? Not really.
Given most opinion doesnt agree with this sentiment (tipsters, bookies etc) and you come on here, a supporters forum, purporting to be a logical thinker rather than a biased supporter (face it Ed we know you are not cold and logical, pretty passionate usually) and then make the minor boast you are thinking of betting against your own team so you can buy some gadget of some sort, nah it doesnt sound great

Sounds like an agitator with a gripe with the club, Bucks I assume. Thats fine, I know you are pissed with the club but lets not wear this cloak of dispassionate logical thinker.

Bandaid on a bullet wound. I feel like the club has hostage, and gives us food(win) on the occasion to keep us happy. When really all they have to do is release us (release Bucks from his contract or play the kids).

We are playing Carlton

Looking forward to travelling on a train and listening to some bloke talking out loud making his opinions known to the whole carriage.. turning his head left right like a hot shot.. to see how many folk were looking at him.
Limo being serviced?

Would you give Curnow to Schaz let him continue to grow in the role after manning Cameron last week? Both being younger players too, so physically not a major mis match.

Let Dunn take Casaboult who is a very physically strong player (as is Dunn).

I think that's what will happen and it's not a bad thing. I'm not against it. I just reckon it will leave us too tall forward. Mostly because of Cox.