Preview AFL Round 6 Sydney Swans V Brisbane Lions Official Thread

I could not agree with the above more. Polks has shown himself to be a ripping overhead mark, great lead and a reliable set shot. While everyone was screaming for him to get a run in the midfield, I can't see the logic in not developing a natural to play a position they are so well suited to.

Staker puts himself into good position. He makes a contest. These things are good. But I argue that Polks would have provided just as many leads, would've held onto more marks and would have kicked a number of the set shots Staker missed. Perhaps I am blinded by my bias towards the kid, but I think he really is a better option.

Fully agreed. Like Adcock down back, sure it would be nice if they could play full time in the middle, but why change something that works. Polkinghorne is a mediocre midfielder who doesn't offer a whole lot. As a lead up forward he offers us something good.

If it were me the ins and outs for this week would be:

Ins: Sherman, Power, Adcock, Hanley
Outs: Merrett, Proud, Staker, Hawksley, Rockliff

Rockliff is the most difficult out for me. He played two good games and was stuck in the forward pocket most of last week with the ball not getting down there. I would like to see us keep him and give him a run back on the wing again and if it was decided that 4 changes was enough then he would keep his spot. I am rewarding Hanley for his good AFLQ form which I think should be rewarded and his pace would be handy against a Sydney team that is now much more slippery than it has been in the past.

Rockliff from what I've read sounds like he can dominate at reserves level and isn't going to learn much by being dropped. I think it would be hard to drop a player on last weeks form because majority of the team played a poor game. Hope he isn't dropped :cool:

I am very interested in this game to see who steps up - both have shown good sides - and to be fair on both teams they are both in the same boat.

Sydney lost to St. Kilda but IMO had the better of them for most of the game, just couldn't put it on the scoreboard.

Brisbane beat the bulldogs and should really have closed it out a lot earlier. I think most are underestimating Melbourne this year. They are hard at the ball and most importantly have the desire and the confidence to win. Unfortunately they sometimes lack disposal efficiency and the decision making process is not there.

Looking forward to a close contest but more importantly the real indication of a premiership threat.

My analysis:

Brisbane MUST stop the run from sydney's backline. They can not allow Malceski, Kennelly and Grundy to creat up the midfield. In particular Malceski as his delivery by foot inside 50 is outstanding.

2 Solutions:
In reality this will never happen but i'd like to see 2 of these (Malceski and Kennelly) tagged for at least the first quarter - Bomb it in to the two towers and sit banfield in front of them with an entire 50 arc at their disposal. Sydney will struggle without the run provided and they don't have the strength to beat Brown and Fevola 1 on 1.

Most likely though Brisbane will just try to apply forward pressure through zoning and cutting the ball down between half back and the wing... I do believe Sydney are much better at working through the zones this year and i feel that Brisbane won't be able to pressure all day, in particular if power and sherman are again unavailable again from injury.

If Brisbane play to Sydney's gameplan they will lose. They need to force Sydney to play one on one footy and beat them at the contest - which they have the skill to do.

Sydney by 5

I do agree with leaving Rocky in the team. He wasn't great last week, but it's hard to drop 1 person from such a bad TEAM performance. Im all for bringing new people back in, especially if they are back from injury, but i don't think we should make too many drastic changes to the team. We have some good ins, the rest will take care of itself i think.

I rekon aye, don't want to be playing with 21 players again. Hope he has made the right decision and kicks 5+ goals this weekend - well he better lol.

To be fair, i think the problem was we were playing with 3 or 4 players.

Firstly, chopper best of luck for your big day mate. Congrats to you and Mrs chopper :D

Secondly, that vid was awesome GG. Poignant. Kept waiting for THAT goal vs the Blues in the EF to make it in, perfect spot for it :)

Thirdly, to the footy, it's all been said but we need to lift our intensity and pressure back to Bulldogs-Rd4 proportions. GO LIONS!

Hope that's no the case TBD, but a chance for someone to stand up. team selection for me,

outs: Merrett, Proud, Redden, Hawksley
Ins:Adcock, Power, Sherman, Selwood

smokey for me is Retzleff (vs White) for anyone who doesn't come up, or Hanley for pace (vs Shaw)

bit stiff on redden but went missing against the D's not his fault everyone was half a step behind.

smokey for me is Retzleff (vs White) for anyone who doesn't come up, or Hanley for pace (vs Shaw)

Would have to say no way on that one. Retzlaff only played his first game on the weekend after shin problems. Plus he's a bit of a project player.

I would be sticking with Rich and Redden. I just reckon young players with that extra bit of class you try and get as many games into them as possible.

Yup, agree with this. Sure we all came into the season with big expectations from both of these blokes but they're still young. It's not like they have been stinking up the joint.

They're gaining valuable experience and learning as they go. It's an investment for the future leaving them in. And they will put in a blinder every now and then also.

If Redden is playing the role that Rischitelli played last year like some people are saying than I can't see how he could be one of the players to miss. He's played 14 games in a row for the seniors for a reason.

Whilst his delivery inside 50 has been a little ordinary, Redden does manage to get himself free around HF pretty often and take uncontest marks. I really don't have a problem wiht how he is playing atm, especially if it is letting Riska play in the middle where he is in good touch.

Truth betold I wanted heaps of change after the game, surely voss must have been plently pissed, after cooling down say 3-4 days later can't really hold a grudge against the guys after one poor game 4-1 is a great start, just don't want the wheels to fall off, it's a hard few games a head.

Should be a good game.

Good previews.

I rekon it'll just come down to whoever is in front when the siren ends (yeah I realise how stupid that sounds, but you know what I mean.)

This will be my second interstate trip from melbourne this year(went to the carlton game at the gabba), so I'm hoping the boys can bounce back after last weeks performance!

Preview AFL Round 6 Sydney Swans V Brisbane Lions Official Thread