Preview AFL Round 9 Adelaide V Brisbane Lions

AFL Premiership Round 9
Adelaide V Brisbane Lions

picture.php
--------- V ---------
picture.php

Sunday May 23
AAMI Stadium 12:40 PM (Local Time) 1:10 PM (EST Time)
Adelaide Forecast Adelaide Radar

V ADELAIDE

TV
2lac29g.gif
LIVE AROUND AUSTRALIA
keznk4.gif
SA (1/2 Hour Delay), Qld (Live)
RADIO
Vic: ABC, SEN.
Qld: MMM, NIRS, ABC.
SA: MMM, 5AA, ABC.
WA: NIRS, ABC.
NSW: NIL
ACT: NIL.
Tas: ABC.
NT: ABC, NIRS.

Ladder:
AdelaideBrisbane LionsLadder.gif

Season Win/Loss
AdelaideBrisbane LionsSeasonWL.gif

The Brisbane Lions Perspective:
The Flying Belgian said:
With apologies to Edgar Allan Poe...

Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered drunk and teary,
Over many a pussy-whipped Lion fresh from night-time war,
While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a tapping,
As of some one gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door.
`'Tis some troll,' I muttered, `posting on my forum floor -
Only this, and nothing more.'

Ah, distinctly I recall it was at very tail-end of fall,
And each failing key position tall wrought its ghost upon the floor.
Eagerly I wished the morrow; - vainly I had sought to borrow
From my books surcease of sorrow - sorrow for the lost #4 -
For the hairy vagrant unshaven whom some wags named #4 -
Nameless here for evermore.

And the defenders looked uncertain choked by the purple curtain
Then the felines left us hurting – as they have many times before;
So that now, to still the beating of my heart, I stood repeating
`'Tis some visitor entreating entrance at my chamber door -
Some late visitor entreating entrance at my chamber door; -
This it is, and nothing more,'

Presently my soul grew stronger; hesitating then no longer,
`Sir,' said I, `or Madam, truly your forgiveness I implore;
But the fact is we were crappy, slayed by Byrnes and Chappy,
And so faintly you came tapping, tapping at my chamber door,
That I scarce was sure I heard you' - here I opened wide the door; -
Darkness there, and nothing more.

Deep into that darkness peering, long I stood there wondering, fearing,
Doubting, dreaming dreams no mortal ever dared to dream before
But the silence was unbroken, and the darkness gave no token,
And the only word there spoken was the whispered word, `Bradshaw'
This I whispered, and an echo murmured back the word, `Bradshaw'
Merely this and nothing more.

For now without Josh Drummond, all our courage we need summoned,
Soon again I heard a drumming somewhat louder than before.
`Surely,' said I, `surely that is something at my window lattice;
Let me see then, what thereat is, and this mystery explore -
Let my heart be still a moment and this mystery explore; -
'Tis the trolls and nothing more!'

Open here I flung the shutter, when, with many a flirt and flutter,
In there stepped a shabby raven unlike the days of yore.
Not the least obeisance made he; not a minute stopped or stayed he;
But, with mien of lord or lady, perched above the Gabba floor -
Perched upon a bust of Vossy just above my Gabba floor -
Perched, and sat, and nothing more.

Then this ebony bird beguiling my sad fancy into smiling,
By the grave and stern decorum of the countenance it wore,
`Though thy crest be shorn and shaven, thou,' I said, `art sure no craven.
Ghastly grim and ancient raven battered from the round before -
Tell me when we should wave in another premiership or four?’
Quoth the raven, `Nevermore.'

But the raven, sitting lonely on the awesome bust, spoke only,
That one word, as if his soul in that one word he did outpour.
For as he flailed and flutter, with that one word he did utter
My heart did turn to butter where pre-season it had soared -
On the morrow he will leave me, as my hopes have flown before.'
Then the bird said, `Nevermore.'

Startled at the stillness broken by reply so aptly spoken,
`Doubtless,' said I, `what it utters is its only stock and store,
For although our stars are aging and upon us I’ll keep waging
The hind of my brain was raging with thoughts not thought before
Could we proceed through the year victorious only four
And winners nevermore?

Then, methought, the team’s grown denser, the games become tired and tenser
As we struggle for rhyme and reason on the feted Gabba floor
`Wretch,' I cried, `thy God hath lent thee - by these angels he has sent thee
Respite - respite and nepenthe from thy memories of Bradshaw!
Hail the manchild Fev, and forget this lost Bradshaw!'

`Prophet!' said I, `thing of evil! - prophet still, if bird or devil! -
Does thou see that Brown is spent, and that Power still is sore?
For if we cannot beat thee, play zone defence so sweetly
And maybe cheat discreetly, we will never make top four.
Will our meek and mild beat thee? - tell me - tell me, I implore!'

`Be that word our sign of parting, bird or fiend!' I shrieked upstarting -
`Get thee back unto the churches and make haste or hear our roar!
Leave no black plume as a token of that lie thy soul hath spoken!
For your forward line’s still broken! – despite the burst in quarter four!
Take thy beak from out my heart, and cast thy eye upon the score!'

But the raven, one time flitting, left bricks that it was shitting
Underneath the bust of Vossy and all over my Gabba floor;
And Voss’ eyes have all the seeming of a demon's that is scheming,
On how to save the season that is slipping through cracks in the floor;
And my spirits that were shattered like a fighter’s glassy jaw
Shall be lifted – Lions by twenty-four.

Don't usually log on at work but that was sensational TFB!:thumbsu: Deserves one of these.

Best...preview...ever.

192280-comic_book_guy_13018_large1.jpg

Both teams look pretty rotten (form and injury / suspension wise) atm so should be an interesting game. An early season final for Brissie. A chance for the Crow's to gain some confidence against a shockingly out-of-touch Brissie.

And Voss’ eyes have all the seeming of a demon's that is scheming,

One of my favourite lines in literature - bastardised forever! :D

Sensational work TFB! :thumbsu:

Superb work on the preview TFB. (Was disappointed to see 'Drummo's Left' not continue on by the way- also a cracking read).

Very hard to predict the in and outs this week, but big question marks over McGrath, Clark, Fev and Brown.
Johnstone may need to make a reappearance for McGrath in spite of struggling a little in the reserves. Austin will likely hold his spot due to a lack of other options, unless Hanley is given another shot.
If both Fev and Brown are out we are in trouble, but you would imagine at least one would come up? With Merrett still out Staker may again be needed down back, and in spite of some solid form has not been necessarily on song in front of the big sticks.
How ready are either Acorn or Retzlaff (or both?!?) If one or both are included, is it time to elevate McCaulay and have him push forward as another target when he's not helping Leuey in the ruck. I suppose it would be unlikely to have all 3 in given how long it takes even talented youngsters to get used to the speed of the game at this level.
Alternatively Patful could be pushed forward- takes a good grab and has a solid kick, and started at Brisbane as a forward. With talls being in short supply I'd be surprised to see him reprising his tagging role this week, perhaps Stiller will do so.
Here's hoping Brown and Fev come up and all the conjecture is just, well, um, conjecture.

Going to be very interesting Thursday evening (though it feels like I've said that a few times this year- would love to have a week where I said- 'Yup, thinks going swimmingly, boring night at the selection table this week')

All these quality match previews...... man, I'm going to be laughed out of here next week when its my turn....But then again I get laughed at when I'm in the shower :( I dunno which one is worse :(

Way to raise the standards TFB :)
As long as it doesn't start with:

"The boy stood on the burning deck..."

you'll be fine. :D

without going on about it, seeing that our backline is depleted this is where Bradshaw would have been handy

Total laziness TFB this should be 18 stanzas of six lines each…

And it doesn't answer why there no seagulls flying about the Gabba, is this due to the crows that frequent the place?
What the Dickens are you writing about mate? Get a Grip of yourself… ;)

Just kidding…
I’m totally with ya on this one Belgo, I’m also for the Lions by four ‘n twenty.[FONT=&quot] :thumbsu:[/FONT]

He's a better player than Staker. The NAB match was a bit unfair on him.
Have you watched a reserves game this year yet? Doesn't deserve a call up does Collier. Anyway every single week in your ins and outs you have Staker out but not once has been out. So can you please just accept now that he is a Lion and is no way near our worst every week and should stay in the side. That is all!

P.S. My ins and outs would be

IN Harwood Sheldon Cornelius
OUT Stiller Austin Fevola

Have you watched a reserves game this year yet? Doesn't deserve a call up does Collier. Anyway every single week in your ins and outs you have Staker out but not once has been out. So can you please just accept now that he is a Lion and is no way near our worst every week and should stay in the side. That is all!

P.S. My ins and outs would be

IN Harwood Sheldon Cornelius
OUT Stiller Austin Fevola

I like this post. He questioned Axel's knowledge of the reserves, and then suggests we bring in Sheldon (who has been pretty average in the reserves) and Harwood (who didn't even play last week).

;)

Total laziness TFB this should be 18 stanzas of six lines each…

Ha ha. "Twas the directors cut. :D

Actually, I thought I was being exceedingly lazy and basically just plagiarising off a classic verse. There's very little critical thought in there. It did seem to fit though with the whole raven/crow thing. Once I figured that Bradshaw rhymed with Lenore (well sort of) it was le fait accompli .

@Nicky G: Drummo's Left may resurrect itself, but I didn't have the time to do it every week and for the moment it lies dormant. Some people had agreed to pitch in, but it never really got off the ground.

The Fall Of the House Of Axel (With apologies to TFB for nicking his idea and that muso who also used the writings of Edgar A Poe but who was silly enough to take a fee for engineering of DSotM instead of a 1/4% of all future profits.)

Round after round now passing. It is nearly round 9, and as always I am absorbed with indelicate thought. It is how footy has definite
team selections, but to which end winning is essential.
Since the incomprehension of Axel towards selection is our most definite conception, said selections, when combined with a nonsense, is lunacy. Selection without any idea is simply chatter. Without chatter or an intriguing idea, Axel becomes pallor, Axel becomes a carcase, Axel becomes catacomb, and the John is but for a moment astonished.

Preview AFL Round 9 Adelaide V Brisbane Lions