Recruiting AFL Trade & Free Agency XII - 💰💰💰

Merrett isn't going to be around forever and we'll need a replacement to spearhead the midfield for the decade to follow.

I'm confident Caldwell and Durham will hit new levels from 26/27 and 150+ games (along with Martin), but if you're hedging your bets on a sure thing for AA level Harley is the mid you secure.

On West Coast, I think they'll be a little spooked from Tassie coming in and they could see it as an opportunity to accelerate their rebuild with multiple picks to work with while they still can - rather than accepting compensation after his contract when we're well into Tassie running rampant in subsequent drafts.

In fact an expansion club like Tassie coming in at the same time could be an ex-machina moment that ends up turning what would otherwise be a ransom at any other time into a compromise in our favour. If we happen to be the only team with the best hand they'll have no choice but to work with us and the ball would be in our court.

I would rather chase Ben King than Reid

I would not. King is good but he's reliant on getting clean ball and generates very little for himself. Probably the worst type player for how we bring the ball forward. We need a compete first style key forward. Probably a Cadman or Curnow type.

We are far better off investing up the ground, in players that can actually build a system of ball movement.

If the Jamarra wanted to come to us and the dogs asked for Langford in a straight swap, would you do it?

Jamarra on talent you’d do it. But I’d have a real problem trading one of the few dependable leaders we have for a guy who’s got a laundry list of issues right now.

TBH yes i may cop some heat but yeah id be annoyed

Id accept it if we bought some more elite talent in via FA and then went for him but if all we did was add Reid id be extremely annoyed

Kind of agree on this one. It’s hard to sit here and say that we have as many deficiencies across the board like we do & then trade 3+ 1st round picks for Reid.

If it happened, I’m sure I’d talk myself into it being a brilliant move, but I don’t think we’re a Reid away

I don't think our deficiencies are as large as many of you think. We're strong inside, our wingers are pretty strong too. Need another key forward and some medium defensive depth but overall our build is pretty good. Not sure we're a Reid away but he brings us much closer

Kind of agree on this one. It’s hard to sit here and say that we have as many deficiencies across the board like we do & then trade 3+ 1st round picks for Reid.

If it happened, I’m sure I’d talk myself into it being a brilliant move, but I don’t think we’re a Reid away
If we walk away with 3 first rounders + our NGA small forward this year its a really good thing and will raise our floor quite well mind you they are rookies and it may take some time

I am sorry but id take that any day over Reid even if we do make a trade we want to be at least adding one first rounder and a second rounder to our squad this year going for Reid wont make that possible

I don't think our deficiencies are as large as many of you think. We're strong inside, our wingers are pretty strong too. Need another key forward and some medium defensive depth but overall our build is pretty good. Not sure we're a Reid away but he brings us much closer
We are strong inside but lack alot of outside polish in my opinion but yes i agree we need another KF and a Medium defender but i would also be looking for a HBF saying that if Clarke can build i would scratch that off he does look like he has potential so i would be very happy if it all clicks for him

All the Reids!!!

Draper gone as FA (Band 1) 🙏
Parish for a 2nd rounder (Pay some salary)

Assume we finish 15th, Dees finish 9th, Saints 14th
Assume Reid wants out and has 2nd year blues.

Draft hand 4, 5 (Draper), 10, 22, 23, 30 (Parish)

Trade 4, 5 for Reid and Archer Reid
Trade 10+30 for Jamarra
Trade F3rd for Liam Reidy

Draft 22, 23

McGrath McKay Ridley
Redman Reid Merrett
Duursma Durham Martin
Perkins Caddy Reid
Kako Jamarra Langford
Reidy Reid Caldwell
Tsatas Roberts Jones Davey

If we walk away with 3 first rounders + our NGA small forward this year its a really good thing and will raise our floor quite well mind you they are rookies and it may take some time

I am sorry but id take that any day over Reid even if we do make a trade we want to be at least adding one first rounder and a second rounder to our squad this year going for Reid wont make that possible

I think it’s just the volume of talent we can bring in is something that we’ve been crying out for, especially ahead of Tassie coming in and the drafts being compromised. Walk away with another Key Forward, Explosive Midfielder & Elite Rebounding Defender and we’re closer to having what we need.

Ideally Harley Reid wants out after ‘26 and we can attack the draft again this year. If we can hit the draft this year then he’s available, then go hard to get him. Not this year

I think it’s just the volume of talent we can bring in is something that we’ve been crying out for, especially ahead of Tassie coming in and the drafts being compromised. Walk away with another Key Forward, Explosive Midfielder & Elite Rebounding Defender and we’re closer to having what we need.

Ideally Harley Reid wants out after ‘26 and we can attack the draft again this year. If we can hit the draft this year then he’s available, then go hard to get him. Not this year
I agree with you

I would rather trade a KF in someone who is around that 22-24 age but if it wasn't possible id look to draft one in
i think someone like Ollie Greaves and Will Duursma would do wonders for us as Ollie would be that elite MF and Duursma has the flexibility to play MF Wing Back Forward but reckon he would be a great addition as an attacking rebounder or a winger his quite a good user of the footy which we seem to lack a lot of

also while in 2026 we dont have any glaring NGA or F/S products we do in 2027 with Rodan being apart of our NGA who is a highly regarded prospect and Koby Bewick as F/S

if we he hit the draft hard we could have 6 highly regarded prospects within 3 years of drafting and in 2 very heavy compromised drafts

All the Reids!!!

Draper gone as FA (Band 1) 🙏
Parish for a 2nd rounder (Pay some salary)

Assume we finish 15th, Dees finish 9th, Saints 14th
Assume Reid wants out and has 2nd year blues.

Draft hand 4, 5 (Draper), 10, 22, 23, 30 (Parish)

Trade 4, 5 for Reid and Archer Reid
Trade 10+30 for Jamarra
Trade F3rd for Liam Reidy

Draft 22, 23

McGrath McKay Ridley
Redman Reid Merrett
Duursma Durham Martin
Perkins Caddy Reid
Kako Jamarra Langford
Reidy Reid Caldwell
Tsatas Roberts Jones Davey

Murphy Reid would be stiff to miss the All-Reid movement 😂