• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Aflq News Part 2

Redland will play finals and give it a real tilt this year. Unbelievable ammount of quality new player being injected into the side.

2 time country all-australian mark mooney suiting up for Palmy

Palmy looking unbeatable...again
Palmy unbeatable when it's easy, but when bloke need to show some heart who's the team that goes missing THE PALMY ARMY, a bunch of w***ers that need to stop telling each other how good they are and prove something in big games.

I will give you all a little hint for next year.

the panthers will win the flag, picked up the best players
Aspley to get there ass kicked, pack of **** suckers.
Noosa will win the flag
Caloundra will win the flag

Palmy unbeatable when it's easy, but when bloke need to show some heart who's the team that goes missing THE PALMY ARMY, a bunch of w***ers that need to stop telling each other how good they are and prove something in big games.

Noosa will win the flag

Where have I heard that before?

Noosa will win the flag

sandgate to play finals? no other north side will be near it. grange, mayne, maroochy are all rubbish

Ease up, Royboy, Sandgate have had some very lean years. It's great to see them up again in 08, and looking like continuing that in 09. But Grange and Maroochy rubbish? They've played a few finals over the past few years (although don't think either played finals last year).

Ebbs and flows, sides have good patches, as well as poor years.

i think sandgate will play finals, from all reports there recruiting is going well, dont know about maroochy and grange being rubbish, but agree that they will struggle to compete with top teams.
noosa & pbc for mine, prob a fair distance to the rest.

Good luck to rowdy as playing coach for grange, tuff gig

sandgate will give it a fair crack this year. they will play finals, well they should to be honest. i reckon noosa and surfers will play in the gf this year. surfers have recruited well and they might have benny mac playing for them and thats a handy pick up. any other team could play finals this year in that comp. accept for springwood and maroochy imo. it will be a good year of footy in that comp

Noosa will win the flag

They did win a premiership in 2007, that constitutes a big game IMO

who have the panthers picked up??

i think sandgate will play finals, from all reports there recruiting is going well, dont know about maroochy and grange being rubbish, but agree that they will struggle to compete with top teams.
noosa & pbc for mine, prob a fair distance to the rest.

Good luck to rowdy as playing coach for grange, tuff gig

if sandgate dont play finals this year they never will remember the best players are there oldest
grange mayne maroochy all can book in there footy trip now no finals and wont even get close 3 terrible teams
tuff gig for rowdy from grange what about martin from hornets will they win a game

if sandgate dont play finals this year they never will remember the best players are there oldest
grange mayne maroochy all can book in there footy trip now no finals and wont even get close 3 terrible teams
tuff gig for rowdy from grange what about martin from hornets will they win a game

i think you will be surprised at how the hornets will fair, dont be too quick to write them off

Gee you experts must have some serious inside info to be sprouting off such definitive statements- Why is it such a tuff gig for Rogers?

Would have thought Grange were easily as well placed as Sandgate given they actually have great facilities, a top clubhouse, plenty of $$ in the bank and a close state league club (Eagles) just went bust freeing up Div 1 locals to fall back???

Maroochy - some good pickups and great facilities now. core group was very good - if they can pick up a few (which they will) they will be a competitive side.

Mayne - I agree - a worry as they seem lost and living year to year trying to conjure something with no long term plan - but the do have a long history etc...

It all comes down to recruiting over Oct - Feb - so unless you have serious inside info on that topic you are just guessing - big time. (Pretty sure these clubs won't be spruiking who they have recruited on sites like this)

But I'm pretty sure those clubs you mentioned all will be quite happy with being underestimated going into the season!

Gee you experts must have some serious inside info to be sprouting off such definitive statements- Why is it such a tuff gig for Rogers?

Would have thought Grange were easily as well placed as Sandgate given they actually have great facilities, a top clubhouse, plenty of $$ in the bank and a close state league club (Eagles) just went bust freeing up Div 1 locals to fall back???

Maroochy - some good pickups and great facilities now. core group was very good - if they can pick up a few (which they will) they will be a competitive side.

Mayne - I agree - a worry as they seem lost and living year to year trying to conjure something with no long term plan - but the do have a long history etc...

It all comes down to recruiting over Oct - Feb - so unless you have serious inside info on that topic you are just guessing - big time. (Pretty sure these clubs won't be spruiking who they have recruited on sites like this)

But I'm pretty sure those clubs you mentioned all will be quite happy with being underestimated going into the season!

I'm with you on this one, Bombers, whilst we'll have our ideas, we won't understand the real situation, particularly of clubs we're not involved with.

On Mayne though, you really must credit the likes of Housego (arguably both of them). I saw a game that Housego wasn't playing last year, but there he was selling raffle tickets. A real credit to his club and a fantastic player to watch as well (even if sometimes standing on the mark watching him kick over your head). Couple of young blokes look handy too - young Gillet looks a fit bloke who puts heaps in.

if sandgate dont play finals this year they never will remember the best players are there oldest..

Not sure what info your working off mate but i assure you there are plenty of new names still with many years of valuable contributions. Although being from the coast i guess you would know who has been signed and recruited in Brisbane. Glad thats the geberal consensus, should be some suprised faces come the next two months.

Krouker Magic, might also suggest that Grange wont be to big in picking up ex Eagles, remember Sandgate and Aspley juniors contributed to most of the top players at the eagles and the others were from the sunny coast or further north. As for facilities, keep watching this space. Dont think the field would be out of the top 3 in the comp for quality and renovations to a NEW clubhouse are moving ahead. Enjoy the banter lads

if sandgate dont play finals this year they never will remember the best players are there oldest..

Not sure what info your working off mate but i assure you there are plenty of new names still with many years of valuable contributions. Although being from the coast i guess you would know who has been signed and recruited in Brisbane. Glad thats the geberal consensus, should be some suprised faces come the next two months.

Krouker Magic, might also suggest that Grange wont be to big in picking up ex Eagles, remember Sandgate and Aspley juniors contributed to most of the top players at the eagles and the others were from the sunny coast or further north. As for facilities, keep watching this space. Dont think the field would be out of the top 3 in the comp for quality and renovations to a NEW clubhouse are moving ahead. Enjoy the banter lads
Grange losses Hill?,Morrision,O'Brien,Patty Mcmachon aspley, + 3 other from the older group,picked up one from the eagles, and with rolly and pennington still making there minds up could be some big holes at the gorillas.

Rowdy will do the job well, but in the end he needs to cattle to move forward.

i think what people are saying about sandgate is that Dickfos,Zedler can't play for ever and if the rumours are correct that matty waters is back there for a game, well then finals must be reached this year or next or these blokes will move on again/retire and then there chance is reduced as well.

Sandgate would have got most of the eagles with there coaches past connecton there.

Mayne will be gone once Brown and Housego stop playing as they keep them competitive. hope not but that is the truth.

Whats going on with other clubs and palyers, someone must have some news if the vikings will be on top again, or will the Caboolture Lions move up the ladder.

is it true that some of the eagles players didn't want to go to aspley because the Brittan Boys are back there playing.and I will confirm this now as i have spoken to one person that would know if it's true.

The nt team have picked players in the list that won't play for them as they are just up there for the off season, will be very fast, but will lack in height and some of there players will be very light as well, also the footy up there is built on attack not defence, some of them will struggle with the close checking. only training once a week till there season finishes up there.

can't wait to hear all the replys to my first message as i have read for to long and written nothing.

Rumour has it the vikings may have added a multiple premiership winning player from Morningside after he had a year on the sidelines.

Grange losses Hill?,Morrision,O'Brien,Patty Mcmachon aspley, + 3 other from the older group,picked up one from the eagles, and with rolly and pennington still making there minds up could be some big holes at the gorillas.

i think what people are saying about sandgate is that Dickfos,Zedler can't play for ever and if the rumours are correct that matty waters is back there for a game, well then finals must be reached this year or next or these blokes will move on again/retire and then there chance is reduced as well.

Sandgate would have got most of the eagles with there coaches past connecton there.

Mayne will be gone once Brown and Housego stop playing as they keep them competitive. hope not but that is the truth.

Whats going on with other clubs and palyers, someone must have some news if the vikings will be on top again, or will the Caboolture Lions move up the ladder.

is it true that some of the eagles players didn't want to go to aspley because the Brittan Boys are back there playing.and I will confirm this now as i have spoken to one person that would know if it's true.

The nt team have picked players in the list that won't play for them as they are just up there for the off season, will be very fast, but will lack in height and some of there players will be very light as well, also the footy up there is built on attack not defence, some of them will struggle with the close checking. only training once a week till there season finishes up there.

can't wait to hear all the replys to my first message as i have read for to long and written nothing.

Re Grange: Good luck to Patty McMahon - he is a great kid and ready made player who is certainly up to Div1 and will help Aspley.

As for the others, yes I hear Morrison and O'Brien are leaving... others are all good mates with Rowdy and staying. Mini Stevenson retired (no great loss there was 38 last year) - not sure who else you mean.

I also heard they have been getting 45-50 to training and Rowdy happy with how things are tracking along recruiting wise. (Rowdy also played at Eagles) You will not hear them mentioning recruited names though until round 1 teams are announced!!! ;)

Sandgate have a few from the Eagles and are clearly the strongest Northside Brisbane team according to the experts. They were entitled to that anyway after a great 08 where they backed their kids. Good on 'em.
Sandgate vs WG Rd 2 under lights will be a cracker with some healthy competitive rivalry in a good spirit with many having played with/against each other.
:thumbsu:

Aspley have signed a fair few eagles just to mention some;

tapp
argus
niland-rowe
nikos keim
forbes

i believe 4 of them finished in eagles top ten at the B&F

most of the kids from eagles are training with aspley

the only players of note that aspley didnt get are payne, lucy, myles and pratt.