• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Aflq News Part 2

Aspley have a state association side. most players from there PHC side will play in the team so they will have a good side.

Aspley have a state association side. most players from there PHC side will play in the team so they will have a good side

aspley and caloundra will battle it out with wynnum imo. i have heard yeronga have picked some good players from redlands. since their new coach is dion scott. i dont know if its true though. i reckon aspley will knock wynnum off this year in cracker of gf

aspley and caloundra will battle it out with wynnum imo. i have heard yeronga have picked some good players from redlands. since their new coach played for the bombers back in the day. i dont know if its true but

I think the players from Redlands were or already have played at Yeronga and haven't played for Redlands for about 4 years.

Aspley have a state association side. most players from there PHC side will play in the team so they will have a good side
fair enough royboy, begs the question though about the players that may be fringe state league players then, can they drop back if they're not selected in the state league side. i know other sides in PHC had problems with their 3rd's last year with some rule that prevented players dropping back from Seniors or Seconds??:confused:

im pretty sure you have to nominate what division you are playing in. You wont be able to switch between the two.

How does that work with the twos though?

If they have a 50 person VSC squad and there are no injuries, do 6 just miss out and can't drop back to the Assoc side? Even if the Assoc side are short due to injury?

That's a bit stupid IMO. I'd agree with a system that stopped say seniors players from dropping down a comp but not reserves players

aspley and caloundra will battle it out with wynnum imo. i have heard yeronga have picked some good players from redlands. since their new coach is dion scott. i dont know if its true though. i reckon aspley will knock wynnum off this year in cracker of gf
I will say most of the PHC players for aspley last year would be playing state league footy, and lets remember how many have gone to other clubs i know of about 12 so that would make ther div1 team half thirds from last year with B grades from phc so that will make them ok, but not as good as they will make out.

And on Ash at wynnum 70-100 goals are you dreaming i will pencil him for 35-50, hasn't played for 2 years and you need to get the footy in div 1, there be no lillico looking after him. but he will be a good pick up, let's just not set the standards to high for him.

Caloundra i have heard have lost a few from last year and might struggle.

Damo how are aspley looking, and whats the go with there coaches from last year notmany around.

I will say most of the PHC players for aspley last year would be playing state league footy, and lets remember how many have gone to other clubs i know of about 12 so that would make ther div1 team half thirds from last year with B grades from phc so that will make them ok, but not as good as they will make out.

And on Ash at wynnum 70-100 goals are you dreaming i will pencil him for 35-50, hasn't played for 2 years and you need to get the footy in div 1, there be no lillico looking after him. but he will be a good pick up, let's just not set the standards to high for him.

Damo how are aspley looking, and whats the go with there coaches from last year notmany around.

your terribly mistaken there lifeisadream.

who are the 12 players that have left??? aspleys reserve grade flogged magpies in the GF so i think state ass will be right up there alley.

i really dont know whats happening at the hornets at the moment. arod is more of a small forward to be honest and roh albury would their main target at wynnum for avenue towards goal

your terribly mistaken there lifeisadream.

who are the 12 players that have left??? aspleys reserve grade flogged magpies in the GF so i think state ass will be right up there alley.

mate listen up i said state league that will cover 1 and 2's, ward and mugavin are 2 with about 10 out of the 2's flag, so there is 12 dick$$$$.

and lets remember finishing 8 or 9th in the phc only makes them finish about 4th or 5th in the div below, but you blokes at the hornets just keep thinking how good you are and when the footy starts and you are 0 and 8 in the state league and winning a couple of games in the div 1 lets see how good you are at typing then ****@@@#$

mate listen up i said state league that will cover 1 and 2's, ward and mugavin are 2 with about 10 out of the 2's flag, so there is 12 dick$$$$.

and lets remember finishing 8 or 9th in the phc only makes them finish about 4th or 5th in the div below, but you blokes at the hornets just keep thinking how good you are and when the footy starts and you are 0 and 8 in the state league and winning a couple of games in the div 1 lets see how good you are at typing then ****@@@#$

we will see wont we. where you from, sound like a grange person?

so was i dickhe@d, most will play state ass

aspley have recruited ok, i tend to agree that majority of last years players will play state association. i think there will be about 10 to 12 that will try out for state league, depending on numbers dont know how many will make state league. time will tell.
Lifeisadream 0 and 8 might be a bit harsh, i think aspley will win a few games

aspley have recruited ok, i tend to agree that majority of last years players will play state association. i think there will be about 10 to 12 that will try out for state league, depending on numbers dont know how many will make state league. time will tell.
Lifeisadream 0 and 8 might be a bit harsh, i think aspley will win a few games

so what you are saying is that aspley have 30 new players to the club this year, that will play state league, sorry Big e i don't think so.

and if you think i'm from grange can you say hello to tommy i need a pillow marshall. grange don't think so, but if ihad to choose between aspley and grange. grange get me.

and sorry big e if you can get a practise match against grange 3rds you should get a win early.

so what you are saying is that aspley have 30 new players to the club this year, that will play state league, sorry Big e i don't think so.

and if you think i'm from grange can you say hello to tommy i need a pillow marshall. grange don't think so, but if ihad to choose between aspley and grange. grange get me.

and sorry big e if you can get a practise match against grange 3rds you should get a win early.

30 plus new players to the club, averaging 50 players a night of which 15 - 20 are aspley players from last year. the state ass are getting about the same numbers FYI
sorry Lifeisadream i nevr said you were from grange, read the posts again.

re: grange 3rds? we will beat a lot better opposition than them.

watch this space aspley to name another big recruit in the coming weeks.

30 plus new players to the club, averaging 50 players a night of which 15 - 20 are aspley players from last year. the state ass are getting about the same numbers FYI
sorry Lifeisadream i nevr said you were from grange, read the posts again.

re: grange 3rds? we will beat a lot better opposition than them.

watch this space aspley to name another big recruit in the coming weeks.
so when do your teams train might come and have a look.

how many of the blokes training have played state league footy, and how many are kids trying to make the state 18's.

also The big e can you confirm how many players the club has lost from last year for everyone on this site, as i know you will give honest answer

is damian garton been training or the dollars not there this year.

just to help you start
hamilton,mugavin,ward, (garton?) + 10 out of 2's

how many of the blokes training have played state league footy, and how many are kids trying to make the state 18's.

also The big e can you confirm how many players the club has lost from last year for everyone on this site, as i know you will give honest answer

just to help you start

i would say at least 20 have played state league last year and 4 or 5 have played better than aflq state league.
yes hornets have lost hamilton, mugs, ward has retired and the 10 resseies players i presume are the strathpine boys?
garts has been around not sure if hes playing.
hornets have lost a few which is the natural attrition rate clubs go thru year after year, im sure your club has done the same lifeisadream. I would suggest that the majority of the players gone would not have made state league side.

aspley are going to be a better team than most people think this year in the top division. the hornets wont make finals. but i can garuntee people around the club wouldnt be thinking about finals this year. they will cause an upset or 3. you just never know in this comp.

i think this year. it will be flag or bust for the mighty siders imo. they would as hungry as ever to get that flag they should have got last year.

Dion Scott is apparently coaching Yeronga and Wynnum have picked up a couple of the guns from Coorparoo. Wynnum to be unstoppable this year.

just to help you start

from what has past my desk there would be about 8 to 10 gone from last years aspley premiership side and you would think 4 to 6 would get a game being ones or twos in the top level.the jury is definalty out on how aspley will go with there 4 teams.numbers will not be a problem but do they have the cattle?i think not.(lost way to many and did not get the right nor enough eagles)
bige you said the strathpine boys have gone from my reports there where about 7ish of them why have they all left and wasnt the premiership coach from there as well?is he doing state association top job?
southport to name high profile recruit with in weeks.
my early premiership predictions for seniors
southport
palm beach
caloundra
all coast teams sorry brisbane

from what has past my desk there would be about 8 to 10 gone from last years aspley premiership side and you would think 4 to 6 would get a game being ones or twos in the top level.the jury is definalty out on how aspley will go with there 4 teams.numbers will not be a problem but do they have the cattle?i think not.(lost way to many and did not get the right nor enough eagles)
bige you said the strathpine boys have gone from my reports there where about 7ish of them why have they all left and wasnt the premiership coach from there as well?is he doing state association top job?
southport to name high profile recruit with in weeks.
my early premiership predictions for seniors
southport
palm beach
caloundra
all coast teams sorry brisbane

MMMM what 4-6 players from aspley reserve grade premiership team would get a game in top level ones team??? i know you said twos as well but what players would play state league senoir football.

agree with your predictions, maybe throw in morningside as well

Any news on Mayne tigers? who have they picked up from the fall out of zillmere? do they have any money to spend? have they picked anyone up at all? what are the numbers at training?

Shelton to the Panthers is a massive addition, class footballer with a better resume than Lillico, could be tough to get a kick in the centre against the siders.

Looking forward to the 2009 season with some level of excitement.

There have been some real recruiting coups, if what we read actually comes true:

Southport: Some big name losses, but as usual just happen to be finding some quality recruits to fill the void. Jarjoura will be interesting as he can be erratic, and will find the step up from Sydney footy a challenge, even though he has played in SA. Has Hawkins left for Cooly? Loose a McEntee and gain one – probably a small net loss. Pick-up a Ferret – is he focused and how will he go when playing the Panthers? Will he line-up on the Bro? Needed to hang on to Merret and Burge given the departure of Sinclar. Picked up recruits from Tassie and Vic. Lance Oswald can play but was on big bucks in the O & M, wouldn’t have come cheap. How’s their salary cap? Going to be hard to beat again

Morningside: Shelton is a huge win for the Panthers, add Lucy, Tomlinson, Muggsie and “new” recruit in Pardew - they will again be thereabouts. Loss of Browning, Spackman & Fewkes will hurt, but Kimball is a good pick-up. Was last year their missed opportunity?

Mt Gravatt: Missed Shelton which would be a disappointment, Vearing back home and Pratt from Zillmere (when available) will strengthen their back-half and midfield. Having Whitey recommit for one more year is a bonus. Sure to be there somewhere. Don Barry from PNG is a good player and will be dangerous in this outfit.

Brisbane: Who Cares! Their finals charge will depend on how Vossy’s going in his first year as coach. Maybe, should be in the VFL comp.

Zillmere: Massive exodus from the Coach down, have done no recruiting – guaranteed to struggle.

Broadbeach: Yaaaabbbblllleeeetttt! If he is serious, will create some serious challenges for many opposition backlines. Could be worse if he gets his preferred midfield role and drifts forward. Harris returning will strengthen midfield, but if Ablett plays in the middle who kicks their goals?

Labrador: Is Munson gone? Howard from Tassie might be OK. Tigers should have done better last year with their list so it’s hard to know what to expect. Can the new coach get the best out of this group.

Redland: Is Jeff White really serious or is this just an opportunity to play with his brother (might have to play 2’s then). A Knobel vs White centre bounce will probably bring rain. Some Vic Country midfielders and great to see Josh Norman back at State league level after a year playing with mates and a year off – hope he’s lost those extra kgs. The “Funky” connection in Tassie continues to bring players, but not convinced of the quality – maybe this lot. Did Andrew Mellor think Cresswell was hiding out on Russell Island?

Aspley: Missed too many of the key Zillmere players to other AFLQ clubs, GC17 and interstate – hard to fathom the decision to ignore a quality State League coach. Will offer plenty to pick-up some new recruits, but the basis of their list may not be up to the next level. Picked up James and Susuve, but missed Barry who is probably the best of the 3 PNG boys. Kiem, Argus, Tapp and Schultz are good players, but do they have to depth behind them? Hornets will need a huge effort from Copeland and a solid year from Evans if they are to challenge the top 5. Is Marto on a hiding to nothing?

Wests: No Pask and the Tapp bros went to Aspley. Shaun is a special and that hurts. Haven’t heard much out of Sherwood so who knows. Pope is quality, but has played a lot of footy at the lower level and may not have enough back-up to make Wests competitive.

Is this the most activity with comings and goings for many years? Who can add more to this list?