sniff12
Rookie
Redlands best addition will be Jason Eagle, having White their will steal his thunder till about round four or five when coaches still can't work out who to play on him!!
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Trevor Mitchell (Barry's brother) ex carltonAnyone tell me who Caloundra have picked up this year?? Whose coaching them??
Trevor Mitchell (Barry's brother) ex carlton
Picked up a few i have been told from up there.
one rumour i will put out there is a ex lion AFL might be pulling on the boots at the panthers and thats caloundra as well. if it works out he will kick 100.
All i have been told is O'Brien from grange as moved up there and will be a/coach, and has brought 7 that played down in brisbane last year, my mate said they had 40 on the track on tuesday, if they did good numbers for that level.Whose the ex-lion?
Also whose on the coaching panel at Caloundra this year? How many of the guys went back to Maroochy?
Looking forward to the 2009 season with some level of excitement.
There have been some real recruiting coups, if what we read actually comes true:
Southport: Some big name losses, but as usual just happen to be finding some quality recruits to fill the void. Jarjoura will be interesting as he can be erratic, and will find the step up from Sydney footy a challenge, even though he has played in SA. Has Hawkins left for Cooly? Loose a McEntee and gain one – probably a small net loss. Pick-up a Ferret – is he focused and how will he go when playing the Panthers? Will he line-up on the Bro? Needed to hang on to Merret and Burge given the departure of Sinclar. Picked up recruits from Tassie and Vic. Lance Oswald can play but was on big bucks in the O & M, wouldn’t have come cheap. How’s their salary cap? Going to be hard to beat again
Morningside: Shelton is a huge win for the Panthers, add Lucy, Tomlinson, Muggsie and “new” recruit in Pardew - they will again be thereabouts. Loss of Browning, Spackman & Fewkes will hurt, but Kimball is a good pick-up. Was last year their missed opportunity?
Mt Gravatt: Missed Shelton which would be a disappointment, Vearing back home and Pratt from Zillmere (when available) will strengthen their back-half and midfield. Having Whitey recommit for one more year is a bonus. Sure to be there somewhere. Don Barry from PNG is a good player and will be dangerous in this outfit.
Brisbane: Who Cares! Their finals charge will depend on how Vossy’s going in his first year as coach. Maybe, should be in the VFL comp.
Zillmere: Massive exodus from the Coach down, have done no recruiting – guaranteed to struggle.
Broadbeach: Yaaaabbbblllleeeetttt! If he is serious, will create some serious challenges for many opposition backlines. Could be worse if he gets his preferred midfield role and drifts forward. Harris returning will strengthen midfield, but if Ablett plays in the middle who kicks their goals?
Labrador: Is Munson gone? Howard from Tassie might be OK. Tigers should have done better last year with their list so it’s hard to know what to expect. Can the new coach get the best out of this group.
Redland: Is Jeff White really serious or is this just an opportunity to play with his brother (might have to play 2’s then). A Knobel vs White centre bounce will probably bring rain. Some Vic Country midfielders and great to see Josh Norman back at State league level after a year playing with mates and a year off – hope he’s lost those extra kgs. The “Funky” connection in Tassie continues to bring players, but not convinced of the quality – maybe this lot. Did Andrew Mellor think Cresswell was hiding out on Russell Island?
Aspley: Missed too many of the key Zillmere players to other AFLQ clubs, GC17 and interstate – hard to fathom the decision to ignore a quality State League coach. Will offer plenty to pick-up some new recruits, but the basis of their list may not be up to the next level. Picked up James and Susuve, but missed Barry who is probably the best of the 3 PNG boys. Kiem, Argus, Tapp and Schultz are good players, but do they have to depth behind them? Hornets will need a huge effort from Copeland and a solid year from Evans if they are to challenge the top 5. Is Marto on a hiding to nothing?
Wests: No Pask and the Tapp bros went to Aspley. Shaun is a special and that hurts. Haven’t heard much out of Sherwood so who knows. Pope is quality, but has played a lot of footy at the lower level and may not have enough back-up to make Wests competitive.
Is this the most activity with comings and goings for many years? Who can add more to this list?
All i have been told is O'Brien from grange as moved up there and will be a/coach, and has brought 7 that played down in brisbane last year, my mate said they had 40 on the track on tuesday, if they did good numbers for that level.
on the maroochy thing the word is no one, why would blokes go back there anyway.
Anyone tell me who Caloundra have picked up this year?? Whose coaching them??
big e you never did answer belowi would say at least 20 have played state league last year and 4 or 5 have played better than aflq state league.
yes hornets have lost hamilton, mugs, ward has retired and the 10 resseies players i presume are the strathpine boys?
garts has been around not sure if hes playing.
hornets have lost a few which is the natural attrition rate clubs go thru year after year, im sure your club has done the same lifeisadream. I would suggest that the majority of the players gone would not have made state league side.
big e you never did answer below
bige you said the strathpine boys have gone from my reports there where about 7ish of them why have they all left and wasnt the premiership coach from there as well?is he doing state association top job?
palmy to name another good player real soon
expect mt gravatt to name a midfielder soon
Whats going on at the Vultures - apparently White has gone, Tommy T has pulled the pin and Ash Evans and Firfaro are unsighted. They should have won and now there pulling apart. Lake left quickly, Bail drafted, Edwards retired and the wheels are off. Who can confirm the truth here. All sounds to much.
Coast clubs handed a Gimmy with the local draft dont you think.
Apparently a prominent Panther has stepped over the someone elses girlfriend line - ???? Confirmation required I guess
Gotta say it's good to have a positive vibe around the Puma Den again.Vultures looking fine - ran into White and he has been training except for when he was assistant to Johnson in Indigenous All Stars game for a week or so, he said Tom was as fit as he has been for years (asst coach) and playing big role - ran their camp 2 weeks ago. Evans is training, Furfaro has dropped 10 kgs and the place is humming as good as ever. Lots of new faces and plenty of old. He reckons they will be there abouts again. Rates PNG kid Barry very highly and said Vearing and Grose will have huge impact. That doesnt sound like wheels falling off to me. Who knows??
How will state league shape up - who are improvers and what shape will it take on the ladder.
Whats happening in Pineapple Cup - Springwood sound like Pollock is pulling things together. Sandgate/Long look to have recruited well and could be a powerhouse this year. Makes a difference not directly competing on the level for players with Aspley.
whats the latest on coorparoo? Who's coaching and where are they playing out of now?
i heard they were kicked of Morninsides ground?
cheers for that, i heard Wynnum had a practice match against toowoomba on the weekend, has anyone heard any reports from that game?The King's are back at Coorparoo. They signed an agreement with the Coorparoo Juniors for an Under 18's side so they were made homeless and found their way back to Giffin Park.
No idea who's coaching.