AFLQ Premier Division

I agree checkmate but we are a very semi professional comp that trains only 2 nights a week.I do not want the coaching job and am glad none of the Brains got it also.

Why change training techniques if what worked last year isn`t broke.Updating good though.Who pays for the professional people we have on board for 2011? Those blokes providing the banter and drinking beer.No supporters,no game.And I`d be very surprised if players in the PHC were commanding figures higher than $450.00.Matthews from Maroochy(ex AFL) Matthews from Noosa(ex State League B and f and all aust rep) and Drake from Palmy(ex State league b and f) would command and deserve that sort of figure but for the top echelon of clubs who pay up to 10 or 12 players,I`m not sure the salary cap would fit.

I love the fact that Noosa is adopting ways of training and playing to coincide with what the best sporting organisations in the country are doing.However,for most of the Senior squad who train only 2 nights a week and socialise pretty heavilly on the weekends,the benefits of these professional approaches will obviously not come to full fruition and the majority are there to have a kick of the footy.We love using that word professional but at this level we are far from it.Clubs demand discipline and a semi professional attitude from their contracted players but find it extremely hard to police.I wonder how many contracted players in the PHC have thus far been to every training session as stipulated in their contracts.Some turn up as it suits and others may not have started yet.Thats not professional,not even semi professional.It`s a funny word that and even in a really good standard of country footy that the PHC is,doesn`t sit right.But ofcourse their is nothing wrong with trying to set high standards and aim to one day be at a professional level

These blokes are getting paid beer, petrol and boots money and not a cent more. What level of professionalism can be expected? Clubs and players set high standards based on pride rather than being professional. Good on them.

By the way, underestimate Palm Beach at your peril, they are pretty sure things for the granny I reckon.

Well this comp this sounds like it will be dominated by Noosa,PBC,Sandgate and Western magpies.No problem with Sandgate, but the others mentioned BORING! Lets hope rest of the comp will put in a decent effort, personally especially Mayne.

Gotta say I agree with you noosaboy. Noosa won last year because they had good players not because they're were core stretching or whatever the latest fad is. At the end of the day it's park footy and two nights a week training is better spent on skills and basic fitness than trying to emulate professional teams training twice a day, 5 or 6 days a week.

Agree on your Palmy prediction Howard.Pretty happy to see them bow out of the final series earlyI in 2010.They are well coached and were responsible in really lifting the bar in this comp in 2007 and beyond.I know all at Noosa have the utmost respect for them.

hey, noosaboy what's going on up there in tigerland? word is the boys have swapted the footy's for rubber mats and turned training into pilate classes.. an on nights off they head to one of the boys gym for ballet lessons..is this true

Ballet actually would be fantastic for AFL players for power, core stability and balance but try getting that through an Australian blokes head - reckon he might be keener to forfeit a chance playing for Collingwood in the GF than do this.... (James Hird apparently did a bit when he was younger too)

Seriously as Noosaboy said, its not what they do at footy training that matters sometimes, its what happens away from the club that does. Always used to make me laugh seeing guys do warm downs, icing up after matches, drinking high glucose drinks post game, etc... then heading upstairs and sinking 1000 beers! Completely useless.

Amarooplace got it right by saying that Noosa won the premiership last year because they spent massive amounts of money to assemble the best playing list in the comp - simple as that.

It's not ballet, its expressional dance & lycra is optional. The rubber mats are actually blow up dolls dressed in Sandgate jumpers, the boys get to spank them in the preseason also!

not that simple when your core playing list is injured during the finals series, noosa managed there injuries properly and it paid off, Paige, Brauer, Reynolds, tromph, winter all carried injuries in the GF that would see them resting in the home and away game.

certainly alot of spankers up at noosa....

just kidding, couldn't let that one slip through to the keeper.

100% agree with what most are saying here. Noosa won the flag last year becuase they went out and recruited well in the off season (due to alot of players walking away from the coach/club at the end of 2009). Noosa is always going to be a big club in a small pond, they don't have the resources or infrastructure to go up a division, but benefit from having enough support at the club to ensure they are financially strong (for the division they are in), which inturns gives them an advantage when it comes time for recruiting.

Clubs that have the benefit of a "leagues club" like Sandgate, Palmy, Burleigh etc are going to be financially strong and will be able to recruit with $$$, while clubs that rely on the support of local business and volunteers are always going to struggle and will need to rely on other means to attract good players.

The comp should think itself lucky that generally the building indsutry has been very slow up Noosa way, as I understand that about 5 very good players returned to Vic before the start of last year due to not being able to secure work.

The sooner the league brings in this point system for recruitment the better.

certainly alot of spankers up at noosa....

just kidding, couldn't let that one slip through to the keeper.

100% agree with what most are saying here. Noosa won the flag last year becuase they went out and recruited well in the off season (due to alot of players walking away from the coach/club at the end of 2009). Noosa is always going to be a big club in a small pond, they don't have the resources or infrastructure to go up a division, but benefit from having enough support at the club to ensure they are financially strong (for the division they are in), which inturns gives them an advantage when it comes time for recruiting.

Clubs that have the benefit of a "leagues club" like Sandgate, Palmy, Burleigh etc are going to be financially strong and will be able to recruit with $$$, while clubs that rely on the support of local business and volunteers are always going to struggle and will need to rely on other means to attract good players.

The comp should think itself lucky that generally the building indsutry has been very slow up Noosa way, as I understand that about 5 very good players returned to Vic before the start of last year due to not being able to secure work.

The sooner the league brings in this point system for recruitment the better.

From all reports sandgates club is very much in the early stages of being a business, and the club is not any where near a position to fund football to the levels people assume. Maybe next year, but from what I am told this year not one player will recieve match payments. They have awards system in place instead. Was the same last year as well.

Not totally sure, but burleighs club is owned and run by burleigh bears league, and I assume they would raise a lot of their own money.

Good luck to noosa if they can find the cash to attract good players. Helps that they are set up in a pretty good place to live as well as having no other clubs within 40 kms.

From all reports sandgates club is very much in the early stages of being a business, and the club is not any where near a position to fund football to the levels people assume. Maybe next year, but from what I am told this year not one player will recieve match payments. They have awards system in place instead. Was the same last year as well.

Not totally sure, but burleighs club is owned and run by burleigh bears league, and I assume they would raise a lot of their own money.

Good luck to noosa if they can find the cash to attract good players. Helps that they are set up in a pretty good place to live as well as having no other clubs within 40 kms.

I was chatting to someone from Burleigh who told me that they get 40k this year from the club. The year they went average was the year the club was being redeveloped, and they lost alot of players as they couldn't pay them.

Strange that Sandgate can attract state league players from Aspley, and in one season can go from missing finals to argueably the best team in the comp injury free without paying players. Call it an "awards" system if you like, but I doubt those state league boys are running around in the PHC for anything less than $250 a game, whether it be an "award" or match payment.

Sweetie is on the ball is saying that there are next to no match payments at Sandgate. Players were attracted to the place because of a young quality coach with excellent ideas, a club with spirit and tradition and to play at a club where there is no interference from people outside the football club.

Also for some young players the chance to play with Dan Dickfos cannot be underestimated and his value to the club is enormous. With potential for some finance to come from the renovated licenced premises in the future Sandgate could have a promising future.

Gotta say I agree with you noosaboy. Noosa won last year because they had good players not because they're were core stretching or whatever the latest fad is. At the end of the day it's park footy and two nights a week training is better spent on skills and basic fitness than trying to emulate professional teams training twice a day, 5 or 6 days a week.

i'm interested to know what you class as "basic" fitness?......teams dont become successful by conducting "basic" fitness... its expected that a premiership side needs to be atleast 15% better the next year to be successfull, expecting other sides to improve! let me ask you this.....why do we follow AFL methods of training, same game isnt it? why do we look up to players as role models, coz we want to be like them? why do we have fitness proffessionals/specialists? to give us guidance on training methods? why has the game changed so much in the past 10 years? becuase sides are finding new and "effective" methods to improve their teams performance that little 15% each year! By conducting your theory of "basic fitness", how is a successfull side going to improve with other great sides chasing them. No matter if its the "park footy" some people call it, it may not be that for the guys playing, believe me, it means alot more than just kicking the footy in the park!!! wake up to yourselves boys.

Ballet actually would be fantastic for AFL players for power, core stability and balance but try getting that through an Australian blokes head - reckon he might be keener to forfeit a chance playing for Collingwood in the GF than do this.... (James Hird apparently did a bit when he was younger too)

Seriously as Noosaboy said, its not what they do at footy training that matters sometimes, its what happens away from the club that does. Always used to make me laugh seeing guys do warm downs, icing up after matches, drinking high glucose drinks post game, etc... then heading upstairs and sinking 1000 beers! Completely useless.

Amarooplace got it right by saying that Noosa won the premiership last year because they spent massive amounts of money to assemble the best playing list in the comp - simple as that.

yep they pay around $900 a game on average.....seriously, they pay heaps...Compared to Palmy though, i hear their players are on $600

not that simple when your core playing list is injured during the finals series, noosa managed there injuries properly and it paid off, Paige, Brauer, Reynolds, tromph, winter all carried injuries in the GF that would see them resting in the home and away game.

Rumour is that Brendon Paige is training down at Asply a night a week becuase he cant get to Noosa training. Apparently Asply make him wear an Asply singlet because they said they dont want him to look "odd" if the media turn up!
Also BIG news is that Asply have no idea where James Brain is? apparently gone walkabout. Turned up to 1 session and off he goes. Typical.

[quote=Checkmate#3;20076656]Rumour is that Brendon Paige is training down at Asply a night a week becuase he cant get to Noosa training. Apparently Asply make him wear an Asply singlet because they said they dont want him to look "odd" if the media turn up!
Also BIG news is that Asply have no idea where James Brain is? apparently gone walkabout. Turned up to 1 session and off he goes. Typical.[/quote]

pretty ridiculous comment checkmate.. aspley are doing the guy a favour by letting him train with the group, because of a medical condition. if he wants to train with aspley, he wears a aspley singlet, simple as that...

Rumour is that Brendon Paige is training down at Asply a night a week becuase he cant get to Noosa training. Apparently Asply make him wear an Asply singlet because they said they dont want him to look "odd" if the media turn up!
Also BIG news is that Asply have no idea where James Brain is? apparently gone walkabout. Turned up to 1 session and off he goes. Typical.

if you're going to bag the club. spell their name right

i'm interested to know what you class as "basic" fitness?......teams dont become successful by conducting "basic" fitness... its expected that a premiership side needs to be atleast 15% better the next year to be successfull, expecting other sides to improve! let me ask you this.....why do we follow AFL methods of training, same game isnt it? why do we look up to players as role models, coz we want to be like them? why do we have fitness proffessionals/specialists? to give us guidance on training methods? why has the game changed so much in the past 10 years? becuase sides are finding new and "effective" methods to improve their teams performance that little 15% each year! By conducting your theory of "basic fitness", how is a successfull side going to improve with other great sides chasing them. No matter if its the "park footy" some people call it, it may not be that for the guys playing, believe me, it means alot more than just kicking the footy in the park!!! wake up to yourselves boys.

My cousin's under 12 soccer team take their games very seriously, as does the old biddies at Grandmas weekly Bridge meet but the fact they take it serious doesn't mean their professional athletes.
If you're a good player with good fitness you'll go alright in this comp.

And by 'Basic'... get down their two/three nights a week, train your arse off and do your sprints, runs or whatever, & keep the meat pies to a minimum. No need to overcomplicate things.

I was chatting to someone from Burleigh who told me that they get 40k this year from the club. The year they went average was the year the club was being redeveloped, and they lost alot of players as they couldn't pay them.

Strange that Sandgate can attract state league players from Aspley, and in one season can go from missing finals to argueably the best team in the comp injury free without paying players. Call it an "awards" system if you like, but I doubt those state league boys are running around in the PHC for anything less than $250 a game, whether it be an "award" or match payment.

You seem to know a lot about things my friend. There are 3 reasons the state league guys came to sandgate, 1. to play at the club most of them played juniors at, with their mates, 2. the coach knew most from Zillmere days and had good conections with them, 3. a few werent keen to play at aspley any more. All put together and they seem to have a group playing together for the enjoyment and chance of playing in a good side who could win a flag. Sandgate also have played finals the last two years as well, which you seem to have overlooked in your baseless ramblings.

I think we need to remember boys its actually a privelage to play for a football club, not a right! There are far to many players out there who give very little in return for their demands and I'm not talking about playing performance. Checkmate, im no fitness expert, but what do you gauge your extra 15% on, for sides to improve? Fitness,skills,leadership,resources,personnel,recruiting? . Were Brisbane a 30% better side in 2003 than 2001?. How do we gauge improvement?
Im all for teams looking to gain an edge, but does it come at a cost to other areas of your game when u only train twice a week? For example, Does Billy Smith the 23yo fringe player who's kicking lets him down and is determined to play seniors, need to spend the one nite a week he can get to training,because he works the other nite, on his skills or his core strength? S & C sessions are great and have real benefit and obviously at professional level they are mandatory, but these guys are full time and paid to be extremely fit and strong. My answer would be to have a dedicated session for this activity for those interested.

You seem to know a lot about things my friend. There are 3 reasons the state league guys came to sandgate, 1. to play at the club most of them played juniors at, with their mates, 2. the coach knew most from Zillmere days and had good conections with them, 3. a few werent keen to play at aspley any more. All put together and they seem to have a group playing together for the enjoyment and chance of playing in a good side who could win a flag. Sandgate also have played finals the last two years as well, which you seem to have overlooked in your baseless ramblings.

yep, and ben matthews played at maroochydore for nothing, becuase he really liked the facilities and it was the closest club to his business. he was just lucky enough to win an award each week.

Last time I looked AFL at the elite level didn't resemble AFL at PHC level very much at all! In fact its not surprising that guys like Ben Matthews come back to this level and make the game look very easy despite being nothing much more than an average AFL player.
Think Amaroo has got it one again - you mark well, you kick well, you make good decisions and you have a semi decent level of fitness you will go very well in this comp. Agree Checkmate that the core exercises play a role in preventing injuries, increasing stability and for 5% of the blokes this will be all important to their ability to get a game BUT Cubby Isles, Luke Matthews, Paige will not be significantly better players bc they are doing extra core work in this comp.