AFLQ Premier Division

Think you actually got it spot on s364... Ben did play for a buck BUT he was worth it too from my knowledge - his input around the club was brilliant and as a bloke 2nd to none. Unfortunately you can't say that about every bloke who picks up a $$....

He also chose to play at Maroochy because his business interests didn't allow him to really play anywhere else and I'm sure the facilities are pretty good too at Fishermans Rd!

I`ve heard lots of core strength exercises whatabout but not really sure as I haven`t seen too much of training.I`m sure they are using the balls and have recruited well again so will be thereabouts.Brew has a gym in Coolum and knows exactly what he is doing with the fitness side of things so that won`t be a worry for the tigers.Haven`t heard any ballet stories and agree with amaroo that noosa were able to attract some top quality players to help them win the flag in 2010.You add Matthews,Page, Brauer, Brain,Spring and Panaho with Reynolds,Isles,Duke,Trompf etc and you will finish in the top 2 or 3.In saying that the tigers lost Hicks,Sawers,Tyrell,Jeffreys(all 2009 team of the year players) and Kearney so it was a terrifc effort.

Ballet actually would be fantastic for AFL players for power, core stability and balance but try getting that through an Australian blokes head - reckon he might be keener to forfeit a chance playing for Collingwood in the GF than do this.... (James Hird apparently did a bit when he was younger too)

Seriously as Noosaboy said, its not what they do at footy training that matters sometimes, its what happens away from the club that does. Always used to make me laugh seeing guys do warm downs, icing up after matches, drinking high glucose drinks post game, etc... then heading upstairs and sinking 1000 beers! Completely useless.

Amarooplace got it right by saying that Noosa won the premiership last year because they spent massive amounts of money to assemble the best playing list in the comp - simple as that.
I`ve heard still well within the salary cap.The brand `Noosa` as a resort town has for a long time sold itself for recruits wanting a change and a game of footy.Always been a hard thing to keep them here and build an era so trying to win a Premiership can be a year to year proposition.

I think we need to remember boys its actually a privelage to play for a football club, not a right! There are far to many players out there who give very little in return for their demands and I'm not talking about playing performance. Checkmate, im no fitness expert, but what do you gauge your extra 15% on, for sides to improve? Fitness,skills,leadership,resources,personnel,recruiting? . Were Brisbane a 30% better side in 2003 than 2001?. How do we gauge improvement?
Im all for teams looking to gain an edge, but does it come at a cost to other areas of your game when u only train twice a week? For example, Does Billy Smith the 23yo fringe player who's kicking lets him down and is determined to play seniors, need to spend the one nite a week he can get to training,because he works the other nite, on his skills or his core strength? S & C sessions are great and have real benefit and obviously at professional level they are mandatory, but these guys are full time and paid to be extremely fit and strong. My answer would be to have a dedicated session for this activity for those interested.
Yeah gotta agree with you there switching play.I`m not sure you could be exact with % of improvement for any sporting team.Too hard to measure and so many variables.It`s more like personal training talk.Learning more about it on this forum though so that`s a good thing.

I`ve heard still well within the salary cap.The brand `Noosa` as a resort town has for a long time sold itself for recruits wanting a change and a game of footy.Always been a hard thing to keep them here and build an era so trying to win a Premiership can be a year to year proposition.

LOL - well done mate. Very good diplomacy. I reckon with the cost of tomatoes they might be getting paid with fruit and veg now??

how does the salary cap actually get enforced? there is no way of enforcing it is there?

the salary cap at any club is whatever they can afford to spend, which for a financial club like noosa is a lot.

i guess thats why Noosa approached Maroochydore players, becuase they can't work out how to recruit players that will actually hang around for more than a year.

noosa is small town, with a lot of small town people with small town attitudes.

LOL - well done mate. Very good diplomacy. I reckon with the cost of tomatoes they might be getting paid with fruit and veg now??
You must be referring to Pittsy who has a fruit shop in Tewantin there smy.Yeah he sponsored me in 2009 and i think from memory was the player sponsor of Jay reynolds last year.Not too sure about the tomato prices but I`m sure school teachers would be onto it.And if you can afford to live in Buderim then the prices shouldn`t matter.

i guess thats why Noosa approached Maroochydore players, becuase they can't work out how to recruit players that will actually hang around for more than a year.

noosa is small town, with a lot of small town people with small town attitudes.
Not sure who approached who there s36.Don`t mind the small resort town with small resort town people and small resort town attitudes.Beats the hell out of living in tacky try hard cities full of bad tattoos and anger.Heaps of fun up here.

Just for the record, as Maroochy supporter I've got no problem with clubs buying players, poaching players or doing whatever else because you do what you need to do win. Trying to tarnish a teams Premiership reeks of sour grapes. Noosa have been around the mark for the last five years so it was only a matter of time before they cracked it. They deserved it. And considering the turnover of players from the previous year I think it was a pretty fair effort. It doesn't matter where the players came from the fact of the matter is they had a Noosa jumper on their back.
Sandgate were on the bums of their arse a few years back so it's good to see them back in the ring whether they're paying players or not. I personally would have preferred them to get up in the GF last year.
Maroochy did well with a core bunch of players that stuck around the club for many years but they didn't capitalise. Sounds like they've lost a few but have also recruited a few this year too which is no different to what the current Premier had done.
While I'm not a Mayne supporter, I'd love to see them back around the mark. Same with Springwood who look to have a good young team emerging.
At the end of the day, we'll all do what we can to win. Let the winners bask in their glory and instead of tarnishing it, just try and knock them off the following year.

You must be referring to Pittsy who has a fruit shop in Tewantin there smy.Yeah he sponsored me in 2009 and i think from memory was the player sponsor of Jay reynolds last year.Not too sure about the tomato prices but I`m sure school teachers would be onto it.And if you can afford to live in Buderim then the prices shouldn`t matter.

I'm pretty sure there are AFLQ rules in place to deal with these arrangements. Where someone is paid in fruit and veg, the "celery" cap is introduced to replace the salary cap as an anti-avoidance provision.

Noosa have a few players interested in Meat Pie payments SMY, Maybe a local might step up to sponsor this year?

I'm pretty sure there are AFLQ rules in place to deal with these arrangements. Where someone is paid in fruit and veg, the "celery" cap is introduced to replace the salary cap as an anti-avoidance provision.

Nice! And if clubs breach the celery cap all the players are forced to eat Brussells Spoouts after every yoga,pilates and ballet session just after their ice bath.

Nice! And if clubs breach the celery cap all the players are forced to eat Brussells Sprouts after every yoga,pilates and ballet session just after their ice bath.

not that simple when your core playing list is injured during the finals series, noosa managed there injuries properly and it paid off, Paige, Brauer, Reynolds, tromph, winter all carried injuries in the GF that would see them resting in the home and away game.

here's this winter bloke's name again who is he.. is he the bloke with the big arms an the tattoo's can he play?..

I used to love playing at Noosa, it felt like a country ground and a country club and everytime we played there we got smacked (didn't love that part). Don't think it would be too bad a place to play, hook me up with a job and a place to stay and I would have spent a couple of years learning how to surf. I don't think Noosa will ever have too many recruiting worries regardless of $$$

Anyone got any word on Mayne? Outside of new coach and Brown and Ferguson stepping up?

Noosa have a few players interested in Meat Pie payments SMY, Maybe a local might step up to sponsor this year? - we already fill the pies with premium mince - what more do you want??

You must be referring to Pittsy who has a fruit shop in Tewantin there smy.Yeah he sponsored me in 2009 and i think from memory was the player sponsor of Jay reynolds last year.Not too sure about the tomato prices but I`m sure school teachers would be onto it. And if you can afford to live in Buderim then the prices shouldn`t matter.

Now thats the pot calling the kettle... when you reside "nestled in the palm trees".. LOL!

No doubt Pittsy was a great player sponsor too mate - with his knowledge of footy you should be proud that he chose you!!

I used to love playing at Noosa, it felt like a country ground and a country club and everytime we played there we got smacked (didn't love that part). Don't think it would be too bad a place to play, hook me up with a job and a place to stay and I would have spent a couple of years learning how to surf. I don't think Noosa will ever have too many recruiting worries regardless of $$$

in my opinion is one of the best 3 football grounds to play footy at in the PHC - like you said Pinky, real country footy feel with cars parked all the way round, atmosphere was 2nd to none, esp when the old club house was in working order and you had pissheads aplenty hanging off the rafters in a close match and invariably a good sized crowd for this comp. Always was impressive to see lots of little tackers wearing Noosa jumpers running around on match day as well. They are one of the best run clubs in the League and with a man like Dougie Murray there it is no surprise. Plenty of cash now, spend it for sure these days on recruiting but no different to PBC and what they did to remain successful nor clubs like Sandgate / Aspley / and even Maroochydore pre 1999. They are a very much admired club on the Coast, although their juniors are getting a pummelling these days by the Roos...!

Anyone know anything about the 2 guns ( vcfl reps) from Mildura PBC have apparently picked up? and is Macca still in charge at Cooly?
Your right about the crowds at Noosa smy. Wouldnt be to many at PHC or State league that would draw much bigger.

Anyone know anything about the 2 guns ( vcfl reps) from Mildura PBC have apparently picked up? and is Macca still in charge at Cooly?
Your right about the crowds at Noosa smy. Wouldnt be to many at PHC or State league that would draw much bigger.

i know Maroochy were very disappointed that the 2 Mildura guys didn't end up signing with them - very handy players apparently.

Anyone got any word on Mayne? Outside of new coach and Brown and Ferguson stepping up?

When were you getting smacked mate. Ive been following Sunny Coast side since moving here 20 plus years ago. And i Dont remember the Tigers or Maroochydore getting smacked too much!!

i know Maroochy were very disappointed that the 2 Mildura guys didn't end up signing with them - very handy players apparently.

Do u know the reasons smy, was it coin, employment or even mates. Both very attractive places to live, play footy and enjoy the never ending advances from the opposite sex for high profile PHC players! lol

The hardes brothers are apparently very good players from the Mildura imperials Footy club.They are both onballer types who represented Vic country in 2010(not sure if Div 1 or 2) and have played in senior Premierships for the Imps.Noosa tried their hand at sneering them however could not find them the work they were after.Both carpentars and that was the reason they decided on Palmy.Agree with you smy with the atmosphere at Noosa (probably moreso with the old club rooms behind the goals) but especially the fact that car parking around the entire ground is available.Actually spoke to Ryan white today in an attempt to recruit him to an old club of mine.He has signed with a club in the Casey cardinia league.Not a bad comp in a very fast growing area in victoria.His club Tooradin have struggled recently so a great pick up for them.I think the Roos will struggle this year and may even have missed their opportunity in 2009 where i thought they were the best side in the comp during the home and away season.They are a club that in history has had great success (especially pre 1999) so i`m sure will bounce back.Under 18s will certainly help their cause.