AFLQ state association

What a weekend of footy..

UQ upsetting The panthers

Come on, a bit of credit for the mighty Red Lions please........Thats twice we've beaten them this year and its still called an upset??? Mind you their coach was mighty upset!! Add Hugh Millikan into the goal kicking race...only been forward for 4 games!!

Agreed credit where credits due, well done to UQ on the weekend, certainly put to bed the doubts over their ability to beat top sides. now the question will be at the end of the home and away, who will play finals, of the top 5 one will miss and it could come down to percentage. I heard the yeronga boys played a pretty good brand on the weekend as well, although out of the mix, they could certainly shape the finals from now on in. Will certainly come down to player depth thats for sure...

This is too good not to share.... During the senior game at Kedron v Ipswich on Saturday, Ipswich #17 swooped on a loose ball on the wing & ran toward OUR goals. I thought to myself "that's good discipline, not doing a u-turn & running to bring someone else into the play." Then he runs past his own player, tucks the ball under the arm and kept going, having about 4-5 bounces. Our blokes started telling him to have a shot at goal, so he keeps running, has a shot from about 10m out & hits the post. Our blokes obviously get stuck into him about it & seems to think it's because he missed. He doesn't twig when:
a) nobody goes to tackle him,
b) most players stop to watch & let him run about 100m
c) no other Ipswich players set up in the zone.

He finally catches on when Ipswich full-back takes the ball & goes to kick out after the point.

Every week there seems to be a new contender in the goal kicking race from the team that plays against us in the previous week. my tip is that it will come from alex cos they play us three times.

well done to Alex on the weekend. they were too good. although we matched them in patches, they have the makings of being a real contender this year. inaccuracy cost us also the fact that we had a heap of our guns out. expect a few changes to the line up this week for our caloundra clash. our team on the weekend was close to, if not the worst line-up we have put on the field in my time at the club.

Annoyed that Wynnum let Yeronga beat them. Now our chances of getting off the bottom are almost gone. Any truth to the rumour that Wynnum rested a heap of players preparing for this weekend's clash?

Well done to UQ for beating Caloundra. I really hate Caloundra, mainly cos of that guy that always cheap shots our players. looks like they've found a decent goal kicker finally.

coorparoo beating aspley. no surprises there really.

UQ 3rd's team gave Logan a bit of a scare in the last qtr. Were down by 7 goals at 3 qtr time and got to within a kick in the latter part of the game. We let a few late goals in which blew the margin out to 25 in the end.

Logan didn't have Matty Reid (injury cloud or something) and UQ didn't have a couple of our usual starters and had 2 boys back up from the 4ths.

This is too good not to share.... During the senior game at Kedron v Ipswich on Saturday, Ipswich #17 swooped on a loose ball on the wing & ran toward OUR goals. I thought to myself "that's good discipline, not doing a u-turn & running to bring someone else into the play." Then he runs past his own player, tucks the ball under the arm and kept going, having about 4-5 bounces. Our blokes started telling him to have a shot at goal, so he keeps running, has a shot from about 10m out & hits the post. Our blokes obviously get stuck into him about it & seems to think it's because he missed. He doesn't twig when:
a) nobody goes to tackle him,
b) most players stop to watch & let him run about 100m
c) no other Ipswich players set up in the zone.

He finally catches on when Ipswich full-back takes the ball & goes to kick out after the point.

:thumbsu: haha that is classic! usually people notice just when they are about to kick.. poor guy :D

What a weekend of footy..

UQ upsetting The panthers

Come on, a bit of credit for the mighty Red Lions please........Thats twice we've beaten them this year and its still called an upset??? Mind you their coach was mighty upset!! Add Hugh Millikan into the goal kicking race...only been forward for 4 games!!

Are you the bloke with the headband?

You boys were too good for us on the weekend. The two mid-fields were evenly matched even though we won the majority of the taps. Unfortunately we had no answer to your full forward and your backline is up there with the best in the league in terms of being able to match up on our big men and our smalls.

5 teams can win the premiership this year. No doubt.

Agreed credit where credits due, well done to UQ on the weekend, certainly put to bed the doubts over their ability to beat top sides. now the question will be at the end of the home and away, who will play finals, of the top 5 one will miss and it could come down to percentage. I heard the yeronga boys played a pretty good brand on the weekend as well, although out of the mix, they could certainly shape the finals from now on in. Will certainly come down to player depth thats for sure...

agreed, was a great win on the weekend for the UQ boys... maybe now people will realise that we are a genuine contender this year... caloundra just took us a bit too lightly i reckon (hard to believe when we rolled them last time as well), they had a bit of head wobble about them before the game, apparently they did a half arsed warm up for 3 minutes before they ran out and that was it, it showed in the first 10 minutes when they looked asleep and we jumped them early kicking the first 3... they lacked a solid key defender against us on the weekend, and if their key forwards have a quiet day then they are very beatable... we're lucky our backline is the best in the comp because they really taught the likes of frenchy and dicko how to play the game...

great win by yeronga, they were more than handy against us in the middle of the year and i certainly cannot understand how they havn't won more games... look for them to continue to knock off teams above them on the ladder... (hopefully not us).

tell you what tho if UQ make the top 4 come seasons end we truly deserve it considering our horror draw compared to others above us... the rest of the comp should be on notice now.. we are coming. full list on the park, everyone fit... look out.

enjoy the weekend off...

Every week there seems to be a new contender in the goal kicking race from the team that plays against us in the previous week. my tip is that it will come from alex cos they play us three times.

well done to Alex on the weekend. they were too good. although we matched them in patches, they have the makings of being a real contender this year. inaccuracy cost us also the fact that we had a heap of our guns out. expect a few changes to the line up this week for our caloundra clash. our team on the weekend was close to, if not the worst line-up we have put on the field in my time at the club.

Annoyed that Wynnum let Yeronga beat them. Now our chances of getting off the bottom are almost gone. Any truth to the rumour that Wynnum rested a heap of players preparing for this weekend's clash?

Well done to UQ for beating Caloundra. I really hate Caloundra, mainly cos of that guy that always cheap shots our players. looks like they've found a decent goal kicker finally.

coorparoo beating aspley. no surprises there really.

Buddy you are the most delusional person on Big Footy. I admire your passion for your team etc etc.

But if you had any 'guns' you would have a better % then 25. You might have even come close to winning a game.

And from what I can tell inaccuracy didnt cost you, they still had 17 more scoring shots. It could have something to do with it not getting into your forward line?

Now, what player are you referring too for Caloundra when it comes to cheap shotting?

Buddy you are the most delusional person on Big Footy. I admire your passion for your team etc etc.

But if you had any 'guns' you would have a better % then 25. You might have even come close to winning a game.

And from what I can tell inaccuracy didnt cost you, they still had 17 more scoring shots. It could have something to do with it not getting into your forward line?

Now, what player are you referring too for Caloundra when it comes to cheap shotting?

hot pies... you have hit the nail on the head, i have been campaigning for a few weeks now how little of an idea this kid has got.
every week kenmore get smashed and every week he has an excuse, bear... i know you are very passionate about kenmore and thats a good thing but maybe you should consider just piping down a tad.. 17 more scoring shots is 17 more scoring shots mate, there is nothing that a few so called "guns" (in div 1 state league genuine guns are few and far between, and they certainly arent lining up for kenmore every sat) could do to turn that stat around... please bear, just wake up mate.

agreed, was a great win on the weekend for the UQ boys... maybe now people will realise that we are a genuine contender this year... caloundra just took us a bit too lightly i reckon (hard to believe when we rolled them last time as well), they had a bit of head wobble about them before the game, apparently they did a half arsed warm up for 3 minutes before they ran out and that was it, it showed in the first 10 minutes when they looked asleep and we jumped them early kicking the first 3... they lacked a solid key defender against us on the weekend, and if their key forwards have a quiet day then they are very beatable... we're lucky our backline is the best in the comp because they really taught the likes of frenchy and dicko how to play the game...

great win by yeronga, they were more than handy against us in the middle of the year and i certainly cannot understand how they havn't won more games... look for them to continue to knock off teams above them on the ladder... (hopefully not us).

tell you what tho if UQ make the top 4 come seasons end we truly deserve it considering our horror draw compared to others above us... the rest of the comp should be on notice now.. we are coming. full list on the park, everyone fit... look out.

enjoy the weekend off...

Don't get too far ahead of yourself my little lion man. You boys were very good on the weekend and like I said, your backline probably is the best in the league, but I have question marks over your capacity to match it in the midfield with the bigger bodied teams. Still, credit where credit is due, you deserved to win it.

I'm rating your comments vadger.. very articulate and well thought out. Interesting point of view on our midfield, they stood up in the last quarter though, started to get on top of the clearances when it mattered...

is there any truth to my call about you guys having a poor warm up? we didnt see you over on the soccer oval at all befoe the game, so i'm not sure where you would've warmed up, you were all sitting on the side of the oval watching the two's about 3 minutes before we ran out? whats doing with that? did you take us a bit easy in hindsight?

I'm rating your comments vadger.. very articulate and well thought out. Interesting point of view on our midfield, they stood up in the last quarter though, started to get on top of the clearances when it mattered...

is there any truth to my call about you guys having a poor warm up? we didnt see you over on the soccer oval at all befoe the game, so i'm not sure where you would've warmed up, you were all sitting on the side of the oval watching the two's about 3 minutes before we ran out? whats doing with that? did you take us a bit easy in hindsight?

I don't think we took you boys too easily. There may have been some complacency after a few big wins, but there are only 5 decent teams in the comp so you have to be prepared for a real battle every time you play one of those teams. I guess you might have surprised us out of the blocks though. You're a much better team at home (yet to be beaten there from memory) so we were expecting you to come out hard.

We didn't really do much different to usual, but there have to be some questions asked when you concede the first 3 goals of the match without barely a whimper. The fact that we were able to peg it back to be leading at the quarter time break showed that we needed to be sparked into action. This is something we'll have to address as we shouldn't need to fall behind to motivate us to get going.

Some banter on here other than red head line ups and who has the best burgers.
Great to see.
Can uq perform when it's the crunch time of the finals?
Geelong got beaten by the saints last year in round 14 at full strength and then lost the big one.. So nothing is ever granted..
How is the depth around the league?
Injuries always start to take a toll towards the end of the year.

Some banter on here other than red head line ups and who has the best burgers.
Great to see.
Can uq perform when it's the crunch time of the finals?
Geelong got beaten by the saints last year in round 14 at full strength and then lost the big one.. So nothing is ever granted..
How is the depth around the league?
Injuries always start to take a toll towards the end of the year.

time will tell... the only certainty at the moment is that one of the top 5 will be there holding the cup, no one could predict who at this stage, weather, injuries on the day will all play a part, interesting times ahead. yeronga could be the bogey card, they might start knocking off some teams above them and this will sort out the top 5 order... agree good to see some genuine footy banter on here...

Can you guys just give me a break! What's wrong with a bit of healthy self-belief? If only you guys knew just how depleted we were on the weekend. We do have some real guns playing for us. We have at least 7-10 guys who would make any other team in the competition. Our main issue is depth. The bottom 12-15 or so guys from our best team are not up to the standard. When we lose 4 of our top 7 players we have no chance at all. You can't lose 23 guys in the off-season and expect to compete every week with the best teams. Ratta Tat Cat in answer to your question, depth at Kenmore is bad at the moment, but we knew there were going to be teething issues this year.

You only have to look at our results to see that a win is just around the corner though. We lost by 10 goals to UQ a few weeks back (almost level with them at quarter time) so judging by that, if they beat Caloundra by 4 goals then with the ins we might have in a fortnight's time we should be highly competitive against them.

Our goal kicking did let us down on the weekend. If we had have kicked 13.8 rather than 8.13, it could have been a completely different story.

There is no way I am saying who the guy is who throws cheap shots from Caloundra. Everyone knows who he is anyway.

Mark my words, we will have a few wins on our belts by the end of the season!
GO BEARS. PREMIERS 2011!

time will tell... the only certainty at the moment is that one of the top 5 will be there holding the cup, no one could predict who at this stage, weather, injuries on the day will all play a part, interesting times ahead. yeronga could be the bogey card, they might start knocking off some teams above them and this will sort out the top 5 order... agree good to see some genuine footy banter on here...

We'll beat you guys next time we meet. So put us down as your bogey card. Full strength we're easily 10 goals better than when we met you last.

mate, come on, now you're just being silly. we were horrible against you guys last time and we beat you by 70 points! whats that saying again, a crap team brings you down to their standard? something like that?

we havn't lost at home this year and you reckon the side that will beat us at home is the side that have not won this year and will probably go through the season without a win... wow, you really are delusional pal. a very silly young man you are bear.

you're logic in regard to how you much up well against caloundra makes me sick... they will flog you by...... A LOT!

get a grip.

mate, come on, now you're just being silly. we were horrible against you guys last time and we beat you by 70 points! whats that saying again, a crap team brings you down to their standard? something like that?

we havn't lost at home this year and you reckon the side that will beat us at home is the side that have not won this year and will probably go through the season without a win... wow, you really are delusional pal. a very silly young man you are bear.

you're logic in regard to how you much up well against caloundra makes me sick... they will flog you by...... A LOT!

get a grip.

We'll see. WE'LL SEE!!!

get a grip.

We beat you twice last year. Do you remember that or have you blocked out missing the finals with over 100 players to select from?:club:

Yes, but you lost by 12 goals last time. So you're saying that even at full strength, you'll still lose to us.

Finally Bear_in_there has gotten back in touch with reality!

Geez the looneys have come out of the woodwork today! I've never seen a guy cop it so badly just for backing his team with all his might! What's wrong with being a bit one eyed. I could just sit here and say, "man, my club is going crap, the players are generally useless and don't really know basic football skills, the coach is an idiot and appears to have been released from some kind of asylum, the committee couldn't organise a root in a brothel, our clubrooms are crap etc etc? Would you rather I did that?