Aflq state league div 2

the announcement was on the aflq website, nothing to do with aspley. i believe both forbes and walker are playing with sandgate this year.

ok guys who will play in Gf and win this year my tip Noosa V Sandgate = Noosa to be premiers.

just in case you didn't see it in the other thread

FORBES ON THE MOVE?
Thursday 4 March 2010

Aspley have another fight on their hands to retain a key player with ruckman Brendan Forbes keen to join Sandgate in the Pineapple Hotel Cup competition.

A former State Under 21 representative who won Queensland’s best player against the VAFA in Melbourne three seasons ago, Forbes gave the Hornets great drive in the ruck and up forward when fit last season.

The quality big man has been beset by injury, hamstring problems in particular, since making his debut with the Zillmere Eagles in 2007.

Having already lost the impressive David Hill to Mt Gravatt, the Hornets can ill afford to lose another talented big body.

Rugged defender Jake Panaho, who played senior QAFL football and 16 and has hardly missed a game in two years with Zillmere and Aspley, is also looking at a move to Second Division with Noosa.

Panaho has commuted from the Sunshine Coast for the past two seasons.

rain periods are forecasted for the weekend i wonder if some games will be cancelled

just in case you didn't see it in the other thread

FORBES ON THE MOVE?
Thursday 4 March 2010

Aspley have another fight on their hands to retain a key player with ruckman Brendan Forbes keen to join Sandgate in the Pineapple Hotel Cup competition.

A former State Under 21 representative who won Queensland’s best player against the VAFA in Melbourne three seasons ago, Forbes gave the Hornets great drive in the ruck and up forward when fit last season.

The quality big man has been beset by injury, hamstring problems in particular, since making his debut with the Zillmere Eagles in 2007.

Having already lost the impressive David Hill to Mt Gravatt, the Hornets can ill afford to lose another talented big body.

Rugged defender Jake Panaho, who played senior QAFL football and 16 and has hardly missed a game in two years with Zillmere and Aspley, is also looking at a move to Second Division with Noosa.

Panaho has commuted from the Sunshine Coast for the past two seasons.

It's actually Todd Panaho that has gone to Noosa Jake is playing at Mt Gravatt

i would say all games have been called off

As sent by Doug Hale yesterday:
Hi All

Please be advised that all Practice matches scheduled for Fri 5th March and
Sat 6th March are cancelled, in the interest of ground preservation a lot of
clubs have closed their grounds, ground inspections have taken place on
others weather forecasts have stated there is more rain coming on Friday and
Saturday. . Another practice match schedule will be done and sent out next
week please check it as you may be at a different venue.

DOUG HALE.COMMUNITY COMPETITIONS OFFICER

AFL Queensland
Giffin Park, Birubi Street, Coorparoo QLD 4151

PO Box 1211 COORPAROO DC QLD 4151

not surprised games were called off, not a bad call considering the conditions

my ladder
1. Noosa
2. Sandgate
3. PBC
4.Maroochy
5.Burliegh
6 Mayne
7.Springwood
8.Grange
9.Surfers
10Coolangatta

burleigh gains newson [wagga] page[tassie],Mackay[broadbeach],Hone,Saladino[bendigo]
coolangatta Greeney[nth football league],Mcgill[frankston],Sanderson,Hamilton[sorrento],Evans[williamstown],Gallaager[grovedale]
Surfers Armstrong,Burn[labrador] they lost McEntee injured

Losing Cash and ROry Molan might hurt them. I hope they make finals but, better them than a coast side!

Cash is a massive loss. Sensational player. David Bird, their B&F from 09 also gone. Lewison (ex VFL and Zillmere) back to Melbourne and Pavone also out. Simon Brown may have a year off after that injury last year, and is a good CHF. Thatcher may have moved away too.

Given those losses, I think Grange would be looking to roll along without too much attention.

Sandgate look to be the Brisbane based side to challenge Noosa and Palmy.

i think Mayne and Sandgate will be the brisbane sides that will imrove considerably
hope you are right in regards to Mayne, hope for a tightly fought :footy: comp

i think Mayne and Sandgate will be the brisbane sides that will imrove considerably

Still trying to find out why Mayne will be improvers? The only player they have added is Luke Faulkner and a few ex players returning (according to Tiger G). What else is going to add to their side to see them improve? An injury to either Housego or Brown and they are 7 goal worse side. Is there some secret recruitment know one knows about? Have they got any good 18's with Raiders? Intruiging...

geez if you read my posts i sure mentioned somewhere that they had a core of youth through the 18's who had valuable run in the seniors over the past 3 or 4 years and have stuck with the club and have become quality players. you don't always have get big name recruits to get ahead.
mayne improved considrably last yaer and they will improve a little moe this year. they are capable of doing anything if things go right for them. they beat the premiers palm beach last year away from home down the coast thats what they are capable of doing.
i never claimed they will be world beaters i don't think i predicted to make the finals but i think they will improve by finishing a little higher than last year

Cash is a massive loss. Sensational player. David Bird, their B&F from 09 also gone. Lewison (ex VFL and Zillmere) back to Melbourne and Pavone also out. Simon Brown may have a year off after that injury last year, and is a good CHF. Thatcher may have moved away too.

Given those losses, I think Grange would be looking to roll along without too much attention.

Sandgate look to be the Brisbane based side to challenge Noosa and Palmy.

I heard from a very good source that Cash was no longer welcome - dropped to reserves last 3 games and didn't show up for last 2 - something about being not a team player and as much trouble for the coaching staff as he was worth on the field???

I also thought Rogers the coach won the B&F - that was on there web page anyway.

as far as Mayne goes...grange flogged them in the last game so would have to be a big turnaround in players I reckon!