Women's Footy AFLW season 2023 - Season 8

I was understandbly, upset that the umpire, in the third quarter was blind sided by who knows what, when the Sydney player sprinted a good 45 metres, almost with ball tucked under her arm, with a charge into the forward line.Oh, that is without a bounce.

Very impressive by the umpire. Some very ordinary decisions made all day.

What's the story with Roxy? Injured, Out of Form?
She just isn't very good, burst onto the scene but not much since, not really tall enough to be a tall forward, needs to be aines height

She has gone the failed key forward route and moved to defense, been alright there I reckon, still got to learn the role

She just isn't very good, burst onto the scene but not much since, not really tall enough to be a tall forward, needs to be aines height

She has gone the failed key forward route and moved to defense, been alright there I reckon, still got to learn the role
Well, bursting onto the scene the way she did suggests she is very good (should she string it all together that is).

I think she loses her way playing the dual role of ruck-forward, without having the grounding to develop her craft in either. The styles of game she needs to bring to both roles requires heaps of craft to be sustainable.

Going down back simplifies it for her to get to a serviceable level, allowing her to further her development by watching the game unfold from the halfback line.

Can also maybe help put less stress on her body and make full use of the extended off-season to go down the development path of an intercepting half-back in the mold of Jeremy Howe.

Well, bursting onto the scene the way she did suggests she is very good (should she string it all together that is).
Quality of the league has gone up compared to back then and most of her good games were against the new teams

Her breakout was that west coast Derby, against a shocking defense

She's not terrible (maybe not very good was harsh) but is just an average player

Quality of the league has gone up compared to back then and most of her good games were against the new teams

Her breakout was that west coast Derby, against a shocking defense

She's not terrible (maybe not very good was harsh) but is just an average player
The tools she wielded then, explosive leap and high marking, would be just as effective now. She's showing glimpses of that, but she isn't quite stringing them all together, which can be a confidence thing where her mind isn't as clear as it could be.

Her development hasn't been linear, which isn't unusual, particularly for that volatile skillset. But she's been hampered by injury and as mentioned doing those roles as she has been is a bit like trying to learn triganometry out on the highwire.

I cut a long story really short but yeah, that main point is she apparently doesn't want to come
Needs to be an ongoing campaign. Wear that resistance down.

Maybe in the process, regardless of the outcome, we could get precise info as to what's exactly holding her there.

Re Roxie, far too short to be a second ruck.I am not sure who runs as the second ruck to Mim.
I notice the club web site has Roxie as a mid, not ruck forward.
I think injury has slowed her progress down.
I think the entire squad looks small compared to many of the opposition teams>
I am impressed by Mim Strom. She is developing nicely , but again is not a big ruck compared to many others she competes against.
I thought her ruck work was impressive on Sunday. Like many of the girls, needs to mark the ball more often.

Re Roxie, far too short to be a second ruck.I am not sure who runs as the second ruck to Mim.
I notice the club web site has Roxie as a mid, not ruck forward.
I think injury has slowed her progress down.
I think the entire squad looks small compared to many of the opposition teams>
I am impressed by Mim Strom. She is developing nicely , but again is not a big ruck compared to many others she competes against.
I thought her ruck work was impressive on Sunday. Like many of the girls, needs to mark the ball more often.
Wielsta takes the second ruck

She probably needs more development time. It's just in women's footy players are expected to be ready to straight away, it seems sometimes. She isn't strong enough for the role she is playing.

I think she is out of the contest immediately and I'd enjoy playing defense against her because she is a bit of body contact away from fumbling a marking attempt and then offering nothing at ground level, especially if the ball has bounced out of about a thirty degree angle right in front of her.

She probably needs more development time. It's just in women's footy players are expected to be ready to straight away, it seems sometimes. She isn't strong enough for the role she is playing.
She's 28 years old. Don't know whether she's got enough time to overcome that complete absence of a competitive edge. You need grit to develop at the highest competition and, psychologically, it seems to be too limp.

It's a near constant that she'll turn a potential 75-25 contest in her favour into a 45-55 towards the opponent from just being prepared to get shunted out of the way or approaching it with a tentativeness bordering on apologetic. It must be demoralising to the team to have those contests just given up in that fashion time and again.

She's 28 years old. Don't know whether she's got enough time to overcome that complete absence of a competitive edge. You need grit to develop at the highest competition and, psychologically, it seems to be too limp.

It's a near constant that she'll turn a potential 75-25 contest in her favour into a 45-55 towards the opponent from just being prepared to get shunted out of the way or approaching it with a tentativeness bordering on apologetic. It must be demoralising to the team to have those contests just given up in that fashion time and again.
Didn't realise she was that age bracket.

Nope, she's not going to make it :(

Ok. I didn't know that was how old she is. She is too soft for AFL level if that's the case. She has at least tried to bring the ball to ground in the last couple of weeks. Clearly if something else becomes available we should go down that path. Might be hard though at pick 210.

Interestingly Fremantle did recruit a 185cm pure tap ruck by the name of Emmelie Fiedler this year, who whether injured or "not ready" is surely a better answer than either Wiesltra or Roux as a ruck moving forward. If she was not injured (and didn't appear on any team injury lists this year) she would have been a better second ruck option than any of the games that Wielstra played.

Of greater concern was the desire by the coaching staff to continue to play the older Cregg, Wielstra and Mulholland in front of our younger team members when it was blatantly clear we would not be competing in finals this year. Had many opportunities to "play the kids" and just didn't. Tuks (dropped twice), Stribley (0 games), Nield (0 games), Muller (had to wait until round 7, only injury getting her in the team) and Gibbs had to wait until Round 8 while we persisted with Wielstra.

Rant over!!

I think she loses her way playing the dual role of ruck-forward, without having the grounding to develop her craft in either. The styles of game she needs to bring to both roles requires heaps of craft to be sustainable.
What about matchmaking Roxy and the Unicorn as training buddies?

I tend to think she'd be better off simplifying her role and building her confidence and game by focusing on developing as an interceptor half-back to be honest. Luke Ryan would be the candidate for that if you were going to do it that way. And analyse plenty of tape of Jeremy Howe.

Women's Footy AFLW season 2023 - Season 8