Alan Didak

Worst stat in the game. Lacks any context and doesn't distinguish between a sideways kick in defence and a high risk pass inside 50.

Hence why defenders dominate the stat whilst creative midfielders lag behind.

Yet when it comes to Swan, you Carlton flogs are quick to point out disposal efficiency.

So it means nothing when it comes to discussing Didak, but it is the gospel when it comes to Swan.

Make up your minds.

Yet when it comes to Swan, you Carlton flogs are quick to point out disposal efficiency.

So it means nothing when it comes to discussing Didak, but it is the gospel when it comes to Swan.

Make up your minds.

Not gonna waste my time as arguing with you is akin to arguing with a brick wall. Blatant hypocrisy given your comments on Judd.

All I will say is I try to use my eyes to judge a player's disposal and only a moron would claim that Swan is anywhere near as good by foot as Didak.

You will find St Kilda pride themselves on tackling pressure and being hard at the ball.

Didak would be languishing in the twos at St Kilda, being put there to work on his tackling etc, a la NDS last year.

Anyway, who would he displace?

That's genuinely funny.

Is fast becoming one of the comps most dangerous midfielders. He has at least 3-4 best ons in the second half of the year. Clearly won the game for the pies last night.

Supporters of other teams will always try and find something he isn't perfect at to try and bring him down... if he fakes for a fifty once a match im pretty sure im gonna take that with his 2 goals and 4 goal assists.

A gun and his best footy is ahead of him, so if ya dont like him i suggest you dont watch collingwood games as he will feature prominently.

Haha, yeah lets judge it on that, one random Swan's supporter who has Swan 35th and Chris Tarrant 41st :thumbsu: Had Darren Jolly featuring at 27 as well which was worth a laugh.
Geez, what list did you read? I had Swan 5th last week and I will have him 4th after this round. Tarrant isn't even on my list. Jolly is probably an AA ruckman at this stage.

In regards to the Watson v Didak debate, this season it's Watson because he has performed in more games and hasn't missed as many games as Didak.
I'd still pick Didak out of the two because he has been a top line player since 2006. I haven't rated Watson until this season. Not fussed whether I call him elite or just an extremely talented footballer but Didak seems like the kind of player that needs good players around him to play well. Similar to Kerr. You could say they are elite but at times they can look ordinary.

Geez, what list did you read? I had Swan 5th last week and I will have him 4th after this round. Tarrant isn't even on my list. Jolly is probably an AA ruckman at this stage.

In regards to the Watson v Didak debate, this season it's Watson because he has performed in more games and hasn't missed as many games as Didak.
I'd still pick Didak out of the two because he has been a top line player since 2006. I haven't rated Watson until this season. Not fussed whether I call him elite or just an extremely talented footballer but Didak seems like the kind of player that needs good players around him to play well. Similar to Kerr. You could say they are elite but at times they can look ordinary.

A little hint, there are 8 games a week and after each game we get a new AA ruckman.

You are obviously only saying tis to perpetuate the argument, which is your real attraction to anything football. The argument.
Every thread I see you post in is the same.

Your right though.:confused:

You are obviously only saying tis to perpetuate the argument, which is your real attraction to anything football. The argument.
Every thread I see you post in is the same.

Your right though.:confused:
Perpetuate? I have been in Melbourne all weekend and when I got back tonight I read through and found someone quoted my top 50 list and then some random had a go at it. I'll defend my selection that Watson is above Didak.

Not gonna waste my time as arguing with you is akin to arguing with a brick wall. Blatant hypocrisy given your comments on Judd.

All I will say is I try to use my eyes to judge a player's disposal and only a moron would claim that Swan is anywhere near as good by foot as Didak.

Spot on. Didak is much much beter by foot, and hurts sides with his kicking.

Where Swan is better, I think, is in his ability to win some crucial ball in a situation that can sometimes, if it goes the wrong way, can result in an opposition goal.

I hope that made sense.

You will find St Kilda pride themselves on tackling pressure and being hard at the ball.

Didak would be languishing in the twos at St Kilda, being put there to work on his tackling etc, a la NDS last year.

This was lol worthy I have to say.

Didak would be in ANY team's starting 22. And in almost any teams top 10.

He might as well work on his tapwork and improve himself as a ruckman while hes down there so there aren't any other risks of getting dropped again :rolleyes:

Perpetuate? I have been in Melbourne all weekend and when I got back tonight I read through and found someone quoted my top 50 list and then some random had a go at it. I'll defend my selection that Watson is above Didak.

With?

Consistency. At his best Didak is better but we haven't seen enough of it to warrant him being considered better than most of the midfielders who perform nearly every week. Different game styles so it's hard to compare but I don't think disposal efficiency is the best stat to use. Watson is an extractor and is under severe pressue when he gets it so sometimes it's just a blind kick forward to gain ground. Didak is an outside player and often has more time to execute his extremely good kicking skills. Injury and struggling with the tag for a couple of weeks is all that stops him having a better season than Watson. I guess the fact that Didak has had more BOG's could sway the argument towards him but Watson always seems to have an influence and should win the Bombers B & F. Didak might not even finish top 5, with Swan, Pendlebury, Davis, O'Brien and Presti having more consistent seasons.

Has anyone seen the Real Footy website today? If not go and have a look! Alan Didak did not register a vote for rnd19 in their player of the year award! Shane O'Bree got 7 votes ahead of him! Unbelieveable! He was clearly BOG! They also run a poll for player of the round and they have Andrew Mcleod as an option ahead of Didak! Are they bloody serious!? How can you not credit his performance! What a disgrace!!!

Now... 'Didak004', have you considered that maybe you are... a little biased?

Not to mention Obree was one of our worst and his position should be under pressure against Richmond.

See how many votes he gets if you guys get to play the Saints again.
Bookmark this if you like.

Even if Didak WASN'T BOG (which he was), then he was easily in the top 3 with Wood and Harry O. Or Swan.

I don't know what the hell the Age are thinking wit those votes. McLeod nominated for player of the round? Really? He had 31 touches and I barely noticed him. I noticed Stevens, Goodwin and Van Berlo more than him.

Not to mention HIS TEAM LOST BY 4 GOALS. A Collingwood player should have been there by default.

Consistency. At his best Didak is better but we haven't seen enough of it to warrant him being considered better than most of the midfielders who perform nearly every week.
Outside his injury period I'd say Didak has been reasonably consistent...minimal genuinely bad games, I'd say there has been one that has been poor, possibly two if you have very high standards.

I'd say Didak has taken up a linking role around the ground that requires plenty of gut running....as a result he may occasionally have games where he is similar to Swan in that he is used a lot in the chain of play, but not as much in the finished product. From memory I think this happened against Carlton. He got 25-30 touches, but you didn't notice him as much.

Different game styles so it's hard to compare but I don't think disposal efficiency is the best stat to use. Watson is an extractor and is under severe pressue when he gets it so sometimes it's just a blind kick forward to gain ground.
Yeh, you're right there, but a case can be made either way really. Didak kicks the ball more than any other player in the competition really. Handballing is something that often increased disposal efficiency because generally a handpass hits the target more than a kick. For someone getting 25ish kicks in a lot of games, I'd expect their DE to be 60-70%, sometimes less, especially considering Didak is so inventive with his kicking and takes plenty of risks.

Disposal efficiency is a terrible stat to use in this case though, you're right in saying that. The Bomber fan who was pulling it out before just embarrased himself in the process basically.

Didak is an outside player and often has more time to execute his extremely good kicking skills. Injury and struggling with the tag for a couple of weeks is all that stops him having a better season than Watson. I guess the fact that Didak has had more BOG's could sway the argument towards him but Watson always seems to have an influence and should win the Bombers B & F. Didak might not even finish top 5, with Swan, Pendlebury, Davis, O'Brien and Presti having more consistent seasons.
That's a fair summary, especially since I think the Copeland Trophy rewards consistent performers rather than the most BOG performances.

If we're going over the entire course of the season, Watson may have the edge when it comes to influence imo.

If we're just talking influence in games played and ignoring ones missed, I give it to Didak.

I am bias, but even so even a Collingwood and Didak hater (everyone) would agree theat he was top 2 BOG, if not outright best! The Age is a pitiful paper so you have to expect this from them!

And we will see when we play the Saints mate, in the GF!

Alan Didak