Wonder what the odds are Dimma is the coach next year if Clarko packs it in
When you see odds like that, you have to throw a lazy tenner on it just because anything's possible. But yeah nah, I'll pass, plenty of things I can spend the tenner on rather than piss it away.69 billion to one.
Interesting read, thanks - sadly it will all be about marketing now. Who puts up the best argument and how they sell it in the media. The 'yes' is all about trust me at the moment whereby the 'no' has plenty of questions to put doubts in swingers minds. I don't think it will get up tbh. The 'no' will continue to argue that their questions about the reach of the legislation have not been explained. Their marketing is winning I think. Me? Voting yes at this stage, with some doubts. If this doesn't get up I don't know where we go from here.Yeah look, I think the Voice is bullshit myself. I'm in 1 per cent of the population who can read pretty much any government doc and tell you what it means and I couldn't give you a one line answer on what the Voice does, in practical terms.
The states are where sovereignty actually resides (as COVID reminded us lol) and unless Ben and Lidia manage the full overthrow of the colonial edifice, its where the best change comes, as in actual transfer of sovereignty to First Peoples.
In Victoria we have the First People's Assembly having conducted elections and now set to negotiate Treaty, we have Yoo-Rook. Victoria also runs justice, health and education, which are the arms of govt that have the most impact over people's lives.
So here you could have a transfer of sovereignty in justice where mob run youth justice facilities, or care facilities, to keep indigenous kids out of adult jail. Pretty much every experience her and overseas shows us this approach works.
You could expand the healthcare provisions through the VACCHOs of the world to haver mob run hospitals in places like Bairnsdale and Warrnambool.
These places wouldn't be blak only, but just an acknowledgement that white run facilities aren't culturally safe for indigenous people.
Personally I think pretty quickly you'd find Sudanese and Islander families, then white families, wanting their kids to go through the indigenous youth justice programs.
You'd find white people finding the indigenous approach to lots of healthcare is far preferable. And that's where real change comes. White people sending Nanna off to be cared for on Country as she dies.
The Voice does none of that is not needed for any of that to happen. As Abbatengelo says, its a way for BHP to blakwash their continuing profit off digging up Country.
I'll vote YES purely because those on the side of NO are reprehensible. But I don't think sovereignty resides in Canberra, especially not for the issues that indigenous people want addressed, and are literally killing community and Country.
But I also think Abbatengelo exploited Amy and the other Hawthorn families in his "advice". I think his advice was about furthering his political goals, not their welfare.
Lidia and Abbatengelo increasingly posture as if they are wat war with the colonial state. I've met lots of folks who did go to the war with the colonial state in Ireland, and unless you're opening up on the coppers with an Armalite, you're bullshitting yourself.
But even through they're not doing that, their stance can still create casualties and victims. Just like guerillas planting bombs in shopping centres and rationalising the innocent casualties as "worth it" for the cause, I reckon Abbatengelo rationalised the real world fall out of what he did ... to all involved, including Amy and Clarko ... as worth it to advance his cause.
This is the easiest way to explain it. all it does is not allow any government to dismantle it through legislation. Its enshrined in the constitution.Yeah look, I think the Voice is bullshit myself. I'm in 1 per cent of the population who can read pretty much any government doc and tell you what it means and I couldn't give you a one line answer on what the Voice does, in practical terms.
The states are where sovereignty actually resides (as COVID reminded us lol) and unless Ben and Lidia manage the full overthrow of the colonial edifice, its where the best change comes, as in actual transfer of sovereignty to First Peoples.
In Victoria we have the First People's Assembly having conducted elections and now set to negotiate Treaty, we have Yoo-Rook. Victoria also runs justice, health and education, which are the arms of govt that have the most impact over people's lives.
So here you could have a transfer of sovereignty in justice where mob run youth justice facilities, or care facilities, to keep indigenous kids out of adult jail. Pretty much every experience her and overseas shows us this approach works.
You could expand the healthcare provisions through the VACCHOs of the world to haver mob run hospitals in places like Bairnsdale and Warrnambool.
These places wouldn't be blak only, but just an acknowledgement that white run facilities aren't culturally safe for indigenous people.
Personally I think pretty quickly you'd find Sudanese and Islander families, then white families, wanting their kids to go through the indigenous youth justice programs.
You'd find white people finding the indigenous approach to lots of healthcare is far preferable. And that's where real change comes. White people sending Nanna off to be cared for on Country as she dies.
The Voice does none of that is not needed for any of that to happen. As Abbatengelo says, its a way for BHP to blakwash their continuing profit off digging up Country.
I'll vote YES purely because those on the side of NO are reprehensible. But I don't think sovereignty resides in Canberra, especially not for the issues that indigenous people want addressed, and are literally killing community and Country.
But I also think Abbatengelo exploited Amy and the other Hawthorn families in his "advice". I think his advice was about furthering his political goals, not their welfare.
Lidia and Abbatengelo increasingly posture as if they are wat war with the colonial state. I've met lots of folks who did go to the war with the colonial state in Ireland, and unless you're opening up on the coppers with an Armalite, you're bullshitting yourself.
But even through they're not doing that, their stance can still create casualties and victims. Just like guerillas planting bombs in shopping centres and rationalising the innocent casualties as "worth it" for the cause, I reckon Abbatengelo rationalised the real world fall out of what he did ... to all involved, including Amy and Clarko ... as worth it to advance his cause.
Yeah i agree with alot of this.Yeah look, I think the Voice is bullshit myself. I'm in 1 per cent of the population who can read pretty much any government doc and tell you what it means and I couldn't give you a one line answer on what the Voice does, in practical terms.
Just on the healthcare side, this organisation has one of the most awarded systems in the world:Yeah look, I think the Voice is bullshit myself. I'm in 1 per cent of the population who can read pretty much any government doc and tell you what it means and I couldn't give you a one line answer on what the Voice does, in practical terms.
That's some odd reasoning to decide how you vote on something.I'll vote YES purely because those on the side of NO are reprehensible.
I hope Clarko’s in a better headspace and that he’s enjoying the glimpses of North’s future.
(Take the Voice chat to the Random Thoughts thread, cheers)
Moot sadly because they will all be dead by the time any ship with adequate salvage facilities arrives.More odds of that submersible being found
This is the easiest way to explain it. all it does is not allow any government to dismantle it through legislation. Its enshrined in the constitution.
Also people that suggest this discussion is not relevant in this thread are cooked. It is relevant.
Das Moot was a quality film.Moot sadly because they will all be dead by the time any ship with adequate salvage facilities arrives.
Thought the same.Wonder what the odds are Dimma is the coach next year if Clarko packs it in
Is that something German law students do?Das Moot was a quality film.
Surprised to see Dimma wasn't on it tweeting!More odds of that submersible being found
Agree! Less Voice discussion and more Spandau Ballet lyrics please.I hope Clarko’s in a better headspace and that he’s enjoying the glimpses of North’s future.
(Take the Voice chat to the Random Thoughts thread, cheers)
Its a pretty normal way of voting, ill vote one way because this way is less worseOh well, I guess this is just the voice vote thread, then?
That's some odd reasoning to decide how you vote on something.
Yeah i agree with alot of this.
I do know indigenous people who are probably only a step or two from going "* it" and shooting at the cops tho, they've been like that for a long time.
The problem with that attitude is that you see everything in the worst light and escalate situations. Its what the other side does too. i get that frustration that leads there tho as well.
I know of older aboriginal people now and some that have changed. Tthe older guys value peace more than most things, possibly because their communities loose alot of young people but also cos its better to raise kids in peace. They have better lives.
i dunno what Abbatangelo's motive's are but its easy to see the world thru a warped lens when trouble's all you're looking for.
Oh, absolutely it fits a clarko thread, i agree with a few here that its pointless bullshit (and much more practical, directed, state based idea would be infinitely more effective) and clarko threads are historically 98% discussion of pointless bullshit.
Interesting read, thanks - sadly it will all be about marketing now. Who puts up the best argument and how they sell it in the media. The 'yes' is all about trust me at the moment whereby the 'no' has plenty of questions to put doubts in swingers minds. I don't think it will get up tbh. The 'no' will continue to argue that their questions about the reach of the legislation have not been explained. Their marketing is winning I think. Me? Voting yes at this stage, with some doubts. If this doesn't get up I don't know where we go from here.
I see what you did there.Das Moot was a quality film.
German Cinema loves a sequelDas Moot was a quality film.
Marketing plays a role, but it'll fall for more basic reasons.
- Referendums rarely get up as is
- Australia is a deeply racist society when it comes to indigenous issues (and that goes well beyond "traditional" white Pauline Hanson style racism
- Albanese is an idiot for putting up a first term referendum on such an important and divisive issue
- A referendum after 18 months of interest rate rises into a sour and unhappy electorate is easi;ly reframed as a "push this button to tell those bloody pollies and do gooders you're pissed off" a la Brexit