Coach Alastair Clarkson - NMFC Senior Coach - Coaching & Football Discussion

No doubt signed off on Brady's trade tonight.

Going to be a very interesting situation at the end of next year how much pressure he comes under if we win less than 6 games

If we didn't make the trade, do people think if we win 6 or less games, the place is going to be sunshine's and rainbows?

If we have a similar year, irrespective of the trade, a few heads would roll in the footy dept regardless, we also have a group of players probably wanting out even in contract.

I get people being critical of the trade, I get people being critical of the footy dept and Brady.

What I don't get is, that the alternative is that we just accept we're bottom 5 team again, and we just draft another mid.

If we didn't make the trade, do people think if we win 6 or less games, the place is going to be sunshine's and rainbows?

If we have a similar year, irrespective of the trade, a few heads would roll in the footy dept regardless, we also have a group of players probably wanting out even in contract.

I get people being critical of the trade, I get people being critical of the footy dept and Brady.

What I don't get is, that the alternative is that we just accept we're bottom 5 team again, and we just draft another mid.

Then is the decision being made for the right reasons if the people making these decisions are that close to the ledge?

That is why we have the board of the football club.

Matt Whitlock will not move the needle one bit for 2025, so everything you have suggested might still occur as you are relying solely on an improvement because of attitude and mindset?

Win less than 8 games, he should be gone.

No excuses anymore.

Has actively gone and procured three experienced leaders and has another preseason to embed some semblance of a game plan.

If he’s as good as advertised, then it should be a walk in the park.

Or maybe, he’s just cooked.

Then is the decision being made for the right reasons if the people making these decisions are that close to the ledge?

Matt Whitlock will not move the needle one bit for 2025, so everything you have suggested might still occur as you are relying solely on an improvement because of attitude and mindset?
The players might be better from being around Matt and his beautiful smile.

For the W/L brigade, what would you rather in a 23 game season:

1. 8 wins by 10 points and 15 losses by 100; or

2. 3 wins by 5 points and 20 losses by 1 point?

I would rather the second. To me option 1 would not show any improvement.

I’d love us to win heaps but we are just not at a W/L pass mark stage. We should be on 2026.

Essendon, Richmond and WC are also like that.

Adelaide, GC, Port and Fremantle should all be looking at W/L.

I’d love us to win heaps but we are just not at a W/L pass mark stage. We should be on 2026.

Thankfully there are infinite more options than just the 2 you picked out.

That is called illustrating a point.

What would you prefer though?

What's the point you're trying to illustrate? The second one probably seems better from a competitiveness point of view but would also likely destroy morale and result in us giving away a top two pick.

Wins are the only thing that matters.

The optics of those wins run a distant second.

I won’t be able to deal with any more big losses. Those days HAVE to be over.

We have enough talent, enough maturity, enough experience and enough depth now to be competitive in EVERY game.

Mate I don’t think I can deal with any more losses no matter the size. If we don’t win every single game next season I’m gonna lose my shit!

They're not relying on him one bit and yes, they are assuming we will improve significantly next year.

Just IMO.

Edit: BTW, what makes you think the board aren't the ones fully endorsing this, if not driving it? They might not be on the ledge in the same way, doesn't mean they aren't a big factor in seeing we need to break out of this slump.

Every club has big losses nowadays. Rule changes in particular have locked this in. Sydney got taken apart this year and made the Grand Final (where the same thing happened), Brisbane were being questioned 6 weeks in.

I think anyone pinning their happiness on avoiding a hypothetical 45+ loss is asking to be disappointed. To be blunt, if we win 10+ games I will barely care about the figure in any loss.

Mate I don’t think I can deal with any more losses no matter the size. If we don’t win every single game next season I’m gonna lose my shit!

This is an attitude I can get behind. :thumbsu:

Every club has big losses nowadays. Rule changes in particular have locked this in. Sydney got taken apart this year and made the Grand Final (where the same thing happened), Brisbane were being questioned 6 weeks in.

I think anyone pinning their happiness on avoiding a hypothetical 45+ loss is asking to be disappointed. To be blunt, if we win 10+ games I will barely care about the figure in any loss.

This is an attitude I can get behind. :thumbsu:
The more games you win, the less ****s you give about the losses and their margins.

Right? Imagine winning like 10 games in 5 years, knocking up 12 wins in 2025 and watching repeats of Donnie Darko and the Virgin Suicides because 2 of them were by 50 points. **** me, bring it on. I'm ready for 2025 now, first time in years that I'm genuinely pumped to see what we can deliver beyond promise.

It’s what happens when you start to take ‘wins’ out of only losing close games.

You takes your eyes off the fact that winning is all that matters.

It’s what happens when you start to take ‘wins’ out of only losing close games.

You takes your eyes off the fact that winning is all that matters.
Absolutely. Losing by a lot matters when you're lining up between 4th & 2nd on the ladder and hey if that happens next year and one big loss is the difference I'll be as cut as anyone. At the moment though, all that matters is wins, more wins and then a few extra on top.

Coach Alastair Clarkson - NMFC Senior Coach - Coaching & Football Discussion