Alberton Footy League - 2016

has anyone heard how toora are going? ive been told that they might not be able to field a reserves team. it seems every year it gets harder for the magpies. DWWWWT???

I hope that will never happen and I am sure that Crash, Rusty, Jock, Hursty, Dan and the rest of the boys will do their best to keep it together. Robbo could be in for a tough year this year but you have to start somewhere.

It might be a while since you have sung the song boys but you will never forget the words.

They tell me Big useless Quaiffy singed at bass during the week. Has 6 weeks to get fit or he will retire. **** me what a joke, he is dreaming chasing a flag at his age an shape. Give it up fella, your done an dusted. How many different clubs will that be now over the years??? What a joke!!

Is that the same quaiffy that played at Lang Lang years ago?

9 clubs that I can think of, and he had 2 stints at a couple of them.

Anyone no of any practice match results from the weekend

Nyora played Tarwin, scoreboard said we won by a point in the seniors, very close low scoring game, they didnt have Cann or Russell playing.

Korumburra/Bena played Catani at Nyora. I heard Burra was flogging them but catani kicked 8 goals to 1 in the last quarter making it close.

How did bass go? Big Quaife get a kick??

Nice Leo have nyora recruited well they were pretty average against us last year.Bass play a Melbourne side 6 quarter game at bass only a few points in it.Quaife played didn't do to much

We have picked up about 6 and a few back who didnt play last year, were still missing a few yesterday. We Should be ok this year. We won the twos by about 5 goals but had 2 our of best senior players playing who dominated, would have been fairly even without them. Both were 3 quarter games.

Under 18's we won by about 10-12 goals, our 18s will be middle of the ladder so i think they will really struggle.

"A melbourne side" Any more details than that??

They were pretty handy city comps must be pretty good

Ammos had 7 grades, it goes Premier A, B, C then division 1,2,3,4. So they would be in the middle. Its normally a fairly even comp and often teams will go up or down 2 divisions in 2 years so there isnt a lot between the middle divisions. MHSOB are normally in higher grades, must have gone down last year.

Anyone no of any practice match results from the weekend

We (Heyfield) played Yarram on the weekend, we had a few missing and Yarram had a few key players missing, we flogged them in the twos and we won the seniors by about seven or eight goals (over three quarters).

Yarram were quite a big side with a couple of bigger midfielders who moved really well, we probably caught them out with our pace and ball movement a bit (kicked three or four goals from end to end) but when it got into a contested situation with their bigger bodies they were alot more comfortable.

I know Yarram flogged City the week before but from all reports (City have had a bad pre season and they only had 7-10 seniors playing)

We (Heyfield) played Yarram on the weekend, we had a few missing and Yarram had a few key players missing, we flogged them in the twos and we won the seniors by about seven or eight goals (over three quarters).

Yarram were quite a big side with a couple of bigger midfielders who moved really well, we probably caught them out with our pace and ball movement a bit (kicked three or four goals from end to end) but when it got into a contested situation with their bigger bodies they were alot more comfortable.

I know Yarram flogged City the week before but from all reports (City have had a bad pre season and they only had 7-10 seniors playing)

Who were Yarrams better players Nugget and what did the side do well? Staley up fwd is a big signing, how did he perform?

Staley was quiet but he didn't get much oppurtunity as I said our speed was a bit of a worry for them and we did force them wide.

One of the Lynch boys was pretty good, moved well up forward and on ball. They had a couple of smaller players who took the game on, names evade me though maybe number 20?? Maybe a rendell?? One of their thirds kids did really well litlle left footer who played in the senior game, he might have been a Davis. Their was also a player in the middle bigger type who was good in tight, red headed bloke (not Clint Staley). I dont really know them too well though.

With Pavey their and what I saw it seems they will be the type of side who will be hard at it in the contest and rely on winning contested ball, their midfield was big who looked to get it long to Staley but they also tried to release some of the runners, who tried to hit up tagerts (mainly short, I thought they played a bit wide but we did zone up well)

As I said coming from a different league I don't know Yarram well but they had a few good players missing that have played in the past against us (Bruns, Petit, Rash, Jarryd Swift).

Hope that helps!!

How much do u think toora is playing vinnie proud to play? Big risk getting him there the dude has more footy jumpers than a sports store!

How do you know I'm not down their because a mate of mine is coaching? Why would it be a risk because I've played with 'plenty' of clubs? I would of thought it was a risk because of my age, not the amount of clubs I've played with!

Feel free to take pot shots dude you're welcome. If I was getting paid a mountain of money then it would be a 'risk' because of my age, well that's my opinion if it's a risk. Seen as though I'm not on money (other than helping me get there) it's not a risk.

Fair question from your good self so I'm not about to go on a major rant. Hope that information takes care of your interest.:thumbsu:

How do you know I'm not down their because a mate of mine is coaching? Why would it be a risk because I've played with 'plenty' of clubs? I would of thought it was a risk because of my age, not the amount of clubs I've played with!

Feel free to take pot shots dude you're welcome. If I was getting paid a mountain of money then it would be a 'risk' because of my age, well that's my opinion if it's a risk. Seen as though I'm not on money (other than helping me get there) it's not a risk.

Fair question from your good self so I'm not about to go on a major rant. Hope that information takes care of your interest.:thumbsu:

Not taking pot shots there vinni just heard some whispers, who has been the best gippsland club unhave played for?

Mate, that's a hard one. In no particular order......I 'loved' my time at Moe under Ken Rainsford, just a super leader and great bloke to be around. 'Loved' my two years at Wonthaggi top shelf blokes under Patty Brosnan:thumbsu:

Can't say a bad word about Traf, well ran club, quality players/people. Even my 'very short' stint at Yarragon I enjoyed it and can't say a bad word about them:thumbsu:.

Leongatha were a strong club under Brian Royal and when I played at Newborough I enjoyed that too. All clubs I've played with I've really enjoyed my time. When you start at a club you're the greatest bloke ever and when you leave you're an overpaid bloke who plays for to many clubs. That's footy and I except that part of the game.

Nice to see someone finally get called on their attempt at a cheap shot from behind a keyboard. Thought you might have given it away, Vincent. Good to see you are still running around!!!

Hey Plug. I wouldn't call it 'running around' it's more like crawling around:eek:. Heaps of young blokes at Toora and Robbo (coach) is a real good fella. We'll battle hard for the year but that's life.

Bombersfan51 was just doing the usual Big Footy thing and I don't take any offence. If Bombersfan51 is who I think it is I've had a few beers with him at a certain club:thumbsu:.

Foster and Fishy had a draw today. Cracking game seeing tigertown come from 6 goals down during the 2nd term. Had a chance to win, 35 out and pushed it across the face. MIssing everythign.

Hey Plug. I wouldn't call it 'running around' it's more like crawling around:eek:. Heaps of young blokes at Toora and Robbo (coach) is a real good fella. We'll battle hard for the year but that's life.

Bombersfan51 was just doing the usual Big Footy thing and I don't take any offence. If Bombersfan51 is who I think it is I've had a few beers with him at a certain club:thumbsu:.

Ha ha. With the way you prepare yourself, I would be very suprised if it was crawling....lol Good luck for the year, mate!

Alberton Footy League - 2016