Lingsface

May 9, 2005
perth
geelong
Interested to see peoples all time SOO sides. I will attempt Western Australia pre warning there will be bias to the 1985 and beyond players.

Western Australia

Worsfold Glass D Marshall
Mcpharlin Rance J Mcgovern
Cable Black Matera
J Krakeour Kennedy P Krakeour
Lecras Franklin P Farmer

Cox Cousins Fyfe

H Taylor Cripps Kerr Glendenning

Interested to see peoples all time SOO sides. I will attempt Western Australia pre warning there will be bias to the 1985 and beyond players.

Western Australia

Cable Black Matera
Lecras Franklin P Farmer

Cox Cousins Fyfe

I think you are missing quite a large number of players. Pretty sure footy has been played there for a long time.
Stephen Michael, I hear, was an exceptional player.

I think you are missing quite a large number of players. Pretty sure footy has been played there for a long time.
Stephen Michael, I hear, was an exceptional player.
For who? It’s easy to say names but who goes in and out?

Western Australia

Cable Black Matera
Lecras Franklin P Farmer

Cox Cousins Fyfe

Are you counting State of Origin only or all interstate comps? If SOO only then you'd drop Cable & Marshall.

I'd be giving weight to players that won the Tassie Medal as that showed they performed in state games. So I'd add Brad Hardie (who won it twice), Stephen Michael & Brian Peake to the team, and add the likes of Cable, Polly Farmer & Merv McIntosh if it's pre-1977.

Are you counting State of Origin only or all interstate comps? If SOO only then you'd drop Cable & Marshall.

I'd be giving weight to players that won the Tassie Medal as that showed they performed in state games. So I'd add Brad Hardie (who won it twice), Stephen Michael & Brian Peake to the team, and add the likes of Cable, Polly Farmer & Merv McIntosh if it's pre-1977.
Pretty much going for an all time WA side just saying that I would be bias towards more modern players as I’ve watched them.

Fair enough.

All time best WA side is going to be tough I reckon when trying to compare players from different eras. Take full forwards for example. How do you compare modern players like Franklin/Kennedy/Sumich etc who played in the AFL to players like Naylor/Doig/Tyson/Robertson Jr who all kicked over 1000 goals in a strong WAFL comp?

Michael in for Phil Krakouer, Glendinning or Marshall. If you don't know much of Stephen Michael's work then ask yourself this question - if Adam Goodes was from WA would you include him in the team?

I'd also swap Lecras with Jeff Farmer.

Fair enough.

All time best WA side is going to be tough I reckon when trying to compare players from different eras. Take full forwards for example. How do you compare modern players like Franklin/Kennedy/Sumich etc who played in the AFL to players like Naylor/Doig/Tyson/Robertson Jr who all kicked over 1000 goals in a strong WAFL comp?
Yes it will be challenging throw one out there for a bit of fun though.

I have never lived in WA so I have never really followed it closely enough to definitively say who he should replace. But from all reports he was one of the best from WA.
I am sure there would be plenty of guys from pre-1950 that deserve consideration or at least research.

B: Cunningham, Murray, H.Himmelberg
HB: Williams, Buckley, Blakey
C: Gulden, Mills, Heeney
HF: Wicks, Walker, Kennedy
F: Schultz, Hawkins, Finlayson
Foll: Witts, Green, Hopper
Int: Perryman, Campbell, Marshall, Rampe

Not perfect, and the forward line is pretty damn old with Walker and Hawkins in it but this is an okay team.

B: Cunningham, Murray, H.Himmelberg
HB: Williams, Buckley, Blakey
C: Gulden, Mills, Heeney
HF: Wicks, Walker, Kennedy
F: Schultz, Hawkins, Finlayson
Foll: Witts, Green, Hopper
Int: Perryman, Campbell, Marshall, Rampe

Not perfect, and the forward line is pretty damn old with Walker and Hawkins in it but this is an okay team.

Also just realised this was an all time thread, not current.

Yes it will be challenging throw one out there for a bit of fun though.
OK here's my hot take.

BBrad HardieRoss GlendinningJohn Worsfold
HBDenis MarshallGlen JackovichSimon Black
CPeter MateraJohn ToddNicky Winmar
HFBrian PeakeLance FranklinGary Buckenara
FJeff FarmerGeorge DoigGeorge Moloney
FOLLPolly FarmerNat FyfeBill Walker
INTStephen MichaelSteve MarshBen CousinsJim Krakouer
EMERGENCY:
BacksAlex RanceDarren GlassLuke McPharlinDavid HartMitch DuncanHarry Taylor
MidsBarry CablePatrick CrippsPeter BellDean KempMark BairstowJack Sheedy
ForwardsBernie NaylorAustin Robertson JrTed TysonJosh KennedyPhil KrakouerDerek Kickett
RucksDean CoxAaron SandilandsGraham MossMerv McIntosh

OK here's my hot take.

BBrad HardieRoss GlendinningJohn Worsfold
HBDenis MarshallGlen JackovichSimon Black
CPeter MateraJohn ToddNicky Winmar
HFBrian PeakeLance FranklinGary Buckenara
FJeff FarmerGeorge DoigGeorge Moloney
FOLLPolly FarmerNat FyfeBill Walker
INTStephen MichaelSteve MarshBen CousinsJim Krakouer
EMERGENCY:
BacksAlex RanceDarren GlassLuke McPharlinDavid HartMitch DuncanHarry Taylor
MidsBarry CablePatrick CrippsPeter BellDean KempMark BairstowJack Sheedy
ForwardsBernie NaylorAustin Robertson JrTed TysonJosh KennedyPhil KrakouerDerek Kickett
RucksDean CoxAaron SandilandsGraham MossMerv McIntosh
Very good effort different to mine but some selections you can’t argue with. I missed out on Glendenning but seems to be rated very highly. Don’t know how Cable misses out on selection though, if we are going off on field performance, there are a few that argue that he could outshine Leigh matthews on his day.

Yeah tough to leave Cable out as rover. Walker was a contemporary of his that won 3 Sandovers and Steve Marsh was a bit before them and part of a South Freo team that won 6 premierships in 8 years. Maybe Cable for Cousins, but didn't want to skew too much towards the older generations (plus you can't have enough Bullcreek-Leeming boys in).

Considered including Hayden Bunton Snr & Jnr as well but they were born in Victoria.

Yes, the NSW side.

The all time side would have guys like Carey, Hird, Kelly, Longmire, the McVeigh's, Hayes and I think most of the Daniher's available.
Billy Brownless
Paul Kelly
Luke Breust
Isaac smith
Hayden Bunton snr
Shane Crawford

All time State of Origin sides