Hugh Jorgen

Apr 17, 2008
Bulleen
AC Milan
Although I have only joined this forum recently, and haven’t had much time to assess the intrinsic value of the volumes of drivel that are posted here, I can’t help but harbour a suspicion that you are not all complete nobodies (except maybe for Tigerboyz) out there in Bay 13-land.

Could it be that some of you bathe in the reflected glory of a football celebrity? Do you have an uncle who used to play for Melbourne? Or is your next door neighbour a Barry Hall from a bygone era?

Perhaps in other threads, you’ve been itching to name drop – a casual reference here, an innuendo there.

Well, here’s your chance to just blurt it out. If your PE teacher was a senior for the Lions or you live in the same street as the captain of Collingwood, let us hear about it.

To kick things off, I have a confession to make. I once dated Stephen Silvani’s sister.

Know him?!? …..

Take out your HTML script can barely read that.

EDIT : much better.

Closest I am to knowing a footballer is Charlie Sutton. He is a good friend of one of my best mates family. I've met him a couple of times, surprised at how short he is.

Tigerboyz = owned, quite intricately.

My ex-rival primary school's P.E teacher was the spiritual captain of the Spotswood Seniors in their grandfinal win last year.

I went to primary school with Mark Johnson and we were good mates. He went to a different highschool after that and i remember playing against him one day out at aberfeldie park in essendon i think. I remember when he ran from the backline straight down the middle of the ground just swerving around everyone and bombing a beautiful goal from 50 metres. I think we were 14 at the time.

You just wanted to tell everyone you dated Sos' sister!:p

I don't really have any. I played cricket against Nick Stevens in juniors, he scared the shit out of me, he was quick and i was only 9.

And i got pissed with Rhys Jones at Crown one night, he paid for the drinks. Did you know he used to get $500 worth of drinks at Crown per month for free?

Oh have another couple, played juniors against Jeff White. He was a goofy looking kid, tall and skinny with huge ears. :D

Travis Johnstone was in my team as kid albiet a couple years younger.

There you go exhausted my so called "footballers I know but not really".

You just wanted to tell everyone you dated Sos' sister!:p

I don't really have any. I played cricket against Nick Stevens in juniors, he scared the shit out of me, he was quick and i was only 9.

And i got pissed with Rhys Jones at Crown one night, he paid for the drinks. Did you know he used to get $500 worth of drinks at Crown per month for free?

$500 wouldn't last long if the hyphen got going. :D:p

Well, here’s your chance to just blurt it out. If your PE teacher was a senior for the Lions or you live in the same street as the captain of Collingwood, let us hear about it.

Funny you should mention it, Hugh, but our PE teacher was Gary Wilson from the (then Fitzroy) Lions. He was a dud teacher. Didn't give a stuff about us. It was just a job to pay the mortgage in the days when footy didn't pay as well as it does today.

No big name players for me but played footy with Shane Valenti for about 8 years. Went to school and played cricket with Tom Murphy. Played cricket for several years with Simon Buckley and still catch up.

Went to school with Andy Carrazzo for 3 years :)

Also Simon Beaumont lives in my street

If you live in the same street as the captain of Collingwood, let us hear about it.

I used to live in the same street as Nathan Buckley. I hate the Pies as much as the next normal guy, but Nathan is a top bloke. One day I was waiting to cross the road with my 2 year old son and a car stops to let us cross (he had right of way). I only realised as we crossed that it was Buckley driving the car.

On a different note, (his then girlfriend) Tanya used to take her 2 Pugs for walks up past our house - wearing the shortest shorts. Talk about a great pair of pins.

Nathan Burke was a student teacher at my primary school in Frankston.

Dermott Brereton ran a sports shop in Somerville many years ago, met him a few times - especially at the Frankston Bombers CC.

After the Grand Prix one weekend, I went back to the Casino with a mate of mine and got talking to a bloke. He was there with his wife/gf and we sat down with them, talking about the day. In walks Craig Lowndes with his missus and walks over to our table.

This bloke and his missus were friends, so Lowndes sit down, then comes Russell Ingal, Greg Murphy and Steve Richards - they all join the table. Russell introduces himself to me, "G'day mate, Russell" - I felt like saying "No shit!" Top bloke

Then the manager comes over and asks what we would like to drink, Lowndes asks me what I'm drinking - Bundy and Coke, the next thing a jugs arrive - all free.

All in all, a great night. Top bunch of blokes who like to play hard.

LOOK AT ME.........My uncle (non-blood) is Brad Hardie's cousin.

And if you haven't shared at least a half dozen drunken conversations with footballers of varying levels of national fame then you shouldn't be posting here.

Although I have only joined this forum recently, and haven’t had much time to assess the intrinsic value of the volumes of drivel that are posted here, I can’t help but harbour a suspicion that you are not all complete nobodies (except maybe for Tigerboyz) out there in Bay 13-land.

Could it be that some of you bathe in the reflected glory of a football celebrity? Do you have an uncle who used to play for Melbourne? Or is your next door neighbour a Barry Hall from a bygone era?

Perhaps in other threads, you’ve been itching to name drop – a casual reference here, an innuendo there.

To kick things off, I have a confession to make. I once dated Stephen Silvani’s sister.

Know him?!? …..

Poor woman.

My sister-in-law is married to Tredreas second cousin-in-law's boyfriend. True story.
Fixed it up for you to make it easier for others to follow.
On topic... my old p.e. teacher was Barry Price of collingwood fame,
know cyril rioli and his future afl playing brother from school,
vaguely related to Josh Fraser (second cousin once removed or something) and live round the block from Marc Murphy, and my ex lives opposite Anthony Rocca.
And met Brad Ottens at the Tempie Hotel the night he got booked for drink-driving

i once met richo drunk at starbar, he refused to have a picture with me and i was shattered

i also ruined alex gilmours football career by getting him on the piss every saturday night.

once told sam fisher that he was the shitter of the two fishers at motel, he cracked the shits

told fiora once at the edgy in front of his new stkilda teammates that since he left richmond their flag odds plummeted to favouritism.....got a laugh from kozzy on that one

met lenny hayes when i was 16 at bar bentleigh and he shouted me and a mate drinks all night

me and 3 mates gave a very drunk steven baker a lift home, once getting there he invited us in for a spa and gave us all footy shorts and jumpers etc

played cricket against jack riewoldt, andrew raines, jason cloke and john rombotis all in the one match, only to be bowled middle stump by cloke (throws a bit of heat down)

nick riewoldt [thanks but no thanks]

thats my claims to fame

Almost famous