News an unpaid political announcment : Richmond Board Election

I concur re the explanation, excellent, just a pity I had to read it on BF not emailed to me or surely something for the official webpage secure section?? Regardless many thanks Kiwi, it is extraordinaly difficult to get a flavour for things when you are based interstate.
Theres your first challenge PA, kill snail mail from the Club where feasible, it must cost a bloody fortune and has no greater impact IMHO. The Club's easing into other media has been a great innovation with a presence here, FB and Twitter and hopefully in smartphone apps soon.

Welcome aboard the tiger train phil, but given that you are sprouting about the fastes you tube network on earth even a card carrying labour voter like myself is turned off by the 43 + billion dollars that we are going into debt .

Im not sure that the RFC needs visionaries like your self who would pile on the debt.

thats my dollars worth.

NQTIGER,

I like your train of thought and I like the fact that you are across the NBN, however, please don't think that I am involved with a business that actually is spending the $43 billion dollars. The decision here rests solely with the Federal Labour Government.

I am, however, involved in businesses that provides products that will be used in the creation of the NBN whether that is directly or indirectly.

So in summary, there will be no chance that I will bring a mentality of wastefulness to the board at Richmond, purely the opposite - I will look for areas that I can see that there will be advantages of financial gain and attempt to move us in that direction.

I hope that will clear some of the misunderstanding up for you.

Very clever of Phil to campaign like this. I hope we hear from the other candidates as well.

Brilliant write-up, KiwiTiger. For me that really clarifies that we need smart businesspeople on the board.

Very clever of Phil to campaign like this. I hope we hear from the other candidates as well.

Brilliant write-up, KiwiTiger. For me that really clarifies that we need smart businesspeople on the board.

So knowing a whole lot of nothing is bonus for you? Im running for prime minister next year, i'll just show my face and have a name badge and im sure to get your vote:cool:

Gee ur abit of a sour puss mate! jesus christ give the bloke a break and wait for him to answer the questions, the bloke runs 2 business's and has only just started campaigning for the members vote, hardly think he would have the time to sit of BF all day and answer every question we throw at him!

Chill out mate and while your waiting for Phil's reply sit back and watch our new draftee Reece Conca's highlight package, its sure to keep your entertained for a lil while! :D:thumbsu:

http://www.richmondfc.com.au/roar vision archive/tabid/11454/contentid/314409/default.aspx

Plenty of time till the election, while i havnt decided on who or if ill vote for im happy to hear phil out when he gets the time to reply to the questions he's been asked!

Although he has mentioned a couple of times that he will be keeping everyone uptodate in his blog. Ideally, he may come on here and answer every question thrown at him, but he may not have time to be here every day like some of us.

Phil, if you get a chance, I'd suggest checking in a couple of times a week and answer a few queries. Or at least let us know if/when you have some new info on your blog.

Cheers.

You seem to have experienced hallucinations while reading my post. I said it was clever of Phil to campaign this way. I didn't say he'd be a good board member. In fact, the impression I have from KiwiTiger's post is that we already have good businesspeople on the board.

Yeah i agree with you it is clever but also pointless in the process as phil isn't using it to advantage. I would win a battle against phil cause i can show my photo too and i'm better looking:cool: im sure everyone gets the point......SPEAK UP PHIL

**have seen phil logged in enough to answer some simple questions, he posts during those times but avoids the Q&A, has obviously had the time.

A question seeing as you probably cant postulate about things you wish to implement in the future. You spoke about the failings of the current board members. Where did they go wrong and why would it have been different with you there?

x2.

I think we finally have some stability off-field and so I'm not sure if replacing something that appears to be working is appropriate? A case of "if it aint broke dont fix it"?

Hi Phil, best of luck with your campaign. A bit of renewal is always welcome. Mithen didn't seem to be missed. Maybe Phil will refresh the board without having to make wholesale changes.

One point tho; I keep seeing the same concerns and questions and comments on the tiger forums. Seems a bit too the same really.

One size doesn't fit all, Phil. Try individualising your posts a bit maybe?

In fact, the impression I have from KiwiTiger's post is that we already have good businesspeople on the board.
Seems that way. With the new facilities, Craigieburn, a plan to pay off the debt, a strong footy department and great ambitions the club looks in the best shape it's been in decades. This no doubt has been driven by Benny Gale but the board to its credit is backing him all the way. And Phil has still to give us a single reason why we should vote for him.

Hi my name is Neil Mckay. I thought I would take some time to share with you why I have nominated for the Board of the Richmond Football Club at the upcoming election. Below is a little history on my involvement with the Richmond Football Club over many years.

Richmond Football Club
Member since 1994
Finance Committee 1998-2000
Jack Dyer Foundation (committee member and donor) 1997-2002
Executive Group 2008-present
Director Coburg Football Club 2009-present

A passionate Richmond person I have an intimate knowledge on Football Club operations gained from my time on the Richmond FC Finance Committee and the Jack Dyer Foundation. More recently I have served on the board of the Coburg Football Club, Richmond’s aligned VFL club.

When I am not supporting the Tigers and the Burgers I am employed as a General Manager with GE Capital. GE is one of the world’s leading companies and I have gained enormous experience over the last twelve years particularly on Financial & Operating discipline which are hallmarks of GE. My background is in Sales and Marketing and I have been fortunate over the years to have exposure to some of Australia's largest and most successful companies as well as many private organisations across a number of industries.

I have nominated to join the board for a number of reasons. Foremost is that it is fine to be passionate about the Tigers as I am sure all current board members and others who have nominated for this election are, but I believe that to be effective each board member needs a diverse range of skills. I believe I offer this from my experience in the Football and Corporate environments.

My concerns about the club also where I see my strengths. They are:

Corporate Sponsorship. As I write this Richmond Football Club do not have a major sponsor for 2011 and beyond. In fact it has been a long time since Richmond has had a sustainable corporate relationship unlike some other clubs in the competition who are deemed to be successful both on and off the field. The three companies who were on our jumper and shorts in 2010 will no longer be significant supporters of the Tigers. I think that it is reasonable to ask why. I intend to use my experience to assist with a strategic plan that will attract and retain new sponsors.

Relocation of games: The board of the club has seen fit to commence selling games to interstate locations clearly to generate additional income. This is income that we are not generating from corporate support and the club has been forced to seek alternative revenue streams. I find this trend concerning as I would hate to see the Tigers go the way of some other AFL clubs who are fast becoming "nomads". There is no real strategy in playing one game in Darwin and one in North Queensland as you will not gain additional membership from playing in a region so infrequently. While we have not had on field success for a long time when I think of Richmond and its proud history I do not think of us as a club that should be in this position. It concerns me also that for our team more interstate games makes the task of being successful all that more difficult rather than having the majority of our games at the "G". If we address the issues on corporate sponsorship and increasing levels of debt we would not need to sell our home games.

Debt: While the level of debt that Richmond FC has at the moment is an issue I am more concerned about what actions we are taking to reduce it. A small level of debt in any business is fine but it has to be manageable. If the club decides to go to its Corporate and Premium members along with the general membership base this will be the third time in recent history that this has happened. How deep are those pockets? Once again improving our approach to Revenue streams along with greater financial disciplines has to be a much more sustainable response to this issue rather than going back to the same people for financial support.

VFL Alignment: All AFL clubs continue to debate the benefits of fielding their own team in the VFL over the current alignments. This is a difficult decision as the stand alone option comes at a considerable cost. I would leverage my experience as a Director of Coburg Football Club to help the board make an informed decision on this matter.

Finally I would like to confirm that I am a person who doesn't seek a board position for the prestige or as something that I need to do for my ego. I have demonstrated an active involvement in my short time at Coburg including overseeing the creation of a strategic plan to secure the clubs future, active participation on the clubs Finance subcommittee and taking the lead role in the recruitment of a new General Manager at the end of the 2009 season. I intend to be an active participant on the Richmond Football Club board and ask for your support in this election.

Please no more accountants or lawyers. It's bad enough that a lot of our politicians are drawn from this industry sector. I would like to see a bigger cross section of society represented on the board. For instance, I think one position should be held open for an "average" punter. A nurse, teacher, truck driver, factory worker, sales rep, account manager, receptionist, bank teller etc. The Board also seems to be made up of members who have money. Now I don't have anything against people who go out and make their forture, good luck to them. But do they represent the average member? The average member who has to really think about and plan to pay their membership each year. The average member who forgoes quite a lot to support the club.

I tell you one thing RFC should get out of is Pokies. They are insidious menace in society and it is with great shame that as an avid supporter AND member of RFC that we continue to draw income from the suffering of others.

Surely our club can find other ways to generate non-football income?

Please no more accountants or lawyers. It's bad enough that a lot of our politicians are drawn from this industry sector. I would like to see a bigger cross section of society represented on the board. For instance, I think one position should be held open for an "average" punter. A nurse, teacher, truck driver, factory worker, sales rep, account manager, receptionist, bank teller etc. The Board also seems to be made up of members who have money. Now I don't have anything against people who go out and make their forture, good luck to them. But do they represent the average member? The average member who has to really think about and plan to pay their membership each year. The average member who forgoes quite a lot to support the club.

I tell you one thing RFC should get out of is Pokies. They are insidious menace in society and it is with great shame that as an avid supporter AND member of RFC that we continue to draw income from the suffering of others.

Agreed.

Please no more accountants or lawyers. It's bad enough that a lot of our politicians are drawn from this industry sector. I would like to see a bigger cross section of society represented on the board. For instance, I think one position should be held open for an "average" punter. A nurse, teacher, truck driver, factory worker, sales rep, account manager, receptionist, bank teller etc.

This attitude drives me insane. The only way it would make sense is if the job of running the club (or the country) was so simple anyone could do it. Do you want an average punter at full-forward, to represent the members? No, you want the best bloody person for the job. The reason there are, and should be, accountants and lawyers on the board is that the job is about managing the club's finances and legal obligations. They have the skillset for it.

The Board also seems to be made up of members who have money. Now I don't have anything against people who go out and make their forture, good luck to them.

It's an unpaid position, so what you're talking about are people who have demonstrated enough business savvy to be highly successful, but are willing and able to work for RFC for free.

Okay, what? Or should the club sink into the red because "surely" there are other pots of money out there. Fair enough you don't like pokies, but that is exactly the kind of emotive decision I'd expect from an average punter: don't worry about the finances, they'll sort themselves out.

The absolute worst pollies have been people with no useful skills or experience other than making themselves seem relatable. God save RFC from another one of those.

Excellent, excellent posting Siren.

As for the candidate seeming to dodge questions, no he hasn't. People need to get off their high horses and give the guy a chance.

Seemingly (Short of selling home games), the board is doing an adequate job at present. But can someone do better? I look forward to both of these candidates taking the time to show whether or not they can step up and offer something more. Certainly a connection to the fans isn't a bad start.

& remember, sure Benny is doing a great job. What does that have to do with the board?

One member getting on outside of GM's cartel is not going to change the voting makeup, but it could possibly add a different perspective.

But it's up to them to convince us of that.

They have taken the time to register here and engage us, rather than simply send out propaganda, we owe it to them and our club to act mature, and not idiots.

Hi my name is Neil Mckay. I thought I would take some time to share with you why I have nominated for the Board of the Richmond Football Club at the upcoming election. Below is a little history on my involvement with the Richmond Football Club over many years.

Richmond Football Club
Member since 1994
Finance Committee 1998-2000
Jack Dyer Foundation (committee member and donor) 1997-2002
Executive Group 2008-present
Director Coburg Football Club 2009-present

A passionate Richmond person I have an intimate knowledge on Football Club operations gained from my time on the Richmond FC Finance Committee and the Jack Dyer Foundation. More recently I have served on the board of the Coburg Football Club, Richmond’s aligned VFL club.

When I am not supporting the Tigers and the Burgers I am employed as a General Manager with GE Capital. GE is one of the world’s leading companies and I have gained enormous experience over the last twelve years particularly on Financial & Operating discipline which are hallmarks of GE. My background is in Sales and Marketing and I have been fortunate over the years to have exposure to some of Australia's largest and most successful companies as well as many private organisations across a number of industries.

I have nominated to join the board for a number of reasons. Foremost is that it is fine to be passionate about the Tigers as I am sure all current board members and others who have nominated for this election are, but I believe that to be effective each board member needs a diverse range of skills. I believe I offer this from my experience in the Football and Corporate environments.

My concerns about the club also where I see my strengths. They are:

Corporate Sponsorship. As I write this Richmond Football Club do not have a major sponsor for 2011 and beyond. In fact it has been a long time since Richmond has had a sustainable corporate relationship unlike some other clubs in the competition who are deemed to be successful both on and off the field. The three companies who were on our jumper and shorts in 2010 will no longer be significant supporters of the Tigers. I think that it is reasonable to ask why. I intend to use my experience to assist with a strategic plan that will attract and retain new sponsors.

Relocation of games: The board of the club has seen fit to commence selling games to interstate locations clearly to generate additional income. This is income that we are not generating from corporate support and the club has been forced to seek alternative revenue streams. I find this trend concerning as I would hate to see the Tigers go the way of some other AFL clubs who are fast becoming "nomads". There is no real strategy in playing one game in Darwin and one in North Queensland as you will not gain additional membership from playing in a region so infrequently. While we have not had on field success for a long time when I think of Richmond and its proud history I do not think of us as a club that should be in this position. It concerns me also that for our team more interstate games makes the task of being successful all that more difficult rather than having the majority of our games at the "G". If we address the issues on corporate sponsorship and increasing levels of debt we would not need to sell our home games.

Debt: While the level of debt that Richmond FC has at the moment is an issue I am more concerned about what actions we are taking to reduce it. A small level of debt in any business is fine but it has to be manageable. If the club decides to go to its Corporate and Premium members along with the general membership base this will be the third time in recent history that this has happened. How deep are those pockets? Once again improving our approach to Revenue streams along with greater financial disciplines has to be a much more sustainable response to this issue rather than going back to the same people for financial support.

VFL Alignment: All AFL clubs continue to debate the benefits of fielding their own team in the VFL over the current alignments. This is a difficult decision as the stand alone option comes at a considerable cost. I would leverage my experience as a Director of Coburg Football Club to help the board make an informed decision on this matter.

Finally I would like to confirm that I am a person who doesn't seek a board position for the prestige or as something that I need to do for my ego. I have demonstrated an active involvement in my short time at Coburg including overseeing the creation of a strategic plan to secure the clubs future, active participation on the clubs Finance subcommittee and taking the lead role in the recruitment of a new General Manager at the end of the 2009 season. I intend to be an active participant on the Richmond Football Club board and ask for your support in this election.

Hi Neil, thanks for your informative introduction, quite impressive in my eyes. Good luck with your nomination for the board.

It's Richmond's fault a small percentage of pokies players can't control themselves?

Hell, let's stop selling beer at games too, because a small percentage of people can't control themselves.

When did football become the bleeding heart society?

News an unpaid political announcment : Richmond Board Election