And Swans get labelled ugly???

if they win the premiership this season i doubt the players or supporters will give a flying **** to be honest
WTF? Your side won a flag as a result of very similar tactics. We have just tweaked it to suit us. And you don't reckon we'll give a **** if we win the flag? Get a clue, seriously mate.

To be honest, all Saints supporters love this. 4 points is all that matters. It doesn't matter how you do it, a win is a win.

Don't just blame it on us, it's the Bulldogs who dictated the play and let us get our zone in place while they chipped it around. We are also taking a fair bit of time adjusting to the loss of our go to man who always gets us out of trouble when we need it. We're clearly out of form but if we can manage to win games like that it's brilliant.

All that it takes. Keep it up fellas.

Credit to the Saints, they managed to get the win... but no-one wants to see that crap. Better Homes and Gardens would make better viewing.

Too many jealous supporters. Saints came to win, not entertain. At the end of the season, when they are on top with 19-20 wins, who'll give a rat's toss about the beauty of this game tonight? Roo back in by round 16??, this could well be a season defining win for St. Kilda. I for one am envious that they can win from nowhere. How many experts picked them tonight?
That they can kick 3 goals in time-on says lots about both those teams. How good will they be with Roo back? Flag favourites right now-they have beaten Swans, Pies, Dogs, and Freo. That says it all. Who knows what the 2 teams will be like when we play them, but I'm confident they'll make it impossible to beat them. The loss against Port is absolutely irrelevant.
The Saints beat the teams that matter, and winning is all that matters, unfortunately, but that is how it is.

They also proved against North they can play attractive attacking football. Do you all forget that massacre?

Did you guys see Eade trying to flood the backline in the 4th quarter? You can't out coach Lyon guy. Every other club wouldn't crumbled tonight. We were not great but still can't lose.

if they win the premiership this season i doubt the players or supporters will give a flying **** to be honest

WTF? Your side won a flag as a result of very similar tactics. We have just tweaked it to suit us. And you don't reckon we'll give a **** if we win the flag? Get a clue, seriously mate.

To be honest, all Saints supporters love this. 4 points is all that matters. It doesn't matter how you do it, a win is a win.

I suspect you have misinterpreted.

everything you've all said is fuking crap - wait till JD & Fireman return from the game and tell us all how magnificent the Saints were, and that footy was the real winner, it was the Doggies fault not theirs - from a pinko, commo, leftie point of view anyway.....oh yeah, and that Carlton are the Devil as well......

Stop lying to yourself, you know you're embarassed by your team

Hahahahhaha your kidding. Every Saints supporter is loving this. The jealousy that comes with us winning games where we were dominated is very, very funny. Plenty of Collingwood supporters in here, still bitter?

Too many jealous supporters. Saints came to win, not entertain. At the end of the season, when they are on top with 19-20 wins, who'll give a rat's toss about the beauty of this game? Roo back in by round 16??, this could well be a season defining win for St. Kilda. I for one am envious that they can win from nowhere. How many experts picked them tonight?
That they can kick 3 goals in time-on says lots about both those teams. How good will they be with Roo back? Flag favourites right now-they have beaten Swans, Pies, Dogs, and Freo. That says it all. Who knows what the 2 teams will be like when we play them, but I'm confident they'll make it impossible to beat them. The loss against Port is absolutely irrelevant.
The Saints beat the teams that matter, and winning is all that matters, unfortunately, but that is how it is.

Very good post. Winning > Performance. Would you rather win a dire game by 3 points or lose a shootout by 3 points? Tell me your side would rather lose. Come on, someone tell me they would take a loss over a win any day.

Re: St Kilda are a cancer

Virtue = 4 points:)

That's it in a nutshell - coaches doing whatever is required to win; elimination of risk until absolutely necessary. A few years ago, Terry Wallace spoke of coaches' responsibility to the game with regard to playing attractive football, but I can't believe any coach would put aesthetics before his own club winning.

Mark Thompson in this morning's HS: ""We're not here to entertain. We would love to see Gary [Ablett] kick unbelievable goals and marks and have five bounces of the ball and all that stuff that looks great, but in the end that doesn't win you games."

TV rights just decreased in value by $50M.

Don't just blame it on us, it's the Bulldogs who dictated the play and let us get our zone in place while they chipped it around. We are also taking a fair bit of time adjusting to the loss of our go to man who always gets us out of trouble when we need it. We're clearly out of form but if we can manage to win games like that it's brilliant.

All that it takes. Keep it up fellas.

Don't even put the Swans in the same category as you.

THAT WAS THE WORST GAME IN THE HISTORY OF THE AFL!:thumbsdown:

Unfortunately we have to play you next round......i think even Blues haters may give us some support next round. Anything is better than the rubbish dished up tonight.

St Kilda Killing Football

Is there a more negative wrong and way of playing football than Saints at moment? I'd cheer on anyone to beat them, their wins are just *so* annoying.

I mean what are they scared of ? Some sort of contest? Are the pathalogically trianed to never kick to a one on one contest? They simply incapable of taking *any* sort of risk?

Is there no justice at all? How can so side so underserving fall over the line? Why didnt the dogs just flood back in the last quarter and simply play keepings off until the saints went down and picked their men up.

For the good of football the saints must be taken out. IF this brand of football is sucessfull and starts being used by other clubs, football is going to be the loser. Why arnt the saints just booed everywhere they go? Why arent the commentators just relentlessly bagging for crimes against football.

Football should be about about taking risks. This strangulation of the Game is ugly, boring, wrong, evil, the source of all bad things and must be stopped.

The Saints are a blight on the game, I call on all football supporters to bag them mercilessly at every chance they get. They deserve no respect, they are cowards. theives, cheats, dispeciable people who will inflict any crime on football, without shame.

FOR THE GOOD OF FOOTBALL THEY MUST BE STOPPED!

I would rather watch Melb vs Freo GF than these 2 teams if thats what they would serve up. Felt like I was watching a Crows game :p

I for one would much rather support a team like the saints than a team like the bombers who go all guns blazing, but at the first sign of pressure cave faster than an effed up souffle. :rolleyes:

Do they zone? Yes. Do they strangle the s*** out of teams? Yes. Is it unattractive to the eye? Evidently by the amount of b****ing and moaning that goes around here. Does it win them games? YES.

Why is it we all sit and laud a team that runs all over another's defensive set up, but cannot appreciate a team that's defense actually stands up and won't concede? How can a team like essondon that shows no grit or determination, not be considered 'ugly' when the saints who work extremely hard to defend against every onslaught are the one's who are 'cancerous'?

Ugly football to me is seeing a team that gives up easily, stops trying, and doesn't work hard enough to support each other. That's not just ugly, its disgraceful. That's the biggest blight on the game.

I'm sorry, but I can't fathom how the saints continually get hammered here on BF for the way they play, but other teams aren't made equally accountable for all their flaws.

Worst game I've ever seen. Absolutely awful. I understand why St. Kilda are doing it - to stop the flow of the Bulldogs' running game. But it just leads to a really awful spectacle. I just really hope that if they do win the flag this year that the Grand Final isn't a display like tonight's.

Looking forward to seeing Geelong play this weekend to see an entertaining team play.

And Swans get labelled ugly???