Anthony Albanese - How long? -3-

yeah and thanks for pointing out the problem

making a sport out of democracy and having a betting market on the outcome of an election is peak ****ed up capitalism
There are far bigger things to worry about in the world than whether someone wants to have a few bucks on the outcome of an election (which they likely know SFA about)

yeah and thanks for pointing out the problem

making a sport out of democracy and having a betting market on the outcome of an election is peak ****ed up capitalism

I agree with you, but i think its stupid rather than harmful, and if we try to ban "stupid", well, its a huge huge task for starters.

So which foreign power? A quasi state actor that begins with a H, and resides in say Lebanon, or a state that begins with an I, that has a bone to pick over the government's voting in the UN and feels like throwing a wrench in an upcoming election?
Probably as good a place as any to post this very interesting piece by Waleed Aly

Or so called ‘strong’ alternative PM completely taken in if this is some false flag bulldust.

It’s pretty boring when a PM says he will comment more when the facts become known, but exactly how the office holder should act.
Let’s hope we never get a leader who flicks into Twitter babbling every time something minor annoys them

I agree with you, but i think its stupid rather than harmful, and if we try to ban "stupid", well, its a huge huge task for starters.
i dont think it would be that hard to say gambling on elections is illegal

its just another erosion of the importance of democracy for the benefit of capitalism

there's no need to whatabout anything else on this either this is pretty simple

people should not be able to gamble on the outcomes of democratic elections

odds have no place in democracy

its just another erosion of the importance of democracy for the benefit of capitalism

How does it undermine democracy?

That's just your opinion.
Odds are "likelyhood" there is a whole industry based on predicting the likely outcomes of elections . Does it make a difference if the odds come from Roy Morgan or from a gambling company ( who probably use the Roy Morgan data )?

What exactly is the harm? What is the detrimental impact on democracy? How does gambling influence the operation of democracy or outcomes of elections?

Are you against all gambling, or just on elections?

In principle, I tend to agree with Gralin . It is a bit unseemly.
In practice though, it is impossible to stop. Gambling has existed forever and on all manner of things where a future result can't be 100% predictable.

Unseemly?
Are you suggesting that politics should be dignified?
Can we start when parliament is sitting then ? Maybe question time.

I reckon going through the tedious time and money spent on all sides campaigning and promising shit they can suddenly do is worse than the gambling on the result.

What % of the population will actually change their intended vote from today to whenever they vote soon? I would guess people treat it like a vote between Albo and Dutton or a rejection of both more so than their local candidate anyway? We could just vote next week I reckon without all the bullshit in between? I mean Labor have had 3 years to show us what they can do, The Libs had several years prior and now Dutton has had time as leader to present his message, get on with it I reckon.

I reckon going through the tedious time and money spent on all sides campaigning and promising shit they can suddenly do is worse than the gambling on the result.

What % of the population will actually change their intended vote from today to whenever they vote soon? I would guess people treat it like a vote between Albo and Dutton or a rejection of both more so than their local candidate anyway? We could just vote next week I reckon without all the bullshit in between? I mean Labor have had 3 years to show us what they can do, The Libs had several years prior and now Dutton has had time as leader to present his message, get on with it I reckon.

Lots of people won't even pay attention until a week out.

The latest Resolve polls are out with Albo and the Alp in massive trouble. The key states NSW and Vic are catastrophic with Dutton the preferred leader and the labor vote at only 25 and 27%. This is heading towards a total wipeout. I’m staggered that the Australian people would go back to the Libs after all the corruption and financial mess when they were last in power. Labor should have replaced Albo as leader last year when the writing was on the wall they can’t win with him as leader but it’s too late now.
I was saying even before the last election that they should have replaced Albanese with Chalmers because he's a better politician (and a Queenslander, the only time recently when Queenslanders have voted mostly for Labor in a federal election is when one of their own was Labor leader).

Of course they didn't, and Albanese has been just as useless as he said he'd be. This shouldn't be a surprise to people, you just had to look at his lack of charisma over the past decade, lack of a policy agenda leading up to the election and his numerous screwups on the campaign trail.

Thing is, it shouldn't have to get to the stage where Labor need a charismatic leader to win. It should be easy to win when the alternative is a racist flog who wants to make the rich even richer and waste countless billions on inferior power technology.

But Labor refuse to be bold and offer the people real solutions to their problems, like price controls on basic goods, putting tradies at the top of the immigration priority list or building public housing. Instead they offer half-arsed "solutions" and then wonder why people think they're doing a shit job.

Sooooo

<<<<
The new year in Australian politics, an all-important election year, began on a high with a host of Albanese government policy initiatives taking effect from January 1, 2025.

Among these, and there are many, are pay rises of up to 13 per cent for aged care workers, an increase in the Medicare safety net threshold, multinational corporation anti-tax evasion laws, mandatory climate reporting for businesses, new vehicle emission standards, and the criminalisation of wage underpayment as wage theft, just to mention a few, all of them opposed by Peter Dutton and the Coalition.

These reforms, which come into effect this year, are just the most recent in a broader set of policy initiatives for which the government has received too little credit, if any, and which seem strangely invisible to the ‘objective’ media eye.

These include the introduction of Medicare bulk-billing urgent care clinics, the largest minimum wage increase in over a decade, cheaper prescription medicines, paid domestic violence leave, expanded childcare, making banks and social media companies responsible for scams which have cost vulnerable people thousands of dollars, protections for gig economy workers, reducing inflation from over 6 per cent to 2.8 per cent, and finishing the NBN with fibre to the premises, instead of Malcolm Turnbull’s old copper wire disaster.

Corporate tax evasion​

One of the most significant of this raft of new laws that came into effect this month is the Albanese government’s landmark transparency measures to combat multinational corporate tax evasion.

Described by the UK Financial Times as ‘one of the world’s strictest tax disclosure laws’, these new financial transparency laws are projected to yield Australia billions of dollars in additional revenue from previously lost profits, overturning decades of corporate failure to pay taxes. Who knew?!

The Centre for International Corporate Accountability & Research (CICAR) hailed the transparency laws as setting ‘a new bar’ in curbing multinational tax evasion.

Stolen by corporates​

They said the Albanese government showed ‘real leadership by standing up to huge pressure from corporate lobbyists’ against it; and that, ‘corporate giants, with ever-growing profits, have stolen funding from public health, education and a sustainable future for far too long.’

Yet despite the global praise for ‘one of the world’s strictest’ multinational tax evasion measures, the government’s corporate tax evasion measure scarcely rated a mention by our own supine media.

Productive week​

This was just one of more than 40 government bills successfully negotiated through the hostile Senate in the final sitting week of 2024. This remarkably productive week saw the passage of the government’s two housing bills after months of delay by the Greens, the signature Futures Made in Australia Bill to drive local industry investment in renewables and manufacturing, much needed Reserve Bank governance reform, social media limits for children under 16-years-old, and a supermarket code of conduct, among dozens more.

These passed through the Senate and into law with barely a murmur from the mainstream media that had already settled on a focus group-driven mantra of a ‘disappointing’ prime minister and a ‘do nothing’ government, neither of which could be sustained had our erstwhile political commentators bothered to look at what the government has actually done.

The stabilisation of our shredded relationship with China for instance, described by Professor James Curran as ‘a genuine achievement for Australia and the government’, not only saw the lifting of punitive tariffs in a huge boost to industry and agriculture, but led also to the successful negotiations for the release of Australian journalist Cheng Lei. >>>

What if this has been shown in the media?

Sooooo

<<<<
The new year in Australian politics, an all-important election year, began on a high with a host of Albanese government policy initiatives taking effect from January 1, 2025.

Among these, and there are many, are pay rises of up to 13 per cent for aged care workers, an increase in the Medicare safety net threshold, multinational corporation anti-tax evasion laws, mandatory climate reporting for businesses, new vehicle emission standards, and the criminalisation of wage underpayment as wage theft, just to mention a few, all of them opposed by Peter Dutton and the Coalition.

These reforms, which come into effect this year, are just the most recent in a broader set of policy initiatives for which the government has received too little credit, if any, and which seem strangely invisible to the ‘objective’ media eye.

These include the introduction of Medicare bulk-billing urgent care clinics, the largest minimum wage increase in over a decade, cheaper prescription medicines, paid domestic violence leave, expanded childcare, making banks and social media companies responsible for scams which have cost vulnerable people thousands of dollars, protections for gig economy workers, reducing inflation from over 6 per cent to 2.8 per cent, and finishing the NBN with fibre to the premises, instead of Malcolm Turnbull’s old copper wire disaster.

Corporate tax evasion​

One of the most significant of this raft of new laws that came into effect this month is the Albanese government’s landmark transparency measures to combat multinational corporate tax evasion.

Described by the UK Financial Times as ‘one of the world’s strictest tax disclosure laws’, these new financial transparency laws are projected to yield Australia billions of dollars in additional revenue from previously lost profits, overturning decades of corporate failure to pay taxes. Who knew?!

The Centre for International Corporate Accountability & Research (CICAR) hailed the transparency laws as setting ‘a new bar’ in curbing multinational tax evasion.

Stolen by corporates​

They said the Albanese government showed ‘real leadership by standing up to huge pressure from corporate lobbyists’ against it; and that, ‘corporate giants, with ever-growing profits, have stolen funding from public health, education and a sustainable future for far too long.’

Yet despite the global praise for ‘one of the world’s strictest’ multinational tax evasion measures, the government’s corporate tax evasion measure scarcely rated a mention by our own supine media.

Productive week​

This was just one of more than 40 government bills successfully negotiated through the hostile Senate in the final sitting week of 2024. This remarkably productive week saw the passage of the government’s two housing bills after months of delay by the Greens, the signature Futures Made in Australia Bill to drive local industry investment in renewables and manufacturing, much needed Reserve Bank governance reform, social media limits for children under 16-years-old, and a supermarket code of conduct, among dozens more.

These passed through the Senate and into law with barely a murmur from the mainstream media that had already settled on a focus group-driven mantra of a ‘disappointing’ prime minister and a ‘do nothing’ government, neither of which could be sustained had our erstwhile political commentators bothered to look at what the government has actually done.

The stabilisation of our shredded relationship with China for instance, described by Professor James Curran as ‘a genuine achievement for Australia and the government’, not only saw the lifting of punitive tariffs in a huge boost to industry and agriculture, but led also to the successful negotiations for the release of Australian journalist Cheng Lei. >>>

What if this has been shown in the media?
Yes but Albo bought a million dollar mansion

Newspoll doesn't have Dutton ahead but he's not far off

Imagine how unlikeable you have to be to be at risk of Dutton being preferable to you

Screenshot_20250126-220406.png
Labor are heading towards being a one term government

They ****ed this up at levels never before seen

Imagine how unlikeable you have to be to be at risk of Dutton being preferable to you

View attachment 2212056

7% for Pauline Hanson is utterly crazy. 7 out of 100 people support her?

I can only assume they’re all QLD.

7% for Pauline Hanson is utterly crazy. 7 out of 100 people support her?

I can only assume they’re all QLD.
No UAP to split the vote with this time would be my guess

They got nearly 5% of the vote nationally last time so it's not that much more

View attachment 2212056

Consistent with incumbent governments across the world in an inflationary environment

Most of the parties being voted out had been in longer though

But largely they've done nothing about people's living conditions, same as Labor

The problem is none of the parties are interested in helping

Food for thought (although I’m not sure why Australia - 13th largest economy in the world - shouldn’t be comparing itself to Latin American economies like 10th largest Brazil, and 15th largest Mexico).

Go bold Albo.

Anthony Albanese - How long? -3-