APS Season 2011

Alright it's the last crack i'll have, was an amazing game so I'll spoiling it with negative comments.

But how was the boy who kicked on the siren for the win having to be ankle deep in water and mud? The ground was disgraceful, as was the rugby/soccer field metres away. At this level of sport, surely there has to be a better effort than that?

Alright it's the last crack i'll have, was an amazing game so I'll spoiling it with negative comments.

But how was the boy who kicked on the siren for the win having to be ankle deep in water and mud? The ground was disgraceful, as was the rugby/soccer field metres away. At this level of sport, surely there has to be a better effort than that?

fair enough. but the ovals did get flooded about a month ago and haven't recovered. the guy who took the kick should of made the distance. he chocked under pressure from 30 metres out

I'll concede nerves would of played a role in the miss, but equally as prominent was the fact of where he was kicking it from. The worst part of the field, that whole forward flank was a disgrace, and he was forced to kick it some metres back than normal due to the puddle in front of him. Doubt it would of been a problem at other grounds, the coin that St Kevins splash around surely could provide a better pitch?

Skevs: 3, Purcell, 32, the full forward (redhead), and connor ross i think his name was (played hb) very solid defender.
Xavier: Sibbasado, 5, 7 played a good defensive role, rioli had his moments but is so inconsistent, there was another one of the midfielders i thought was good but i cant find my notes.

Here's my 2cents..

Whata****inggame!!

Great close tussle by both teams and a great victory by skevs, but taking nothing away from xavier.
ON the call of injuries, skevs have been relatively depleted, with the captain p.Moore also not playing for the last 2-3 weeks.
Number 3 from skevs is J.Salopek and is probably the most skilled player i've seen (disadvantage is he lacks bulk) and he played very well. Also like to add that the "black kid" was adam fricot and he has been ripping it up all year. Ironically skill errors from those 2 cost the turnover at the end and almost the game.
The red headed kid is big Sauce Parkes, and is on track to win the goal kicking tally for the year.
Lachie Hunter is an out and out star as well, everytime the ball comes his way you just know hes going to do something freakish.
The full back Critchley also ripped up on tiernan, has had a standout yr, coming from virtually nowhere.
And on the ruck, J. Toohey and stiles took it to there much hyped up opposition and beat them. Toohye is a genuine gun, a year younger than everyone else but is bigger and has some freakish athleticism.

On the topic of the ground, its been in a pretty shit condition this winter,like someone said, the floods at the start of the year really screwed it up.

Looking forward to caulfield v skevs now, its the premiership game, and skevs are hopefully likely to bring back some of their injured mob by then. Should be a rip snorter.

I'll concede nerves would of played a role in the miss, but equally as prominent was the fact of where he was kicking it from. The worst part of the field, that whole forward flank was a disgrace, and he was forced to kick it some metres back than normal due to the puddle in front of him. Doubt it would of been a problem at other grounds, the coin that St Kevins splash around surely could provide a better pitch?

Goes into education and development mate, your 20 g goes into frankly, nothing.

I'm sorry, all credit to St Kevins because you can't do much better than win 7 from 7, but how they have gone undefeated is a travesty. Disregarding yesterday's match (because both teams clearly get up every year to play eachother) St Kevins will be put away by a team who can lay some pressure and generate some run from the half back line/wings eg. Geelong College and Caulfield.

And any comparisons with the Xavier/St Kevins match and the Cordner Eggleston Cup, get a grip. The Scotch/MGS game garners a crowd at least twice the size of yesterdays, and would certainly not be played on such a disgusting ground. Thats just my opinion though, i've only seen one Cordner Eggleston and one St Kevins/Xavier game.

the only difference i noticed was that there were no cucumber cut sandwiches on offer to the parents post game, unlike the banquet presented at the melbourne game. And yes, the ground was muddy, but maybe thats the kind of conditions needed to ensure you grammar kids learn what its like to win a hard ball

You Xavier fellas need to concede that you lost the bloody game. The surface of the oval may not have been up to scratch, but both teams had to play on it, and Skevs came through with the win. So stop trying to pull out the excuses and move on.

beautifully said le cras. it always amuses me, parents pay twenty grand to send their kids to xavier and at the end of the day, guess what? they end up with a xavier kid. what a disappointing culmination to 120 thousand dollars' worth of education.

unfortunate for skevs that they are at the mercy of the yarra / gardiners creek, when it floods it goes straight onto the ovals.

maybe best to invest in some sports grounds off campus like Carey, best oval in the APS / ammos

unfortunate for skevs that they are at the mercy of the yarra / gardiners creek, when it floods it goes straight onto the ovals.

maybe best to invest in some sports grounds off campus like Carey, best oval in the APS / ammos

don't know if you have gone down to Trinitys Daley Oval, but that is 5 times the better ground than Careys, you could eat your dinner of it it's in that good nick, probably due to the fact no one trains on it, they just play on it

yes i have played on the daley oval once and been out there to watch the odd game over the years, very nice paddock to play on, probably didnt mention them because Trinity are AGS but yes very good ground, Marcellin just up the road is pretty good too

I'm sorry, all credit to St Kevins because you can't do much better than win 7 from 7, but how they have gone undefeated is a travesty. Disregarding yesterday's match (because both teams clearly get up every year to play eachother) St Kevins will be put away by a team who can lay some pressure and generate some run from the half back line/wings eg. Geelong College and Caulfield.

And any comparisons with the Xavier/St Kevins match and the Cordner Eggleston Cup, get a grip. The Scotch/MGS game garners a crowd at least twice the size of yesterdays, and would certainly not be played on such a disgusting ground. Thats just my opinion though, i've only seen one Cordner Eggleston and one St Kevins/Xavier game.

the thing you have to realise is that all scotch and melbourne grammar students get the day off (because the game is played on a friday) to watch this game and it is compulsory for them to go. Let's see how many numbers come to watch when it is played on a saturday and students go out of their own tuition to watch the game like stkevins and xavier do.

St.kevins and xavier have the best support out of any APS school. no other school comes close

the thing you have to realise is that all scotch and melbourne grammar students get the day off (because the game is played on a friday) to watch this game and it is compulsory for them to go. Let's see how many numbers come to watch when it is played on a saturday and students go out of their own tuition to watch the game like stkevins and xavier do.

St.kevins and xavier have the best support out of any APS school. no other school comes close
Educated and Intellegent Call. St.Kevins looked like they had about 400 or so there on saturday up on that hill, didnt look to be a free space on that Hill. The Xavier Cheersquad was very large too and was very loud, two good supporter bases! Cordner Eggelston has nothing on this rivalry.

Your kidding right? I was at the game and there was no more than 150 Skevs boys (which is fantastic don't get me wrong, but doesn't compare to the 5-600 that MGS&Scotch get each) And I don't know how you can say it has nothing on the Skevs/Xavier rivalry, when it celebrates the very history that Australian Rules was built upon, a good 3000 attend the Cordner + it is played at the G' every so often. Bad luck St Kevins and Xavier, probably the two best footballing schools, but don't try and lay claim to the biggest rivalry in the APS

Disgraceful call, neither school got the day off and i'm 100% certain its not compulsory from grammar, not sure about scotch but im pretty sure they're the same. I'll admit grammars crowd wasn't anything flash to previous years but there was still about 350 + and scotch would have easily had 700. Don't even compare the two games.

On the topic of the ground, its been in a pretty shit condition this winter,like someone said, the floods at the start of the year really screwed it up.

honestly the floods, at the start of the year should not have made any difference at all. Trinity's sports grounds became a massive deep, deep lake of which their ovals were completely flooded.Yet Trinity's main ground is still one of the best in victoria, better then any school or ammo ground available. Skevs should be ashamed of that mud pit they call their 'main oval'.

Your kidding right? I was at the game and there was no more than 150 Skevs boys (which is fantastic don't get me wrong, but doesn't compare to the 5-600 that MGS&Scotch get each) And I don't know how you can say it has nothing on the Skevs/Xavier rivalry, when it celebrates the very history that Australian Rules was built upon, a good 3000 attend the Cordner + it is played at the G' every so often. Bad luck St Kevins and Xavier, probably the two best footballing schools, but don't try and lay claim to the biggest rivalry in the APS

Skevs definately had more than 150 there mate, there was a good 300-400 blokes on the hill...your kidding yourself if your thought that. Don't get me wrong, the Cordner match is easily the biggest rivalry in the APS due to its history, but the Xavier and Skevs rivalry keeps on growing year by year... not only in footy but every other sport as well. There are no other two schools in the APS that share such hate for each other, which makes winning the game so much better, they do it for the pride...not for some cup.

John, I hope you're joking about that last sentence because if your not there's something definately wrong with you..

Just my opinion, chill. I know that the cordner eggelston is huge, rightfully so, but i just feel that more people get more excited and into the Xavs Skevs one, MGS Scotch is ginormous, but my experiences are people love how heated and stuff it gets between xavs and skevs. Im probs wrong, just my opinion.

Why? I still don't know what a Cordner Eddleston or whatever you call it is. I'd be very interested to hold the games at the same time under the same conditions and see who pulls a better crowd.

Xavier and skevs captains and headmasters both went to the opposing school to give a speech on friday about the game, all xavier and skevies old boys in the afl wear their school football jumper during the week leading up to the game, and i know at sydney where there is ryan okeefe (skevs) and dan hannebery + richards (xavs) they constantly hang shit on eachother about the game and the rivalry, it was talked about on 3aw and triple m, it was a big feature in "the essence of the game", the xavier vs st kevins game is and should be known as one of the biggest rivalries in aussie rules, not because it is one of the oldest but it does bring up the most feelings of passion from one simple game of football, yes the grammar and the scotch game is the oldest and may barguably bring the biggest crowd but the passion is no where near as close as the st kevins v xavier, these students remember it for the rest of their life

This ^^^

Spot on mate, well said.

If you actually look through the 2 or 3 threads there are in School Football about the APS and St Kevins vs Xavier, I think you'll find numerous examples where the xavier kids conceded the loss and actually hung some praise upon a number of your blokes.

Dont get too carried away mate, dont go searching through the thread trying to find a xavier kid having the slightest criticism of the game just because your a little excited about the win.

All in all just a ripper game, skevs took their chances in the last quarter with 2 boundary line goals and xavier just couldn't take advantage of their chances they had. Id also like to add that the Xavier Goal Umpire was a ripper bloke

APS Season 2011