Are we the worst side in the AFL.

Judd and Rich are the cream, the top line skillfull players. Rich also has a mature body size for his age which does help.

And there are plenty of example out there of players who have improved plenty over time or have changed clubs and come good.

Game day skills is a confidence issue as well, as soon as these young guys go from juniors or WAFL crowds on <2,000 spectators to playing at Subi with 40,000 it can take time for their nerves to settle and gain confidence.

Is this concept hard to understand?

If for some reason a player falls out with the coach their confidence drops and they play under their capacity, they move clubs and are supported by the coaches they become good players. How many times have you heard or read someone say "Why didn't that guy play that good when he was with us!"

Plenty of examples of this!

This is all factual GWS, not club or media spin, its happened before and will happen again. Remember footy players are human beings, complex animals that are diverse in nature and getting the best out of each of them is not simple and no one method works for all.

Cheers:thumbsu:

Mate I think you know what you are talking about, but don't you think we are all a bit protective of what we call young players? The good players still made it 10-20 years ago and probably made it quicker because they were not treated like they are auskick players as the modern society like to treat them.

the AFL is big business and yes significant different issues face these players than they did 20 years ago but at the end of the day the game is the game and you either step up and perform or you don't.

I made a mistake which you have all jumped on because I put a figure on it. i was wrong. but if you really look at my point its more about it don't take as you long think just because the club tells you it does.

And to be honest I would just for once like to see some of you come out and agree that our skills are maybe the poorest senior football sides in all of history, the age factor means nothing as we have plenty of senior footballers who also can't deliver the goods. So we have either recruited very poorly or there is another significant issue down the club.

But on here all I read is how bloody rosy things are going, how great our kids are and its just a matter of turning up in 2 years time and all will be fine.

Things are not fine in my view and it will be a hell of a lot longer than 2 years before they are.

years ago we had mature players going into the vfl who had time to develop in elite wafl/sanfl competitons so afl/vfl clubs didnt have to baby sit 18 year old players like they do now.
so what the afl is now is a elite 18-20 years old comp with a few veteren players to help out.
the constant churning over young kids means when your like the eagles on a downish cycle you keep hoping kids like masten or natia are gonna step up instantly to save to day it aint gonna happen.

The best players in a club are the freaks eg a Judd Cousins etc who can handle the pressure early or the 22-25 year old players who have managed to get through and learn the game.
The eagles older players i think are carrying too many injuries so it puts all the pressure on the kids to save the day which they cant, which means you get inconsistent performance.

Also the eagles changed their game style and i dont think they have adjusted to it at all, plus the fact we have not been able to find or coach a consistent big forward for years means we cant put scoreboard pressure on the opposition.

If we are coached well we will get a lot better next year this year has been a trainwreck.

And to be honest I would just for once like to see some of you come out and agree that our skills are maybe the poorest senior football sides in all of history, the age factor means nothing as we have plenty of senior footballers who also can't deliver the goods. So we have either recruited very poorly or there is another significant issue down the club.

But on here all I read is how bloody rosy things are going, how great our kids are and its just a matter of turning up in 2 years time and all will be fine.

Things are not fine in my view and it will be a hell of a lot longer than 2 years before they are.[/quote]

I hope you didn't watch Carlton v Collingwood tonight GWS......:p

Why do you want people to just come out and admit anything, just because it's what you think?? If you want to be negative, that's fine, but why would you want others to be negative with you?

I think one thing you forget when you are criticising the skills etc of the eagles, is that this is not an amateur comp. Players are not given the same time and space to execute and make decisions at the AFL level as they are at WAFL, let alone amateur level. I also don't think the skills of the amateurs are as exemplary as you may claim.

Don't read this wrong, as though all skills are superb at the eagles etc, but I'm pretty sure Worsfold knows they are sub par, he's said so a few times, so I expect it to be rectified.:thumbsu:

Mate I think you know what you are talking about, but don't you think we are all a bit protective of what we call young players? The good players still made it 10-20 years ago and probably made it quicker because they were not treated like they are auskick players as the modern society like to treat them.

the AFL is big business and yes significant different issues face these players than they did 20 years ago but at the end of the day the game is the game and you either step up and perform or you don't.

I made a mistake which you have all jumped on because I put a figure on it. i was wrong. but if you really look at my point its more about it don't take as you long think just because the club tells you it does.

Things are not fine in my view and it will be a hell of a lot longer than 2 years before they are.[/quote]

Hey, your right, our skills are pretty bad, we rank 15th and 16th in a couple of key indicators with effective disposal by foot being one of them.

Worst in history - not sure about that, at least we still get a half decent highlights package with some good work but our consistancy is poor.

Just look at who's not getting a game who is fit?

Fletcher and Nicoski (I know back complaint;)) Players with poor skills and have had their opporunity.

We have no Cox or Kerr, these two guys would lift our efficency by 10 - 20% IMO.

And we are playing alot of first and second year players, what do you really expect, skills like Saint Kilda?

Sure there are concerns over a handfull of players but hey, we've been turning over 7 players for the past two years and will change over at least 5-6 players again this year.

How many players have we moved on who became good players elsewhere?

We have one of the most successful track records in building good lists, yes made a few blues, but I just take confidence out of thinking the club knows what its doing, has some pretty smart and determined people on board and we will bounce back better than most others.:thumbsu:

Yep, thats glass half full thinking but why overly focus on the negatives.

Or in more Aussie terms "She'll be right mate, just wait and see!":thumbsu:

I hope you didn't watch Carlton v Collingwood tonight GWS......:p

Why do you want people to just come out and admit anything, just because it's what you think?? If you want to be negative, that's fine, but why would you want others to be negative with you?

I think one thing you forget when you are criticising the skills etc of the eagles, is that this is not an amateur comp. Players are not given the same time and space to execute and make decisions at the AFL level as they are at WAFL, let alone amateur level. I also don't think the skills of the amateurs are as exemplary as you may claim.

Don't read this wrong, as though all skills are superb at the eagles etc, but I'm pretty sure Worsfold knows they are sub par, he's said so a few times, so I expect it to be rectified.:thumbsu:

Swannies I don't want anyone to be negative or agree for the heck of it. I post many positive things on the Eagles also but because I am vocal about everyones favourite Uncle Woosha or see things as not as Rosy as others do then you say its negative.
Thats ok I can live with that.

There is a huge part of me that would like to be the type of person that can only see the positives in everything like many on here. but I am not that guy.

I have been around and been heavily involved with high level Footy and Cricket for many years and I think I have some idea how it works.

You don't have to agree, you are entitled to your view as I am mine and I like reading the views of many on here including yours.

So lets keep punching!!!!!

I'm sure I could think of more but for arguments sake I'll just go with two of the best midfielders in the competition.

I remember Gary Ablett Jr's first few seasons he lacked intensity, his kicking efficiency was average and he could hardly get the ball. Turns out if you give a bloke more than 10 games they might develop.

Dane Swan also looked pretty average for his first 2 years at least.

10 games.... lol.

We really do deserve the spoon....

All last year I was praying we wouldn't get the spoon and most of this year I thought we would avoid it but todays game says to me that we certainly are the worst team going around by far.

2rzqe7q.jpg

As much as it would be dissapointing to have a spoon in our cupboard I am now thinking we might as well get picks 1 and 2. :thumbsu:

:thumbsdown:TANK ON BOYS, TANK ON :thumbsdown:

Re: We really do deserve the spoon....

All last year I was praying we wouldn't get the spoon and most of this year I thought we would avoid it but todays game says to me that we certainly are the worst team going around by far.

2rzqe7q.jpg

As much as it would be dissapointing to have a spoon in our cupboard I am now thinking we might as well get picks 1 and 2. :thumbsu:

:thumbsdown:TANK ON BOYS, TANK ON :thumbsdown:

If we lose to Essendon and North then the tank is on

It has become so SH*T that now I want us to lose every game from now on :thumbsdown:

I was watching that game and half cheered when Hurn got smothered coz I didnt want to accidentally win.

Saying that we will **** up tanking as well - guaranteed we will win 1 more game and miss the PP and again be the laughing stock of the comp :thumbsdown:

And sadly that will be the worst thing possible :thumbsdown::mad:

Hopefully we just go into ultra tank mode and drop everyone showing any sign of decent play and bench guys for kicking goals etc - Just super tank time. Who cares.

We should treat the remaining games as we would in the pre-season cup. Rest anyone who isn't 100% fit, experiment with players in different positions, not select senior guys like Seaby who aren't the future of the club. It's all about 'planning for next year!'

Swannies I don't want anyone to be negative or agree for the heck of it. I post many positive things on the Eagles also but because I am vocal about everyones favourite Uncle Woosha or see things as not as Rosy as others do then you say its negative.
Thats ok I can live with that.

There is a huge part of me that would like to be the type of person that can only see the positives in everything like many on here. but I am not that guy.

I have been around and been heavily involved with high level Footy and Cricket for many years and I think I have some idea how it works.

You don't have to agree, you are entitled to your view as I am mine and I like reading the views of many on here including yours.

So lets keep punching!!!!!

Sorry GWS, please accept my unreserved apologies after today's disgraceful,pathetic effort!!:thumbsu::)

Are we the worst side in the AFL.