Australian Cricket Broadcast Rights 2018 - 2023

https://www.theage.com.au/business/...rts-rights-deal-in-doubt-20180316-p4z4r5.html

Bids for the latest round of cricket broadcast rights, including men's test matches, one day internationals, the Big Bash League and women's cricket are due on Monday.
Get ready for a shock. The bids will be a lot lower than expected. Except for the BBL, Australian Cricket is in decline and it is hard to watch women’s cricket when even I can face the bowling.
Edit: I just read the whole thread.

Just been announced that channel 9 has acquired the tennis from 2020-2024.

You’d imagine that that means the cricket will be somewhere else now. Can’t see 9 fitting both the cricket and tennis into their schedule.

Just been announced that channel 9 has acquired the tennis from 2020-2024.

You’d imagine that that means the cricket will be somewhere else now. Can’t see 9 fitting both the cricket and tennis into their schedule.
This is starting to feel like the end of an era in more ways than one.

Why does everybody think it makes Channel 7 more of a player? They still have the tennis next year and they won't be able to balance the two next year, if anything it nearly sews it up for Channel Ten and Foxtel

Because 7 will be needy of something over the summers post 2018/19. I’d imagine something could be worked out with 7 and other broadcasters next year if there were clashes with the tennis.

At the very least 7 would be desperate to get the Melbourne test + Sydney test + all ashes tests package now.

Looks like 9 have lost interest in cricket. It is going to interesting to see how it goes. If foxtel pick up some of what we get live now, it will be the beginning of the end for cricket. Sutherland's week just got a whole lot worse .

I think they could flog off the Sri Lanka series (the series that actually clashes) to someone else or 7mate

Assuming this is the end for 9 Cricket (and it most likely is for regular events, they still have the rights to the World Cup, World T20 and the 2019 Ashes), who gets picked up by whoever gains the rights? And who's left in the cold?

Depends who gets it you'd think. 10 and Fox already have a stable of cricket commentators so wouldn't need to go for too many. 7 have Brayshaw and that's about it so I can see them going after quite a few 9 commentators unfortunately. I really hope if 7 get some cricket it's not infested by Basil, Hame and co because we will long for the days of Healy and Slater then.

One thing I would bet on is Warne will pop up wherever the cricket is.

I really hope if 7 get some cricket it's not infested by Basil, Hame and co because we will long for the days of Healy and Slater then.
Yeah I think if 7 got it it would be as bad as Channel 9 was, given their recent "efforts" re: AFL commentary.

Ten/Fox is different as they're more tested and proven solid. Though do Fox even have commentators anymore? The only two I can think of are Border and Julian.

Depends who gets it you'd think. 10 and Fox already have a stable of cricket commentators so wouldn't need to go for too many. 7 have Brayshaw and that's about it so I can see them going after quite a few 9 commentators unfortunately. I really hope if 7 get some cricket it's not infested by Basil, Hame and co because we will long for the days of Healy and Slater then.

One thing I would bet on is Warne will pop up wherever the cricket is.
If Warne is paired with Gilly, Punter and co (except junior) he'll be good.

Yeah I think if 7 got it it would be as bad as Channel 9 was, given their recent "efforts" re: AFL commentary.

Ten/Fox is different as they're more tested and proven solid. Though do Fox even have commentators anymore? The only two I can think of are Border and Julian.
They have Haddin and Harris in the studio for away tours as well IIRC. Most likely outcome for me would that they hire the commentators and let Ten simulcast their commentary.
Don't they hate each other?
Do they? Huh.

I think CA should invest in streaming rights including Smart TV and computers (not just mobile devices like the AFL app). I'm happy to pay a fee direct to CA, I already subscribed for their live pass before the T20 went to FTA, happy to do it again. They could sub-contract the the production to Foxtel.

If 10 and Fox simulcast tests, the line up could be:

Host: Roz Kelly

Commentators: Border, Julian, MWaugh, Ponting, Gilchrist, Fleming, Warne, 1 or 2 overseas commentators.

Could do a lot worse than that imo.
Especially if you dump Waugh.

If 10 and Fox simulcast tests, the line up could be:

Host: Roz Kelly

Commentators: Border, Julian, MWaugh, Ponting, Gilchrist, Fleming, Warne, 1 or 2 overseas commentators.

Could do a lot worse than that imo.

I like the sound of this.

Like everyone else I grew up with tests and ODIs on 9 but Richie and Tony have passed and Bill barely makes an appearance any more, so it's really just the new numpties plus Chappelli who was always a miserable old kent anyway. He's probably sitting in his rocking chair somewhere right now banging on about that time he tampered with the ball at the Adelaide Oval in 1975.

BJ does a good job hosting on Fox, could easily do the anchor role in our Summer. Has enough ex player points to be taken seriously by the public and boys' club and is also handsome and charismatic, plus has been working in non cricket media for about 15 years. Junior is a peanut but the rest are pretty good value. Warne is better when not teamed with his bogan mate Clarke talking about who is thirsty and needs a frothy.

Test cricket live and ad free sounds amazing.

Australian Cricket Broadcast Rights 2018 - 2023