Review Autopsy of the Hawthorn Game Round 12

Struck me today how often our mids hang off the footy. Hardly ever see one of our players crash into a pack or throw themselves at a loose ground ball without regard to their own safety in an attempt to win it
I saw our mids and Nic Nat sprawling all over the ground diving on the ball to only knock it onto a Hawthorn player, wierd. I think they need to keep their feet more and need to read the plays better.

I find some of Simmo's moves strange and this shows we lack experience in our coaches, thought the move to start wellingham as a sub was weird considering he hasnt played that bad in the last couple of weeks. Thought McGovern has been outstanding in the 2 games he played and obviously we need to put more games in him now that the season is gone, Dont understand why we go in with schofield,brown,mckenzie and glass in the defence, It Doesn't work!!!!. I hope he realises soon that we are not going make finals and pick McGovern,Lycett/Sinclair and Sheed for the rest of the year, Sheed has to get games to learn.

Considering the ball was just pumped long out of our backline all day under pressure I'm not sure how Cripps stands a chance of impacting the game? I would be more worried about that issue than Cripps having only 3 disposals, wouldn't you?

how about putting some defensive pressure from time to time

Besides cherry picking goals here and there (quite rarely) what does Cripps even offer?

At least LeCras brings other players into the game
Agreed. I don't rate his crumbing-small-fwd skills... have never seen him rove the pack like Ellis did today.
He is ridiculously goal hungry / greedy. Its bad. I don't envisage him there for his forward tackling pressure. He's supposedly quick but do we ever see him run down their quaterback waltzing it out of our f50?

Hill doesn't really offer much better... so what does that leave us with?

I'd like some creativity shown... maybe an extra back named and we move one of hurn/schoefield possibly forward as high flank/utility.
Or what about turnbridge or even ginnity played forward with specific instructions their main role is forward pressure. To me either of these options gives us something better than what cripps seems to provide.

how bout putting some dvensive pressure from time to time
The ball gets pumped out on the right wing, contested ball with the talls, 3 v 1 or 2 v 1, Hawthorn wins it and kicks back into their forward 50. Contested in Hawks 50 and gets pumped back out to the left wing, another 2 v 1 situation and the ball gets pumped back into the Hawks 50. Rinse and repeat. How many consecutive 50 metre sprints in one game does he need to do get to the ground ball and "put some defensive pressure on" whilst in the meantime running hard to be an option himself to make his opposition acountable for him?

-Ve
Glass and Cox are ageing fast - time to say goodby
we have recruited a limited number of very average small midfielders (no good big or fast ones) thanks woodhouse
we are slow and don't have mids with the courage to take risks and run (less Yeo)

+ve
Yoe was won in a raffle but is likely to be our best midfielder
gov is our best KP forward (he like actually took marks)
NN is overcoming OP
We are a development team and we should see some interesting selections soon - I would drop Cox and Darling after two pathetic efforts. masten and shuey are soft and skill less under pressure (a position and a negative depends how you look at it)
Gaff keeps going and Rosa is very tough

Agreed. I don't rate his crumbing-small-fwd skills... have never seen him rove the pack like Ellis did today.
He is ridiculously goal hungry / greedy. Its bad. I don't envisage him there for his forward tackling pressure. He's supposedly quick but do we ever see him run down their quaterback waltzing it out of our f50?

Hill doesn't really offer much better... so what does that leave us with?

I'd like some creativity shown... maybe an extra back named and we move one of hurn/schoefield possibly forward as high flank/utility.
Or what about turnbridge or even ginnity played forward with specific instructions their main role is forward pressure. To me either of these options gives us something better than what cripps seems to provide.

Cripps did have 10 tackles last week. Gets a raw deal on here regarding his defensive pressure.

Is no more hungry than Lecca either, probably kicking better from set shots this year too.

+ Yeo is going to be a very, very good midfielder
+ Bennell
+ McGovern

- Season was over a few weeks ago, but now it just feels pointless. I'm really not looking forward to watching the rest of it.

+ Yeo is going to be a very, very good midfielder
+ Bennell
+ McGovern

- Season was over a few weeks ago, but now it just feels pointless. I'm really not looking forward to watching the rest of it.

I'm looking for improvement but it feels like a pointless exercise. That was our strongest line up today and I see nothing but wilderness for a while.

Cox needs to be dropped or rested this week. He is at the end right now. Lycett is performing too well to be ignored.
Selwood is having no effect. Not even tagging well. As much as I dont rate Hutchings I'd rather him in the team than Scott at the moment.
Masten's strength is his running but he doesnt use it. He isnt quick or strong so not sure what he offers now. Seems to have gone backwards.
McGovern should be kept at CHF allowing Darling to roam around the ground.

positives
the newer faces around the club-yeo,Mcgovern ,bennell and ellis
some really good passages of ball movement
negatives
emacs stinker
cox playing for frees halfway through marking attempts
just the fact that when we get behind we don't look good enough to be able to get back in it

Positives have been said pretty well, Gov, Yeo, Bennell, Nic Nat all pretty solid.

Negatives - Skill errors, fumbles, crucial drop marks in dangerous positions.

Good old bombing the ball from the back pocket and turning it over at half back. Rinse and repeat until eventual opposition goal

Good old bombing the ball from the wing and turning it over at half forward. Rinse and repeat until eventual opposition goal

Ugly Victorian excuses that apply to Victorian teams but not us. (Please note I don't endorse any of them but Dermie would jump all over them if it wasnt us)

6 day break travelling to Tasmania. Considering how bad teams sook coming to Perth where 2 actual teams exist. Its all about the money obviously but it seems unfair to the WA teams having to play there. No offence to our Tassie fans

I find some of Simmo's moves strange and this shows we lack experience in our coaches, thought the move to start wellingham as a sub was weird considering he hasnt played that bad in the last couple of weeks.

Vs Norf 14 touches
Vs Collingwood 21 touches
Bye
Vs GWS 18 touches
Dropped
Vs Carlton 13 touches
Vs Port 13 touches

Apart from the Collingwood game he's been shite for 2 months now

positives
the newer faces around the club-yeo,Mcgovern ,bennell and ellis
some really good passages of ball movement
negatives
emacs stinker
cox playing for frees halfway through marking attempts
just the fact that when we get behind we don't look good enough to be able to get back in it

Yeah, a BIG spotlight needs to be shined on this in the review of the game.

Cox's diving and general performance nowadays is crippling the team. He makes awesome passages of play look and end horribly when he doesn't bother going for a mark and flings his arms out looking for a free kick.

He needs to be phased out, pronto. Surely Lycett could offer more as the young, emerging ruck duo with Nicnat.

Cox needs to be dropped or rested this week. He is at the end right now. Lycett is performing too well to be ignored.
Selwood is having no effect. Not even tagging well. As much as I dont rate Hutchings I'd rather him in the team than Scott at the moment.
Masten's strength is his running but he doesnt use it. He isnt quick or strong so not sure what he offers now. Seems to have gone backwards.
McGovern should be kept at CHF allowing Darling to roam around the ground.
Yep agree. Both Sinkers and Lycett deserve to be in the 22 on current form. Both having blinders today for the Royals. Sadly, Cox is not doing enough these days.

It's an indictment that since our last flag, our best young midfield prospect is someone we brought to the club last year (Yeo).

We've developed our talls, why haven't we recruited (trade/drafting) developed any decent mids?

Serious questions need to be asked of our recruitment and development teams.

How does Yeo not rate a mention?

Not one article i've read has mentioned Gov.

Meanwhile they are all harping on about 1st gamer Lowden bagging his 3 goals. Which made Cox's game look even more pathetic.

Good to see Priddis is taking up his usual spot as eagles best yet again this week. And he didn't even have most disposals for once, would you believe it. Nicnat couldn't even make it into our best.

I'd like to know who is doing these 'best' columns every ****ing week.

Review Autopsy of the Hawthorn Game Round 12