Review Autopsy - St Kilda v Carlton

Before the game, we were saying that if Siposs got about 2 goals and about 3-4 tackles, that'd be okay. He got 3 tackles, and 3 scoring shots. So, if those 3 scoring shots are behinds, we delist him, but if they're 2.1 or 3.0, he's done his job?

Am I playing it right? o_O

He missed. It happens. He'll get more settled with a few weeks in the ones, and he'll start to kick those.

Before the game, we were saying that if Siposs got about 2 goals and about 3-4 tackles, that'd be okay. He got 3 tackles, and 3 scoring shots. So, if those 3 scoring shots are behinds, we delist him, but if they're 2.1 or 3.0, he's done his job?

Am I playing it right? o_O

He missed. It happens. He'll get more settled with a few weeks in the ones, and he'll start to kick those.
Pls Pers. I said 7 goals and 2 behinds or he is delisted straight after the siren.

:D

Thoughts:
Actually have no idea what the deal with Acres is. He played well, made good decisions, and went in hard. Needs to improve his fitness, but iirc, he got injured at some point in the preseason
Siposs needs another few weeks to settle before making a call on where he is. Can't expect people to come in from the reserves and start killing it. Completely different structure, match speed, etc. I also reckon he could've had 3 goals if he kicked straight
Steven is building up to match fitness nicely, he looks better every week. So annoying that he got injured that late in preseason, especially with that type of injury.
Longer looks better every game he plays. He's really aggressive around the contest, which I really like. Had an equal second team high 6 tackles tonight, along with 14 disposals
Armitage, Fisher, Hickey, Gilbert, Wright, Templeton, Geary. We have them in we're a much better team, and probably would have won tonight if we did. Luck plays a huge part in how a season goes
The bye can't come quickly enough. I reckon all the players need a week off, to get their minds back in it. It's gonna be a long year, but we'll make it through
Need Lee in ASAP. I don't care how he's been playing, we need another dangerous tall forward. Stanley went missing tonight, but even when he doesn't he doesn't really damage the scoreboard anyway. Our structure has been horrendous all season, which has been brushed aside by Riewoldt playing well enough against bad sides to get us over the line

Sipposs 10 disposals, 4 marks, 3tackles and 3 shots at goal. Serviceable, not great but will kep his spot. Can only improve. Doesn't seem to read the play all that well.

We lacked polish and skills, there are positive signs that we all can see.
Billings, Dunstan and Acres will be good
Delaney is arguably our best pickup last off season
Bruce and Longer are solid now but can be better
Newnes is going along at a nice rate (seems very James Kelly like to me i think)

Sipposs 10 disposals, 4 marks, 3tackles and 3 shots at goal. Serviceable, not great but will kep his spot. Can only improve. Doesn't seem to read the play all that well.
Which is entirely understandable when he hasn't been in the team yet this year. Give him 3-4 weeks to get "in sync" with the players, and for the players to get "in sync" with him.

Couldn't watch the game but what happened with Shenton after the 1st quarter? He was getting a fair bit of it when everyone else in our team was struggling then just kind of stopped.

I think the Bruce and Delaney combo is pretty successful and depending on how Fisher goes in the next few weeks he could come in for Gwilt.

Didn't go, and between group assignments and Game of Thrones, have only just finished watching.

1. Lack of Skills killed us moving forward. The Scoring Shot, The kick deep into the 50, and the one that's just outside/shallow entry were all poor. Need to fix that up somehow.

2. While the pressure on the ball carrier was excellent, the same problem I've seen again again, mostly from us, but from other teams too, all it takes is a slick handball and a semi-decent kick to open the space for an end-to-end effort.

3. Please don't take this as reactionary. I have been big on Sipposs, when others, especially in the real world, have been critical of him. By can can say, 100%, that Sipposs seemed to offer nothing offensively or defensively. If his disposal isn't right, there's no reason in the world why he should be playing ahead of a Lee, or a Dunell, or hell, even a Simpkin. At least with Simpkin you'd know you'd get 100% from him.

few stats that i found interesting live..

Dont know what it ended up but Carlton had 12 more hitouts at one point but we had more hit outs to advantage - shows either longer is very good, or that we have improved significantly around the contests
We also had the same amount of scoring shots as Carlton early in the 4th. Go Figure!

So I'm guessing this is doubling as the review thread?

Were the people bagging out Acres watching a different game or something? I loved his endeavor and his second efforts, if he was tackled he'd just turn around straight away and try to get the ball back. His personal effort was probably my highlight for the second half.

Our forward line still has massive issues, but our delivery was terrible. If you're going to try running with a one man forward line, that's great, but at least try to give that one forward something to work with. Way too many time the ball would come sailing over Rooey's head, or drop well short.

Just about all of the players who didn't play tonight were sitting behind me, I'll put up what I learnt tomorrow.

EDIT: Oh and I can't believe I forgot, that was the worst umpiring I've seen all year, truly deplorable. Any chance we ever had of getting some momentum going was smashed by some ridiculous call, and we weren't given anything for the entire first half. How Chamberlain still has his job after so many years of utter crap is beyond me.

I really want to see what happens without Roo in the team. I'm so sick of seeing us ignore decent leads or 1v1 contests and then kick to Roo who is almost always in a 2v1.

He is a legend but we really need to not be so reliant on him and the only way I can see that happening is if he isn't out there for a few weeks.

I really want to see what happens without Roo in the team. I'm so sick of seeing us ignore decent leads or 1v1 contests and then kick to Roo who is almost always in a 2v1.

He is a legend but we really need to not be so reliant on him and the only way I can see that happening is if he isn't out there for a few weeks.
We did look a lot better when he went off in the 3rd quarter, Riewoldt is an absolute champion we all know this i just wish the players would not look for him every single time.

Siposs needs a few weeks in imo. You'd count on him to nail those misses normally, so things a little different and he has 2, maybe 3 goals.

Yes he missed but it wasn't all bad. His first quarter was terrible but I thought he persevered and showed a bit after that. Deserves another week, if we just drop him after tonight it'll destroy his confidence I believe. Don't want that.

Longer the big positive out of the game for mine.

I've never heard fans as ignorant to the game as what I did today from some Carlton flogs. Myself and two others (one a blues fan) moved spots simply because of the rubbish that was being spouted. So that's my major negative

First game I managed to get to this year. Notice so much more at the game.

As others have mentioned above Delaney has been a fantastic pick up. Competes so well and is rarely beaten. Doesn't rack up disposals
but used it well when he did have the footy. Good to have a full back again.

Josh Bruce competes well but really lacks Polish, Skills and decision making. Needs to work on this side of his game.

Billings is all class, uses the ball so well.

Bit of Acres bashing earlier, thought he played well for a 2nd gamer, backs himself, tackles well, I reckon you'll see him improve very quickly.
One thing you notice with him at the game is he is not match fit yet and was cooked early on.

Sippos is an A grade amateurs full forward, just don't think he's got the smarts and work ethic to adjust to roles required at AFL Level, I am all for giving him 5 games in a row to see how he goes but over the next two years others will pass him.

Longer was better tonight but he is as someone else on this forum mentioned a "Battler" He'll get better and rucks take a long time so will be
keen to see how he develops. #wemisshickey

Clint Jones works his ass off.

Our forward line structure well............"kick to roo" needs some work.

being at the game you notice so much more how much ball use and run and spread is so vital , two areas we are poor at.

look forward to seeing the youngsters develop and DRAFT DAY 2014, the rest will be long and painful.

Agree re: Sip, even if he had a poor game he still needs another 2 games in a row, needs to feel part of the team and know the guys he's playing with etc.

I would've liked to see Ross get more of a go as well.

Sipposs' pressure was pretty good tonight and like everyone else seemed to be just awful going at goal. He was mainly playing forward with a midfield that was not having a great night for inside 50s. Give him some more time.

Overall disappointing game though. When we "brought it" in the last half our goal kicking was just deplorable and lost us the game there.

We lacked polish and skills, there are positive signs that we all can see.
Billings, Dunstan and Acres will be good
Delaney is arguably our best pickup last off season
Bruce and Longer are solid now but can be better
Newnes is going along at a nice rate (seems very James Kelly like to me i think)

Def how he got in everyones faces was very Kelly like. He managed to be fighting half the Carlton team. He is really coming on with his composure under pressure.

First game I managed to get to this year. Notice so much more at the game.

As others have mentioned above Delaney has been a fantastic pick up. Competes so well and is rarely beaten. Doesn't rack up disposals
but used it well when he did have the footy. Good to have a full back again.

Josh Bruce competes well but really lacks Polish, Skills and decision making. Needs to work on this side of his game.

Billings is all class, uses the ball so well.

Bit of Acres bashing earlier, thought he played well for a 2nd gamer, backs himself, tackles well, I reckon you'll see him improve very quickly.
One thing you notice with him at the game is he is not match fit yet and was cooked early on.

Sippos is an A grade amateurs full forward, just don't think he's got the smarts and work ethic to adjust to roles required at AFL Level, I am all for giving him 5 games in a row to see how he goes but over the next two years others will pass him.

Longer was better tonight but he is as someone else on this forum mentioned a "Battler" He'll get better and rucks take a long time so will be
keen to see how he develops. #wemisshickey

Clint Jones works his ass off.

Our forward line structure well............"kick to roo" needs some work.

being at the game you notice so much more how much ball use and run and spread is so vital , two areas we are poor at.

look forward to seeing the youngsters develop and DRAFT DAY 2014, the rest will be long and painful.

CJ bashers don't attend games because anyone that wanted a good example of a high work rate should show Clint. Runs until he's broken. He and Riewoldt are like two running machines. If you gave Armo his work rate you would have a superstar.

Review Autopsy - St Kilda v Carlton