Review Autopsy Thread: Round 2, Hawthorn v Melbourne

I do believe Shiels game tonight may have consigned Xavier Ellis to another month of kicking across goal at Box Hill.

Great win by the boys :)

Although my only negative (apart for the 2nd) were the idiots behind me, absoulte pack of morons, and I'm ashamed to say they were Hawks supporters.

I do believe Shiels game tonight may have consigned Xavier Ellis to another month of kicking across goal at Box Hill.
I have to agree saw him at box hill this week and he really needs to play better than that to force his way back in.

Everyone agrees we didn't play anywhere near our best footy in that first half, but we had more inside fifties and 6 more scoring shots at half time and people were calling for heads to roll.

Can't help but think that was a massive over-reaction at half time from our supporters.

I can certainly understand the frustration, hell I was screaming at the TV too for a while there, but I really hope (though highly doubt) that now people have learnt to count the chooks...after they hatch. :thumbsu:

Rioli, Burgers, Shiels, Suckling, Young and Sewell - Take a bow. Great effort.

Bateman, Birchall, Gibbo, Rough, Savage and Hale - Solid games. Buddy was solid too just needs to convert a few more.

Stratts, Gilham, Hodge and Lewis will all be better for the run and didn't do too much wrong. Bruce was ok without doing too much and given a few more weeks should be good for us.

We still need a bit more out of Ossie and Renouf though IMO.

All in all, I'm quite happy with what I saw from the Hawks tonight. Kicking on goal is certainly a worry, but I'm confident we have a good season of footy ahead of us "supporters" (and I use that term loosely).

I must admit, I said some things at the game during the 2nd quarter I shouldn't have.... particularly about our coach. It was wrong of me to say these things, and the heat of the battle got to me. But that second half tonight fills me with more confidence for next week. It was a strange game and reminded me of times in 2007 when we were trying out our new gameplan and encountering Struggletown in a major way.

One thing that gave me a tiny bit of hope at half time... the stats (the ones they show on the screen) were VERY even. Apart from contested possies and handballs, most if not all other categories were only 2-5 differential between both teams. So I thought we were doing a good job of getting the ball, but were just butchering it like never before once we did get it.

Thought Junior Rioli had probably one of the best games he's had in his career. In terms of 4-quarter performance, he was scintillating. Hate to think how excited Mr. McAvaney would have been getting had it been a Friday night match.

Roughead for mine was excellent. He has stepped up in his leadership and his marking has improved incredibly. His work in the Ruck was also very good. Hale was awesome in the 2nd half, seemed to have it on a string especially at the 50m line (MCC side). His tap work improved as did his second efforts.

I thought Lewis was great when he came on. The gameplan execution seemed to click into shape from the first minute he started, was quite amazing actually. Probably a pure coincidence, but once again his leadership skills are really starting to shine through.

Can't wait to see us up against the Tigers next week. They will be coming up after a hard working draw. If we can put 4 quarters together (pardon the cliche), then we should be able to have another happy ending.

Great second half, especially 3rd quarter :thumbsu:
Lets see how we go against a better side, because Melbourne didn't come out to play in the second half.
Our accuracy in front of goal, was a worry in the first half and very frustrating but at least we were getting plenty of opportunities.
If we kicked straight we could've and should've buried them.

Loved the kids tonight - Suckling was impressive, has great skills by foot
And Sheilds had a good game too
Not sure about bruce haven't seen much from him yet.

All in all happy with the performance, keep it up Hawkers!

Everyone agrees we didn't play anywhere near our best footy in that first half, but we had more inside fifties and 6 more scoring shots at half time and people were calling for heads to roll.

Can't help but think that was a massive over-reaction at half time from our supporters.

And continues... Key indicators were all comfortably Hawthorn's way in the FIRST half. Just didn't feel like it because of the turnovers and Melbourne's efficiency going forward.

Massive plus for us is that we didn't drop our heads - just kept going until Melbourne collapsed.

I must admit, I said some things at the game during the 2nd quarter I shouldn't have.... particularly about our coach.

One thing that gave me a tiny bit of hope at half time... the stats (the ones they show on the screen) were VERY even. Apart from contested possies and handballs, most if not all other categories were only 2-5 differential between both teams. So I thought we were doing a good job of getting the ball, but were just butchering it like never before once we did get it.

Well said! :thumbsu:

Was nice to come out and play like we did in the second half. Certainly not get excited though. We were lucky we played such a horrible side today. Against the top teams we ain't get get half the scoring opportunities that we did today and if we continue to only convert 1/3 of our shots at goal we're gonna be fighting it out for 8th spot again.

Just in from the G - the fact they now serve Carlton stubbies in the Kennedy/Gold members room is not going to help my marrriage.

Whilst I agree that the 2nd quarter was a concern I think when watching the replay we'll find that the Dees played about 10-15 mins of irresistable football. When going all there low draft pix can really use it.

Apart from this we were back to our '08 minnow devouring form. I don't want to go the early crow and I know the Pie are S#&t hot right now but I am starting to feel it.

Must say i was worried at half time along with my other fellow Hawthorn supporters around me wondering what this result will have on the Hawks

But a magnificent 2nd half performance by the Hawks,they ran hard and their kicking skills improved to completely over run the Demons,

Was impressed by Birchall performance this afternoon , he really showed his class again after it's been missing for a while.

Also Matt Suckling and of course Cyril Rioli was best on ground.

Our biggest weakness was once again Brent Renouf as soon Hale and Roughead went into the ruck we won the centre clearences.

Can't wait till big Max returns to the side again maybe in 2 or 3 weeks time hopefully.

Anyway it was fantastic win by the Hawks tonight.

And i'm enjoying my couple of Red wines and relaxing pity it's Sunday night back to work tomorrow.

Just in from the G - the fact they now serve Carlton stubbies in the Kennedy/Gold members room is not going to help my marrriage.

Whilst I agree that the 2nd quarter was a concern I think when watching the replay we'll find that the Dees played about 10-15 mins of irresistable football. When going all there low draft pix can really use it.

Apart from this we were back to our '08 minnow devouring form. I don't want to go the early crow and I know the Pie are S#&t hot right now but I am starting to feel it.

You sure it's not the Carlton stubbies you're feeling Monks? :D

Obviously you weren't watching the same game.

Here are some stats:

Jamar: 29 hit-outs, one goal, no other stats to mention.

Hale: 9 hitouts... 6 kicks, 13 handballs, zero goals. Half of those handballs was when he was standing like a statue in the centre in the last quarter.

Renouf (subbed not far into the third Q): 7 hit-outs, 1 handball, I kick.

Sammy and Sool were so good at ground level, used to reading the opposition ruck.

The idea that Hale is a forward option when resting seems like a fail to me. That's the idea most of us thought of his role. The glory days of kicking seven goals in a game seems very far away. Let alone hoping he'll make himself useful by kicking a couple himself and taking pressure off our other main forwards. Roughie was miles more useful up the ground.

We seriously have ruck problems. Renouf has not come along and Hale is no panacea, forward or anywhere else.

I'll say again, Lisle or Lowden may well be a better option. They can't do worse in the ruck and may provide more forward.

Here are some stats:

Jamar: 29 hit-outs, one goal, no other stats to mention.

Hale: 9 hitouts... 6 kicks, 13 handballs, zero goals. Half of those handballs was when he was standing like a statue in the centre in the last quarter.

Renouf (subbed not far into the third Q): 7 hit-outs, 1 handball, I kick.

Sammy and Sool were so good at ground level, used to reading the opposition ruck.

The idea that Hale is a forward option when resting seems like a fail to me. That's the idea most of us thought of his role. The glory days of kicking seven goals in a game seems very far away. Let alone hoping he'll make himself useful by kicking a couple himself and taking pressure off our other main forwards. Roughie was miles more useful up the ground.

We seriously have ruck problems. Renouf has not come along and Hale is no panacea, forward or anywhere else.

I'll say again, Lisle or Lowden may well be a better option. They can't do worse in the ruck and may provide more forward.
You make some good points Hawker_Ant, but Lisle is not a ruck. In fact, Roughead is a better tap ruckman than Lisle.

Lowden is not ready just yet, but looks to have some good qualities about him, particularly below the knees. Still another year away from debut.

You make some good points Hawker_Ant, but Lisle is not a ruck. In fact, Roughead is a better tap ruckman than Lisle.

Lowden is not ready just yet, but looks to have some good qualities about him, particularly below the knees. Still another year away from debut.

BnG, I thoroughly agree. But so many have been howling for new blood. I can't see we'll do any worse in the ruck by having Lisle (who can actually play a forward role) instead of Hale. And if we are interested in having a real ruckman, Lowden may be a better option until Large Max is fit.

Hale has not impressed me. Fail ruck, fail forward. Maybe needs more time. He's not exactly a noob tho.

Re: Renouf, they said that he just has light whiplash, painful for today, but should be fine next week (hopefully we don't even need him and BIIIIIG MAAAAX can re-re-re-debut)

I met Big, and I mean BIG MAX today. Had a casual chat walking to the footy.

Nice fella on first impressions. I can assure you that you will not see MAX until at least round 6. He has fitness to build up, and needs to get his hands on the footy. Would not be surprised if he is not on the cards until later in the year, if at all.

Savage is a mate of mine (not really close, but close enough). Just wondering if you lads think he will hold spot in the coming weeks. Was OK today, better last week. Who could potentially replace him?

Last week he showed alot, this week he was average as you said, maybe Ellis could take his spot but it's good to see him have a go

BnG, I thoroughly agree. But so many have been howling for new blood. I can't see we'll do any worse in the ruck by having Lisle (who can actually play a forward role) instead of Hale. And if we are interested in having a real ruckman, Lowden may be a better option until Large Max is fit.

Hale has not impressed me. Fail ruck, fail forward. Maybe needs more time. He's not exactly a noob tho.
I thought Hale was pretty good today, but that's just what my reflection. I'd love to see Lowden out there too, but I also concede that if our club puts him out on an AFL field, he may actually not survive it intact. Fact is, Luke would be snapped in half if he came up against most opposition ruckmen.

Lisle has height, yes. But he lacks the ability to body players, and we'd be killed out of the middle if he played ruck. Just not going to happen. Fingers crossed big Maxy can make it this year.

been out of the loop for a bit guys, whats isaac smith doing at the moment?

Isaac Smith is a bit like Clint Young. Good long kick and pace but really, the kid (21 now?) has only played a handful of VFL games. Will need time to come along and get elite fitness and be used to the top level.

Expect to see more of him next year. May play bit parts this year if Young / Bateman gets injured. Don't expect much else.

I thought Hale was pretty good today, but that's just what my reflection. I'd love to see Lowden out there too, but I also concede that if our club puts him out on an AFL field, he may actually not survive it intact. Fact is, Luke would be snapped in half if he came up against most opposition ruckmen.

Lisle has height, yes. But he lacks the ability to body players, and we'd be killed out of the middle if he played ruck. Just not going to happen. Fingers crossed big Maxy can make it this year.

You're right, Lowden isn't ready. He's not a small bugger tho (height, no, weight, yes). Lisle, in my opinion, is at least a good a ruck option as Roughie, and provides a lot more forward.

Just not seeing a lot of upside in Hale. He doesn't do a lot around the ground, seems slow, not doing anything forward or in defence... maqybe needs some time to get used to AFL again, he didn't get a lot at Roo's. Maybe there was a reason for that...

FFS again, seriously????? I thought 2 weeks ago you were done with the same frikken question you have asked about 50 times, sooooooooooo annoying:thumbsdown:

You're right, Lowden isn't ready. He's not a small bugger tho (height, no, weight, yes). Lisle, in my opinion, is at least a good a ruck option as Roughie, and provides a lot more forward.

Just not seeing a lot of upside in Hale. He doesn't do a lot around the ground, seems slow, not doing anything forward or in defence... maqybe needs some time to get used to AFL again, he didn't get a lot at Roo's. Maybe there was a reason for that...
Re: Hale, could be the reason. Most likely, as with many players, still getting used to the game plan. Or perhaps, as you say, still getting used to the Hawks set ups, or his role alongside Renouf. Could be a myriad of things, really. I'm willing to cut him some slack, and he's a more mature, experienced ruckman than Renouf at this stage, so we'd be silly not to use that for the betterment of our team.

Review Autopsy Thread: Round 2, Hawthorn v Melbourne