Autopsy Awesome, and some would say, unexpected win to the Pies over the Crows

Way to spoil my night! Went downstairs for ciggie and there were about 5 Crows supporters having drinks. Asked me who I followed and told them. They then started on Buckley, well I saw red.

Asked if they knew who won tonight and repeated the score, turned around and I went back upstairs.

Best thing I saw all night was a smile on this man's face. I've been as critical as the next person but I'm stoked for him tonight.

BjPS7Mr_d.jpg

So last week Pendles played a great game running with Cripps. This week Rusty has given Sloane an absolute bath.

After Mitchell's exploits in round 1 it seems Bucks has had a re-think on just giving the opposition's best mid free rein.

The tactic doesn't suit every opposition team and our mids won't always win those battles, but man, it has really worked a treat in the last fortnight.

It will be interesting to see how we approach Merrett on Anzac Day.

Best thing I saw all night was a smile on this man's face. I've been as critical as the next person but I'm stoked for him tonight.

BjPS7Mr_d.jpg

Yep, stoked for him. I would love to see that smile every week so hopefully we can put a few good games together.

I gave him (and us) no chance, very happy to proved wrong. Said he was a dead man walking too, hope he keeps embarrassing me all year.

Our hands tonight were next level. Grundy is legit one the stars of the comp. That was the best we've played in four years. Should also mention the coaching. Bucks owned it tonight. Essendon next. Back. It. Up.

Yes, our hands were first class and I think made the difference, of note Brown and a great improvement in that area from Treloar. Good observation.

Huge step forward.
Too many positives to even dwell on.

Best Friday night for a good while at the Pie eyed camp.

Not that it matters now, but I’m still genuinely filthy about that free kick paid against Sam Murray on McGovern. I missed the first half and just saw the highlights, David Mackay absolutely annihilated Josh Thomas in the exact same manor and the umpires deemed that a fair contest. Get your shit together umpiring department, can’t have two different adjudications for the same scenario you muppets.

So last week Pendles played a great game running with Cripps. This week Rusty has given Sloane an absolute bath.

After Mitchell's exploits in round 1 it seems Bucks has had a re-think on just giving the opposition's best mid free rein.

The tactic doesn't suit every opposition team and our mids won't always win those battles, but man, it has really worked a treat in the last fortnight.

It will be interesting to see how we approach Merrett on Anzac Day.
But will anyone heaps the accolades on Sidey like they have Mitchell? Sidey a cool 40 touched tonight and regularly gets the pill. Whether you like him or not as is done a lot here. I am in the he’s a star camp. Won more games for us than Treloar or Pendles.

Buckley's Press Conference:

Whose idea was it to get the coaches and staff involved in the post-match huddle?
"It was the leaders' decision. They'd spoken about it before the season and on times that they feel it is appropriate to get the coaches and staff involved, that was the first time we'd seen it this year"

You've had some significant injury setbacks which you've never blamed recently, so does the win tonight give you a huge sense of belief?
"Regardless of headlines or anything else that happens externally, we were a very settled side. It was one player in and one player out for us tonight. We wanted to build on the performance of last week where we thought we played 45 minutes of really good footy and then just lacked conviction in the second half as we discussed. I thought it was a really strong four quarter performance [tonight]"

You used Scott Pendlebury very effectively in a run with role last week, just take us through some of the tactics tonight which looked to be at the top of your game
"We let our players play to their strengths and to a man without individualising, I thought that for the large part of the game I thought we were able to do that. I thought the backs were really strong. The forwards put on a lot of pressure and the mids hunted the ball and the clearance numbers and contested ball numbers would tell a tail there"

Where does that win rate at your time at Collingwood? It was your first win at the Adelaide Oval and to win by eight goals in the wet.
"We've never minded travelling. It was a significant performance for us because getting some belief about the way you play is an important part of taking the next steps. This is only one game, but it was an important game for us to get right. We thought our planning was strong and we thought we had the right themes for the players, but the reality is the players need to go and get it done. All the credit goes to firstly the leaders and then the group of players to execute it. In terms of ranking it, it's a significant win for us and it's one we're pretty happy with"

Jaidyn Stephenson in his 4th game kicks five
"Yeah, that's not going to happen every week is it. The consistent thing with Jaidyn has been his work rate and his willingness to pressure. He's got speed, which is not a commodity that we've got in abundance on our list comparatively potentially, so we identified that in recruiting for him in particular. He hasn't let us down and even right till the end when he was pretty knackered, he's putting chase down tackles on and really taking the game on which is encouraging"

What's been an issue you've identified with the list, with you recruiting Stephenson in the draft and Sam Murray through a trade with Sydney, was that something you looked over the list last year and something you needed to improve on?
"I think you need to have it in the right places. I suppose we've added Will [Hoskin-Elliott] in the last couple of years as well. Sam [Murray] definitely takes the game on and we love that about him and Jaidyn is lightly built, but there's elements to the game that he is suited to and that open field play. A lot of his pressure is chasing pressure as he just closes the distance so quickly, so when you've got a player like that, not unlike a Cyril Rioli or Puopolo from Hawthorn, you just never know when they will get you and I think Stephenson puts that sort of pressure on and it's been good to see. Steele Sidebottom and Scott Pendlebury, they've got other strengths that they bring to the table, so I think it's important to keep using your players where they can optimise their strengths"

Grundy's game was amazing tonight against Sam Jacobs?
"He's in a rich vain of form. He's worked really hard not only just pre-season but over a fair period of time. He's still a young man and still developing. I thought our connection between our rucks and our mids was stronger this week than it's been for the first three rounds and through JLT. I think it's the first time we've been really able to connect well from ruckman through to first possession. We've been winning hit outs significantly, but losing clearances, so we've done some work over the last couple of weeks and that's come together. There's still a lot of improvement for us and there's still a lot of things we want to improve and turnaround from our first month now, but tonight it's pretty hard to fault. Most of the stuff we wanted to see improve improved".

There was some good vision of you enjoying the game from the coaches box. Is that a fair thing to say?
"Yeah, I really enjoyed watching that game mate. When your players are so consistent with their effort and do it across the four quarters and handled whatever the Crows threw at us really. That was significant to win every quarter so you have to enjoy that"

How significant was contested ball tonight especially given the conditions?
"It was +33 in the end. When the whips were cracking early we were +16 so half of that was in the first quarter. I thought that ground ball in the form of loose ball gets, which is where we've been down a little in the first three rounds, we won ground ball tonight for the first time for the year. As I said, there were a couple of areas we looked at specifically to try and correct, so we had a good night in that regard. Contested ball is clearly an important stat, but we feel like we've always had a strong contested game but it's about maximising what you get at the other end of that and adding that polish offensively off that, and we're starting to take some shape"

Were you surprised that the Crows went so tall in attack on a wet night. Did you try and exploit that?
"We could have be accused of being too tall as well with Cox and Reid. Jarryd Blair travelled as our 23rd and we had a discussion on tall small and when you actually look at that. I think when you post-analyse, I generally find if you haven't got the result, you're not generally blaming your tall small balance, so there will be other things in the game that you were in control of that you might not have got right. So for us, Mason Cox had 5 touches tonight but he competed really well. He brought the ball to ground and played his role down the line as well as you could ask a bloke like that to play his role. We'd love to get a few more free kicks and have the marks paid, and so would Coxy, but they become significant parts of the way we want to play. We're still working out whether that's right for us. For the opposition, that's for Pykey to work out"

It looked like you kicked low pretty early, was that a deliberate decision given the conditions to make sure you hit up the targets going forward?
"Low? You've picked up something that I'll have to look for mate. We generally want to hit targets and I think we're improving our balance of going long and actually hitting up the player coming towards the ball. Having said that, we did get quite a few long kicks over the back to, especially early, so we were able to score out the back. It's a decision with the player with the ball needs to make and clearly you structure up for both eventualities and allow the players to make their choice as they go"

How much confident does a win give you heading into a match like ANZAC Day in 12 days time, which is obviously one of the biggest games of the season?
"It gives us a lot of confidence about us. It's not so much about where we're heading next week or the opposition we face. It really is, and we've been pretty consistent with this, there's not a lot about putting our focus outside of ourselves. The commentary around us might shift and change in the short-term, but really that's at the response end. We just got to keep working at the inputs and what we put into it. We will change, we will have other blokes that will come in and play roles and we'll keep chopping and changing and keep looking to improve the way we play. On a one night sample, this was a significant execution of what we wanted to see and it's the way we want to play our footy"

Is Taylor Adams a chance for returning for ANZAC Day?
"Both he and Jamie [Elliott] had grade one strains, so they're not significant strains. Old school me, like when you do a hammy it's going to be three weeks, but the medicos are more bullish than that, but we'll judge that. Having a significant break between tonight and round 5 for us is a bonus, but we have a four day break on the other side of that. We'll enjoy tonight first, rest and recover and then we'll work out what we need to do"

Is Daniel Wells a chance given the break coming up?
"He'll play tomorrow, so our VFL play tomorrow at 12:30. So once again we want to see us how we want to play. Wells will get his chance to increase his match practice"

Can you run us through De Goey's journey through pre-season to tonight
"Yeah, just read the papers mate and find out all about it [laughs*]. Yeah, Jordy's was a significant effort to get back and he only played one game in the VFL. He has been pushed pretty hard by the leadership, mainly in the playing group, but clearly the other leadership positions in the football club to bring something more to the table in regards to professionalism and investment of himself to his footy and to the football club. He's a much speculated on character already for a young bloke who really is still only making his way in the game of footy. He's a young man, he's a human, he's made some blues, but he's doing some thing really well and if he continues to have an open mind and bring a growth mindset and a learning mindset into what he does and he actually actions that, then he will continue to earn the respect of his teammates"

Tonight was a step forward for De Goey?
"He played his role. He did some nice things and it was good to see the boys get around him after that goal and there was a bit of feeling in that. The players acknowledged that after the game. I think it's important for Jordan to know that at no stage was he cast aside by the footy club. We're making decisions that we think will help him to educate him to be the best he can be and he's still got a long way to go for that. He's got a lot of a talent and if he can maximise it we will be better off for that"

Is tonight's result a reflection of the mood of the club? It seems like a happy place internally.
"When you have a win like that mate you're not going to be frowning. If we keep having wins like that, I reckon the mood will be good"

http://www.afl.com.au/match-centre/2018/4/adel-v-coll

Autopsy Awesome, and some would say, unexpected win to the Pies over the Crows