Matthew Lloyd on radio just naming his season lowlight as SS and CCJ efforts.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Proof of that is the song and dance made about Howe when he went down earlier in the season. Don't get me wrong, a very good player, but hardly a word (outside of RFC circles) has been said about the loss of Vlas so early in the GF.Most of it is just a hive mind mentality. It's been belted into their heads for so long by the media, all they think about is us being a team of role players and Dusty.
Have a look at the way shows talk about us vs other teams. I don't believe they talk about us any less or give us any less praise than they do others, but when they talk about us, they only ever talk about the team and the system. That is fine, but with other teams they will always pick one or two B grade players and analyse their importance to the team, they rarely do this with us, it's only ever either praising the whole system or one of our star players. etc
most football fans pretty much just regurgitate what the media say.
Nick Vlastuinwould be seen very differently if he was in a Collingwood or Geelong jumper.PLAYERCARDSTART1Nick Vlastuin
- Ht
- 187cm
- Wt
- 88kg
- Pos.
- Def
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 4star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- MG
- 4star
- D
- 3star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 3star
- MG
- 4star
- D
- 5star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 5star
PLAYERCARDEND
Great observationhave you lads noticed with the fu** off danger goal dusty scored in the granny he didnt attack stanley like most players would
he saw the situation, bumbling ruck and danger standing in front of him, dusty knew 100% because stanley is cooked he will auto handball to danger without looking, so instead of going for the tackle like ordinary players would , he was smart he ran in between stanley and danger and stole the handball and scored the goal
thats why he is so good, he has it all, power, speed , skills, poise and smarts
I think "event" was the buzzword!
There was what I regarded as a funny exchange between Waleed Aly and Kelli Underwood on the night grand final thing.
Citing from the article I read, Aly had this to say:
“I hated it, I hated it, I think it’s the kind of thing you like when you don’t actually care about the game that is happening. It’s the kind of thing you gravitate towards when you want it to be an event, not a game. And that is exactly what it felt like.”
Underwood responded:
“That’s c**p … look at these beautiful pictures. I loved it. I think it makes it more of an event."
I mean, way to miss the point!
Aly's saying (and I agree with him) that it's the game that matters. Who gives a stuff about fireworks, and bands, and all that extraneous stuff -- sure it's nice when they get it right, but people go to AFL games to watch an AFL game -- not for that other stuff.
So for Underwood to argue that "it makes it more of an event" is to argue for precisely the thing that Waleed Aly is objecting to. And, for that matter, puts her in the "I don't give enough of a sh*t about football for a football game to be enough" camp -- at least, as far as I'm concerned.
If I want fireworks, I'll go and watch fireworks. If I want to see live bands, I'll go and see live bands. If I want recorded music, I'll turn on the radio. When I go to the footy, please God all I want to see is a footy game.
I'll stop here as I'm sure my point is clear and I don't want to sound like an old man yelling at the clouds -- and there's probably plenty of genuine footy fans who disagree with me and might be offended by the suggestion that if you like the "event" then you don't care about the game.
Who doesn’t?Masterbates to highlights of himself while eating Maccas
We have a number of threads covering the glory of him not choosing our inferior list. But can you really have too many? what a ****ing dopey campaignerSorry to intrude but I thought this thread was a great place for this
Adam Treloarhas been informed by Collingwood that he is not required for 2021PLAYERCARDSTART1Adam Treloar
- Ht
- 185cm
- Wt
- 84kg
- Pos.
- Mid
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 5star
- CL
- 5star
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 2star
- T
- 4star
- CL
- 5star
- D
- 5star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 4star
- CL
- 4star
PLAYERCARDEND
View attachment 995876
Supreme footy IQ.Great observation
I’ll put Jeremy CameronThere has been a similar incident not that long ago, think of Lynch against the Saints in the semi final. Charge out on the lead but doesn't quite make the fall of the ball but then braced and clipped the Saints player with an elbow to the back of the head sending him from the ground with a cut head. As with last nights incident it's an unfortunate result of a contact game where players can approach the contest from 360 degrees. Now imagine how we'd have been feeling if Lynch was rubbed out for protecting himself in a contest.
Difference is that Cameron didn't even contest the footy, just went the elbow once he got to the contest late.I’ll put Jeremy Cameronin then, last year I think. Poleaxed a bears player and was suspended for 5 weeks. There is just no consistency.PLAYERCARDSTART5Jeremy Cameron
- Ht
- 196cm
- Wt
- 94kg
- Pos.
- Fwd
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- G
- 5star
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 2star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 3star
- G
- 5star
- D
- 2star
- K
- 2star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- G
- 5star
PLAYERCARDEND
He didn't get to run through someone who has their back turned to himSorry if this has been mentioned before, but I noticed that Byron Pickettdidn't crack a smile at all during the presentation of the Norm Smith.PLAYERCARDSTARTByron Pickett
- Ht
- 179cm
- Wt
- 86kg
- Pos.
- Mid
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 3star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 4star
No current season stats available
- D
- 3star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 3star
PLAYERCARDEND
footy classified not screening tonightLoving the fox footy Monday after GF tiger fap fest.
If Danger was freely available to us at $800k a year I honestly wouldn’t take him. I don’t think he would play a team role and would hate to say goodbye to two players to fit his salary inI was chatting with a mate of mine pre game and we spoke about the ridiculous notion that Danger deserves a premiership. He said you deserve one when you win one, which I thought was a brilliant comment.
I love Danger and would be stoked if he played for us but I think he would be very disappointed with his 2nd halves in the 2019 prelim and 2020 granny when the game was there to be won.