Ballantyne wants out - Eagles

Why are we even responding to these Fyfe discussions? As much as the media likes to make sh*t up the real chance of Fyfe leaving is close to zero. We'd match any offer made to him and it is clear to anyone with half a brain he isn't really exploring all options. His management just wants to extract maximum value. If there was truly any chance at all that he was considering playing elsewhere we certainly wouldn't be seeing him in the coaching box during games. I'm sick of wasting my time reading through garbage posts by opposition club supporters delusional that they could add the best player in the AFL to their list. This is also the Ballantyne thread not the Fyfe thread.

word

Why are we even responding to these Fyfe discussions? As much as the media likes to make sh*t up the real chance of Fyfe leaving is close to zero. We'd match any offer made to him and it is clear to anyone with half a brain he isn't really exploring all options

We can't match all offers if they exceed our cap. A club that is currently paying the minimum could potentially make an offer we can't match.

You really think with our current list and Pav, Johnson and Sandi all at the end of their careers we won't find enough room in our cap? I think given we were thinking we could fit Fyfe and Hogan both in our cap I'd be pretty confident we'll be ok.

This guy has the hot hand today. Nothing but net from behind the arc.

Great article Gill - hit the nail on the head.

Cheers, mate! Glad the piece spoke to you. Maybe there's a silver lining in all this. I'd back Ballas to have a strong season next year — maybe it'll be for us after all. Of all the areas that sorely need addressing at the club, I wouldn't think our small forwards would be one of them.

Even though Burke couldn't help but sink the boot in to Freo (the flog) the article I read about Fyfe to Saints makes a lot of sense unfortunately.

from an article - "Speaking last week, Fyfe said it would be “remiss of him not to look at every possible option” in regards to free agency."

Words straight from Lyon's playbook. He's already been indoctrinated. Won't go anywhere

from an article - "Speaking last week, Fyfe said it would be “remiss of him not to look at every possible option” in regards to free agency."

Words straight from Lyon's playbook. He's already been indoctrinated. Won't go anywhere

Ross is about as pragmatic as they come. Take the emotion out and be almost completely rational. If Fyfe is the same it's not necessarily a great thing.

The more I think about it the more pissed off I get with Fyfe on how he has handled this already regardless of outcome.

It is my understanding that we don't need to match the contract exactly, just in length and value which I know sounds like I'm being pedantic but we could put all the unaffordable money in the last year of the matching offer just to get the paperwork done.

The real interesting thing would be if a restricted free agent would move for a 3 year $10,000,000 deal that gets renegotiated to ten years once the preseason starts, just to prevent anyone being able to match.

Ross is about as pragmatic as they come. Take the emotion out and be almost completely rational. If Fyfe is the same it's not necessarily a great thing.

The more I think about it the more pissed off I get with Fyfe on how he has handled this already regardless of outcome.

He's only 24 years old. If you listen to it in full he sounds optimistic and like he'll stay. I think it was just poorly chosen words.

It is my understanding that we don't need to match the contract exactly, just in length and value which I know sounds like I'm being pedantic but we could put all the unaffordable money in the last year of the matching offer just to get the paperwork done.

The real interesting thing would be if a restricted free agent would move for a 3 year $10,000,000 deal that gets renegotiated to ten years once the preseason starts, just to prevent anyone being able to match.

The club has to prove they can take the player on without going over the cap. You can't do that.

Why are we even responding to these Fyfe discussions? As much as the media likes to make sh*t up the real chance of Fyfe leaving is close to zero. We'd match any offer made to him and it is clear to anyone with half a brain he isn't really exploring all options. His management just wants to extract maximum value. If there was truly any chance at all that he was considering playing elsewhere we certainly wouldn't be seeing him in the coaching box during games. I'm sick of wasting my time reading through garbage posts by opposition club supporters delusional that they could add the best player in the AFL to their list. This is also the Ballantyne thread not the Fyfe thread.

****ing spot on

I'm sick of the media making articles about innuendo and reading into off hand comments when there is literally nothing there! Ross and Fyfe are on the same page about everything. Fyfe is Ross's little protege. He gets him up in the coaches box every game and down addressing the mids at half time. There is no way Fyfe is leaving Ross and no way Ross is letting Fyfe go. I honestly reckon Fyfe will be an assistant under Ross if Ross is still around when Fyfe retires

We're rolling through the exact same phase with Fyfe as has happened over the last year with Neale before he signed.

Players are well within their rights to explore their options. He hasn't cast much more doubt over his belief in Fremantle than Neale did, more so because he's a talisman and any slight comment which hints he'll so much as think before resigning has been taken to suggest he's positioning for a move away. It's a massive scoop to even suggest that our best player might want to shift clubs, so it's little wonder every b-grade journo has ran with it. Like Lyon said, if Fyfe's encouraged in the direction the club takes over the next season, no doubt he'll sign. Exactly as Neale did after chatting with his gun of a manager.

Ballantyne's obviously a completely different story given his age and the disparity between he and the club over contract length, but even still as he's pointed out himself this morning, there's too much ****ing innuendo, hearsay and conjecture atm. Particularly in this fishbowl of a town with the bottom feeders at the west and C7 being our primary source of "news".

Buddy wanted to be with Jesinta. If her career job was in Melbourne he would have stayed. If her job were in Perth, Freo would've had a chance. Sydney were forced into the long contract as they couldn't offer more than Hawthorn per year.
I just finished watching Open Mike with Liam Pickering and I have to say I disagree with that. I think Buddy wanted out of Melbourne full stop, media and even fans can thank themselves for that, they made a player want to leave because they wouldn't leave him alone.

This is 100% true

He was suffocated in Melbourne as fans wouldn't leave him alone.

I used to deal with his not famous sister and her husband - his BiL was telling me just after it came out buddy was going to Sydney how he used to eat breakfast in the kitchen of the cafe where he'd go because it was the only way he'd get left alone

He loved it at Hawthorn but couldn't get his own space

Ballantyne wants out - Eagles