Ballantyne wants out - Eagles

Eric Mackenzie's ball distribution skills are Dawsonesque and unlikely to improve. He is not the type of player we are really looking for.

He is much better by foot than Dawson. That's an area he's improved over the years and can actually hit a target 40m away semi-regularly. I'd liken him to, say, Ibbo though in that he's not that quick to make a decision and isn't always on target. It's just that Schoefield is better and McGovern is a genuinely elite kick. You could do much worse out of a genuine full back.

I'd take McKenzie for Ballantyne in a heartbeat. Except for the fact he's 28. That makes it borderline I think. We're getting the better value in that trade, for sure, but in the context of a team that really needs to both get as many draft picks as it can and also develop some KPPs for the next 8-10 years, nah.

He is much better by foot than Dawson. That's an area he's improved over the years and can actually hit a target 40m away semi-regularly. I'd liken him to, say, Ibbo though in that he's not that quick to make a decision and isn't always on target. It's just that Schoefield is better and McGovern is a genuinely elite kick. You could do much worse out of a genuine full back.

I'd take McKenzie for Ballantyne in a heartbeat. Except for the fact he's 28. That makes it borderline I think. We're getting the better value in that trade, for sure, but in the context of a team that really needs to both get as many draft picks as it can and also develop some KPPs for the next 8-10 years, nah.

No way how is he going to help rebuild the club and get us a premiership? Freo are a way off and need quality youth not top up players.

Rumour has it that it is understood that sources close to the club consider Clarke a very interesting potential target, and are prepared to get into a bidding war to secure the still emerging ruckman.
Where in Bali did you hear that comment ? From sources close to the club ? Sounds like a Hackdorn comment.

I don't even think Danyle will be in our best 22 next year and I've defended him as much as anyone. Ditto Suban. The off season should be a time of change. By the way I reckon your mate Harley Balic is going to be a deadset ripper.
Harley had a great game on limited minutes in Peel Reserves where he came out of the game at 3/4 time with the most possessions in the game for both sides. He had 29 possessions some nedia reports it as 30 but he had 17 kicks 12 handballs kicked a goal from 45 m in a play on situation and had a number of inside 50's and a couple of scoring assists. Peel Ressies won wich they havent done for some time and when they did the singing of the team song in the rooms i counted 7 players in the middle so it must have been a while back since their last win. Not a bad effort by Harley for a player who hadn't played for 12 months and i forgot that he got his first possession as the first centre square clearnce in the first bounce up to start the game. I expect on his performance on the weekend that Harley will be elevated to Peel League this coming weekend. salim malik , TheInjuryFactory

Where in Bali did you hear that comment ? From sources close to the club ? Sounds like a Hackdorn comment.
"I'm hearing...." and "People are saying..."

I'm not saying that Hackdorn is Trump, but has anyone seen the two of them in the same room?

No way how is he going to help rebuild the club and get us a premiership? Freo are a way off and need quality youth not top up players.

Yep lets forget that youth need experience around them, The Hawks ,Geelong Adelaide don't give a stuff about this young is best crap. They get who ever is good for the club going forward. A rebuild consists of getting the right cattle , not some bottom list draftee that the odds are they will never make it. What happened to the idea that a club needs a well rounded list age wise.

The problem is freo is not hawthorn ,geelong or sydney , your cant force quality players.to come. But you can definetely put improvement to low draft pick player eg like neale and walters and try to keep them. By giving youngster chance to play afl and develop them . Maybe more young hopeful see it as an opportunity to play for freo and improve . As bad as d.pearce he do win rising star nomination at young age . and upgrade from rookie with port and fooled freo to extend his contract to two year.

The problem is freo is not hawthorn ,geelong or sydney , your cant force quality players.to come. But you can definetely improvement low draft pick player like neale and walters and try to keep them.
We have a decent history of drafting mature players and there are several available this year as usual.

Agree Mature players in the 21-25 range. That what i am getting at , if 28 he need to be unknown in afl like shane or j.pod hunger for the next step also paid is not as much as mckenzie already in afl system. He is the type more toward eagle haw xavier Ellis,or our own colin and gumbeton . Will set you back for few year.

The problem is freo is not hawthorn ,geelong or sydney , your cant force quality players.to come. But you can definetely improvement low draft pick player like neale and walters and try to keep them.

Neale and Walters are success stories ,you're spot on but for every one of those there are the Sibisado's,Houghton's,etc,etc . The list of failed low draft picks go on and on. Mc Kenzie is just the type of player that the Hawks or Sydney would lock onto. Ready made and a club fair and best. Rebuilding is not all about picking up spec low draft picks and hoping for the best.

If Mckenzie can get back to fitness, he would be a more than suitable top up for the next 4 years. He was monstering guys 2 years ago. Against any of the top 4 sides, to win, we would need someone like him. He's not a replacement for Johnsons role in anyway, but as it stands, there really is no cover for Dawson or Johnson if one or both goes down. Collins has been fair, spurr not really as effective as he should be...our defence is as important to build right than our forward line

Neale and Walters are success stories ,you're spot on but for every one of those there are the Sibisado's,Houghton's,etc,etc . The list of failed low draft picks go on and on. Mc Kenzie is just the type of player that the Hawks or Sydney would lock onto. Ready made and a club fair and best. Rebuilding is not all about picking up spec low draft picks and hoping for the best.
Then where is the flag all this years. Refusing to change and keep doing the same thing wont help. How many year mckenzie give you . His age and injury might as well do a collingwood mccafter or toovey .

If Mckenzie can get back to fitness, he would be a more than suitable top up for the next 4 years. He was monstering guys 2 years ago. Against any of the top 4 sides, to win, we would need someone like him. He's not a replacement for Johnsons role in anyway, but as it stands, there really is no cover for Dawson or Johnson if one or both goes down. Collins has been fair, spurr not really as effective as he should be...our defence is as important to build right than our forward line
I see what you mean if we really in top 4 mode. Duffman or johnson play afl early because during that time we got the same situation eg outgoing retirement rog hayden, parker , grover , scoofield , carr brother . If kids keep playing for peel what is the advantage coming to freo.

Instead of putting all the energy into one or two player , why not use the time and look at how sydney or gws set up their acedemy and make full use of the home grown zone talent and improve further the allingment with peel . Eg their reserve , if one (balic) freo players improve them , putting two or three 18-24 years old freo there that just come back from injury will help freo and peel. Maybe there is a lot of talent with peel but there dont have good system to work with.

Then where is the flag all this years. Refusing to change and keep doing the same thing wont help. How many year mckenzie give you . His age and injury might as well do a collingwood mccafter or toovey .

I won't lose any sleep if Freo don't look at him. What I am saying he is a local boy, former club best and out of favour at his club after recovering from a serious injury. He is just the type that the Hawk's etc look at.

Hawthorn can have him as part of the deal to get b.hill in . I kind of accept watching d.pearce get paid afl salary and playing in wafl now.

If Brad Hill wants to get to WC yes Mckenzie might be part of a deal.o_O There are 42 on an AFL list ,all get paid an AFL salary and all can't play seniors so yes the surplus rookie and out of form players do play for lower grades. Get used to it ,its not going to change.

You mistaken me again,
1) ballas to eagles
2) mckenzie to hawthorn
3) b.hill to freo ( plus clarke to hawthorn)
Clarke will made hawthorn unbeatable with his ability.

So Ballas, McKenzie and Clark for Hill ? Okeedokee.
If you look at bright side clarke for hill. Like you said ballas want to go to eagles.mckenzie want out but at 28 might want another crack at premiership ( hawthorn) . B.hill want to come home at 24 year old fits freo rebuild.

Clarke is there because with ceglers down he got some ruck value.

Ballantyne wants out - Eagles