Ballarat Football League 2009 (part 2)

They were in the BFL as recently as 5-6 years ago, they found it too tough, could not compete, and left.

So NO.

Very true, would be interested in how Hepburn would compete though, they appear to have deep enough pockets to make the signings to gather the necessary depth. I know they currently have a few former BFL reserve players running around but also have a number of high quality players, who would go well in any league.

northcote park f.c div one northern f.l are looking for a practice match for sat march 13. we are willing to travel.ph joe 0412298231 cheers

Very true, would be interested in how Hepburn would compete though, they appear to have deep enough pockets to make the signings to gather the necessary depth. I know they currently have a few former BFL reserve players running around but also have a number of high quality players, who would go well in any league.

Questionable as to wether some of the high quality players would go well in any league as some of them have played in the BFL previously and were relatively average in that comp. (Not denegrating their ability, still good players but just mean that they were probably not in the top percentage of players in the BFL). Daylesford have 2 BFL league B&F winners running around for them +several former senior BFL players. Reckon both clubs would hold there own (outside finals chance) though from the outside, Hepburn appear to have more funds to attract players. Think it all comes back to retaining juniors as the local spa country juniors compete in a different comp to the Ballarat BFL juniors. Think that might be where Daylesford found it hard .

Round 1 is called "Blockbuster Round".

Surely Bacchus Marsh V Sebas needs to be played on another weekend?? Maybe they can start a week earlier and they can play in the Nuff Nuff Round - they could use nerf footballs, cut the ground in half and allow the umpire to give the ball to players that won't get a touch for the rest of the year.

haha nuff nuff round.

Yes very good KA, nice 1.

On another subject. I seem to remember you stating on here last season that Sunba were building a team in 09 for a real shot at the flag in 2010. How is that building process going to work if you have to replace more than half of last years side with the departures of all of these senior players – Powell, Lobb, Elliot, Griffin, Sahlberg, Lekas, Sutherland, James, Houlihan, Climas, Brewer, Downe, & Tyler. Plus a couple of others that I just cant recall off the top of my head right now.

Now before you go and say that Sunba has cleaned out all these hacks and gotten much better players to replace them, how then is the Sunba side of 2010 going to play good, successful TEAM orientated footy if the bulk of the side has never played together before ?

Is it fair to then observe Sunba performance this season and ask the question – Can a club, any club spend up BIG, recruit half their side, throw these players together, and produce a Premiership winning formula ???

On another subject. I seem to remember you stating on here last season that Sunba were building a team in 09 for a real shot at the flag in 2010. How is that building process going to work if you have to replace more than half of last years side with the departures of all of these senior players – Powell, Lobb, Elliot, Griffin, Sahlberg, Lekas, Sutherland, James, Houlihan, Climas, Brewer, Downe, & Tyler. Plus a couple of others that I just cant recall off the top of my head right now.

Now before you go and say that Sunba has cleaned out all these hacks and gotten much better players to replace them, how then is the Sunba side of 2010 going to play good, successful TEAM orientated footy if the bulk of the side has never played together before ?

Is it fair to then observe Sunba performance this season and ask the question – Can a club, any club spend up BIG, recruit half their side, throw these players together, and produce a Premiership winning formula ???

Yes 2010 should be the year of the Sunba Lion.

Not sure the players were thrown away. Lekkas had a lot of injuries last year and struggled to perform, Climas has gone back to play with mates at Riddell, James kicked appox 45 goals - with more than half against the bottom couple of teams, Griffen will be back in the 2nd half of the year, Jamie Lobb is playing at Sunba, Hose could not commit to training and the split was amicable, Sutherland has gone to the RDFL - will be good in a few more years, Brewer is a loss, Sahlberg would struggle for a game this year.

The ins are great ins. Sunba finally have an A grade midfield. Smith will be in the top 2 or 3 mids in the comp. Millward is a gun and has won a Michelson Medal. Simon Clarke is from the VFL is very good, Jordy Barham from Port Adelaide is very good as is Sharpe from Gissy. The 2 players from Rochy have also got big wraps on them. Okey is also back and fit. Petren will continue he rises in the BFL.

Sure it may take a while for these players to gel but once they are going they will be hard to stop. Only time will tell. Do you think they cannot win it?

Yes 2010 should be the year of the Sunba Lion.

Not sure the players were thrown away. Lekkas had a lot of injuries last year and struggled to perform, Climas has gone back to play with mates at Riddell, James kicked appox 45 goals - with more than half against the bottom couple of teams, Griffen will be back in the 2nd half of the year, Jamie Lobb is playing at Sunba, Hose could not commit to training and the split was amicable, Sutherland has gone to the RDFL - will be good in a few more years, Brewer is a loss, Sahlberg would struggle for a game this year.

The ins are great ins. Sunba finally have an A grade midfield. Smith will be in the top 2 or 3 mids in the comp. Millward is a gun and has won a Michelson Medal. Simon Clarke is from the VFL is very good, Jordy Barham from Port Adelaide is very good as is Sharpe from Gissy. The 2 players from Rochy have also got big wraps on them. Okey is also back and fit. Petren will continue he rises in the BFL.

Sure it may take a while for these players to gel but once they are going they will be hard to stop. Only time will tell. Do you think they cannot win it?

Of course Sunba can win it !!!
IF the competition standard has dropped ??
IF coach Power has recruited the right players to fill up the teams deficiences ??
IF he now has the RIGHT team ballance ??
IF he schools his charges to play a successful uncomplicated "TEAM" brand of footy ??
IF he has a competent ruckman to supply this NEW match winning midfield ??

Then YES, Sunba can win it !

But now its all up to your little mate to deliver. So the pressure will now well and truely be on Power, no more excuses, this season HAS to be the year of the LION !!

IF coach Power has recruited the right players to fill up the teams deficiences ??
IF he schools his charges to play a successful uncomplicated "TEAM" brand of footy ??

But now its all up to your little mate to deliver. So the pressure will now well and truely be on Power, no more excuses, this season HAS to be the year of the LION !!
perhaps you should offer your services to the coachn staff at sunbury lions with your sound and astute knowledge of the football club and all its personel ?
As you sound as if you have a strangle hold on all things that "should" happen at sfnc

Not sure the standard of the comp needs to drop. Players he has
brought in are BFL A grade players. Also Rader is fit after dislocating his hip last year and he 2 is quality.

I hope he sets up with Clarke on one wing and Barham on the other - 2 6'4 wingman with great hands and both move really well.

Tyler and Downe played 2's so not sure why you listed them. Sahlberg and both Lobbs are at Sunba. Did you pull names out of a hat?

Can anyone shed me light on how Lake Wendouree will travel this year? Is a guy by the name of Tim Malone still playing there? Used to be a good jr player in the western district just wondering how he has progressed?

Tyler and Downe played 2's so not sure why you listed them. Sahlberg and both Lobbs are at Sunba. Did you pull names out of a hat?

Both had significant senior match time in 09. Plus, no hat, just 17 clearances lodged SO FAR, to leave the club.(almost double anyone else) But lets not get hung up on side issues here eh.

THE most important aspect of the 2010 season is surely the performance of the Sunba senior side under coach Power.
The time of the Lion is well and truelly overdue. Very costly commitments have been made, and it is TIME to DELIVER !
Someone has to be accountable, someone has to be responsible. The buck has to stop somewhere ?
And that is with the COACH…… After all -

HE has hand picked and recruited the side.
HE has decided where the side was lacking and where it needed topping up.
HE has designed and over seen the pre-season training program which sets the side up for the entire season.
HE is the one that devises a successful game plan to suit his hand picked side.
He is the one that positions players and makes match winning moves on game day.
And HE is the one that ultimately motivates his team to victory.

Its TIME to ante up KA, and your little buddy is the ONE that is under the pump.
HUGE budget, the BEST individual players money can buy, and the BEST facilities in the comp.

Can he coach ? Is he up to it ?..... We will see ! Only time will tell. But there is NO more excuses, Its TIME,…… LION TIME !

Both had significant senior match time in 09. Plus, no hat, just 17 clearances lodged SO FAR, to leave the club.(almost double anyone else) But lets not get hung up on side issues here eh.

THE most important aspect of the 2010 season is surely the performance of the Sunba senior side under coach Power.
The time of the Lion is well and truelly overdue. Very costly commitments have been made, and it is TIME to DELIVER !
Someone has to be accountable, someone has to be responsible. The buck has to stop somewhere ?
And that is with the COACH…… After all -

HE has hand picked and recruited the side.
HE has decided where the side was lacking and where it needed topping up.
HE has designed and over seen the pre-season training program which sets the side up for the entire season.
HE is the one that devises a successful game plan to suit his hand picked side.
He is the one that positions players and makes match winning moves on game day.
And HE is the one that ultimately motivates his team to victory.

Its TIME to ante up KA, and your little buddy is the ONE that is under the pump.
HUGE budget, the BEST individual players money can buy, and the BEST facilities in the comp.

Can he coach ? Is he up to it ?..... We will see ! Only time will tell. But there is NO more excuses, Its TIME,…… LION TIME !

Both would not be in Sunba's best 22. Most went to lower leagues or interstate.
Power will be under no pressure until finals. What you have put in your above post is what each coach is expected to do. Redan, Lakers, Darley and East Point coaches are under no less pressure and also have to do all of the above. The bucks stops with every coach in every league. I am not sure why you bold certain words and put them into capital letters? Just type like a normal person would and maybe you can convince them you are normal.

"the BEST individual players money can buy" - please see Marbo parks list.

By the way Simon Clarke put the fitness program together as this is his area of speciality.

Happy to discuss this side issue - 11 of the 17 went to the RDFL. This would be an opportunity for 11 players to play regular senior football in a lower league. 3 went to QLD, 1 to the Murray League, 1 to the Heatcote league and 1 to the Bendigo league. So all but maybe 1 went to lower level football. Hey the BFL is not for everyone.