Ballarat Football League 2009

Re: Ballarat Football League

oh come on, give us a break...:cool:

Only 8-10 years ago, Redan lost something like 40-50 games in a row. Do you bag Redan for letting success slip to such a bad level?

I think it's amusing that you keep picking on the little guys... the easy targets if you will. Says a lot about your character. They're not winning games... so what!? You should see a game against these 2 sides as an opportunity to blood your kids.. ANYTHING but the same old rhetoric you keep posting on here - I don't care.

Don't know much about the Marsh (thank god) but Sebas is becoming a major growth corridor of Ballarat and in 3-4 years they will have 100's of kids to choose from and develop. Karma is a b*tch.

Redan were worse than both - but the combined teams - Sebas & Marsh both running out in a couple of weeks is worse than anything the BFL have seen before.

And I did not know about Sebas and the growth corridor - I must get in touch with the Gissy president to warn them not to come into this league due to Sebas becoming a power house. Also I will make a quick call to the Sunba president to see if Sunba can join the EDFL as Sebas are coming and will spare no one!! Thanks for the warning you may have saved a lot of clubs some embarrassment.

Actually withS ebas having 100's of kids to choose from how about the Eastern Bloc teams all head back to the RDFL. Better be safe than sorry.

And major growth area of ballarat? Haven't drove around alfredton lately???
yes Drummer. Sebas is a growth corridor, believe it or not. My folks live in Alfredon and I was at Ballarat City Council developing and approving all these residential and industrial parcels of land so yes, I do have SOME clue as to what Sebas will be like in the future...

Sebas have always had good juniors but have never been able to transfer this to the seniors partly due to some poor decision making as far as recruiting ie: $$$$ players. Maybe culture is changing slowly, good luck to them if it has:thumbsu:

yes Drummer. Sebas is a growth corridor, believe it or not. My folks live in Alfredon and I was at Ballarat City Council developing and approving all these residential and industrial parcels of land so yes, I do have SOME clue as to what Sebas will be like in the future...

I hope for your sake your right, future is along way off and unfortunately players won't stay around if they cannot see any sucess in it. And honestly, after seeing your u/18's run around then you are a along way off it that's what your working with. Recruit the right players that will be there for 5+ years and you'll be on the right track.

whoa whoa whoa.... let's get this straight... just cos I'm standing up for Sebas does NOT mean I barrack for them.

I have all my teeth, I don't think it's ok to make a pass at my cousin if they are drunk and I'm happy to say I passed grade 3 english class with flying colours...

Those little bogans down in Sebas will be just fine in a few years... bless 'em.

whoa whoa whoa.... let's get this straight... just cos I'm standing up for Sebas does NOT mean I barrack for them.

I have all my teeth, I don't think it's ok to make a pass at my cousin if they are drunk and I'm happy to say I passed grade 3 english class with flying colours...

Those little bogans down in Sebas will be just fine in a few years... bless 'em.

whoa whoa whoa yourself. How quickly we forget.

"I think it's amusing that you keep picking on the little guys... the easy targets if you will. Says a lot about your character"

Don't get too high & mighty drummer. Without North Ballarat you would be nothing and how are your juniors going? Redan got in the mess they were in by not looking after their own. Now the free ride from north is coming to an end what now? Your juniors or do you keep poaching from Mt Clear?

Drummer, firstly are you refering to the current 18s team or the 3 players who are 18s but play only senior games?
This years 18s started off lacking numbers losing a few to go up to ressies and seniors and yes are also struggling to play good team footy into round 6.
But if your talking about the 3 seniors your way off, outstanding potential with just confidence and maturity to top them off.
Im not making excuses the team struggles, but maybe you dont realise, (and if you dont care then dont read it) the club doesnt give the youth a run here and there, they are the senior team each week. The 3 i have mentioned Carrigg VanGils and Robertson, along with powell bertalli henry noether brimacombe jenkins all only becoming ineligable for 18s this year.
Look at the list and you will see this is half the team, not just a run for a few each week but the team continuously.
As for recruiting players that are good and hang around for a while, well they dont grow on trees and attracting them to a club with a "reputation" is not easy. It does take time for change to occur but with other factors and burdens sorted out, focus can turn to the field 100%.
It would be easy to make grand promises and outbid clubs for profile name players, but life wasnt meant to be easy!
Patience grasshoppers

Drummer, firstly are you refering to the current 18s team or the 3 players who are 18s but play only senior games?
This years 18s started off lacking numbers losing a few to go up to ressies and seniors and yes are also struggling to play good team footy into round 6.
But if your talking about the 3 seniors your way off, outstanding potential with just confidence and maturity to top them off.
Im not making excuses the team struggles, but maybe you dont realise, (and if you dont care then dont read it) the club doesnt give the youth a run here and there, they are the senior team each week. The 3 i have mentioned Carrigg VanGils and Robertson, along with powell bertalli henry noether brimacombe jenkins all only becoming ineligable for 18s this year.
Look at the list and you will see this is half the team, not just a run for a few each week but the team continuously.
As for recruiting players that are good and hang around for a while, well they dont grow on trees and attracting them to a club with a "reputation" is not easy. It does take time for change to occur but with other factors and burdens sorted out, focus can turn to the field 100%.
It would be easy to make grand promises and outbid clubs for profile name players, but life wasnt meant to be easy!
Patience grasshoppers
One of the rare posts of yours Shaggy that makes sense. Good job.
However, I think you will find that many clubs have at least 2-3 players in their ones that qualify for 18's or are just out of 18's.

Don't get too high & mighty drummer. Without North Ballarat you would be nothing and how are your juniors going? Redan got in the mess they were in by not looking after their own. Now the free ride from north is coming to an end what now? Your juniors or do you keep poaching from Mt Clear?
Again with the North issue! Something obviously dopesn't sit right here with you oracle? fact is every ballarat based club has tried and Redan were more successful in attracting them to our club, So does this mean lakers are next in the firing line???

Poaching Mt Clear... Very smart by redan. Recruited there u/16 coach as u/18 coach and he brought with him 10 quality junior footballers that hopefully become good senior redan players. If you class it as poaching then it's poaching at it's best.

Shaggy, Jenkins is one to build around if you can keep him.

Redan were worse than both - but the combined teams - Sebas & Marsh both running out in a couple of weeks is worse than anything the BFL have seen before.

Yep, Redan were lightyears worse in the late 90's then either Sebas or the Marsh but you're forgetting how bad Daylesford was in the same period, so I'd call those Redan v Daylesford games the worst the BFL has seen.

Sebas have always had good juniors but have never been able to transfer this to the seniors partly due to some poor decision making as far as recruiting ie: $$$$ players. Maybe culture is changing slowly, good luck to them if it has:thumbsu:

So true Creekers, at the same time Redan were recruiting reasonable local players from North who would hang around, Sebas were spending cash on guns from the bush who already been to numerous clubs and bleed them dry. In saying this I think Sebas are at least trying to head in the right direction.

Oracle - Redan recruited their own players and was never handed anything. Yes it helped that they merged with North under 18's to give them a club to go to and yes having Brett Quinlan as coach attracted a few from North but that was a great recruiting move/idea by the club. It's like the decision Ballarat made years ago to move out to Alfredton. Will pay dividends. Interested to know how many Ballarat Juniors played in last years Grand Final.

By the way - having watched a Daylesford vs Redan game in 98, I reckon Sebas vs BMarsh two's would beat them.

ORACLE - next time you talk to your captain ask him what club he wanted to orinigally play for and how he ended up at Ballarat. Now I am not saying he badly wanted to go to Redan and its obvious he has fitted in well at Ballarat but the story goes that he needed a Ballarat Based Club to play for one weekend when North Twos had the Bye and he wanted to play at Redan but North suggested he go to Ballarat as Redan already had two players (Both Redan Juniors and could name them) from North twos playing for them that weekend. That is the only time I have seen North give anyone a so called free ride (I wouldn't even call it that, as Ballarat had to have the ability to keep him). Now tell me this, is he not the best recruit you have had in the past 10 years.

LBB's Tips for this week:

Lakers v Melton - 40 points, Gregg 6, Webber 4 skizz attacks.

North City v Venum - 10 points, despite the crisis talks held over the last few weeks I think Dion's boys can lift and show us something. If not then Adios Muchacho.

Redan v Darley - 12 points, devils are going at half pace at the moment, but about to crank up for a big month ahead, should be a close one against a well respected rival. I look forward to my day at city oval, things like: hearing the drums from that nuffy, seeing the dog with the redan jumper on, trying to work out the score as the kids who do the scoreboard failed maths many times, then having a few more bevys in the social rooms.

South v Sebas - 90 points, sorry Shaggy your boys to get flogged again

Merging Dogs v Sunba oohh Sunba - 10 points, a key matchup in lining up the form of the East v West, the merging dogs will just see it out at home.

Lakers V Melton - Lakers by 68pts
Nth City V Marsh - Nth City by 42pts
South V Sebas - South by 110pts
Redan V Darley - Devils by 44pts
East V Sunba - Sunba by 15pts - should be a cracker 2nd and 3rd best sides.

Big news at Ballarat - looks like the rats are deserting a sinking ship with Will McGregor walking out on the club this week. Something to do with the $$$ drying up.

Oracle what have you done!!!!!!

Speaking about breaking news - this weekends papers will cover the Gissy to Ballarat. Enjoy the read and remember where you heard it 1st!!! Ring a ding ding.

Patience grasshoppers

are you referring to tom bertalli who left a club where he was not getting a go in their under 18's a year and a half ago? sebas do flood their side with young up and coming blood but at what cost? getting flogged week in and out will not do anything for the young players future!

Yep its tom bertalli, not sure exactly what your trying to say though.
Bertalli came over to sebas due to not getting along with the coach at his previous team. Well thats what i have heard and dont really care either way. If he wasnt getting a go elsewhere as you claim what has he lost? Either not play or play and lose. At least he is on field gaining experience and of all the team i think he would be the last to let losing bother him, he seems a positive kid, who is keen and happy to go hard for the ball.
Went to hospital mid game with a split ear once but came back stitched up keen as to run back out there!
Maybe sebas do flood the side with youth, but if they are as keen as these kids and no one else is willing to put their hand up there doesnt leave alot of options!
IMO they will become better sports people, they will know how it feels to be on both sides of the fence, better than alot of the over confident ego's that are all about me me me in todays football.
I know alot will disagree, but bottom line is everone is different and reacts differently to situations, some thrive on success others thrive on the getting there.

Big news at Ballarat - looks like the rats are deserting a sinking ship with Will McGregor walking out on the club this week. Something to do with the $$$ drying up.

Oracle what have you done!!!!!!

KA,

The clearance report indicates he is returning to his home town of Penshurst, Can you confirm he's jumped ship or or just having a kick with his mates whilst the Swans have two weeks without footy?

KA,

The clearance report indicates he is returning to his home town of Penshurst, Can you confirm he's jumped ship or or just having a kick with his mates whilst the Swans have two weeks without footy?

Walked out - no interest in playing with them anymore. They fluked a flag and got ahead of themselves. The good players want nothing more to do with old leather face. One year wonders and now back to middle of the road for the next 20 years.

Big week i spose, shame to see KA get a holiday after such a huge week on the rumour front. Good to see the devils get over the line after falling asleep in the last quarter. Great effort by Redan who are clearly not a great side but dragged Darley down to their level and slogged it out. There was a fair bit of spite in the game after Sam Newton was king hit to a degree that i have not seen since the 80's. If there is not an investigation into this one then the league is a disgrace. Newton was carried from the field on a stretcher and had his nosed smashed accross his face from one of the biggest dogs acts in footy history.

I do however applaud the Redan player because he was not sighted and we lost one of our key forwards. In true Redan style though- they welcomed all of us ferals back to their rooms after what was a very vocal and entertaining afternoon in the outer. Special mention goes to the tool (tools) of the week. Admittedly us Darley boys turned pretty feral after the incident and let go with a few expletives but were then approached by an off duty police officer who had taken his son to the footy and decided to take the incident in to his own hands by flashing his badge and warning us that if we swore we would dragged out of the footy by him and locked up hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha...... He also had a mate who marched up to Sam Newtons dad and told him he would throw him out for swearing also- that effort along with toy cops efforts were done and dusted within 5 seconds of them happening. They quickly became the most laughed at incidents that i have ever seen in football.

It was a shame that toy cops efforts were spotted by an off duty superior and he was then marched to the side of the grand stand and read the riot act about flipping the silver. It was like a day at the headmasters office for the little man and he got made like a serious dork in front of his own son. Anyway enough of that- Redan are a good club who we all respect but every club has its tools and they are two of yours. Special shout out to the drummer who has obviously been working on a few new beats and actually sounded ok on the weekend. It wasn't as relentless as years gone by and if he was a few brain cells wealthier then im sure people would talk to him (over the age of 8).

By all reports coach little man at Sunba did everything he could to make the lions lose by setting up too defensive in the last quarter. I like coach midget but there are quite a few players not happy with the way he goes about it and he better settle it before finals or the Lions will self destruct again. Oh and Dion Miles at the Marsh? i know he is contracted to stay but if you seriously knew the playing group wanted you gone and nobody liked you then why would you stay? i am down with him getting paid till the end of the year because he would be inconvenienced but seriously only a person with poor character would run a club into the ground. Bite the bullet and walk fat guy, the place already has one coach who only cares about himself and selfishness is not a desirable trait to teach the kids coming through.