Ballarat Football League 2009

KA you've been quiet, what do you think?

Brings a tear to my eye thinking about the good old days. Sunba, Darley, South, Melton, Gissy, Riddell, Crazyburn, Lancefield. No terrible umpiring - no sooking about a bump or 2 on the field. 10 times bigger crowds - 10 times tougher football - 10 times more sportsmanship on and off the field. Where did it all go wrong?? Why did we leave and save the BalFL??

You keep making this much sense pal & people are gunna start liking you !
:eek:

You keep making this much sense pal & people are gunna start liking you !
:eek:

I thought I would never agree but, I do. Let's go back wards to go forwards in the real sense, and leave the BFL behind us, in a true sense.

Would be the best thing the Eastern Block would become stronger and the BFL would die the death it should have a long time ago without the strength of the East teams.

If it was that good then why did you leave the Riddell? From memory, and correct me if this is wrong wasn't it because the league was rubbish and that you left for the greener pastures of the west.

Congratulations to the crusty old fossils at the tribunal hearing last night. You were conned by cowards and liars into tarnishing a guys football reputation. You can now walk around with your head held high knowing that you have made a difference to make this world a better place.
6 weeks for an accidental head high bump for a guy that has had no previous record at the tribunal in 8 years of senior football. Just a disgrace. No wonder it is difficult to get quality players to this league, and the ones that do come leave after 1 or 2 years.
According to the article in the Courier, coward liar Anderson and his cronies said he was 'struck with a fist from behind', while Urch and another witness said he was trying to fend off and protect himself when his bump slipped over the shoulder in the wet conditions. What a shock which side the geriatrics behind the bench took.
Absolute disgrace.

Congratulations to the crusty old fossils at the tribunal hearing last night. You were conned by cowards and liars into tarnishing a guys football reputation. You can now walk around with your head held high knowing that you have made a difference to make this world a better place.
6 weeks for an accidental head high bump for a guy that has had no previous record at the tribunal in 8 years of senior football. Just a disgrace. No wonder it is difficult to get quality players to this league, and the ones that do come leave after 1 or 2 years.
According to the article in the Courier, coward liar Anderson and his cronies said he was 'struck with a fist from behind', while Urch and another witness said he was trying to fend off and protect himself when his bump slipped over the shoulder in the wet conditions. What a shock which side the geriatrics behind the bench took.
Absolute disgrace.

What drugs are you taking??? Urch pleaded GUILTY to knocking a bloke out 70 metres behind the play. I think that you and your club would be better served by concentrating on this week game and getting back on the winners list.

Absolute disgrace.

The only surprise to me is that they handed Urch the 6 weeks now and not wait until the last game of the year so he would miss finals. The Ballarat Football League have done it before with an Eastern Bloc team. Waited 8 weeks to hand a 4 week suspension down so the player would miss the finals.

End of the day the Eastern Bloc teams need to be 8 goals better than the Ballarat teams to be a 50/50 chance to win the flag.

Absolute disgrace.
Who was on the tribunal?

What drugs are you taking??? Urch pleaded GUILTY to knocking a bloke out 70 metres behind the play. I think that you and your club would be better served by concentrating on this week game and getting back on the winners list.
He pleaded guilty to making high contact, not king hitting the girl.
Also, why plead not guilty when you are deemed guilty before you even go up.

Absolute disgrace.

LBB lets get this straight, it doesnt really make sense. Ive read the article in the courier, and I have read your take on the events.The courier says Urch claims he was fending off Anderson from behind, and made contact with both arms, if you fend off someone with both arms, I'd assume you would have made contact with your forearm. Such force with a forearm that it knocked him out, behind play. Intentional or unintentional? I wasnt there, and I'm not taking sides, we have all given a bump behind play. I don't like liars, and it seems as though someone is. Being a man and playing football is about being responsible for your actions, not sooking because you have been caught.

http://www.thecourier.com.au/news/local/sport/afl/darley-star-out-for-six-weeks/1548939.aspx

He pleaded guilty to making high contact, not king hitting the girl.
Also, why plead not guilty when you are deemed guilty before you even go up.

So does that mean you think that it is fair to make high contact 70 metres behind the play and knock someone out. But he didn't mean it. lucky he only got six weeks using that great defence!!!!

haha ive never read so much crap and dribble in my life.

1. what BFL team doesnt winge and sook over decisons that might not have gone there way...sometimes its hard to not espcially if you disagree in the first place. thats just football.

2. shagford you seem like a good loyal supporter or player of the sebas football club...and its good to see you throw your mouth around. but the fact of the matter is young shaggy that sebas are a horrible club....theres not a better word to describe them then disgusting. they are the sh ittest club in the BFL at current time and will be for the next 10 years unless they are relegated to CHFL or LPFL. So stop throwing shit at the eastern bloc sides because every time you play them you get thrashed and make a fool of yourselves.

3. K.A i always look forward to reading your posts and follow them with much interest but to say darley and sunbury are the two best teams. well its just plain stupid mate.
Darley maybe because there going through a form slump but sunbury correct me if im wrong are not even in top 4. and again correct me if im wrong you have also lost your games to the top 4. who are east, darley, lakers and redan...soo stop complaining about this league if your club wants to leave well so be it no one will give a shit mate!

4. Darley Rat the courier stated that your club had alot of players out with injuries on the w.e could you please explain who they were.

5. Oracle your a pussey and i hate the ballarat football club and there meat head full forward

1. what BFL team doesnt winge and sook over decisons that might not have gone there way...sometimes its hard to not espcially if you disagree in the first place. thats just football.

2. shagford you seem like a good loyal supporter or player of the sebas football club...and its good to see you throw your mouth around. but the fact of the matter is young shaggy that sebas are a horrible club....theres not a better word to describe them then disgusting. they are the sh ittest club in the BFL at current time and will be for the next 10 years unless they are relegated to CHFL or LPFL. So stop throwing shit at the eastern bloc sides because every time you play them you get thrashed and make a fool of yourselves.

3. K.A i always look forward to reading your posts and follow them with much interest but to say darley and sunbury are the two best teams. well its just plain stupid mate.
Darley maybe because there going through a form slump but sunbury correct me if im wrong are not even in top 4. and again correct me if im wrong you have also lost your games to the top 4. who are east, darley, lakers and redan...soo stop complaining about this league if your club wants to leave well so be it no one will give a shit mate!

4. Darley Rat the courier stated that your club had alot of players out with injuries on the w.e could you please explain who they were.

5. Oracle your a pussey and i hate the ballarat football club and there meat head full forward

The best post on this forum for a very long time (except perhaps for when D-Rat cryptically exposed Oracle).

Regardless of whether we like it or not, the BFL is one league. Why persist with this East v West rubbish. As someone who is not from Ballarat I believe there is no question that the additions of Darley, Melton, Melton South and Sunbury have added plenty to the league. To be truthful, they have forced the Ballarat clubs to improve on and off the field which the good clubs have done.

Perhaps this year more than any other shapes as the most interesting finals series of the lot.
Any of East Point, Darley, Lakers, Sunbury or Ballarat could win it.

For mine, Darley is still the team to beat. They are very well coached, have learnt their lessons from last year and realise that premierships are not won and lost in June.

Don't forget East Point will lose Jordan and Banwell for a few weeks over the coming month as well.

In the end I think each club's injury list come September might make the difference.

</SPAN>

So does that mean you think that it is fair to make high contact 70 metres behind the play and knock someone out. But he didn't mean it. lucky he only got six weeks using that great defence!!!!
No, I am not saying that, he made 'accidental contact', he meant to bump the player, but it was accidental in that it hit him high, is that worth six weeks? No it isnt.
If he run up from behind and king hit the player 70 metres off the ball he should have got 20 weeks. But thats not what happened. So they must have settled at a point in between the 2 views and come up with lucky number 6.
Was expecting 3-4 weeks, but what can you do hey, decision has been made now.

Great post.

Sunba are setting themself for 2010 - blooding a lot of kids and getting a year of BFL football into the RDFL players. Also with some marquee players set to join them next year. They really do need a side 8 goals better to win it. Power knows this having won flags in the BFL. But I am not writing them off - Hose for me is the key - if he gets fit and firing in the 2nd half of the year Sunba are still in it.

Sunba have Sebas, Melton, Nth City and South in the next 4 weeks and will win all those in a canter. I am tipping only 1 more loss in the H&A for them which will put them in the top 4.

But as for the betting what a great season - Darley $3.00 Sunba $3.50 Lakers $3.75 East $3.75 and Redan $9 all a chance to win it.
4 teams under $4 is incredible - go through sports bet - no other league has 4 geniune chances to win the flag.

Anyway to save some time here is the final ladder at the the end of the H&A.

East Point - 60 - Love finishing on top
Lakers - 56
Darley - 52
Sunba - 44
Redan - 40
Ballarat - 36

East V Lakers

Darley V Ballarat

Sunba V Redan

How good would that 1st week of finasl be????????

No, I am not saying that, he made 'accidental contact', he meant to bump the player, but it was accidental in that it hit him high, is that worth six weeks? No it isnt.
If he run up from behind and king hit the player 70 metres off the ball he should have got 20 weeks. But thats not what happened. So they must have settled at a point in between the 2 views and come up with lucky number 6.
Was expecting 3-4 weeks, but what can you do hey, decision has been made now.

What can you do?? Get Finlays number and get him cleared. He walks in pulls the BalFL league tribunals pants down in front of the VCFL committee and Urch plays this Sat.

The BalFL tribunal think they are God - get them in front of the VCFL and they go to water.

That player from Sunba that was given a four week suspension 1 week before the finals series played the following week. Was cleared from 4 weeks to 0 - but no they are not cheats- very similar to the Urch incident. Finlay would punch holes in everything that would come out of Anderson's lying mouth or any witness game enough to step up to the mic.

rumour has it
Melton South already in talks back with the RDFL
joining up with there juniour coming together as on club again 2010

This has been on the cards for a while. They can no longer compete financially with most teams in the BFL. It may be to late with Broadford and Wallen joinging the RDFL recently.

The best post on this forum for a very long time (except perhaps for when D-Rat cryptically exposed Oracle).

Regardless of whether we like it or not, the BFL is one league. Why persist with this East v West rubbish. As someone who is not from Ballarat I believe there is no question that the additions of Darley, Melton, Melton South and Sunbury have added plenty to the league. To be truthful, they have forced the Ballarat clubs to improve on and off the field which the good clubs have done.

Perhaps this year more than any other shapes as the most interesting finals series of the lot.

For mine, Darley is still the team to beat. They are very well coached, have learnt their lessons from last year and realise that premierships are not won and lost in June.

Don't forget East Point will lose Jordan and Banwell for a few weeks over the coming month as well.

In the end I think each club's injury list come September might make the difference.

</SPAN>
dont kid yourself east /west will always be there and not playing on a level playing field lets face it separation is inevidible

Perhaps the time HAS come for a forward thinking President at one of the East clubs to at least informally canvas this very concept amongst the other East clubs.
Hold a special meeting quietly on the down low of all the Presidents over here.
Maybe its time for all the East clubs to again become Relevant footywise to their respective local communities......... Get the crowds back, get the local sponsors enthusiastic again about supporting a local Footy Club, that plays in the area, have their juniors eager & willing to make the step up & play Locally against people they know, respect & have a real & enduring Rivalry against.

Who Knows ????

It worked a treat 20 years ago, maybe the wheel has finally turned. :rolleyes:

</SPAN>

I dont think they have learnt their lesson. Unless they improve thier Dicsipline, I cant see them winning a premiership.

Perhaps the time HAS come for a forward thinking President at one of the East clubs to at least informally canvas this very concept amongst the other East clubs.
Hold a special meeting quietly on the down low of all the Presidents over here.
Maybe its time for all the East clubs to again become Relevant footywise to their respective local communities......... Get the crowds back, get the local sponsors enthusiastic again about supporting a local Footy Club, that plays in the area, have their juniors eager & willing to make the step up & play Locally against people they know, respect & have a real & enduring Rivalry against.

Who Knows ????

It worked a treat 20 years ago, maybe the wheel has finally turned. :rolleyes:
Could not agree more.Seemed like a progressive move 12 years ago to go to the BFL and we thought in time friendships and rivalries would develop and the east/west scenario would not be an issue.But not only has it become an issue but a cancerous loathing and lack of respect for each other. What used to be sorted out between wiser heads at club level now involves investigations and frustrated tram conductors at tribunals.
Also dont waste your energies trying to draw attention to the umpire bias they live in ballarat its human nature to protect whats closest to you even their advisors, after countless meetings and statistics analasis over the years cant find a solution to the problem
I was initially excited about the move to ballarat but lets be realistic
IT JUST DONT WORK

Does anyone know if any members of the tribunal are from Darley, Bacchus Marsh, Sunbury or either of the Meltons?
Similarly, I am not sure whether any of the umpires live in the Marsh, Melton or Sunbury? Perhaps this is how the league could start to overcome the perception of bias.
Tribunal hearings held at Darley or the Marsh (not just in Ballarat) with tribunal members from the "eastern" clubs?